X

Reviews of Centro Koinè, Florence, Italy

Total number of reviews: 41
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Centro Koinè, Florence, Italy
4.4/5.0 
(41 reviews)
City 4.8/5.0 
Organisation 4.5/5.0 
Facilities 3.9/5.0 
Social activities 4.1/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.5/5.0 
Value for money 4.4/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 4.4/5.0 
Shared Flat 4.3/5.0 
other 4.3/5.0 
Individual Reviews
30. Aug. 2016
1. (23 years)  - 
1. Italian Language Course (20) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment
other
25. Aug. 2016
2. (54 years)  -  Poland
2. Italian Language Course (20) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
22. Aug. 2016
3. (28 years)  - 
3. Italian Language Course (20) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment
other
17. Aug. 2016
4. (25 years)  - 
4. Standard - 7 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment
other
2. Aug. 2016
5. (65 years)  -  Canada
5. Italian Language Course (20) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment
other
27. Jun. 2016
6. Lise (62 years)  -  Denmark
6. Italian Language Course (20) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
16. Mar. 2016
7. (65 years)  - 
7. Italian Language Course (20) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The reception, the teaching method and the teachers' good mood.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The guided tour of the Palazzo Pitti
13. Feb. 2016
8. (43 years)  -  United Kingdom
8. Italian Language Course (20) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Well-thought-out lessons with an experienced teacher. Plus the location was ideal.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Go on the initial guided tour with your teacher on the first day. It is very useful.
Other comments
Friendly staff, quality teaching and good location.
20. Nov. 2015
9. (51 years)  -  United Kingdom
9. Italian and cooking with Mamma + Italian language course 20 - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly atmosphere, very helpful teachers and staff.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The afternoon culture activities are very interesting. I strongly recommend taking part in those activities.
Other comments
I really enjoyed my time with them, including the host family. Everyone was very helpful and kind. I wish I could go again. There was only one thing I was disappointed with: there was no organised excursion tour to Lucca. When I received a sample afternoon activity list, there was a tour to Lucca and Pisa with a teacher. I was looking forward to it. Anyway, I went on a tour to Pisa with an external group that the school staff arranged for me . Maybe the information you gave to me was not up-to-date. However, on the whole, I am very satisfied.
6. Oct. 2015
10. (28 years)  - 
10. Italian Language Course (20) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The recreational activities and the warmth of the staff
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Do the recreational activities at school!
Other comments
Unfortunately, the organization in the school was bad - there were obviously just very few students, so only 4 levels were offered and accordingly the differences in knowledge of each student per level were great.
5. Oct. 2015
11. (52 years)  - 
11. Italian Language Course (20) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The kindness of the staff and the willingness for dialoguing with you.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Koinè's method is not for people with little motivation or desire to work, but I think it works. I leaved the school talking a little bit (and understanding) after only two weeks of contact with the language.
Other comments
The location of the school and the friendliness of the staff makes the stay enjoyable. I think the teaching method they implement is not suitable for one-week courses, even less if you're starting, because it will not give you time to take profit of it. But in my two weeks course I got a good initiation. I will repeat without any doubt, because I still have to learn much more. The school is small, so the atmosphere is very familiar and with a very personal treatment. Maybe you are lucky and Marco is your teacher and then a apart from learning you will enjoy working and you will have fun.
23. Sep. 2015
12. (66 years)  -  Australia
12. Italian Language and Culture - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly, professional staff and my teacher was fabulous.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
In you have any concerns the staff are very responsive and will help you immediately.
Other comments
I have enjoyed immensely studying at both the Firenze and Lucca schools and would recommend them to anyone.
29. Jun. 2015
13.  -  Australia
13. Italian language course - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are excellent
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The excursions
Other comments
The location is great! Just around the corner from Santa Croce.
22. Apr. 2015
14.  -  United States
14. Italian Language Course (20) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Italian teacher spoke excellent Italian and was easy to understand. He also was knowledgeable about Italian culture.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Try to avoid Florence in peak season or over holidays like Easter. The city can just be jammed with tourists and people. Reserve your admission ticket online for the Uffizi and Galleria Academia well in advance.
Other comments
My host family was disappointing compared to a French family I had stayed with for a similar French language class. While the emphasis on getting the students to speak as much Italian as possible to each other in small groups was helpful, it also seemed that we listened to each other's bad Italian for much of the class!
2. Mar. 2015
15. (33 years)  -  United States
15. Combined course (20+5) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Location
23. Feb. 2015
16. (64 years)  - 
16. Italian Language Course (20) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The very friendly atmosphere of the school thanks to all the teaching staff and quality of courses I followed thanks to the skilled, knowledgeable and good humored teacher.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Difficult to choose in Florence but I really loved the city at night, including Piazza della Signoria, illuminated and empty (in February). The visit of San Miniato al Monte with its spectacular view of Florence is a must!
Other comments
I like the teaching method focused primarily on communication between students, exchange between different cultures, exclusively in Italian of course!
17. Nov. 2014
17. (46 years)  - 
17. Italian Language Course (20) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment
other
3. Nov. 2014
18. (59 years)  - 
