Reviews of Colegio de España, Salamanca, Spain

Total No. of Reviews: 165
NOTE: All evaluations are authentic. Only former participants who have booked a course with us at the school can publish evaluations after the end of the course. Schools could therefore not manipulate evaluations and you can trust in all published evaluations.

Average Rating

Overall rating
Colegio de España, Salamanca, Spain
4.4/5.0 
(165 reviews)
City 4.7/5.0 
Organisation 4.1/5.0 
Facilities 3.3/5.0 
Social activities 3.7/5.0 
Course Quality / Progress in language 4.5/5.0 
Value for money 4.4/5.0 
Accommodation
Host Family 3.9/5.0 
Shared flat (apartment) 3.8/5.0 
Other 3.9/5.0 
Individual Reviews
14. Oct. 2013
1. (46 years)  -  Israel
1. Special Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers were very nice, especially the culture/civilization teacher - Carmen, was very interesting and made me learn a lot in a very fun way :)
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Even in advanced levels it is better to arrive when courses start. I arrived in the middle and it is not very comfortable.
Other comments
1. When I asked for more information and pictures of the optional accommodations the secretary sent me a link to a fancy and very expensive hotel instead. They didn't make much effort to help me find accommodation and in the end I booked through AIRBNB and not with the help of the school. 2. The school offers only notebooks with exercises and no other materials what-so-ever, no books, no internet site to practice or any other up-to-date method of teaching. When you study rules and don't have printed materials it is very problematic.
6. Sep. 2012
2. (24 years)  - 
2. Special Intensive - 8 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Apartment
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and the staff working there are amazing, really friendly and helpful.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The different visits organized by the school are really good and interesting.
23. Apr. 2012
3. Hilly (65 years)  - 
3. Standard - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
26. Dec. 2011
4. (26 years)  - 
4. Autumn Course - 11 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I really liked all of my teachers. And the subjects were really interesting. If you can take Traditions of Spain with Teresa.
28. Nov. 2011
5. Rachel (33 years)  -  Switzerland
5. Standard - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
9. Nov. 2011
6. (23 years)  -  Slovenia
6. Standard - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers - their energy and enthusiasm
13. Oct. 2011
7. (28 years)  - 
7. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
beautiful old building, family atmosphere, very dedicated teachers and quality material
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It is better to stay in a shared flat rather than living with a family. Contact the landlord directly to confirm arrival time.
Other comments
Exceptional experience and I learnt a lot.
3. Oct. 2011
8. (24 years)  -  Germany
8. Two Weeks Super-Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers, all were really lovely friendly and truly interested in your well-being and the progress of your Spanish skills.
30. Aug. 2011
9. (23 years)  -  Netherlands
9. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
nice teachers
Other comments
I was kind of disappointed in the teaching method. It was a passive, not really challenging way of learning a language, and we got homework, which I think takes away all of your intrinsic motivation. I just think the teaching method is more suitable for younger people.
22. Aug. 2011
10. (20 years)  -  Belgium
10. Two Weeks Super-Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good teacher (Nieves)
10. Aug. 2011
11. (26 years)  -  Ireland
11. Two Weeks Super-Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly and competent teachers, small class sizes
8. Aug. 2011
12. (22 years)  -  Finland
12. Standard - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
great teacher
18. Jul. 2011
13. (59 years)  -  United States
13. Standard - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were very good.
Other comments
The apartment I stayed in was dirty and the owners did not clean it.
27. Apr. 2011
14. (58 years)  -  Spain
14. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The teacher of my intermediate level course, Carmen, was excellent.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Do take advantage of all the free talks and excursions. Do your homework and be on time and you will get a lot of help from your teacher!
Other comments
Due to the last minute change of digs, I was initially in a horrid flat a long way from the school, But after one night there I pleaded with the staff at the school to change my digs and with a little luck due to a cancellation I ended up around the corner in a very acceptable, if basic, room in a shared flat.
19. Apr. 2011
15. (65 years)  - 
15. Standard - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Open, very friendly contact
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Ask for additional program immediately and definitely participate the Salamanca tours.
11. Apr. 2011
16. (30 years)  -  Germany
16. Standard - 8 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked the teachers.
Other comments
There were sometimes too many students in my class, the teachers tried to handle it, but 13 is definitely too many!!
7. Mar. 2011
17. (38 years)  - 
17. Special Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teachers, Rosa and Carmen!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Pinchos during the break with the other students :-)
Other comments
If you like, you can learn a lot in the Colegio, the teachers are very dedicated.
29. Nov. 2010
18. (18 years)  -  Luxembourg
18. Special Intensive - 12 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
There was a family atmosphere!
2. Nov. 2010
19. Marius (21 years)  - 
19. Special Intensive - 12 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
12. Oct. 2010
20. (27 years)  - 
20. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The hospitality and the professionalism of the teachers.
27. Sep. 2010
21. (22 years)  - 
21. Special Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I already attended several linguistic trips and it's the first time that the course material (books writtent by the teachers) is adapted to the course and not the opposite as usual. Teachers are really enthusiastic and efficient.
3. Sep. 2010
22. (22 years)  - 
22. Special Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
1. Sep. 2010
23. (22 years)  -  Netherlands
23. Special Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very friendly and helpful.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you've never studied Spanish before, I suggest you to study a little in advance or be prepared to study a lot in your free time because the A1 level is different than in Holland for example. They already expect that you have 'some' knowledge.
31. Aug. 2010
24. (24 years)  -  Norway
24. Standard - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers were amazing.
Other comments
Really good school, learned a lot
25. Aug. 2010
25. (23 years)  - 
25. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
small classes, good teacher and classmates.Nice activities.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If the holiday period is short (2 weeks - 1 month) I strongly recommend the five hours a day course.
