X

Reviews of Atelier 9, Paris, France

Total number of reviews: 183
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Atelier 9, Paris, France
4.4/5.0 
(183 reviews)
City 4.8/5.0 
Organisation 4.4/5.0 
Facilities 3.8/5.0 
Social activities 4.0/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.4/5.0 
Value for money 4.2/5.0 
Accommodation
Homestay 4.0/5.0 
Shared Flat 4.0/5.0 
other 4.2/5.0 
Individual Reviews
19. Jun. 2017
1.(39 years) - Japan
1.Intensive French -5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
13. Jun. 2017
2.(24 years) - United Kingdom
2.Extensive Evening Course-4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The staff is very professional and the quality of teaching high.
Other comments
I booked B1 class which was cancelled because of the sickness of teacher and therefore continued with B2 level which I felt was too advanced for me and then switched to A2 which felt not challenging enough. Therefore, I don't feel like I've progressed as much as I could have which is a shame, but besides that everything was very good!
7. Jun. 2017
3.(28 years) - United Kingdom
3.Intensive French -4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Amazing teachers with small classes (1-10) for affordable rates.
Other comments
My favourite school in Paris.
6. Jun. 2017
4.(64 years) - France
4.Semi-Intensive course-4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The class size was small (7-9). The teacher, Vanessa, was positive and knowledgeable.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take advantage of the workshops and develop relationships with other classmates.
Other comments
Lack of resources and no advice or resources provided to assist in learning the language after class.
27. May. 2017
5.(30 years) - New Zealand
5.Intensive French -2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The classes were a nice size and my teacher was great!
24. Apr. 2017
6.(25 years) - Dominican Republic
6.Intensive French -2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school is excellent! The classroom are for small groups. Every member can participate and the language immersion is fantastic.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Since the teacher won't explain anything in your native language, I recommend that you study the basics a little, like colors, salutations, and how to ask really basic questions. The teachers are really intuitive so they will help you with anything you will need and even do mimics to explain anything. In very specific occasion they will explain something in English or say a meaning.
Other comments
It's a wonderful school. I loved pedagogic style and rhythm of the class.
11. Apr. 2017
7.(26 years) - France
7.Semi-Intensive course-4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher is really nice. And the time was good for me as well. Use a lot of different methods for learning. C'est bien!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you can attend the semi-intensive or intensive class, it will be better.
10. Apr. 2017
8.(62 years) - Canada
8.Intensive French -2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers, especially Vanessa - very lively, expressive clear and organized. Also the class size, activities and ambiance.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You must speak French at all times in the class.
Other comments
Cosy, small classes. Lots of conversational French. Interesting/engaging range of instructional activities.
20. Mar. 2017
9.(67 years) - 
9.Intensive French -1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
13. Mar. 2017
10.(25 years) - France
10.Semi-Intensive course-4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school is small and really nice.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It depends what teacher you get. My experience with Vanessa and Erika were fantastic and I think I learned a lot.
Other comments
When I returned to Paris to take another month at Atelier 9 in February, they had a new teacher for our class. The first week was not good. He was late the first day. He did not explain things well and seemed to have no prepared plan. As a class we complained to the school within the first week, but nothing happened. Everyone agreed that the first week had been a bit of a waste. I had already payed for 4 weeks though so I stuck it out. Our new teacher did improve some but was nowhere near as good as the other teachers I had had at Atelier 9. I just felt like the school should have prepared him more. The school is too expensive to have even one week where you feel you don't learn much.
27. Feb. 2017
11.(26 years) - Australia
11.Intensive French -2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Erica was an amazing teacher.
22. Feb. 2017
12.(36 years) - 
12.Intensive French -3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
16. Jan. 2017
13.(17 years) - Bolivia
13.Intensive French -4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The place makes me feel comfortable, and this makes it easier for me to speak French and meet other people.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Try to practice the language you are learning as much as you can, even if everyone in your class speaks English. You are in Paris, you should speak French. And don't miss any of the ateliers in the afternoon! They are amazing!
Other comments
Great service and organization. Good teachers and the guided visits with Antoine are over the top.
9. Jan. 2017
14.Maria(29 years) - 
14.Intensive French -7 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
22. Dec. 2016
15.(69 years) - Norway
15.Intensive French -2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
A relatively compact place, easy access to external services (although somewhat difficult to find and select shops).
Other comments
I could have used more emphasis on oral communication, and the number of requested individual sessions was not reached (two of four lectures).
19. Dec. 2016
16.(25 years) - Canada
16.Intensive French -2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I thought the teaching was great.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
