X

Reviews of ADEL Provence - Baraerlin, Marseille, France

Total number of reviews: 26
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
ADEL Provence - Baraerlin, Marseille, France
3.7/5.0 
(26 reviews)
City 4.2/5.0 
Organisation 3.6/5.0 
Facilities 3.0/5.0 
Social activities 3.1/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 3.7/5.0 
Value for money 3.9/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 4.1/5.0 
Shared Flat 4.1/5.0 
other 4.1/5.0 
Individual Reviews
30. May. 2016
1. (57 years)  - 
1. Half Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
We were always a very small group, and many times I had the pleasure of individual lessons. The teachers were very knowledgeable and nice.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Definitely buy the weekly ticket for the metro bus (abbonnement) with photo, for 13,70. It also includes the boats, wonderful!!
Other comments
The classrooms were initially quite chilly. There was a lot of echo. Unfortunately, my accommodation, which was organized by the school, was very far away.
5. Apr. 2016
2. (70 years)  - 
2. General Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The kindness of the teacher Christelle and the director Maria.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Climbing in the Creeks
Other comments
It would be good if the students were given an information package upon arrival (as Toulouse)
28. Mar. 2016
3. Monika (60 years)  - 
3. General Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family - Self catering
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Trip to the Calanques, Aix, Arles.
Other comments
Since there were only few students, all were placed in one group, so from the level A2 to C1, everything was represented. Of course, the quality of the classes did not benefit from that! Information of any type was only given upon request. I would have liked a bit more engagement by the school.
9. Dec. 2015
4. (39 years)  -  United States
4. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family - Self catering
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher was OK
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make sure the homestay is close to the school and to the center of town. I was a bit outside and away from everything.
Other comments
It may be because I was there during the off season, but I wasn't overly impressed. I was in a class with one other student who was much slower and further behind that I. He was frustrated about the speed (going too fast) and I was a little annoyed at it going so slow. We really should have been in seperate classes but they didn't have other teachers.
8. Dec. 2015
5. Mona (68 years)  -  Malta
5. Combined 20 Group + 6 Individual - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Flat
other
13. Nov. 2015
6. (44 years)  -  Australia
6. Combined 20 Group + 10 Individual - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
ADEL Provence is a small school staffed by highly professional and motivated teachers. The atmosphere is both welcoming and familiar, putting students at ease from the outset. I personally found this environment ideal for learning. The teachers provide tailored learning material to address the needs of individual students. I undertook a package including both group and private lessons. The group classes were fun and informative and I found the flexibility of the private lessons both enriching and entertaining to say the least. I highly recommend this school to anyone.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you are considering private lessons, take some time beforehand to become aware of your weaknesses and target these. Don't be afraid to take these lessons in the open air!!
Other comments
I have nothing but praise for this school. The week I spent here was the highlight of my time in France. I felt immediately welcome, and enjoyed the personal touch only a small school can provide. Marseille is a wonderful and fun city providing students great opportunity to socialise in the evenings after class.
5. Oct. 2015
7. (25 years)  -  Austria
7. Half Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly atmosphere =)
15. Jun. 2015
8. (46 years)  - 
8. General Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
University Studios
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were competent and likable.
14. May. 2015
9. (50 years)  - 
9. Bildungsurlaub (27+4) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very small group, hence intense
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Hiking in the Calanques
20. Apr. 2015
10. (64 years)  - 
10. General Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
University Studios
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The study group was small.
11. Apr. 2015
11. (28 years)  - 
11. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
29. Dec. 2014
12. (37 years)  - 
12. Combined 20 Group + 4 Individual - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Crystal was very nice and patient!
21. Oct. 2014
13. (41 years)  -  France
13. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The flexibility that the director showed and was able to cater to my needs.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Try to find out who the instructor is. I went for two weeks and although our first instructor was nice, the pedagogy was really lacking, but then the director stepped in and did an extra hour each day with us as well as work with us the following week.
Other comments
Sometimes it did not seem organized but the positive side is that they also have flexibility to work with you (as opposed to maybe a place that has a fixed system they must follow).
20. Oct. 2014
14. (53 years)  - 
14. Half Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Familiar atmosphere
20. Oct. 2014
15. (53 years)  - 
15. Half Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Familiar atmosphere
20. Oct. 2014
16. (53 years)  - 
16. Half Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Familiar atmosphere
8. Oct. 2014
17. (41 years)  - 
17. General Course - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
University Studios
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The prof. Myriam
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The school is small, poorly equipped, extra-curricular activities are organized on alternate days and are always the same, the 'housing is not in a campus residence but in 2 external and parking charges are not free!
Other comments
Personally I was not very satisfied, would recommend to treat more extracurricular activities and to seek the most central housing facilities.
29. Sep. 2014
18. (67 years)  -  Australia
18. General Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very friendly
10. Sep. 2014
19. (36 years)  - 
19. General Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
University Studios
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Thanks Kristell, the A2 level teacher, very nice and helpful.
Other comments
School building sufficient, the men bathroom has only one sink.
24. Aug. 2014
20. (50 years)  - 
20. Half Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Myriam who was our teacher in the first week. As well as Christelle and Julian thatwe had in the supplementary lessons. Single hours and hours for 3.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Excursions, additional meetings ..
Other comments
The teachers should at least have a good knowledge of English or explain clearly. Students may read out loud, but should be corrected if the pronunciation is wrong.
26. Jul. 2014
21. (38 years)  - 
21. General Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
14. Jul. 2014
22. (46 years)  - 
22. General Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Personal, dedicated teacher
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
creeks
Other comments
super dedicated teacher Chrystelle and head teacher Maria
25. Nov. 2013
23. (45 years)  - 
23. General Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very varied, intensive lessons, flexible
Other comments
very friendly, helpful team, family atmosphere
10. Sep. 2013
24. (22 years)  - 
24. Half Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were all very nice and uncomplicated.
Other comments
During the first week there were only two courses offered. One for absolute beginners and one for advanced students. I did't like it!
3. Sep. 2013
25. Almudena (33 years)  - 
25. Half Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
University Studios
other
10. Aug. 2013
26. (48 years)  -  Russian Federation
26. General Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly atmosphere
Other comments
One of the teachers doesn't prepare for the classes, prefers to show films (I can watch them at home without fees and coming such a long distance).

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Oscar (20): I chose them because they have really good... more
  • Katura (64): Excellent website. Allowed me to make an informed... more
  • Inesa (25): I think the service works really well. I have had... more