X

Reviews of F+U Academy of Languages, Heidelberg, Germany

Total number of reviews: 135
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
F+U Academy of Languages, Heidelberg, Germany
4.0/5.0 
(135 reviews)
City 4.7/5.0 
Organisation 3.7/5.0 
Facilities 3.8/5.0 
Social activities 3.4/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.1/5.0 
Value for money 3.8/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 3.9/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.7/5.0 
other 3.7/5.0 
Individual Reviews
26. Sep. 2016
1. (20 years)  - 
1. Main Course + Module Course - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category III (Albert Fritz, Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner, Wasserturm, Wieblingen)
other
12. Sep. 2016
2. (29 years)  - 
2. Main Course + Module Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia)
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The meetings, the city ... The German course!
17. Aug. 2016
3. (16 years)  - 
3. Main Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay B
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher and the computer room.
11. Aug. 2016
4. Lea (20 years)  -  Austria
4. German Main Course + English Module (20 + 15) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category IV (Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner)
other
25. Jul. 2016
5. (34 years)  -  Hong Kong
5. Main Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I had classmates of different nationalities. It was fun to know how well people who speak different languages can also speak German. I also like the fact that students are put in classes according to our levels.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I did not have time to take part in social activities but guess that could be fun.
Other comments
I think both office & teaching staff of F+U is trustworthy and responsible. Trustworthiness was my core concern before my enrolment because I haven't even seen the centre after all! But now I think I can recommend it to my friends.
25. Jul. 2016
6.  -  Hong Kong
6. Junior Programme (6-15 years) - 20 group lessons + 4 private lessons - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
we can play many games.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It is very fun.
Other comments
I think there should be clocks in every classroom.
25. Jul. 2016
7. Gemma Maria Del Castell (45 years)  - 
7. Mini Group Mornings - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
30. Jun. 2016
8. Victoria (22 years)  - 
8. Main Course - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
27. Jun. 2016
9. Thomas (30 years)  - 
9. English Intensive + TOEFL (30) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia)
other
10. May. 2016
10. (34 years)  - 
10. Main Course + Module Course - 13 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category III (Albert Fritz, Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner, Wasserturm, Wieblingen)
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The environment
18. Apr. 2016
11. (32 years)  -  Belgium
11. Premium Course: Standard German/DSH/TestDaF - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category V (Apo, Haus am Ritter, Karlsplatz, März, Rohrbach 16, Sophie)
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Not far. Center of town.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Bring a towel. Don't count on wifi. No activities.
Other comments
No activities and no interaction with students. We didn't even know each other's names.
14. Mar. 2016
12. (20 years)  - 
12. Main Course + Module Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers are friendly. You can learn with a fun.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I recommend you to express your opinions voluntarily.
4. Jan. 2016
13. Gondard (29 years)  - 
13. German Main Course + English Module (20 + 15) - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
other
21. Dec. 2015
14. Dmitrii  - 
14. Main Course: DSH/TestDaF Preparation - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
9. Nov. 2015
15. (31 years)  - 
15. Main Course + Module Course (Woche 1) + Main Course (Woche 2) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category II (Albert Fritz, Emmertsgrund, Steinhof)
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the management is very well organized, the people at the reception are friendly and always helpful and the teachers put in a lot of effort so you have fun while learning
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
the internet in the hostel is very poor and thus it was difficult to do some homework
Other comments
In Heidelberg in the F + U Academy I had the most amazing time of my life and I want to repeat this experience next year again!
29. Sep. 2015
16. Zsolt (19 years)  -  Hungary
16. Main Course: DSH/TestDaF Preparation - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
other
17. Sep. 2015
17. (28 years)  - 
17. Main Course English - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The way of teaching, based on conversation
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You will enjoy it a lot
Other comments
Everything was very nice and educational
14. Sep. 2015
18. (18 years)  - 
18. Main Course + Module Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay B
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The livability of the classrooms, the availability of digital material, multi-ethnicity and the atmosphere that reigned in the classroom
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The first day is definitely badly organized. There is a lot of confusion in the corridors and it's hard to figure out where you should go, especially for people like me, who go to study alone, without a travel companion. I also had difficulty to find the school itself because there were few signs in the street. There are a lot of students in the secretariat. Also in the afternoon it is easy that the lesson gets moved to another classroom in different buildings. I had to fend and ask around, otherwise I would not have been able to understand where was the school
14. Sep. 2015
19. (19 years)  - 
19. Main Course + Module Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Students met
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The old city, the river, the Philosophers' Way
Other comments
Teachers are not very pedagogue, some mockery toward students, I felt ill at ease sometimes, the school organization should be revised, furthermore, I waste 4,30 hours of private lessons because no one told me how they worked, the books are expensive, also, as I don't speak German quite well, it could be better to explain the overall functioning of the school in our native language or in English the first day.