None that come to mind.
19. Dec. 2016
17.(19 years) - 
17.Intensive French -10 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The mixture of a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and very competent teachers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The guided tour through town by Antoine on a particular topic, which takes place once a month.
Other comments
I can only recommend Atelier 9!
18. Nov. 2016
18.Anastasia(25 years) - 
18.Intensive French -1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
14. Nov. 2016
19.Cherry(26 years) - Canada
19.Extensive Evening Course-12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
7. Nov. 2016
20.(24 years) - Croatia
20.Intensive French -4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked my professor (Lauren), she was really good as teacher and as a person, which made my class more interesting. And I like the tempo at which we learned new stuff because, in my opinion it was not too fast and not too slow.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't miss any classes, because it's important today what you have learned yesterday.
31. Oct. 2016
21. - United States
21.Intensive French -3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Loved the course! So much fun and I learned a lot. Fatiha is very nice and helpful. The class size is small enough to let everyone practice a lot in class. It's my first experience with learning a language in it's own language from the beginning. I have to say it's more efficient.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't be afraid to go to the beginners class if you speak zero French, but I have to say English definitely helps, because as a beginner student, most of the students communicate and discuss questions in English after class.
Other comments
The young lady in accommodation is very nice and we became friends.
11. Oct. 2016
22.(38 years) - Japan
22.Intensive course-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good atmosphere in the class and easy to learn with many kinds of exercises and activities.
2. Oct. 2016
23.(64 years) - 
23.Intensive French -1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
27. Sep. 2016
24.(18 years) - 
24.Intensive French -2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Lorraine is an incredibly good teacher! In addition, the atmosphere at the school/in the class is very pleasant.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Everything is organised in a way, so that everybody has access to all the options (excursions, good teaching, etc.). Take advantage of all the offers.
Other comments
I rarely visited such a pleasant and good school.
7. Sep. 2016
25.(53 years) - 
25.Intensive French -1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
5. Sep. 2016
26.(25 years) - France
26.Extensive Evening Course-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teacher is awesome
15. Aug. 2016
27.(16 years) - United States
27.Intensive French -4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Hadrian, the teacher, is really really good
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The most important part about learning a language is understanding enough to teach yourself, and being able to think in that language
Other comments
It takes about 3 to 4 weeks to think in that language without too many problems.
13. Aug. 2016
28.(71 years) - United States
28.Intensive course-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small school, friendly environment. Great teacher.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take advantage of the extra-curricular activities offered by the school.
Other comments
Hadrian is the most patient and kind teacher. A great asset to your school.
30. Jul. 2016
29.(69 years) - United States
29.Intensive French -1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My instructor, Morgane.
Other comments
Everyone is very pleasant and helpful...
30. Jul. 2016
30.(25 years) - Saint Kitts And Nevis
30.Intensive French -2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked that it was small, at first. But, then the class got quite a bit larger. In some ways I wish that it had been a bit more structured, although I did like that we focused a lot on speaking.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Try to see what size class you'll be in. I think the smaller the better.
Other comments
The staff and teachers were all really lovely and helpful. I really liked my teacher, Fatia.
6. Jul. 2016
31.(60 years) - United States
31.Intensive French -3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers are fantastic, very smart, dedicated and hard-working. Location in the heart of Paris is perfect. Homey atmosphere of school--everybody felt welcome.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I think there should be have been more opportunities for working on pronunciation. French is hard to pronounce and inevitably foreigners have an accent, but everybody wanted to improve. Vanessa (not my teacher) gave an excellent "extra" class and I think this kind of work should be integrated for half an hour at the beginning of each class. Also, recommendations of CDs for the same should be provided at the beginning of each week. OR, CDs should be provided for work at school or at home.
Other comments
I found it a very welcoming place for students of all backgrounds. I think teachers should insist on student speaking French. I think our teacher gained confidence about that issue, but students should sign an affidavit saying they will not resort to English. They do in Canada and it made me very cross that certain students resorted to English constantly in the class. I came to learn French!! Loved it!!!! If I could have stayed longer, I would have done so. I think linking lessons to real-life opportunities would have been optimal, although I recognize this is hard to do.
23. May. 2016
32.(33 years) - 
32.Intensive French -1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
22. Mar. 2016
33.Emil(31 years) - Switzerland
