X

Reviews of Atelier 9, Paris, France - Page 2

Total number of reviews: 178
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Atelier 9, Paris, France
4.4/5.0 
(178 reviews)
City 4.8/5.0 
Organisation 4.4/5.0 
Facilities 3.8/5.0 
Social activities 4.1/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.4/5.0 
Value for money 4.2/5.0 
Accommodation
Homestay 4.0/5.0 
Shared Flat 4.0/5.0 
other 4.1/5.0 
Individual Reviews
31. May. 2011
51. Maria Carmen (37 years)  -  Spain
51. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
23. May. 2011
52. (52 years)  -  Spain
52. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The familiar and friendly atmosphere (warm welcome and contact with other students)
Other comments
I would have liked to focus a bit more on French phonetics.
13. May. 2011
53. (36 years)  -  United Kingdom
53. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
We had a fantastic time and I cannot recommend the school enough. Even though we were only able to stay a week, we both really felt that that our French improved enormously. The school was friendly and welcoming, the teacher was excellent and we got on well with the other students. We went to a free lesson on French music and a wine and cheese tasting (which we paid for) both organized by the school and both excellent. We learnt loads about wine tasting and about Jonny Hallyday.
Other comments
The host family stay was also very good. The house was comfortable, our host was friendly and helpful and it was very good value for money. It wasn't quite what we expected as we thought we'd get to spend more time with the host when in fact we mostly ate our meals on our own. But for two evenings we joined our host and her friends for dinner parties and the food was fantastic and it was great to get a genuine opportunity to practice our French.
18. Apr. 2011
54. (63 years)  -  United States
54. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Informality, friendly, accommodating, EXACTLY what I was looking for.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take advantage of the social events; connect with your fellow students to maximize the experience.
Other comments
Overall outstanding. I would recommend Atelier 9 to anyone!
11. Apr. 2011
55. Carola (21 years)  - 
55. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
29. Mar. 2011
56. (27 years)  - 
56. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teaching, the organization.
14. Mar. 2011
57. Matvey (25 years)  -  Germany
57. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
7. Mar. 2011
58. (35 years)  - 
58. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Beautiful environment, students from all around the world.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
if you leave on Sunday you will have to pay 52 euro extra, like me ... :)
Other comments
good, the balance is positive, I plan to repeat the experience in 2012 for a month
26. Feb. 2011
59. (23 years)  - 
59. Intensive Course - 6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Cultural workshops and guided tours proposed by the school
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Parc des Buttes Chaumont
22. Feb. 2011
60. (40 years)  - 
60. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Informal and welcoming environment. Punctual and precise teachers, without wasting of time. Satisfying quality (and quantity) of supplementary activities, although it was low season. Excellent tour.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The environment is informal and welcoming, even if the welcome is not very warm. The spaces are a bit narrow (we are in Paris!). Classes begin and end on time. The location is in the heart of a beautiful neighborhood (the ninth) which is easy to reach and from where you can leave for exploring on foot. During lunch breaks do not miss the chance to be closed to the legendary Chartier!
Other comments
Overall I'm satisfied and I would come back. However to improve the students' experience I would focus on a higher contact between the school(teacher / secretary) and the students, and on a better offer and promotion of materials (handouts, library, dvd ...).
17. Jan. 2011
61. Anne (21 years)  - 
61. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
28. Dec. 2010
62. Francesca Maria (23 years)  - 
62. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
21. Dec. 2010
63. (27 years)  -  Hungary
63. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
We were only 9 in the group. Nice teachers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I really liked the free guided tour the school organized. If you have the possibility, try that! It is not every week :-(
Other comments
There is no library in the school to read French books for students or videos in French... in the other school, where I was last year, there was a small library for students and it was very useful.
6. Dec. 2010
64. (27 years)  - 
64. Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teaching method
Other comments
Small classes, fast learning progress, you can contribute your own ideas, ambitious teachers
19. Nov. 2010
65. (35 years)  -  Australia
65. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly atmosphere, good mix of students of different ages and cultures, dvd library, class size of 9 people means there is lots of opportunity to speak. Good mix of grammar and practical French.
Other comments
The workshops in the afternoon are good, however they offer the same 3-4 workshops every month, which is a bit repetitive if you are studying for longer than 4 weeks. We had the same teacher everyday for 6 weeks, it would be beneficial to have a different teacher for part of the day or month. All the teachers are great, but different teachers help create a different class dynamic, learning experience and make it a lot more fun! I would also like to see more use of props, to add more variety to the day!
16. Nov. 2010
66. (52 years)  -  Lithuania
66. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Excellent teachers, a very good teaching program. Everyone was involved. Even though I preferred walking to and from the courses, the school is close to the subway, also close to a supermarket - "Supermarche G20".
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
When selecting "staying with a host family", I checked the options "no children", "no pets" and "no smoking" and as the result I stayed with a very nice host with no pets and no children. One girl of our group, however, had to put up with an annoying child, probably because she didn't select "no children" option.
9. Nov. 2010
67. (47 years)  - 
67. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Nice and competent teachers, atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Unfortunately, I could not participate in the social activities because I was in Paris for two weeks right during the change of rotation. All activities took place before or after.
26. Oct. 2010
68. (32 years)  - 
68. Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
5. Oct. 2010
69. (21 years)  - 
69. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Nice people and good teaching.
28. Sep. 2010
70. (20 years)  - 
70. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly relaxed atmosphere. Flexible fun classes. A really international group of students. Vanessa was a fantastic teacher. A lot of emphasis on speaking spontaneously.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Stay for a month so you can have a go at all the free activities, which really help practice your French. Meetup website is a really good way to meet people to practice your French with. Free English tea and coffee! Free use of their computer with internet or their wifi.
Other comments
Some people in my class had tried other language schools in Paris first and then moved to Atelier 9 because it was so much better.
21. Sep. 2010
71. (32 years)  -  Greece
71. Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very creative teachers.
20. Sep. 2010
72. Mónika (37 years)  -  Hungary
72. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
8. Sep. 2010
73. (38 years)  -  Switzerland
73. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The professional teachers and warm atmosphere in general. Nice classrooms!
8. Sep. 2010
74. (19 years)  - 
74. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The environment
7. Sep. 2010
75. Mei Ki (33 years)  -  France
75. Evening Extensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
6. Sep. 2010
76. (30 years)  -  Canada
76. Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher Celine was excellent! She explains things very well and is also very patient with us. Also, free coffee and tea is great.
Other comments
Wish I had a chance to do some of the cultural activities, but will have to save that for next time.
1. Sep. 2010
77. (23 years)  - 
77. Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Focus on speaking. Great friendly teachers, and lots of other interesting students to talk to.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Go to the guided tours in the countryside outside of Paris!
1. Sep. 2010
78. Ambra (32 years)  - 
78. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
28. Aug. 2010
79. (44 years)  - 
79. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Quality teaching,relaxed atmostphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I've heard that the accommodations provided by the school are not so good.
23. Aug. 2010
80. (22 years)  -  Australia
80. Intensive Course - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small and intimate environment. Stephanie organised everything quite well.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make sure you borrow the DVDs which are free.
Other comments
The school enrolled 10 students in a few classes when their stated maximum was 9.
12. Aug. 2010
81. (22 years)  - 
81. Summer Course - morning - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The availability of teachers, the location of the school, the opportunity to meet other students.
12. Aug. 2010
82. (54 years)  - 
82. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher, Celina, was lovely and very competent. Stephanie, the director was also very approachable, friendly and helpful. The atmosphere at the school is very amicable. Most of all, I liked it that the emphasis was on speaking French!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you would like to be more confident in speaking French - this is the place. Also, the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly - more like a free school or Steiner school.
Other comments
I loved every day of my course: small classes, lovely environment, excellent teaching, friendly teachers.
3. Aug. 2010
83. (51 years)  - 
83. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The atmostphere, the teachers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The groups are small in number
28. Jun. 2010
84. (42 years)  -  United States
84. Evening Extensive Course - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The relaxed atmosphere combined with an intense learning program.
21. Jun. 2010
85. (20 years)  -  Sweden
85. Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were great and very patient.I really like their way of teaching. I had Vanessa and Lucie- Great teachers! Small classes is a big +.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The parisian parks, lovely!
7. Jun. 2010
86. (33 years)  -  Canada
86. Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school was very welcoming to students.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Participate in the free workshops!!
14. May. 2010
87. (39 years)  - 
87. Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the classroom-management of the teachers.
6. Apr. 2010
88. (64 years)  -  Sweden
88. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The very excellent, outstandning and nice teacher, the group of students. A very good learning experience in all aspects
29. Mar. 2010
89. (72 years)  - 
89. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Home environment, very practical
17. Mar. 2010
90. (40 years)  -  United Kingdom
90. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the quality of teaching
10. Mar. 2010
91. (32 years)  -  France
91. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher
8. Feb. 2010
92. (21 years)  - 
92. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
familiarity
6. Jan. 2010
93. (27 years)  -  Japan
93. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
our teacher
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
guide tour
Other comments
Their location, atomosphere, classrooms, teachers,everything was great enough. My teacher was helpful and energetic to teach us. She taught us until we completely understood and almost never gave up. I'm appreciative about that because I could manage to figure out what I should do. In addition, I could use free wifi, drink free coffee or tea, take a small rest with their cozy sofas or chairs. I recommend this school a lot to learn french!
27. Oct. 2009
94. Lucía (25 years)  - 
94. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
27. Oct. 2009
95. María Ariana (26 years)  - 
95. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
26. Oct. 2009
96. (22 years)  - 
96. Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teachers and peers
Other comments
information about accommodation should be sent before and be clearer.
20. Oct. 2009
97. (25 years)  -  Australia
97. Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
small clases and welcoming attitude
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I think beginners need a book to supplement and really learn the basics.
Other comments
the school was great, the staff friendly and welcoming and I liked everyone I met. I also enjoyed the course, got quality attention and learned a lot.
8. Oct. 2009
98. (21 years)  -  Poland
98. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Great atmosphere, I learned a lot thanks to it
5. Oct. 2009
99. Noemí (19 years)  - 
99. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
5. Oct. 2009
100. Raúl (21 years)  - 
100. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Get the card Navigo for the underground, is much cheaper.

In the press:
Press mentions
Press mentions
Trusted by:
Companies who trust in LanguageCourse.net
Companies who trust in LanguageCourse.net
Android icon
+
Apple icon
+
VT app shown on tablet
+
VT app shown on mobile

Learn English with our free app

Vocabulary Trainer

+10.000.000 Downloads