X

Reviews of Accord French Language School, Paris, France

Total number of reviews: 141
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Accord French Language School, Paris, France
4.0/5.0 
(141 reviews)
City 4.8/5.0 
Organisation 4.0/5.0 
Facilities 3.6/5.0 
Social activities 3.0/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.1/5.0 
Value for money 3.6/5.0 
Accommodation
Homestay 3.9/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.9/5.0 
other 4.0/5.0 
Individual Reviews
21. Jun. 2017
1.Amy(30 years) - France
1.Evening course-10 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
12. Jun. 2017
2.(69 years) - United States
2.Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Location is good. Staff seems friendly.
Other comments
This was my fifth year at Accord. I enjoyed the experience but feel the curriculum has not changed much. Also, the lack of electronic devices prevents a more sophisticated means of teaching.
2. Apr. 2017
3.(58 years) - United States
3.Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Not all classes have air conditioning so it was difficult in summer.
Other comments
I liked the pedagogical system of professor Lawrence
7. Mar. 2017
4.(22 years) - France
4.Intensive Course C - 26h/week-4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Other than the fact that it is well located, I didn't like the school at all.
Other comments
This is my third experience learning French at a language school (the first was in Montreal and the second in Montpellier) and this is by far the worst. I never felt welcomed, even the first day. At the schools I'd been to before, all the teachers were very friendly and nice but not here. For me, I think that atmosphere is very important, especially when you are in a city where you know no one. The teachers I had here never bonded with the students, they just taught and didn't care about the students at all. Aside from this, I don't think there was a syllabus for the students to know what they would be learning each week and what they had missed so they can maybe study a bit more by themselves if they are put in a class that is more challenging. It felt like the teachers taught whatever they wanted. And since I had different teachers EACH week, I went to school each week and sat there feeling like I hadn't really learned anything. Lastly, the school provided no after school programs either. The ones I had been to before had activities each day - so I met a lot of people and made really good friends, but they had nothing here. Overall, I strongly advise not to choose this school, and I will never come back again.
1. Dec. 2016
5.(47 years) - United States
5.Intensive Course B - 23h/ week-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Great location. quality of teaching.
28. Nov. 2016
6.Veronika(16 years) - 
6.Exam preparation for the DELF/DALF-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
19. Oct. 2016
7.(24 years) - United Kingdom
7.Intensive Course B-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
High quality of teaching (Nicholas)
Other comments
One of the most valuable and fun experiences I've had.
17. Oct. 2016
8.(64 years) - United Kingdom
8.Intensive Course B-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teaching in small groups allowed for great progress. All the teachers were fantastic.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Ask for details about the afternoon workshops before making a choice.
Other comments
It was an amazing week and I will definitely go again.
27. Sep. 2016
9.(50 years) - 
9.Manager Program-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Alexandrine has arranged and realized the course in an excellent way. A huge compliment and thank you to Alexandrine.
16. Aug. 2016
10.(18 years) - Italy
10.Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week-3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers, learning environment
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Be sure to be put in the right level

 

Response from school
Merci Cecilia, thank you very much for your hyper positive feedback ! It is highly motivating for us, merci !
9. Aug. 2016
11.Dietlind(56 years) - 
11.Intensive Course E - 40h/week-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress

 