33.Semi Intensive French -1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
22. Mar. 2016
34.(72 years) - United States
34.Intensive French -4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The casual atmosphere, kitchen facilities available for student use, free coffee and tea during breaks. The cameraderie among the students. The high quality of teaching.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Buy the weekly or monthly Navigo pass for ease of travel with metro, buses & RER train. It can even be used for travel to and from airports.
Other comments
You learn a lot in a short time. They need to fix the floor in the front of their largest classroom. I kept twisting my ankle slightly when I walked to and from my seat.
26. Jan. 2016
35.(42 years) - Australia
35.Semi Intensive French 10-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Great location, friendly, good facilities.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The tour to the Ile-de-la-Cité is amazing!
Other comments
Excellent. Stephanie was really great!
26. Mar. 2012
36.(27 years) - 
36.Intensive Course-4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The relaxed atmosphere and the teachers' availability.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Paris is really cold in winter!
Other comments
Excellent value for money!
20. Mar. 2012
37.(22 years) - Japan
37.Intensive Course-4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teaching. My teacher was easy to understand.
Other comments
A classroom atmosphere was so nice.
1. Mar. 2012
38.(27 years) - Italy
38.Evening Extensive Course-6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Nice environment, good lessons
20. Feb. 2012
39.(33 years) - 
39.Intensive Course-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The familiar atmosphere, everyone's kindness, excellent competence of our teacher.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
In this school you may find excellent teachers but also you will feel completely comfortable.
Other comments
Excellent workshops after morning lessons. Excellent relation with teachers. I will recommend it for sure.
26. Dec. 2011
40.(53 years) - Japan
40.Intensive Course-5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small classes, individual attention, quality of students, teachers, and ateliers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't miss the ateliers and the walking tours!
Other comments
It has a very congenial atmosphere and attracting mature students who are often professionals serious about their language studies.
26. Dec. 2011
41.(32 years) - 
41.Intensive Course-3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teaching was fantastic, engaging and practical. The school and the staff were helpful and the atmosphere was relaxed.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Do the activities, especially the Paris tour.
Other comments
It was a wonderful place to become reacquainted with the language after decades of not studying!
16. Dec. 2011
42.(21 years) - Spain
42.Intensive Course-3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It is a small school so you get personal treatment. It is not like the other language schools, that are overcrowded. they offer a lot of social activities and workshops at no extra cost. There is also a welcome meal. The accommodation (studio) is cosy and though it is small, it is well equipped. The schools is central. I would go back.
Other comments
The only negative thing I saw is the level test because I honestly believe I should have been place at a higher level.
5. Dec. 2011
43.(28 years) - Canada
43.Intensive Course-4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly. Easy to meet people
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make sure you check how far away your accomodations are. My homestay was very far away and the métro was a horror.
Other comments
It was nice school to go to as a tourist in Paris but I wasnt impressed overall with what I learned.
28. Nov. 2011
44.Megumi(25 years) - Japan
44.Intensive Course-8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
31. Oct. 2011
45.(26 years) - France
45.Intensive Course-4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everything
27. Sep. 2011
46.(32 years) - United Kingdom
46.Intensive Course-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very accommodating - even for only one week attendance. Appropriate level - teacher tailored well to individuals with class. Great extra activities and all staff clearly care about the work!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Great teachers. Take advantage of the free additional activities.
22. Sep. 2011
47.(21 years) - Russian Federation
47.Intensive Course-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school is very nicely situated, very good teachers except one... The director of the school is very pleasant.
9. Sep. 2011
48.Gregory(28 years) - 
48.Intensive Course-4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
3. Sep. 2011
49.(25 years) - Spain
49.Intensive Course-3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It is well situated. Teachers are nice and groups are not big (I just had one week in august: 11 people). They offer extra activities, such as touristic visits, French pronunciation, theatre in French,... You can drink free coffee and tea.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You are suposed to have 4 hours of lessons (9:00-13:00), but there is a half hour break, so you just have 3:30 hours of lessons. Some of the chairs are not very comfortable.
Other comments
I enjoyed the three-week course I followed.
16. Aug. 2011
50.(21 years) - Netherlands
50.Intensive Course-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Open atmosphere and good teachers, especially Vanessa, she's great!

In the press:
Press mentions
Press mentions
Trusted by:
Companies who trust in LanguageCourse.net
Companies who trust in LanguageCourse.net
Android icon
+
Apple icon
+
VT app shown on tablet
+
VT app shown on mobile

Learn English with our free app

Vocabulary Trainer

+10.000.000 Downloads