18. Italian Language Course (20) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The friendly staff.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Be sure to participate in guided tours! Outstanding quality!
Other comments
Very good school.
27. Oct. 2014
19. (60 years)  - 
19. Italian Language Course (20) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small groups, outstanding teachers, an extremely friendly atmosphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The afternoon program with guided tours through the city.
Other comments
Absolute fantastic language school!
17. Oct. 2014
20. (55 years)  -  Australia
20. Italian Language Course (20) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher, Francesca, was superb. Very serene and calm. As an ex language teacher myself, I knew how good she was as was her methodology. She encouraged us to communicate, which at Level 3, was just what we needed.
Other comments
The whole school operated in a professional, friendly way.
6. Oct. 2014
21. (43 years)  -  United Kingdom
21. Italian Language Course (20) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher Chiara was excellent and I felt the group was well chosen.
24. Jun. 2014
22. (20 years)  - 
22. Italian Language Course (20) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
A school with very friendly staff and a good location.
7. Apr. 2014
23. Isabel (66 years)  - 
23. Italian Language Course (20) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
27. Nov. 2013
24. (29 years)  -  Italy
24. Italian Language Course (20) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teacher Marco
Other comments
good school, programs, nice teachers.
17. Jun. 2013
25. (33 years)  -  Japan
25. Italian Language Course (20) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small class, nice host family.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Teachers and students go to a cafe during a break.
4. Jan. 2013
26. (57 years)  - 
26. Combined Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
They really know what they're doing both in the classroom and out of it. Marco is a great teacher who really helped me improve.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Do take part in the after school activities even if it doesn't sound like your thing. They are very informative.
Other comments
I tried most of the places to eat they had on their list - always good!
14. Nov. 2012
27. (28 years)  -  United States
27. Italian Language Course (20) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers were excellent, secretary/admin ppl were great
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
get a good It-Eng/Eng-It dictionary
Other comments
great value for the money
11. Sep. 2012
28. Marina (31 years)  -  Netherlands
28. Italian Language Course (20) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment
other
11. Jun. 2012
29. (31 years)  -  United States
29. Italian Language Course (20) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Marco taught in a very clear and decisive maner
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
go on all the field trips they are well worth the expense
5. Jun. 2012
30. (25 years)  - 
30. Italian Language Course (20) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The stay in Florence was a hit. The school is great! Small, but very personal. I was very satisfied with the size of the groups and the quality of the lessons. I went from A1 to B1 in 3 weeks. Incredibly nice teachers and staff create a nice learning atmosphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
All afternoon activities with Marco are great. You will learn a lot about little secrets of the city that you cannot find in travel guides ...
28. Nov. 2011
31. (59 years)  - 
31. Italian Language Course (20) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers
4. Oct. 2011
32. Sofiia (32 years)  -  Malta
32. Italian Language Course (20) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
12. Sep. 2011
33. (40 years)  -  Spain
33. Italian Language Course (20) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good teaching method, dynamic and participatory
5. Apr. 2011
34. (72 years)  - 
34. Italian Language Course (20) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Albergo Benivieni - 3-star Hotel
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teaching method. friendly staff.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
reserve your museum tickets in advance to save on queueing time.
Other comments
thanks to marco. clear pronunciation and slow speech made it easy to understand.
22. Sep. 2010
35. (17 years)  - 
35. Italian Language Course (20) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
effective learing in samll groups
26. Oct. 2009
36. (37 years)  - 
36. Italian Language Course (20) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take time to see all sides of Florence
Other comments
I did not like the fact that the owner was not notified of my arrival and that I had to wait outside all day until he arrived. Also, internet never worked and the school's bar was never open.
5. Oct. 2009
37. Vera Donata (16 years)  -  Germany
37. Italian Language Course (30) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
3. Aug. 2009
38. (34 years)  -  Germany
38. Italian Language Course (20) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school was well run and in a professional manner.
17. Jun. 2009
39. Malte (21 years)  - 
39. Italian Language Course (30) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
15. Nov. 2008
40. (55 years)  - 
40. Combined Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The tgeachers and the school's consequent method of building on what you already know
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
have lunch at mercato San Ambrogio
Other comments
I was very pleased with the lessons and with the international mix of students of all ages.
28. May. 2008
41. (50 years)  - 
41. Italian Language Course (30) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The method of teaching
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I booked lessons in the afternoon which are different to those in the morning. The main subject of the morning is talking, teamwork, little grammar while we used to do writing in the afternoon. The combination of the two is great!
Other comments
The teachers are all very nice and they do a great thing in teaching. It's recommendable to talk italian even during the breaks. You really lose the fear of talking. It's also much fun to go out and do some interviews. Thanks a lot to Marco, Cristina and Cosetta, not to forget Leonardo, chief of the cafeteria, who cooks deliciuos lunches!!

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Anne (36): I found all the information I needed on your site... more
  • Abrahan (23): I liked the experience of Cursos-de-idiomas.com,... more
  • Ignacio (24): Staff is very attentive and kind. I had some... more