X

Reviews of CAREL, Royan, France

Total number of reviews: 123
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
CAREL, Royan, France
4.2/5.0 
(123 reviews)
City 3.8/5.0 
Organisation 4.2/5.0 
Facilities 4.5/5.0 
Social activities 4.0/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.3/5.0 
Value for money 4.1/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 4.4/5.0 
Shared Flat 4.0/5.0 
other 3.9/5.0 
Individual Reviews
30. Aug. 2016
1. (21 years)  - 
1. General French Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Flat
other
23. Aug. 2016
2. (14 years)  -  Belgium
2. Junior Programme (12-17 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Nothing about the school. Multiactivities were the best.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Think twice before you decide to go there. Better to go with a companion.
Other comments
The school did not offer all levels and did not inform me that my level was not there. I was put in a lower level which obviously did not contribute to a significant progress in my French. I was completely left alone in my free time without any supervision from any adult even though I am only 14. My parents didn't like it, of course.
23. Aug. 2016
3. (17 years)  -  Ireland
3. Junior Programme (12-17 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The cafeteria.
Other comments
After finishing the French course for the morning the 2 hour lunch break is excessive. Also opening the school gym would have been a nice addition.
17. Aug. 2016
4. (15 years)  - 
4. Junior English Course (11-18 years old) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Classroom activities.
17. Aug. 2016
5. (16 years)  -  Sweden
5. Junior Programme (12-17 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
To meet people from all around the world
28. Jul. 2016
6. (16 years)  - 
6. Junior Programme (12-17 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the lounge
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Be careful with your allergies. It would be good to change the junior ateliers creatifs.
1. May. 2016
7.  - 
7. General French Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment - Low Season
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher was very young, dynamic and intelligent, the classes were really interesting.
Other comments
Only one thing I did not like very much: the toilets were always dirty, I think they could put a paper reporting that you should leave everything in order.
19. Oct. 2015
8. (64 years)  -  France
8. General French Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
That nothing was too much effort. The whole experience from the landlady, through school administrators and the exceptional teaching was indeed a memorable experience.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
No food or decaf coffee on the premises.
Other comments
I intend to revisit the school at some point in the future once I have mastered verb conjugation.
16. Oct. 2015
9. David (27 years)  -  United Kingdom
9. General French Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment - Low Season
other
19. Sep. 2015
10. (62 years)  -  Australia
10. General French Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendliness of the staff, small numbers in the class and individual attention given to each person. Location: Royan is a picturesque seaside town small enough to get around on foot.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I had 1 week only, would recommend at least 2 weeks to consolidate what you have learnt. Take advantage of the extra activities organised in the afternoons after school.
Other comments
Staff were very personable and dedicated to making sure everyone in the class understood the concepts.
30. Aug. 2015
11. Laura (16 years)  - 
11. Junior Programme (12-17 years) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
28. Jul. 2015
12. (29 years)  - 
12. General French Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Lycee de l'Atlantique
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good atmosphere, the number of young people and nationalities
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The lycee does not have wifi, cooking or laundry facilities
Other comments
Highly recommended to join all afternoon activities
15. Mar. 2015
13. Cyriele (14 years)  - 
13. ANGLAIS SCOLAIRE 30h (11-18 ans) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Flat
other
24. Feb. 2015
14. (61 years)  - 
14. General French Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
brightness through the windows which had no blinds when viewing computer projections
Other comments
Great thank you, I will come back in autumn
19. Aug. 2014
15. Bek (14 years)  -  Kazakhstan
15. Junior Programme (12-17 years) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
5. Aug. 2014
16. (14 years)  - 
16. Junior Programme (12-17 years) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers' availability, the study materials, the sports activities in the afternoon
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
A lot of the CAREL students are Spanish, so you need to to integrate yourself despite the difference in language.
21. Jul. 2014
17. Axel (17 years)  - 
17. ANGLAIS SCOLAIRE 30h (11-18 ans) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Flat
other
10. Jun. 2014
18. (33 years)  - 
18. General French Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The lessons were a great mix of speaking, listening and reading comprehension and grammar. Due to the direct correction and the large number of international classmates, I could easily improve my knowledge of French.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
After school, from 16 clock, You can explore the area around Royan. For this purpose I recommend to use a bike or car.
18. Nov. 2013
19. Irina (39 years)  - 
19. General French Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Flat
other
11. Nov. 2013
20. (30 years)  - 
20. Intensive French Course with Professional Internship - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment - Low Season
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
loved the system of teaching, teachers and the general atmosphere in the school. I would like to go back there again!
Other comments
Thank you very much for your work!
6. Jan. 2013
21. (13 years)  -  Ireland
21. Junior Programme (12-17 years) SPECIAL - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Easy to find
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
