X

Reviews of Colegio de España, Salamanca, Spain - Page 2

Total number of reviews: 175
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Colegio de España, Salamanca, Spain
4.4/5.0 
(175 reviews)
City 4.7/5.0 
Organisation 4.2/5.0 
Facilities 3.4/5.0 
Social activities 3.7/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.5/5.0 
Value for money 4.4/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 4.0/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.9/5.0 
other 4.0/5.0 
Individual Reviews
6. Aug. 2009
51. Christoph (22 years)  - 
51. Standard - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
1. Aug. 2009
52.  - 
52. Conversation + Civilization - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The friendly atmosphere, excellent teaching, good relationship between students.
Other comments
I chose this school on recommendation of Ms. H. Hediger, my Spanish teacher in the popular University of Basel. I really missed one-day-long escursions during my stay. I'd love to to visit Castilla guided by Teresa!
15. Jul. 2009
53. (38 years)  - 
53. Standard - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
nice staff!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
great city - really worth the time to visit!
9. Jun. 2009
54. (32 years)  -  Turkey
54. Spring Course - 9 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teachers and school building
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
As a students' city Salamanca has lots of good library, and if you get a card you can use the swimming pools
Other comments
If you are choosing shared flat as accommodation, be careful about double or single room. There is a difference. I recommend "SINGLE ROOM".
4. May. 2009
55. (22 years)  - 
55. Standard - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
friendly teachers and beautiful school.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
to take flamenco/sevillana lessons (a lot of discount prices for students), to visit Salamanca, Avila, Segovia, to see typical spanish events, a lot of things!
Other comments
Salamanca is a really nice city, with a lot of things to see and visit. For me, I prefer a school where everybody speaks with everybody.
10. Mar. 2009
56. (18 years)  - 
56. Special Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the people
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
talk with the people, they will always answer you, and thats the best way to meet great people!!
Other comments
salamanca by night, you must see it, no time for sleep.
14. Nov. 2008
57. (33 years)  -  Spain
57. Standard - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teresa's civilizacion classes
15. Oct. 2008
58. (34 years)  -  United Kingdom
58. Special Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The standard of teaching was excellent, the staff were very supportive. It was great to mix with students from many different countries and backgrounds.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Check before you book about the starting dates of the course. I didn't as it said that only complete beginners should start on certain dates and then I arrived on the last week of the course which made it difficult to join a group. I had to have individual lessons in the first week so that I could join a group the following week. Salamanca is a beautiful city and I loved all of it. I would definitely recommend taking a course here with the Colegio de Espana.
Other comments
There are too many great things to mention but go to Van Dyck area for tapas instead of the main tourist spots, get the views of the city from the cathedral and if you like things a bit grungy go for a drink to the Pan y Agua bar near the Plaza Mayor. I would also like to say that I was much older (34) than the average student, most of whom were 18/19 year old gap year students but they were all really friendly and fun and I think I have made some good friends so if you are a bit older don't let it put you off and just allow yourself to regress a little bit!
8. Oct. 2008
59. (27 years)  -  Denmark
59. Standard - 15 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
friendliness of staff members
7. Aug. 2008
60. (23 years)  -  United States
60. Theatre of the Golden Age + Contemporary Hispano-American Poetry - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The professors
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
check out events in the library at the "casa de las conchas"
Other comments
try the hot chocolate at Mandalas and the ice cream in the central plaza!!!!!
22. Jun. 2008
61. (28 years)  - 
61. One-to-One - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
my teacher, who was able to submit all knowledge to speak fluently and in a right way
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Salamanca is a very exciting city with many bars and restaurants but also many sights (cathedral, cloisters, university) don't miss to have some Tapas!
Other comments
Don't miss this beautiful city and the colegio. If you want to learn spanish here is the right place to do. All teachers are extremly friendly and will help you in anyway they can.
20. Jun. 2008
62. Chiu-yen (26 years)  -  Taiwan
62. Special Intensive - 28 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
11. May. 2008
63. (18 years)  -  Switzerland
63. Standard - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
it was a small. the teachers were nice!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
speaking with everyone. and go out at night!
Other comments
it was fantastic!
5. Mar. 2008
64. (23 years)  - 
64. Standard - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teachers
7. Nov. 2007
65. (36 years)  -  Bahamas
65. Special Intensive - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The experience of learning a new language and the opportunities of meeting people from different countries.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take the initiative to learn everything. Learning Spanish at the Colegio is so much fun.
Other comments
I liked everything about the Colegio and the profesors were the best. I really miss everything about the Colegio. Chona, Carmen and Chuz were my full time instructors and they were so helpful in explaining so that you would understand the language. THEY ARE THE BEST.
21. Oct. 2007
66. (56 years)  - 
66. Special Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The old building, the friendliness of the teachers, small groups and students from around the world.
4. Oct. 2007
67. (37 years)  -  United Kingdom
67. Standard - 10 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
good teaching
19. Sep. 2007
68. Meike (21 years)  - 
68. Two Weeks Super-Intensive - 6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
13. Jun. 2007
69. (24 years)  -  United States
69. Standard - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher, Covadonga, was very good and explained things well. We always had homework but not too much and the class was very organized
Other comments
I had a great time and enjoyed staying with my host family and studying at the school. Salamanca is a great and beautiful city that has lots to do at night and during the day
10. May. 2007
70. (37 years)  -  Switzerland
70. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Carmen, my teacher
13. Feb. 2007
71.  - 
71. Standard - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I had very small classes.
Other comments
salamanca is such a lovely city. the teachers there are very friendly.
7. Dec. 2006
72. Saana (19 years)  -  Finland
72. Special Intensive - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
2. Dec. 2006
73. (55 years)  - 
73. Special Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Great teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I thought that the course 'Civilización, spanish art and culture the most interesting.
Other comments
