Reviews of ECELA Spanish School, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Total No. of Reviews: 33
NOTE: All evaluations are authentic. Only former participants who have booked a course with us at the school can publish evaluations after the end of the course. Schools could therefore not manipulate evaluations and you can trust in all published evaluations.

Average Rating

Overall rating
ECELA Spanish School, Buenos Aires, Argentina
4.2/5.0 
(33 reviews)
City 4.6/5.0 
Organisation 4.3/5.0 
Facilities 3.8/5.0 
Social activities 3.8/5.0 
Course Quality / Progress in language 4.3/5.0 
Value for money 3.9/5.0 
Accommodation
Host Family 3.9/5.0 
Shared flat (apartment) 3.7/5.0 
Other 3.4/5.0 
Individual Reviews
1. Mar. 2014
1. (36 years)  -  United Kingdom
1. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Apartment
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It was good to have two different classes each day so that you weren't in the same room with the same teacher all day.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The Friday "class" was just watching a film with some brief discussion during (the teachers would pause the film) and after the film. Had I known that I would have signed up for classes Mon-Thurs only as I prefer proper classes.
Other comments
I did not go to any school social activities. Many of them were in the afternoon which clashed with classes but in any case most activities did not seem very interesting and I don't think they were very well attended. That said, it was easy to meet other students at school and in my shared apartment and make arrangements to go out in the evenings.
20. Mar. 2012
2. (24 years)  - 
2. Standard - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Apartment
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers and staff
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Tigre, football match in Boca
Other comments
beautiful building, good travel connections
24. Jan. 2012
3. (24 years)  -  Netherlands
3. Standard - 6 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Apartment
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Staff that always tries to make conversation with you
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Get an appartment for yourself.
Other comments
If you book through a booking agency, it is very hard to adjust your booking (e.g. group lessons --> private lessons).
16. Jan. 2012
4. (64 years)  - 
4. Intensive: 20 Group + 4 Private - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
availability and professionalism of the staff.
12. Dec. 2011
5. (25 years)  -  Slovakia
5. Intensive: 20 Group + 4 Private - 12 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
What did I like? The teachers. I have never met people like them.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Hahaha, I know the same tips as the rest of the students...I lived on my own, went partying, went to concerts...
Other comments
Teacher such as Gabriel are TEACHERS...
1. Sep. 2011
6. Carina (23 years)  - 
6. Private Classes - 5 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared apartment
16. May. 2011
7. (35 years)  - 
7. Private Classes - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I felt very well taken care of. Receptionists and the headmaster always welcomed me by name! And the accommodation was absolutely great.
7. Feb. 2011
8. (48 years)  -  Germany
8. Spanish and Tango - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good books and the private lessons especially with Gabriel!
Other comments
Too cold in the classrooms.
10. May. 2010
9. (20 years)  -  Germany
9. Volunteer - 12 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the people, the atmosphere
20. Apr. 2010
10.  - 
10. Intensive: 20 Group + 4 Private - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The staff was very friendly and the course very well organised.
29. Mar. 2010
11. (23 years)  - 
11. Spanish and Tango - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good teaching, relaxed atmosphere .
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The activities of the school.
12. Mar. 2010
12. (19 years)  - 
12. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small groups to work.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Computers are sometimes in bad conditions.
15. Feb. 2010
13. (22 years)  -  Netherlands
13. Private Classes - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The variety of people attending the courses
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Go for it and start speaking to people to meet them, they are in the same situation and are looking for social contacts as well.
14. Feb. 2010
14. (47 years)  - 
14. Spanish and Tango - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good organization and excelent teachers.
Other comments
I'm very satisfied with my host family. People were nice and helpful.
8. Dec. 2009
15. (40 years)  - 
15. Standard - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers of the groups were very good. Then had private lessons himself another week. That was very much against.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Yes, tango ignored and are enjoying the city.
10. May. 2009
16. (32 years)  - 
16. DELE Exam preparation course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher, Florencia, has been amazingly professional, and really made it worth! There is also a very nice atmosphere in the school, and I've met very nice people. I will definitely go back, and why not, next time, use the accomodation facility which I haven't used this time (I was staying with friends).