Response from school
Merci Dietlind, thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your program with us, it is very precious to us !
25. Jul. 2016
12. - 
12.Paris Saint Nicolas Program (13 - 17 years)-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Monitors and teachers
Other comments
Everything perfect and, in particular, the attention of the contact person, Ruben de Haro.
25. Jul. 2016
13.(40 years) - United States Minor Outlying Islands
13.Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher was so good.
18. Jul. 2016
14.María Rocío(37 years) - 
14.Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The do not place student in their right level.
30. Jun. 2016
15.(47 years) - United Kingdom
15.Intensive Course C - 26h/week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very good atmosphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Start speaking French from the beginning!
Other comments
The quality of teaching in the first week and second week varied greatly. The first week I had Maria, a very good teacher who was very well organised and prepared. Second week I had Thierry, an extremely lazy teacher who taught sitting down and was too lazy (disinterested) to even stand up to write on the board. I learnt less because of his teaching, all the students in my group were complaining about him. He gives your school a bad name. The rest of the school was well organised and efficient but this teacher needs guidance, advice and supervision. I used to train teachers in the UK, I know bad teaching when I see it.
19. Apr. 2016
16.(59 years) - 
16.Evening Course - General French (4 Lektionen bzw. 3 Stunden pro Woche)-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher was very nice and dedicated.
Other comments
There was no school-owned teaching material and we got homework sheets only after asking repeatedly. Otherwise, we worked with monitors and pictures, according to the occasion. I am used to structured learning, so this did not appeal to me. Considering the relatively high price of the courses, I would have expected additional services, as free Tandem meetings or well-priced city tours.
14. Mar. 2016
17.(50 years) - 
17.Intensive Course C - 26 h/week (Sonderangebot)-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Qualified teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The test or classes on "examination Friday" by Laurent
Other comments
Point of criticism: except for a small writing exercise, I missed having to write texts on my own. This continues to be a major weakness in almost every modern language class.
14. Mar. 2016
18.(31 years) - Switzerland
18.Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay with Use of Kitchen
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Quality of teaching, placement of students
27. Aug. 2015
19.(53 years) - United States
19.Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week-3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take afternoon workshops
18. Aug. 2015
20.(17 years) - 
20.Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay with Use of Kitchen
30. Jun. 2015
21.(67 years) - United States
21.50 + course + Intensive Course C - 26h/week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher, Nicholas, (first week only) was wonderful and hard working.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The Senior Program is really non-existent except as introduction to other senior "fools" who want to meet others. (it's appropriate that we were placed in classes according to our ability. That is a good thing. But would happen in any school.) Only one time out of the three afternoon tours/workshops was a teacher sent on the excursion. The four Seniors were on our own and either spoke French or English without professional guidance. It was enjoyable but not for the extra price paid to improve our French conversation.
Other comments
The school out-sources the search for apartments for family stay. I had to move from one apartment due to a fire in the complex that stopped the hot water flow. But there was not going to be a family to eat with or talk with and the apartment was messy and the toilet was down a steep spiral staircase. I moved to another apartment where I was expected to wash and dry my breakfast dishes before rushing to school. When I refused on the second morning the "hostess" told me I'd have to move out. I was shocked. Then the administrator at the school showed me the paper work that never arrived on my computer where dish washing is a possibility with some family stays. My "senior" friend who signed on for home stay was having a good experience with no required dish washing. So I had bad experiences twice with no chance of speaking French at home. Went to a small hotel near the school. Noise from the narrow street below was a problem. But not bad. Convenient walking to school. I changed to a more advanced class to challenge myself and could keep up….but the teacher was inconsistent and sometimes not up to par in teaching by refusing to write on the board important language corrections---he corrected us orally.. Not good enough!
8. Jun. 2015
22.Philipp(29 years) - 
22.Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
30. Apr. 2015
23.(56 years) - United States
23.Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The informal format
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't go in summer. No air conditioning, and cannot open windows
Other comments
The professors, M.Rodrique, M.Thiery and Frederique are fantastic.
27. Apr. 2015
24.Clemency (16 years) - United Kingdom
24.Intensive PLUS Option (26 Group + 5 Individual)-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
6. Apr. 2015
25.(25 years) - Germany
25.Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week-4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Afternoon classes
Other comments
Avoid the period before a DELF test since the classes are really overbooked.
9. Mar. 2015
26.(63 years) - United Kingdom
26.Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Quality of teaching, interesting classes, small class size .
Other comments
Everyone was really helpful, office staff etc. Lovely part of the city and very easy to reach by metro. Absolutely loved the course. The lessons were challenging in a good way: I made progress.
10. Feb. 2015
27.(28 years) - United States
27.Intensive Course C - 26h/week-4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Nicholas, my first teacher
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Highly recommend a mix of afternoon classes
23. Oct. 2014
28.Aleix(22 years) - 
28.Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
8. Oct. 2014
29.(55 years) - United States
29.Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good teachers, friendly
