X

Reviews of Atelier 9, Paris, France

Total number of reviews: 166
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Atelier 9, Paris, France
4.4/5.0 
(166 reviews)
City 4.8/5.0 
Organisation 4.4/5.0 
Facilities 3.8/5.0 
Social activities 4.0/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.5/5.0 
Value for money 4.2/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 4.0/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.9/5.0 
other 4.1/5.0 
Individual Reviews
18. Nov. 2016
1. Anastasia (25 years)  - 
1. Intensive French - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
14. Nov. 2016
2. Cherry (26 years)  -  Canada
2. Extensive Evening Course - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
7. Nov. 2016
3. (24 years)  -  Croatia
3. Intensive French - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked my professor (Lauren), she was really good as teacher and as a person, which made my class more interesting. And I like the tempo at which we learned new stuff because, in my opinion it was not too fast and not too slow.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't miss any classes, because it's important today what you have learned yesterday.
31. Oct. 2016
4.  -  United States
4. Intensive French - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Loved the course! So much fun and I learned a lot. Fatiha is very nice and helpful. The class size is small enough to let everyone practice a lot in class. It's my first experience with learning a language in it's own language from the beginning. I have to say it's more efficient.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't be afraid to go to the beginners class if you speak zero French, but I have to say English definitely helps, because as a beginner student, most of the students communicate and discuss questions in English after class.
Other comments
The young lady in accommodation is very nice and we became friends.
11. Oct. 2016
5. (38 years)  -  Japan
5. Intensive course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good atmosphere in the class and easy to learn with many kinds of exercises and activities.
2. Oct. 2016
6. (64 years)  - 
6. Intensive French - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
27. Sep. 2016
7. (18 years)  - 
7. Intensive French - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Lorraine is an incredibly good teacher! In addition, the atmosphere at the school/in the class is very pleasant.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Everything is organised in a way, so that everybody has access to all the options (excursions, good teaching, etc.). Take advantage of all the offers.
Other comments
I rarely visited such a pleasant and good school.
7. Sep. 2016
8. (53 years)  - 
8. Intensive French - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
5. Sep. 2016
9. (25 years)  -  France
9. Extensive Evening Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teacher is awesome
15. Aug. 2016
10. (16 years)  -  United States
10. Intensive French - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Hadrian, the teacher, is really really good
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The most important part about learning a language is understanding enough to teach yourself, and being able to think in that language
Other comments
It takes about 3 to 4 weeks to think in that language without too many problems.
13. Aug. 2016
11. (71 years)  -  United States
11. Intensive course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small school, friendly environment. Great teacher.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take advantage of the extra-curricular activities offered by the school.
Other comments
Hadrian is the most patient and kind teacher. A great asset to your school.
30. Jul. 2016
12. (69 years)  -  United States
12. Intensive French - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My instructor, Morgane.
Other comments
Everyone is very pleasant and helpful...
30. Jul. 2016
13. (25 years)  -  Saint Kitts And Nevis
13. Intensive French - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked that it was small, at first. But, then the class got quite a bit larger. In some ways I wish that it had been a bit more structured, although I did like that we focused a lot on speaking.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Try to see what size class you'll be in. I think the smaller the better.
Other comments
The staff and teachers were all really lovely and helpful. I really liked my teacher, Fatia.
6. Jul. 2016
14. (60 years)  -  United States
14. Intensive French - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers are fantastic, very smart, dedicated and hard-working. Location in the heart of Paris is perfect. Homey atmosphere of school--everybody felt welcome.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I think there should be have been more opportunities for working on pronunciation. French is hard to pronounce and inevitably foreigners have an accent, but everybody wanted to improve. Vanessa (not my teacher) gave an excellent "extra" class and I think this kind of work should be integrated for half an hour at the beginning of each class. Also, recommendations of CDs for the same should be provided at the beginning of each week. OR, CDs should be provided for work at school or at home.
Other comments
I found it a very welcoming place for students of all backgrounds. I think teachers should insist on student speaking French. I think our teacher gained confidence about that issue, but students should sign an affidavit saying they will not resort to English. They do in Canada and it made me very cross that certain students resorted to English constantly in the class. I came to learn French!! Loved it!!!! If I could have stayed longer, I would have done so. I think linking lessons to real-life opportunities would have been optimal, although I recognize this is hard to do.