A good course and great teachers. A downpoint was that there were no hand-outs of the course material. The course material existed of a working manual and a small book only, which only covered a small part of the course. I asked the teachers which book I could use for self- tuition and she was so kind to bring me a book, but I would have been better if there were hand- outs given in class. In the end, it was a great teacher and her classes were very good.
2. Nov. 2006
74. Christopher (28 years)  -  United States
74. One-to-One - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
2. Nov. 2006
75. (26 years)  -  United Kingdom
75. Standard - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
That was a really good school with excellent teachers. I definetely recommend it!!!!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Salamanca is a great city to stay. Good value for the money and an amazing social life.
30. Oct. 2006
76. Lawrence (21 years)  -  Netherlands
76. Standard - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
14. Sep. 2006
77. (35 years)  -  Germany
77. Standard - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the family atmosphere, the old building
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
the hidden park behind the cathedral is a nice place to stay and a nice point to see the surrondings
Other comments
at the time I've been there, there were mostly people at the beginning of their 20's in my course, wanting to party all the time. It was a little difficult, if you have different intentions. Also: I very much suggest to start at the recommended dates. I did not and it turned out that there was only one other who came later in the whole school, so all the social stuff at the beginning had already happened and it was not so easy to get in contact with others.
11. Aug. 2006
78. Philipp H. (20 years)  - 
78. Special Intensive - 11 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
8. Jun. 2006
79.  - 
79. Standard - 6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers where very nice! and the classes were good!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Think for your own room, so that you can feel home.
7. Jun. 2006
80. (23 years)  - 
80. Special Intensive - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
atmosphere
26. May. 2006
81. (48 years)  - 
81. Standard - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
a small group (6 persons)
Other comments
a little old fashioned school, no language studios for example
17. May. 2006
82. Steffen (27 years)  -  Germany
82. Two Weeks Super-Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
3. May. 2006
83. Nikolas (21 years)  - 
83. Special Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
30. Apr. 2006
84. (23 years)  - 
84. Special Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers were very good
Other comments
the school is very good, really, but there is one family called ana blanco who reallly ruins this. but i talked already with the school about that
29. Apr. 2006
85. (24 years)  - 
85. Two Weeks Super-Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
quality of the seminars and the teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
field trips and the free time activities
24. Apr. 2006
86. (45 years)  - 
86. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
nice people
Other comments
good quality courses
27. Feb. 2006
87.  - 
87. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The situation, the songs we sang in class, a shared apartment.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Ng the vocabulary.
23. Jan. 2006
88.  - 
88. Standard - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teacher
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
the weekend-trips
19. Dec. 2005
89.  - 
89. Two Weeks Super-Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the location and the teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
it is the oldest college in spain, they do a good job
Other comments
the team is very frendly, the teachers are prepared, the location is great, in the summer there are a lot of foreign people visiting
19. Dec. 2005
90.  -  Uk
90. One-to-One - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers
Other comments
Because I had very limited time I opted for a one week, individual intensive course with homestay. This was very hard work, but I was happy with the progress I made after such a short time. I had two excellent teachers who also worked hard and helped me progress as quickly as I was able to, while having fun along the way !
19. Dec. 2005
91.  - 
91. Special Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good atmosphere in the classroom. It was always fun to attend the classes.
Other comments
Good trips to other cities. Especially Segovia was very beautiful and very interesting.
19. Dec. 2005
92.  - 
92. Special Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are nice and the school is close to the center.
Other comments
The school cares a lot about their students. The lessons are very good.
19. Dec. 2005
93.  - 
93. Two Weeks Super-Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very good teachers, nice building
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
trip to Segovia,Leon and Madrid
Other comments
it´s in the center of the town, only 3 minutes to plaza mayor, small groups at the "Colegio", very good impressions in the Spanish language
19. Dec. 2005
94.  -  England, Shropshire
94. Special Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teacher, Chona - the best!
Other comments
Brilliant teachers, awesome student town - absolutely beautiful, cool students, great price. Hard to beat.
19. Dec. 2005
95.  -  Poland
95. Standard - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Great teachers and atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You shouldn't hurry, because Spanish people are always late.
Other comments
It's a great place to study Spanish and outstanding place to have fun (You're gonna love Salamanca) - just go there.
19. Dec. 2005
96. (25 years)  - 
96. Special Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
excursions to countryside
8. Sep. 2005
97. (22 years)  - 
97. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Here I learned what school spirit is about.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Check out O'Haras in Calle de Zamora, because you get a chance to talk to Spaniards. Also you should go horseback riding in Huelva. You actually get to gallop on your own horse and the couple has a lot of interesting stories to tell.
Other comments
This school is challenging. You really have to work in order to profit from the course. This is not one of those alibi-language schools, that you "attend" between the parties.
5. Sep. 2005
98. (27 years)  -  Usa
98. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Quality of the Teaching
Other comments
The Colegio is a fabulous place to learn Spanish. I had 3 different courses with 3 different instructors, and a 4th private instructor, all of which were very professional, knowledgeable, and made learning Spanish very attainable.
11. Aug. 2005
99. Anonymous (20 years)  - 
99. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
11. Aug. 2005
100. (16 years)  -  United States
100. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
getting to meet different people from all over the world
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
no, salamanca is pretty easy to figure out.
Other comments
it was a really good experience and i would strongly recommend other students to attend the "Colegio de Espana" in salamanca.

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Abrahan (23): I liked the experience of Cursos-de-idiomas.com,... more
  • Fiza (39): LanguageCourse.Net provides great rates, is very... more
  • Jacqueline (24): I highly recommend booking with... more