X

Reviews of Centro Koinè, Bologna, Italy

Total number of reviews: 27
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Centro Koinè, Bologna, Italy
4.4/5.0 
(27 reviews)
City 4.8/5.0 
Organisation 4.5/5.0 
Facilities 3.9/5.0 
Social activities 4.2/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.5/5.0 
Value for money 4.4/5.0 
Accommodation
Homestay 4.4/5.0 
Shared Flat 4.5/5.0 
other 4.6/5.0 
Individual Reviews
10. Jul. 2017
1.Anne(77 years) - Denmark
1.Italian Language and Culture-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
22. May. 2017
2.(59 years) - United States
2.Italian Language and Culture-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small class size, and personal attention.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take every opportunity to interact with the locals in Italian.
Other comments
Overall I felt it was a great deal.
13. Mar. 2017
3.Jon(24 years) - Netherlands
3.Combined Intensive Course (20 group + 10 individual)-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
11. Mar. 2017
4.(28 years) - Italy
4.Italian Language and Culture-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I loved Centro Koine, and highly recommend it. I was able to build great relationships with both the teachers and the students as everyone was very friendly. The building was quaint and in a great location near San Stefano. As a beginner, I received a lot of time and attention, and feel like I learned as much as a could during my short 1-week stay with the school. Centro Koine does a great job at facilitating interactions among students and teachers in an informal setting, and I hope to visit the school again at some point to advance my Italian.
13. Sep. 2016
5.(28 years) - 
5.Italian Language and Culture-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
School ideally located in the center, teachers adapt to their students' level.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Enjoy the weekend to visit other nearby cities which are of interest (Ferrara, Verona, Modena ...)
Other comments
I am very satisfied with the service. If I had to do another Italian course, I'd do it there. The only downside for me is that teachers don't make us redact enough.
11. Jul. 2016
6.(38 years) - United Kingdom
6.Italian Language and Culture-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers I had during my course - Corinna and Chiara - are simply wonderful. It's a very friendly place to study.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Bologna is a wonderful city. Go out and explore. Make friends with the Italians. Don't just stick with your fellow students! Walk to San Luca, go for an aperitivo, eat gelato and try some sublime local food...
Other comments
A wonderful month. Grazie mille
29. Jun. 2016
7.(68 years) - 
7.Italian Language and Culture-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the quality of teaching and the kindness of teachers and Secretary
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Abbey of Santo Stefano, the palace of the Archiginnasio (the library and the anatomical theater), the historic cemetery in Bologna or Certosa , etc ...
Other comments
Excellent website,great support, and Anne-Cécile has been very competent, responsive, reassuring and very nice on the phone.
10. May. 2016
8.(51 years) - United Kingdom
8.Italian Language and Culture-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good location, good teachers
25. Feb. 2015
9.(61 years) - 
9.Italian Language and Culture-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Few students in class, friendly teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make excursions within the area
Other comments
Small - but very nice!
17. Jan. 2015
10.(81 years) - 
10.11 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
As the activities were organized everyday, I could really enjoy the city with many attractions. Thanks to 30-minute lunch break and some paid dinners, I could socialize with other students and teachers and improve the conversation skills.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
In the beginner class, you can only learn 70% of the basic grammars for three months due to the slow teaching speed. You can socialize with other students during the 30-minute break. I recommend you to increase your level up to A2 at least in Japan before studying at the school.
Other comments
I'm afraid that the school has a kind of loose curriculum. Therefore, sometimes a student with a different level was in a class.
14. Nov. 2014
11.(26 years) - Netherlands
11.Italian Language and Culture-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers were very friendly and motivated!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Stay longer than one week if you can. Go with someone else so that you can challenge yourselves outside the school in Italian.
Other comments
I missed being given important back up information that could be explained in English (in less time) to clear up misunderstandings. This is required for a 'beginner' level candidate. This was not given unfortunately.
19. May. 2014
12.(72 years) - 
12.Italian Language and Culture-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers, the school's central location
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
so much to see that I would have liked to extend my stay, my schedule did not allow it unfortunately!
Other comments
one down-point: there were mostly English-speaking students, so they often spoke English together!
22. Jul. 2013
13.(64 years) - 
13.Italian Language and Culture-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
All teachers, even those who have not directly taught our class were very kommunkativ and very friendly. The classes were optimal.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The social activities they offered.
Other comments
The atmosphere at this school is so positive that I went to class every day with joy.
1. Jan. 2013
14.(42 years) - 
14.Italian Language and Culture-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendliness of the teachers and staff.
Other comments
It worked really great. - I felt very comfortable. - Thank you
15. Oct. 2012
15.Elena(35 years) - Russian Federation
15.Italian Language and Culture-3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
15. Oct. 2012
16.(21 years) - 
16.Italian Language and Culture-5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The class in small groups (only 4 students most of the time), therfore the classes were more intense. The familiy atmosphere!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You should definitely borrow some Italian movies from the school library ;) and establish new international friendships.
Other comments
I traveled with EF before - there, the price-performance ratio did not match up. But this small language school has been cheaper for five weeks than if I would have traveled only two weeks with EF. The familiy atmosphere, the courses are small, the teachers are really nice and very endeavored, students from all over the world.
18. Jun. 2012
17.(63 years) - United States
17.Italian Language and Culture-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The staff and social activities.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Go where you think you belong.
Other comments
Needs to have books or booklets for students with some basic vocabulary and verbs.
28. Jun. 2011
18.Siegfried(64 years) - 
18.Combined Intensive Course & Italian Language and Culture-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
14. Mar. 2011
19.(26 years) - 
19.Italian Language and Culture-4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The general atmosphere is very nice, liked the teachers and life in Bologna is very pleasant.
15. Nov. 2010
20.(22 years) - Australia
20.Italian Language and Culture-3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I thought the lessons were fantastic. Everybody was given an opportunity to learn at their own pace, and I felt that everyone was showing signs of improvement every day.
11. Oct. 2010
21.(25 years) - Finland
21.Italian Language and Culture-4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were all really nice.
9. Jun. 2010
22.(22 years) - 
22.Italian Language and Culture-12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers gave great lessons
28. May. 2010
23.(42 years) - 
23.Italian Language and Culture-5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the team is very dynamic, very competitive and interesting teachers. Small classes, we were between 2 and 7 students.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
cultural activities with Giulia. The coffee break at 11.00 in Piazza San Stefano in the sun ...
Other comments
The city of Bologna is really enjoyable very safe,very beautiful and very interesting.
9. Nov. 2009
24.(61 years) - 
24.Italian Language and Culture-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher Mauro
9. Nov. 2009
25.(63 years) - 
25.Combined Intensive Course-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and the classes
12. Jul. 2009
26.(54 years) - 
26.Italian Language and Culture-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
friendly athmosphere
13. Nov. 2008
27.(18 years) - 
27.Language and Culture-4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
small groups

In the press:
Press mentions
Press mentions
Trusted by:
Companies who trust in LanguageCourse.net
Companies who trust in LanguageCourse.net
Android icon
+
Apple icon
+
VT app shown on tablet
+
VT app shown on mobile

Learn English with our free app

Vocabulary Trainer

+10.000.000 Downloads