23. May. 2016
15. (33 years)  - 
15. Intensive French - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
22. Mar. 2016
16. Emil (31 years)  -  Switzerland
16. Semi Intensive French - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
22. Mar. 2016
17. (72 years)  -  United States
17. Intensive French - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The casual atmosphere, kitchen facilities available for student use, free coffee and tea during breaks. The cameraderie among the students. The high quality of teaching.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Buy the weekly or monthly Navigo pass for ease of travel with metro, buses & RER train. It can even be used for travel to and from airports.
Other comments
You learn a lot in a short time. They need to fix the floor in the front of their largest classroom. I kept twisting my ankle slightly when I walked to and from my seat.
26. Jan. 2016
18. (42 years)  -  Australia
18. Semi Intensive French 10 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Great location, friendly, good facilities.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The tour to the Ile-de-la-Cité is amazing!
Other comments
Excellent. Stephanie was really great!
26. Mar. 2012
19. (27 years)  - 
19. Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Private studio
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The relaxed atmosphere and the teachers' availability.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Paris is really cold in winter!
Other comments
Excellent value for money!
20. Mar. 2012
20. (22 years)  -  Japan
20. Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Private studio
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teaching. My teacher was easy to understand.
Other comments
A classroom atmosphere was so nice.
1. Mar. 2012
21. (27 years)  -  Italy
21. Evening Extensive Course - 6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Nice environment, good lessons
20. Feb. 2012
22. (33 years)  - 
22. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Private studio
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The familiar atmosphere, everyone's kindness, excellent competence of our teacher.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
In this school you may find excellent teachers but also you will feel completely comfortable.
Other comments
Excellent workshops after morning lessons. Excellent relation with teachers. I will recommend it for sure.
26. Dec. 2011
23. (53 years)  -  Japan
23. Intensive Course - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small classes, individual attention, quality of students, teachers, and ateliers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't miss the ateliers and the walking tours!
Other comments
It has a very congenial atmosphere and attracting mature students who are often professionals serious about their language studies.
26. Dec. 2011
24. (32 years)  - 
24. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teaching was fantastic, engaging and practical. The school and the staff were helpful and the atmosphere was relaxed.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Do the activities, especially the Paris tour.
Other comments
It was a wonderful place to become reacquainted with the language after decades of not studying!
16. Dec. 2011
25. (21 years)  -  Spain
25. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Private studio
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It is a small school so you get personal treatment. It is not like the other language schools, that are overcrowded. they offer a lot of social activities and workshops at no extra cost. There is also a welcome meal. The accommodation (studio) is cosy and though it is small, it is well equipped. The schools is central. I would go back.
Other comments
The only negative thing I saw is the level test because I honestly believe I should have been place at a higher level.
5. Dec. 2011
26. (28 years)  -  Canada
26. Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly. Easy to meet people
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make sure you check how far away your accomodations are. My homestay was very far away and the métro was a horror.
Other comments
It was nice school to go to as a tourist in Paris but I wasnt impressed overall with what I learned.
28. Nov. 2011
27. Megumi (25 years)  -  Japan
27. Intensive Course - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
31. Oct. 2011
28. (26 years)  -  France
28. Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everything
27. Sep. 2011
29. (32 years)  -  United Kingdom
29. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very accommodating - even for only one week attendance. Appropriate level - teacher tailored well to individuals with class. Great extra activities and all staff clearly care about the work!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Great teachers. Take advantage of the free additional activities.
22. Sep. 2011
30. (21 years)  -  Russian Federation
30. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school is very nicely situated, very good teachers except one... The director of the school is very pleasant.
9. Sep. 2011
31. Gregory (28 years)  - 
31. Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
3. Sep. 2011
32. (25 years)  -  Spain
32. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It is well situated. Teachers are nice and groups are not big (I just had one week in august: 11 people). They offer extra activities, such as touristic visits, French pronunciation, theatre in French,... You can drink free coffee and tea.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You are suposed to have 4 hours of lessons (9:00-13:00), but there is a half hour break, so you just have 3:30 hours of lessons. Some of the chairs are not very comfortable.