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The town is worth the trip, people are friendly, there is a lot to see and to do, the culture there is amazingly rich. I've met people whom I am still in contact with and hope to welcome in Europe in turn, and go back and visit. Argentina's a really big country, and I will need a thousand trips to see it all!
10. Dec. 2008
17. (23 years)  - 
17. Standard - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The classes were only in Spanish from day 1.
Other comments
I could really recommend everybody who wants to go to a spanish school in buenos aires to go here. I heard from several people over here that this is the best and the most fun school!
18. Apr. 2008
18. (37 years)  - 
18. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good college educated teachers, and everything was well organized
5. Mar. 2008
19. (30 years)  - 
19. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Hospitality
19. Dec. 2007
20. (34 years)  -  Germany
20. Group Classes - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Apartment
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
small groups
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
San Telmo, Tigre
5. Dec. 2007
21. (37 years)  -  Germany
21. Combination Group (20 hrs) + Private (10hrs) - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers
28. Mar. 2007
22. (50 years)  -  United Kingdom
22. Group Classes - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly staff, good classes
Other comments
Excellent central location. facilities are limited but a range of social ativities & weekend excursions offered.
17. Mar. 2007
23. (21 years)  - 
23. Group Classes - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
not to many people in the class
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Carnaval (if you´re going in the right season)
Other comments
I had a great experiance and I want to go back one time to aprove my spanish.
13. Feb. 2007
24.  - 
24. DELE Exam preparation course - 8 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the school is great! great location, food, organization, building, staff, everything!
Other comments
It is the best language school I've ever been to,i'd recomend it 100%. and, Bs As is a great city, but the shool is much much better in Santiago de Chile, we learn spanish a lot better there (I was there for 1 month).
18. Dec. 2006
25. (30 years)  - 
25. Group Classes - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teachers are very good, very friendly!!
11. May. 2006
26. (22 years)  -  Netherlands
26. Group Classes - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school was very well organized, and everybody was really friendly. The overall atmosphere was very good.
10. May. 2006
27.  - 
27. Group Classes - 6 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
quality of teaching - friendly school
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
very good and interesting teachers
3. Apr. 2006
28.  - 
28. Group Classes - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the information they gave the first day about the city, school, buses etc.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
nightlife!!!
Other comments
The speed in which they teach is very high.
19. Dec. 2005
29.  -  Ireland
29. Combination Group (20 hrs) + Private (10hrs) - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were great. I made a great progress in the language.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Get a shared flat to be more flexible, explore the city and enjoy the fiesta!
Other comments
The organisation and all went very well but in the end I felt as if the administration of the school was concentrating too hard on making money.
19. Dec. 2005
30.  -  Usa
30. Group Classes - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the age diversity of people, nationality, interests. The staff was so warm and welcoming. my teacher was amazing as well.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Try to schedule enough time in Buenos Aires so that you can make trips out of the city as the surrounding nature is beautiful.
Other comments
The staff is very caring, helpful and welcoming. You are guaranteed to learn a lot if you also put in a good effort.
2. Mar. 2005
31. (24 years)  - 
31. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the staff is so friendly and helpful. it's a great experience!!
Other comments
VERRRRRRRRY GOOOOOOOD, there's not more to say, i would recommend it to everyone!
7. Jan. 2005
32. Anne-claire (30 years)  -  Switzerland
32. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
24. Jan. 2004
33. (59 years)  -  Australia
33. One-to-One

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The experience was beyond my expectations. The standard of the teachers and the tuition was extraodinary as was my progress.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The school and the teachers and their fellow students.

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Ignacio (24): Staff is very attentive and kind. I had some... more
  • Inesa (25): I think the service works really well. I have had... more
  • Katura (64): Excellent website. Allowed me to make an informed... more
*required