None
8. Aug. 2012
22. (60 years)  - 
22. General French Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Interaction with other students from different countries; excellent teaching from highly competent and enthusiastic teacher.
Other comments
I would certainly re-book for next year if I return to holiday in this area.
30. Jul. 2012
23. (15 years)  -  Spain
23. Junior Programme (12-17 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My classmates.
7. Nov. 2011
24. (28 years)  -  Canada
24. General French Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay - Low Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are very nice and helpful. The school has a wonderful reference library to aid with studying. The city is small and very boring in the off-season, but it
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Go on the trips, you
7. Nov. 2011
25. (28 years)  - 
25. General French Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay - Low Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Different media and ways to learn and consolidate the language skills.
25. Sep. 2011
26. (51 years)  - 
26. General French Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The very dedicated and imaginative teachers, varied teaching; flexibility of teachers, focusing on communication
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I would definitely take more than two weeks of classes next time.
1. Sep. 2011
27. (28 years)  - 
27. General French Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay - High Season
15. Aug. 2011
28. (42 years)  - 
28. General French Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The mix of nationalities (on average about 80 students from 20 nations) and ages (approx. 21-60 years). A good value for money. The city of Royan is not comparable to places like Nice, Paris, Bordeaux, but there are many possibilities for activities, and during the week, it is easier to focus on the lessons than in the above mentioned places.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The horseback ride through the forest next to St. George de Didonne is also great for beginners who have never even ridden before!
Other comments
My accommodation in a host family was a bit grubby but my hostess was very friendly, helpful, and a good cook of the French cuisine! Also, she talked a lot with me, so I would absolutely recommend to stay with a host family. However, you should be prepared that the idea of cleanliness and order may be different than your own.
6. Jun. 2011
29. (36 years)  -  Spain
29. General French Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Cheap, residence in front of the school, studio TV used by the students (it's really funny!), beaches, classes with projector... Very very, professional... someone told me that it was one of the two best language schools in France, I really think it.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you want to pass the DELF, you CAN do it in the school in one day, one day simulation test a week, a lot of parking, very good teachers ... I think for a Spaniard with a car, who wants to take the DELF it is the best value for the money in France (I've been to three different schools).
Other comments
Marilyn is a super professional teacher, she teaches very well, and is also very pretty!
11. Oct. 2010
30. (41 years)  - 
30. General French Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher was very experienced, and the multimedia centre was very well equipped.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make sure you're given a proper introduction to the school facilities - because only I and one other student began on the first day of my course we didn't receive a proper introduction and it took me a week to work out what facilities were available and how to access them.
Other comments
The school teaches in a very formal way - it isn't interactive and doesn't support those who are struggling. Each student is expected to take care of their own needs. I fell between two levels and was put in the higher class which I found difficult and demoralising.
14. Sep. 2010
31. (23 years)  - 
31. General French Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment - High Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The diversity of the social activities and the innovative teaching techniques
13. Sep. 2010
32. (36 years)  - 
32. General French Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay - Low Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The cosy atmosphere
Other comments
In my case, the different levels in the class affected my learning.
31. Aug. 2010
33. (49 years)  - 
33. General French Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay - High Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The variety of students, the situation..
25. Aug. 2010
34. (17 years)  - 
34. Junior Programme (12-17 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The people, the teachers and the sports program.
16. Aug. 2010
35. (28 years)  - 
35. General French Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The variety of activities.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The residence, Lycee l'atlantique, has no kitchen.
13. Aug. 2010
36. (52 years)  - 
36. General French Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Excellent teachers, good technical equipment, accurate evaluation of progress and indications for further improvements.
3. Aug. 2010
37. (14 years)  - 
37. Junior Programme (12-17 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
sport activities
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Excursions
Other comments
Congratulations for the welcome of the teachers and guides. Really good service.
14. Jul. 2010
38. (31 years)  -  Ireland
38. General French Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It was easy to find one's way around the school. There was an excellent library and computer room. It was located close to the town.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Be aware that the school has no cantine facilites.
Other comments
The Erasmus accommodation was awful. It was filthy on my arrival. I had to go to the supermarket to buy cleaning products as the surfaces were black with dirt. The bed was really a matress on the floor. There was a disgusting smell coming from the fridge and mould growing around the shower curtain. I even wore flip flops in the shower. I tried to spend as little time as possible here.

