X

Reviews of Centro Machiavelli, Florence, Italy

Total number of reviews: 62
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Centro Machiavelli, Florence, Italy
4.2/5.0 
(62 reviews)
City 4.7/5.0 
Organisation 4.1/5.0 
Facilities 3.5/5.0 
Social activities 3.6/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.4/5.0 
Value for money 3.9/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 3.8/5.0 
Shared Flat 4.0/5.0 
other 4.0/5.0 
Individual Reviews
5. May. 2016
1. (62 years)  -  Brazil
1. Intensive + History of Art (1 week) + Introdutory Class - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teachers and the pratice conversation
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Include Art History in their studies
Other comments
It´s especially for young students
11. Mar. 2016
2. (32 years)  -  Finland
2. Semi-Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The location. The possibility to take a course for only two weeks.
Other comments
The highest level they had was too low for me. Also some students were speaking English in the class which I didn't like.
7. Mar. 2016
3. (58 years)  -  Colombia
3. Intensive - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
all the people who work there, especially the teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Were the best two months of my life. I recommend to everyone who can, enjoy this unforgettable experience . I'm sure they will love Firenze, the Piazza Santo Spirito, the Machiavelli Center. I left my heart in .... FIRENZE !
Other comments
I extended my 8-week course for another two and unfortunately had to stop for the Christmas holidays and year end. I just have to thank all who work there for their kindness and competence. Especially the teacher Cristiano with whom I had the privilege to meet and mingle . So with Cristina , Helen, Eleni, Vicenza, ... everyone! I miss you all!
9. Sep. 2015
4. (66 years)  - 
4. Semi-Intensive - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The very warm atmosphere and the quality of teaching. The exceptional hospitality of Helen who finds all the answers to our questions.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The guided city tours with Rima.
Other comments
The kindness and patience of my two teachers Gino and Christina.
12. Aug. 2015
5. (30 years)  - 
5. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared apartment
other
3. Aug. 2015
6. (45 years)  - 
6. Super-Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared apartment
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked it so much! All the material was explained very clear as if it were my native language. The school is located near the magnificent church. I walked through the center to get to the school so I passed by all the main attractions.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I studied for two weeks but it is not enough, it is better to plan a course for more than a month and come when it is not so hot.
Other comments
Wonderful staff, very positive people.
15. Apr. 2015
7. (62 years)  -  United States
7. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Energy and good mood of the teachers, plus support staff is excellent.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Great pizza at the restaurant directly under the school.
Other comments
Fine location.
24. Jan. 2014
8. (46 years)  - 
8. Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
How they welcomed us, the excellent disposition to help us in everything, excellent classes and professional teachers whose classes were easy-going, varied, motivating. Good learning in all my language skills whist having fun.
Other comments
I would have liked to extend the course. I would come back, no doubt.
27. May. 2013
9.  -  United States
9. Super-Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were wonderful and made learning easy because they made it fun.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make sure to bring food for snacks as breaks are short.
Other comments
I can't wait to go back!
9. Feb. 2010
10. (21 years)  - 
10. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Great teacher!
7. Oct. 2009
11. (26 years)  - 
11. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher, Vicenza, and the cooking class at Rima's.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You really have to participate in one of the activities, you meet so many new, nice, great people!
Other comments
I have had two wonderful weeks, I really enjoyed it tremendously. A big thanks for Vicenza is in place, she is absolutely a wonderful teacher and person.
16. Jun. 2009
12. (25 years)  -  Australia
12. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the other students
16. Jun. 2009
13. (24 years)  - 
13. Intensive - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everyone is very nice at the school. Most of the teachers do a great job! Every 2 weeks there's a test, so if you make good progress you will join the next class.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The whole city is nice! I liked especially the place where the school is. Everyday after school we were drinking a beer and eating a panino at the stairs of the church in front of the school :)
Other comments
There are a lot of Japanese people at the school (I think over 90%)! They are really nice but in the beginning it's difficult to make friends when you're a foreigner on your own. But after 2 or 3 weeks you like them all ;)
17. Dec. 2008
14. (27 years)  - 
14. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teachers, peers and the teaching method
15. Dec. 2008
15. (34 years)  - 
15. Intensive - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the students
19. Nov. 2008
16. (51 years)  - 
16. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers
22. Oct. 2008
17. (22 years)  -  Sweden
17. Intensive - 6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Gino was a tremendous teacher
Other comments
Gino was an outstanding teacher and I'm more than satisfied with my progress in the first two weeks. The standard of the rest was though unfortunately below average.
7. May. 2008
18. (21 years)  - 
18. Intensive - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Lessons were really good! Teachers were nice and helpful
19. Nov. 2007
19. (22 years)  - 
19. Semi-Intensive - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared apartment
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I don't have comment.s Everything was excellent.
