Reviews of Centro Internacional de Idiomas, La Ceiba, Honduras

Total No. of Reviews: 18
NOTE: All evaluations are authentic. Only former participants who have booked a course with us at the school can publish evaluations after the end of the course. Schools could therefore not manipulate evaluations and you can trust in all published evaluations.

Average Rating

Overall rating
Centro Internacional de Idiomas, La Ceiba, Honduras
4.4/5.0 
(18 reviews)
City 3.9/5.0 
Organisation 4.3/5.0 
Facilities 3.8/5.0 
Social activities 3.8/5.0 
Course Quality / Progress in language 4.7/5.0 
Value for money 4.8/5.0 
Accommodation
Host Family 4.6/5.0 
Shared flat (apartment) 4.7/5.0 
Other 4.8/5.0 
Individual Reviews
20. May. 2014
1. (29 years)  -  Switzerland
1. Individual 20 + accommodation - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The high level of the teachers and of the lessons.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't expect the school to have dictionaries in all the languages, come prepared with a dictionary and some other little studying books in order to improve your Spanish as quickly as possible.
Other comments
WITHOUT A DOUBT THE BEST LANGUAGE SCHOOL I EVER ATTENDED IN MY LONG EXPERIENCE WITH LANGUAGE COURSES. Everything was amazing, from the Host family to the individual lessons, and from the City (La Ceiba) to Honduras in general as (a wonderful) country to visit. Before I left Switzerland to attend this language course, everybody in my home country was telling me how dangerous Honduras can be. The truth is that during my month in La Ceiba, no one stole even a single cent from me. I used to walk alone, 45 minutes each day, from my accommodation to the beach and nothing happened to me. Of course, it is better to avoid walking alone at night, but otherwise, Honduras is very safe. Regarding the Spanish lessons, I really appreciated that they were private lessons and the teachers were very competent. But don't expect the school to have dictionaries in all languages, come prepared with a dictionary and some other little studying books, in order to improve your Spanish as quickly as possible. Avoid booking a Spanish course with the other Spanish School in la Ceiba. I met some very unhappy international students in La Ceiba, who attended the other school and who had been cheated. If you don't have the time and the money to travel to Honduras, or if you want to continue to improve your Spanish skills after you have attended the school, the very prepared teachers of the Centro Internacional de Idiomas also offer Skype lessons.
30. Oct. 2012
2. (71 years)  -  United States
2. Spanish for seniors - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked the friendly atmosphere and my instructor was very patient
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Impossible without air conditioning at night in the summer
Other comments
I enjoyed it. I may go back. I accomplished what I set out to do.
9. Jul. 2012
3. (29 years)  -  Switzerland
3. Individual - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The Teachers were very good & the school is very well organized
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
a weekend trip to Roatan
30. Jan. 2011
4. (25 years)  -  United States
4. Spanish and Volunteer program - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school felt like a second home. It was a comforting place to go in a foreign country. The teachers are great, and they keep classes exciting with games and conversation. Manuel, the program director, helped us out with all the difficult tasks one has to do when arriving somewhere new. It was an incredible relief having someone there when I was having bank problems or couldn't find any scrubs for volunteering in the hospital. Thanks Manuel!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you are volunteering in the health field, bring scrubs!
15. Jun. 2010
5. (22 years)  -  United States
5. Individual - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
All of the teachers were extremely helpful and always made sure I was learning and enjoying myself.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you have time then you should definitely go to Roatan! Also enjoyed going to the movies with the other students.
15. Jun. 2010
6. (21 years)  -  United States
6. Individual - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers did a great job of mixing things up so you never got bored of classes.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Go to Roatan one weekend while you're taking classes in La Ceiba!
Other comments
It would have been more beneficial for me to have a host family who didn't speak English, so that's something for future students to keep in mind.
14. Sep. 2009
7. (39 years)  -  Hong Kong
7. Individual - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The environment was quite good for studying.
30. Dec. 2008
8. (60 years)  -  United States
8. Spanish and Volunteer program (1 wk) + Spanish and Ecotourism program (1wk) - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The curriculum was tailored to my needs
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Ask about doing lessons outdoors at Sambo Creek or La Quinta Hotel in La Ceiba.
Other comments
The Jungle River Lodge option is worth the extra bucks, but my teacher had a struggle going back and forth from the city to the lodge every day. Manuel was reevaluating that option when I last talked to him.
6. Apr. 2007
9. (28 years)  -  Denmark
9. Individual - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
helpful teachers and social contact to other students
9. Aug. 2006
10. (26 years)  - 
10. Individual - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teacher where very friendly and did in their private time a lot of things with me (city night life,...)
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
dictionary book in your own language
Other comments
the school is very good. if your hear anything else, don´t believe it!
27. Jul. 2006
11. (49 years)  -  United States
11. Individual - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
one on one focused instruction
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you don't already know about it, ask them about opportunities for service (hospital, etc.) before coming. I wish I had known about them.
Other comments
The teachers that I dealt with were all well qualified. My 2 teachers were patient, and very good at focusing on what I needed to work on.
27. Feb. 2006
12.  -  Polska
12. Individual - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teacher - Christian
26. Jun. 2005
13. (28 years)  - 
13. One-to-One

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very friendly staff, air conditioning and free drinking water
Other comments
the school doesn´t offer studying material except for some copies. so it is necessary to come prepared (dictonary, grammarbook) to la Ceiba. For all those who are not english native speakers it's more difficult to learn spanish because the school teach only in english.
27. Feb. 2005
14. (29 years)  -  Usa
14. Super Intensive (+35h)

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Family and Teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Bring a dictionary of verbs and don't forget to check out Roatan!
Other comments
This was an excellent school with fabulous teachers and administrator. The family was superb with an amazingly beautiful house. I would highly recommend this school because of the city, the proximity to so many things to do, the profesionalism of the teachers, and the overall program of the school in general. Thanks Manual!
29. Aug. 2004
15. (24 years)  - 
15. One-to-One

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
1 to 1 teaching
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The disco "Cassona", the "Black and White" and the whole "Zona Viva" as well as the Salsa lessons.
Other comments
Very friendly and well prepared teachers.
2. Apr. 2002
16. (32 years)  -  Germany
16. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very friendly people
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
rent a motorbike and go to the Rio Crancrejal
10. Apr. 2001
17. (60 years)  -  Usa
17. One-to-One

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It is located in the middle of a small city that offers abundant opportunities for immersion in the culture. I also liked the 1:1 attention from staff.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
See as much of the city and surrounding area as you can.
10. Apr. 2001
18. David (52 years)  -  Us
18. One-to-One

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Harm Jaap (46): Normally I contact language schools directly, but... more
  • Abrahan (23): I liked the experience of LanguageCourse.Net, they... more
  • Piotr (35): Good service, helpful.... more
*required