 

Response from school
We have had an exceptionnal problem with some flats last summer which had been occupied for a previous period of 7 months and which have not been checked out in due time, thus leaving not enough time for thorough cleaning by the janitor. Please note that the mattress does lay on a low support and is not placed directly on the floor. Otherwise, flats in our residence are always cleant before arrival of students. A lot of our "back-comers" do ask for accomodation in the residence again.
5. Jul. 2010
39. (20 years)  - 
39. General French Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
28. Jun. 2010
40. (47 years)  -  France
40. General French Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Well organised, friendly, helpful and plenty of learning aids.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I only enrolled for 1 week, due to present circumstances, not long enough! Next time I will enrol for at least 4 weeks so I can progress further.
Other comments
I would recommend staying with a host family, mine were brilliant and made me feel really welcome.
23. Jun. 2010
41. (33 years)  - 
41. General French Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Atmosphere in the school
Other comments
Lunch breaks are too long
22. Jun. 2010
42. Gabriele (55 years)  - 
42. General French Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Other comments
The training in the language lab and the listening exercises could have been more extensive.
4. May. 2010
43. (24 years)  - 
43. General French Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I especially liked the activities outside class. For example, I went to the welcome reception for new students in the nearby Irish Pub "Astoria" and was able to quickly establish contact with French people. For me it was important to practice French. The school also offers English courses for French .There you can find also very easy language partner
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Astoria and many other excursions.
28. Mar. 2010
44. (60 years)  -  United Kingdom
44. General French Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The facilities were good. The teaching was well adapted to the needs of students
Other comments
I was told to report at 8.30 am on the 1st day but nothing happened until 9.20. After that the testing and placement took all morning and could have been much better organised.
22. Dec. 2009
45. (44 years)  -  United States
45. General French Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the professors are excellent
28. Aug. 2009
46. (49 years)  - 
46. Teacher training programme - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Quality of teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
To avoid accomodation at Erasmus residence
Other comments
To prefer summer courses
16. Aug. 2009
47. (31 years)  - 
47. General French Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good organisation, very friendly, good quality of lessons
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't miss the entertaining program!
Other comments
Choose to stay at with a host family!
29. Jun. 2009
48. (45 years)  - 
48. Intensive 25 - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I can recommend this school if you are serious about learning French. Very dedicated and qualified teaching staff.
Other comments
School offers alot of different leisure activities - if you have time to attend apart from class and homework. The city itself had not much to offer. It caters more to retirees and tourists.
23. Jun. 2009
49. Dag (64 years)  -  Sweden
49. General French Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
27. May. 2009
50. (56 years)  -  United States
50. General French Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Other students.

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Attila (41): I am very satisfied. I found more relevant... more
  • Jacqueline (24): I highly recommend booking with... more
  • Piotr (35): Good service, helpful.... more