Other comments
you will not regret if you go in Florence and at the school Machiavelli
17. Nov. 2007
20. (26 years)  - 
20. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers, the secretaries and the other students
Other comments
It´s a small but really nice school. The groups are not very big and you can practise a lot the language.
5. Nov. 2007
21. (23 years)  - 
21. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared apartment
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers were so nice and really into making your trip worth it.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The room renting(appartements) is a nice way to meet people your age!
Other comments
I think it is a really cute school. Not so expencive as the other schools in florence.
21. Jun. 2007
22. (22 years)  -  Sweden
22. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the nice teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
don´t forget to bring a dictionary
Other comments
What about the TANDEM PARTNER. I applied the very first day to get one,never heard much more about it though.
23. May. 2007
23. (26 years)  -  Israel
23. Semi-Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
class
Other comments
great personality
3. Jan. 2007
24. (40 years)  - 
24. Super Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The atmostphere.
9. Nov. 2006
25. (24 years)  - 
25. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
12. Oct. 2006
26. (24 years)  - 
26. Semi-Intensive - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teachers effort to create a good atmosphere
20. Sep. 2006
27. Karin (27 years)  -  United States
27. Semi-Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Other comments
Loved the school and everyone I met through the program. The only problem it was the housing was more then 20 minutes by walk and not near the center of town.
16. Aug. 2006
28. Gunter (43 years)  - 
28. Intensive (Special Offer) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
14. Sep. 2005
29.  - 
29. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers
Other comments
absolute excellent value you receive for your money.
1. Sep. 2005
30. (31 years)  -  Spain
30. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
People
23. Jun. 2005
31. (23 years)  - 
31. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers at Macchiavelli are very open-minded, very friendly and helpful
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The "Dolce Vita" is a great bar, but be there on time (about six or seven the latest), otherwise you might not find a free chair
Other comments
It is very easy to switch the level if you feel not to be in the right place. You can ask the teacher about everything, they always do their best. Thanks to Frederica and Gino :)) Oh, and don't miss the guided tours through Florence - they are for free, you meet lots of people and the guide, Rima, is absolutely lovely
7. Nov. 2004
32. (25 years)  - 
32. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The prefessoressa blessed and guided tours
Other comments
All cordial. I felt at home and I would have liked to stay longer
9. Sep. 2004
33. Anonymous  - 
33. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
13. May. 2004
34. (30 years)  -  Chicago, Usa
34. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It is very easy and unexpected how you make friends.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Be sure to hike up to Piazza Michelangelo and also visit Fiesoli.
Other comments
In general, it is a very nice school with qualified teachers and great prices. They do their best to match you with local housing, so some students will have better homes than others just by luck.
6. Apr. 2004
35. (40 years)  -  Japan
35. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teacher
23. Mar. 2004
36. (36 years)  -  Japanese
36. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Depend on the class. but im my class, the teacher was good.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't sperk Japanese with your Japanese friend in your class! Speak italian only!!
Other comments
Here is Florence, so there are many many many Japanese. But if you keep speaking italian only, you'll get ability. Forza!!
11. Mar. 2004
37. (22 years)  -  Germany
37. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teacher (Vicenza)
Other comments
the certificate should be a bit better it's just a paper that says that you attended the class
10. Mar. 2004
38. Melynee (28 years)  -  Usa
38. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
7. Mar. 2004
39. Julia (23 years)  -  Deutschland
39. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
20. Jan. 2004
40. (30 years)  -  Norway
40. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher, Benedetta.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Sometimes it seems like the classes are just thrown together at random - remember that you can change your class if you are not happy!
5. Nov. 2003
41. (50 years)  -  Deutschland
41. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Language exchange.
Other comments
The contact between me and the family , that is to say my host, could have been a little bit closer.
27. Oct. 2003
42. Angelina (26 years)  -  Mexico
42. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
22. Oct. 2003
43. (24 years)  - 
43. Super Intensive (+35h)

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher.
13. Oct. 2003
44. (24 years)  -  EspaÑola
44. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers.
8. Oct. 2003
45. Ana (23 years)  -  España
45. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
8. Sep. 2003
46. Anna (19 years)  -  Enpanya
46. Super Intensive (+35h)

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
28. Aug. 2003
47. Marta (20 years)  -  EspaÑa
47. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
8. Jul. 2003
48. (26 years)  -  Switzerland
48. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teacher Benedetta
4. Jul. 2003
49. (22 years)  -  Deutschland
49. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
nice atmosphere
Other comments
I had a great time, I would definitely come back again.
20. Jun. 2003
50. Schuller (28 years)  -  Deutsch
50. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Oscar (20): I chose them because they have really good... more
  • Katura (64): Excellent website. Allowed me to make an informed... more
  • Anne (36): I found all the information I needed on your site... more