7. Sep. 2015
20. Angelika (24 years)  - 
20. Main Course + Module Course grammar - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Shared Flat
other
31. Aug. 2015
21. Paolo (67 years)  -  Italy
21. Intensive Course for Seniors (50+) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category VI (März)
other
28. Aug. 2015
22. Nikita (18 years)  - 
22. Main Course + Module Course + 5 private classes - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category IV (Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner, Wieblingen)
other
24. Aug. 2015
23. (18 years)  - 
23. Main Course + Module Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category VI (März)
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the quality of teaching
10. Aug. 2015
24. (53 years)  -  Sweden
24. Main Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers
Other comments
Make the classrooms nicer. Divide students according to their maternal language group. There is a lot of difference between learning German from Swedish or from Chinese. The material should focus more on the German society and Germany.
4. Aug. 2015
25. Naomi (11 years)  -  Indonesia
25. Junior Programme (6-15 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Other comments
Poor organisation.
4. Aug. 2015
26. (11 years)  - 
26. JuniorCourse (7-15 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The students and the teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Do not pay for lunch
Other comments
A good school
28. Jul. 2015
27. (16 years)  - 
27. Main Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
lessons
Other comments
I would have preferred more attention to underage students like me, who had no idea what to do because of little information and organization of the school
14. Jul. 2015
28. Howeon (23 years)  -  Korea, South
28. Main Course + Module Course - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
29. Jun. 2015
29. Arina (23 years)  - 
29. Main Course + Module Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
18. May. 2015
30. Lisa (a.e.m.) (16 years)  - 
30. Intensive Business (Part 1) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category V (Apo, Brox, Haus am Ritter, Karlsplatz, März, Rohrbach 16, Sophie)
other
6. Oct. 2014
31. (27 years)  - 
31. German Main Course + English Module - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category III (Albert Fritz, Bach, Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner, Wasserturm, Wieblingen)
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The infrastructure is immense. The schools is well located and offers quality courses.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The town is very small and people there a friendly. I had a great experience here, so much that I decided to extend my stay to the months to come.
Other comments
Unfortunately F + U Heidelberg is such a big school so that it delivers an impersonal service and tends to be business oriented. There are about 100 teachers in this school, and classroom or teacher changes are common things.
9. Sep. 2014
32. (12 years)  -  United Arab Emirates
32. Junior Programme (7-15 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The organization and social activities. that was what I liked most.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don´t miss the park and the mountain.
9. Sep. 2014
33. (15 years)  -  United Arab Emirates
33. Junior Programme (7-15 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked the school and teachers. I did not like the fact that there were few students of my age.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The castle and park.
Other comments
I suggest that the teacher should have more discipline over the students. As we approached the end of the course, the class lost interest.
8. Sep. 2014
34. (20 years)  - 
34. Main Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school is close to a station and located in the center of a tourist area. You can visit some of the attractions on the way back from the school.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I recommend the homestay.
Other comments
Although I asked some questions to a Japanese school staff, he passed to another non-Japanese speaking staff who was in charge. I preferred to be answered in my language, as the school has the Japanese consultant.
3. Sep. 2014
35.  - 
35. Intensive course for seniors (50+) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category VI (März)
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Educational Facilities
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Lack accommodation cleaning, change of course and teachers at last time
Other comments
Better transparency and clarity in the presentation of the courses and of the eventual accommodation, as well as improving the continuity of teaching
18. Oct. 2013
36. (80 years)  - 
36. Intensive 30 - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Due to a small class, we have many opportunities to speak during a lesson. Also it's easy to make friends. Private lessons are very concentrated and economical. The school organize the daily activities and one-day trip to the suburbs. Students from all over the world add to the diversity of the school.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The style of German lesson is very speedy. You need to practice one after another and are asked to speak or answer during a lesson。Therefore, I recommend you to prepare well before a course starts or join a beginner class. Also I can suggest to take the private lessons which can help you to cover your weak points.