19. Aug. 2010
26. (17 years)  - 
26. Two Weeks Super-Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good teaching, good support.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Visit Café El Corillo in Salamanca during the lunch break!
2. Aug. 2010
27. (18 years)  - 
27. Standard - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The open way we were taught.
2. Aug. 2010
28. (19 years)  - 
28. Special Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were very friendly and very professional. The classes are little so you'll learn a lot.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you're old enough, stay in a student house because then you'll meet a lot of people and it's the most independent way. Eat tapas and go out!
26. Jul. 2010
29. (17 years)  -  United States
29. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Socialization with people from around the world, fortifying Spanish speaking fundamentals.
8. Jun. 2010
30. (17 years)  - 
30. Year-Long Course in Hispanic Studies - 32 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The atmosphere is very pleasant, the city incredible, the teachers great. One learns a lot, and quickly.
25. May. 2010
31. (36 years)  -  Japan
31. D.E.L.E. Preparation Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
professor
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It was good to prepare DELE
19. Apr. 2010
32. Natalia (48 years)  -  Russian Federation
32. Easter Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
To improve your language skills, one needs to come for at least 3 weeks.
Other comments
The flat I lived in has a perfect location, very close to school BUT the schedule of a time when the heating system was ON was very strange, only 6-8 pm while the outside temperature in the morning was about 0 Degree... All the time I felt terribly cold.
22. Feb. 2010
33. (16 years)  - 
33. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers
Other comments
Very nice school and city, but perhaps better in summer because there are more people, I think...
1. Feb. 2010
34. Caroline (23 years)  - 
34. Standard - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
23. Nov. 2009
35. (28 years)  -  United Kingdom
35. Standard + Preparation for D.E.L.E. - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
good teachers
12. Oct. 2009
36. (29 years)  - 
36. Special Intensive - 12 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The best period is october until may
9. Oct. 2009
37. Aad (60 years)  - 
37. Standard - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
5. Oct. 2009
38. (56 years)  - 
38. Standard - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of courses and staff
29. Sep. 2009
39. (39 years)  - 
39. Special Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teachers were really good
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
don't miss the different sites to see
26. Sep. 2009
40. Nadine (25 years)  - 
40. Standard - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
6. Aug. 2009
41. Christoph (22 years)  - 
41. Standard - 8 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
1. Aug. 2009
42.  - 
42. Conversation + Civilization - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The friendly atmosphere, excellent teaching, good relationship between students.
Other comments
I chose this school on recommendation of Ms. H. Hediger, my Spanish teacher in the popular University of Basel. I really missed one-day-long escursions during my stay. I'd love to to visit Castilla guided by Teresa!
15. Jul. 2009
43. (38 years)  - 
43. Standard - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
nice staff!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
great city - really worth the time to visit!
9. Jun. 2009
44. (32 years)  -  Turkey
44. Spring Course - 9 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teachers and school building
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
As a students' city Salamanca has lots of good library, and if you get a card you can use the swimming pools
Other comments
If you are choosing shared flat as accommodation, be careful about double or single room. There is a difference. I recommend "SINGLE ROOM".
4. May. 2009
45. (22 years)  - 
45. Standard - 8 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
friendly teachers and beautiful school.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
to take flamenco/sevillana lessons (a lot of discount prices for students), to visit Salamanca, Avila, Segovia, to see typical spanish events, a lot of things!
Other comments
Salamanca is a really nice city, with a lot of things to see and visit. For me, I prefer a school where everybody speaks with everybody.
10. Mar. 2009
46. (18 years)  - 
46. Special Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the people
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
talk with the people, they will always answer you, and thats the best way to meet great people!!
Other comments
salamanca by night, you must see it, no time for sleep.
14. Nov. 2008
47. (33 years)  -  Spain
47. Standard - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teresa's civilizacion classes
15. Oct. 2008
48. (34 years)  -  United Kingdom
48. Special Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The standard of teaching was excellent, the staff were very supportive. It was great to mix with students from many different countries and backgrounds.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Check before you book about the starting dates of the course. I didn't as it said that only complete beginners should start on certain dates and then I arrived on the last week of the course which made it difficult to join a group. I had to have individual lessons in the first week so that I could join a group the following week. Salamanca is a beautiful city and I loved all of it. I would definitely recommend taking a course here with the Colegio de Espana.
Other comments
There are too many great things to mention but go to Van Dyck area for tapas instead of the main tourist spots, get the views of the city from the cathedral and if you like things a bit grungy go for a drink to the Pan y Agua bar near the Plaza Mayor. I would also like to say that I was much older (34) than the average student, most of whom were 18/19 year old gap year students but they were all really friendly and fun and I think I have made some good friends so if you are a bit older don't let it put you off and just allow yourself to regress a little bit!
8. Oct. 2008
49. (27 years)  -  Denmark
49. Standard - 15 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
friendliness of staff members
7. Aug. 2008
50. (23 years)  -  United States
50. Theatre of the Golden Age + Contemporary Hispano-American Poetry - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The professors
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
check out events in the library at the "casa de las conchas"
Other comments
try the hot chocolate at Mandalas and the ice cream in the central plaza!!!!!

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Jacqueline (24): I highly recommend booking with... more
  • Harm Jaap (46): Normally I contact language schools directly, but... more
  • Francesco (36): I had a doubt, a quick and precise reply helped me... more
*required