Other comments
No air conditioning, and cannot open large windows because of the street noise. Avoid in summer.
19. Aug. 2014
30.(36 years) - 
30.Intensive Course E - 40h/week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
15. Jul. 2014
31.(51 years) - United States
31.Family Programme in Paris (Parent&Child: 6-17) Semi intensive-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were helpful.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The evaluation process for language level was not very effective (especially for lower level students) and the first morning of classes wasted a significant amount of time (1.5 hours out of 3 in total) getting students placed.
Other comments
The St. Nicholas campus is convenient for families who are in Paris and want to enroll children under age 16.
5. Apr. 2014
32.(29 years) - Singapore
32.Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Language Teacher: Valerie
Other comments
Slightly too expensive...
11. Mar. 2014
33.Oliver(30 years) - France
33.Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week-4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
30. Dec. 2013
34.(29 years) - 
34.Intensive Course D - 29h/ week + Private classes-8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
CISP residences
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
A large number of teachers, which changed every week.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Great school and the teaching staff. Communicate as much as possible in French, do not be shy.
Other comments
I loved it!
22. Oct. 2013
35.Marco(34 years) - 
35.Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
CISP residences
27. Sep. 2013
36.Daniel(34 years) - Germany
36.Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
3. Sep. 2013
37.(21 years) - Slovenia
37.Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Maison des Mines Student Residence (summer only)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teacher Thierry, he was one of the best language professors I ever had.
Other comments
Great location, comprehensive courses and good teachers.
3. Sep. 2013
38.(28 years) - Australia
38.Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week-7 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay with Use of Kitchen
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are very helpful and welcoming. Central location easy to get to by public transport.
Other comments
Some classes had too many students. Smaller classes so some of the less confident students can feel comfortable in particpating in activities and learn more
30. Aug. 2013
39.(35 years) - 
39.Intensive Course B - 23 h/week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Overall, the facilities.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
No outdoords activities.
17. Aug. 2013
40.(63 years) - Brazil
40.Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week-3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The possibility of speaking everyday in the class with the teacher and students.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
To make the most of every class. Pay attention to the teacher information.
Other comments
I had a great time, I enjoyed very much the teacher, the lessons, I learned a lot during the course.
16. Aug. 2013
41.(30 years) - Australia
41.Intensive Course C - 26h/week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Variety of materials
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Do your homework and stop speaking English!
6. Aug. 2013
42.(12 years) - 
42.Summer Intensive Course for Kids and Teens (ages 6-12 / 13-17)-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The classmates are from many different countries!
6. Aug. 2013
43.(49 years) - 
43.Intensive Course D - 29h/ week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are all well trained, very knowledgeable, extremely friendl, helpful. and they're all native speakers. In my opinion that's really great.
Other comments
The administratve staff are also very friendly, patient and helpful.
5. Aug. 2013
44.(27 years) - 
44.Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher I had (Sara) is really friendly and above all very prepared. In addition, the course was attended by people from every corner of the world, especially young people, aged 18 to 40 years.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The course is really worth, the lessons, the day dedicated to theater, preparation, friendliness and helpfulness of the teachers are authentic.
1. Jul. 2013
45.Alba(24 years) - 
45.Special Theme Afternoon Course - 15h/week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Other comments
I think we all are eager to return. Time flies.
26. Jun. 2013
46.(48 years) - 
46.Intensif D 29h/semaine-6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The engagement of the teachers to advance the individual learning progress impressed me most.
20. Jun. 2013
47.(23 years) - Australia
47.Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I love every aspect of Accord Langues! The experience I had was very positive. I chose the 1 week french course for 20 hours a week. The school was able to help me out when I made a mistake with my arrival time to Paris which coincided with the 1st day of school. They told me I could leave my luggage at the school. The teachers are excellent and they are so engaging. I have made so many new friends and I will definitely be back again in the future!
20. May. 2013
48.(26 years) - 
48.Intensive Course C - 26h/week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
CISP residences
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were very professional and I built a good relationship with some of my classmates.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The accommodation CISP was really bad, disorganized, unprofessional and not very polite ... don't book it.
Other comments
The school is very good and valid, and if I had to give an evaluation, it would certainly be positive in general.
29. Apr. 2013
49.(38 years) - United Kingdom
49.Intensive Course C - 26h/week-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Excellent teaching staff, great location, good organisation.
8. Apr. 2013
50.Caroline(36 years) - 
50.Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Other comments
The acting classes are great, but not everyone is in favour of it. Therefore, the classes should have been offered as an option and not as a part of the regular syllabus.

In the press:
Press mentions
Press mentions
Trusted by:
Companies who trust in LanguageCourse.net
Companies who trust in LanguageCourse.net
Android icon
+
Apple icon
+
VT app shown on tablet
+
VT app shown on mobile

Learn English with our free app

Vocabulary Trainer

+10.000.000 Downloads