7. Oct. 2013
37. (59 years)  -  United States
37. Intensive 20 - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Our class was great---friendly, relaxed, but super interesting.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you can take a class with Verena, do!
Other comments
I can't comment on your accommodations---I found my own, and it was incredibly expensive. I didn't do any of the social activities, but they looked good.
22. Sep. 2013
38. (18 years)  - 
38. Intensive 30 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Great teachers, small groups, cheap
Other comments
I will come back there next year. The best language school.
16. Sep. 2013
39. (31 years)  - 
39. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teacher explained everything very well, it's something that I hadn't found in other schools
10. Sep. 2013
40. Cristian (23 years)  -  Spain
40. Intensive 20 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
other
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Get the Student Card and then the Mensa Card. (Mensa is the Student/University Restaurant with good food at good prices)
Other comments
As every school, it depends on which teacher you have, there are some who are very good and others... Try to stay minimum one month.
9. Sep. 2013
41. (22 years)  -  Spain
41. Intensive 20 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The facilities were very good, and most of the staff was very friendly.
7. Sep. 2013
42. (17 years)  - 
42. Intensive 20 - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Women and beer nearby.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Women.
3. Sep. 2013
43. Mariacristina (45 years)  - 
43. Combination course: German 20 + English 15 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category V (Apo, Brox, Haus am Ritter, Karlsplatz, März, Rohrbach 16, Sophie)
other
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
in-depth knowledge of the culture of the host country
1. Sep. 2013
44. (21 years)  -  Italy
44. Intensive 30 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category III (Albert Fritz, Bach, Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner, Wasserturm, Wieblingen)
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher, Nastja, was great. The environment is highly international. I recommend the Ausprache training / pronunciation. It's also free.
Other comments
The enrolment test is very bad, everyone I know changed their level (including me) because the one the school chose was too easy or too difficult. Be sure they give you a receipt for everything - I didn't get one for the house fund and I lost 100 euro because they refused to give it back to me. Make sure you change your course on Monday or Tuesday otherwise they will not change it until next Monday. Book your certificate on Monday otherwise on Saturday you will have to pay 5 euros to get it. Basically the school is cheap, but it tries to suck away as much money as it can. I am very upset about it - I will definitely not come back. The secretaries are just unbearable. Barbara and Nastja are great teachers. Betti (or something like that) is great for the grammar course but she is not good for the conversation one.
26. Aug. 2013
45. Daniela (41 years)  - 
45. Intensive 20 - 13 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Apartment Category I (Karlsruhe, März, Rathaus, Rohrbach 16, Wieblingen)
other
19. Aug. 2013
46. (23 years)  -  Norway
46. Intensive 30 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Some teachers are very good.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Eat quite cheap at the Mensa. Heidelberg is cool.
Other comments
Teachers are mostly good, but the administration is not good.
11. Jul. 2013
47. (35 years)  - 
47. Combination course: German 20 + English 15 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers are very competent
Other comments
Very good school
1. Jul. 2013
48. (23 years)  - 
48. Intensive 20 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school is very nice, and the thing I liked most was the willingness and patience in healing any doubts that you might have.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you are looking for an experience of study trip, this is exactly what you're looking for!
6. May. 2013
49. (37 years)  -  Spain
49. Intensive 20 - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Hall of Residence Category III (Albert Fritz, Bach, Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner, Wasserturm, Wieblingen)
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers' kindness and attention.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
More suitable for the long stay student. Nice rooms in new residences avaliable.
Other comments
Huge academy, classrooms spread in several locations all over Heidelberg. Many students, reception most of the time overcrowded.
4. Mar. 2013
50. (27 years)  -  Australia
50. Intensive 30 - 24 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were really good.

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Oscar (20): I chose them because they have really good... more
  • Anne (36): I found all the information I needed on your site... more
  • Abrahan (23): I liked the experience of Cursos-de-idiomas.com,... more