Other comments
I enjoyed the three-week course I followed.
16. Aug. 2011
33. (21 years)  -  Netherlands
33. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Open atmosphere and good teachers, especially Vanessa, she's great!
9. Aug. 2011
34. (52 years)  - 
34. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Informality and the good chemistry of the group.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
That have been money well spent.
1. Aug. 2011
35. (29 years)  -  United States
35. Intensive Course - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The professors at this school are absolutely outstanding.
24. Jul. 2011
36. Adele (27 years)  - 
36. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
19. Jul. 2011
37. (55 years)  -  United States
37. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The instruction went quickly and we were able to learn a lot in a short time.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Check out the velo (bicycle) rental early which will enable you to get around Paris conveniently.
27. Jun. 2011
38. (38 years)  -  Australia
38. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Well organised and very friendly staff. The small class size was also fantastic as was the price.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Joining in the extra curricula activities is a great way to see the city for less money and hassle than organising yourself.
Other comments
Hadrien was a great teacher and I thought the course was really well laid out. I've already recommended the school to two other people.
31. May. 2011
39. Maria Carmen (37 years)  -  Spain
39. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
23. May. 2011
40. (52 years)  -  Spain
40. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The familiar and friendly atmosphere (warm welcome and contact with other students)
Other comments
I would have liked to focus a bit more on French phonetics.
13. May. 2011
41. (36 years)  -  United Kingdom
41. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
We had a fantastic time and I cannot recommend the school enough. Even though we were only able to stay a week, we both really felt that that our French improved enormously. The school was friendly and welcoming, the teacher was excellent and we got on well with the other students. We went to a free lesson on French music and a wine and cheese tasting (which we paid for) both organized by the school and both excellent. We learnt loads about wine tasting and about Jonny Hallyday.
Other comments
The host family stay was also very good. The house was comfortable, our host was friendly and helpful and it was very good value for money. It wasn't quite what we expected as we thought we'd get to spend more time with the host when in fact we mostly ate our meals on our own. But for two evenings we joined our host and her friends for dinner parties and the food was fantastic and it was great to get a genuine opportunity to practice our French.
18. Apr. 2011
42. (63 years)  -  United States
42. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Informality, friendly, accommodating, EXACTLY what I was looking for.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take advantage of the social events; connect with your fellow students to maximize the experience.
Other comments
Overall outstanding. I would recommend Atelier 9 to anyone!
11. Apr. 2011
43. Carola (21 years)  - 
43. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
29. Mar. 2011
44. (27 years)  - 
44. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teaching, the organization.
14. Mar. 2011
45. Matvey (25 years)  -  Germany
45. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
7. Mar. 2011
46. (35 years)  - 
46. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Beautiful environment, students from all around the world.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
if you leave on Sunday you will have to pay 52 euro extra, like me ... :)
Other comments
good, the balance is positive, I plan to repeat the experience in 2012 for a month
26. Feb. 2011
47. (23 years)  - 
47. Intensive Course - 6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Cultural workshops and guided tours proposed by the school
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Parc des Buttes Chaumont
22. Feb. 2011
48. (40 years)  - 
48. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Informal and welcoming environment. Punctual and precise teachers, without wasting of time. Satisfying quality (and quantity) of supplementary activities, although it was low season. Excellent tour.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The environment is informal and welcoming, even if the welcome is not very warm. The spaces are a bit narrow (we are in Paris!). Classes begin and end on time. The location is in the heart of a beautiful neighborhood (the ninth) which is easy to reach and from where you can leave for exploring on foot. During lunch breaks do not miss the chance to be closed to the legendary Chartier!
Other comments
Overall I'm satisfied and I would come back. However to improve the students' experience I would focus on a higher contact between the school(teacher / secretary) and the students, and on a better offer and promotion of materials (handouts, library, dvd ...).
17. Jan. 2011
49. Anne (21 years)  - 
49. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
28. Dec. 2010
50. Francesca Maria (23 years)  - 
50. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Sarah: LanguageCourse.Net is very cheap and the schools... more
  • Francesco (36): I had a doubt, a quick and precise reply helped me... more
  • Fiza (39): LanguageCourse.Net provides great rates, is very... more