Reviews of Fast Forward Institute, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Total No. of Reviews: 43
NOTE: All evaluations are authentic. Only former participants who have booked a course with us at the school can publish evaluations after the end of the course. Schools could therefore not manipulate evaluations and you can trust in all published evaluations.

Average Rating

Overall rating
Fast Forward Institute, Sao Paulo, Brazil
4.0/5.0 
(43 reviews)
City 4.2/5.0 
Organisation 3.8/5.0 
Facilities 3.4/5.0 
Social activities 3.0/5.0 
Course Quality / Progress in language 4.3/5.0 
Value for money 3.7/5.0 
Accommodation
Host Family 4.0/5.0 
Shared flat (apartment) 4.2/5.0 
Other 4.2/5.0 
Individual Reviews
2. May. 2014
1. (48 years)  - 
1. Group Super Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
28. Oct. 2013
2. (26 years)  -  United States
2. Group Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I had two fantastic teachers during my three-week stay. Bruna and Jacqueline were both extremely knowledgeable and dedicated teachers. They both knew that I love learning about colloquialisms and they were very willing to explain them to me in a very in-depth manner. The school is centrally located so that getting food or transportation is not a problem. It's also in a very safe neighborhood.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you don't like your accommodation, please do NOT hesitate to let the school know. There's no point in suffering with a crazy host mom/dad while you are paying them to take care of you. Do NOT try to buy a cell phone SIM card from a store, buy it from a newstand and activate it by yourself. Choose Vivo.
Other comments
I think it's definitely time to renovate the building and facility. The classes aren't cheap and the students deserve a better environment. The excursions could be better organized. Often times we were wandering aimlessly in the museum/park.
18. Oct. 2013
3. (30 years)  -  Germany
3. Group Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Fast progress in Portuguese. Friendly and skilled teachers.
Other comments
A school for expats and professionals rather than for tourists and travelers.
30. Aug. 2013
4. (23 years)  - 
4. Group Intensive - 6 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Quality of teachers is very high. Structure of the class have been made very well. Classes based on the language levels and instructors change every few weeks. They meet the needs of the students. The course material is excellent.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It is highly recommended for those who want to focus on improving language skills. However, it may be a bit boring for those who expect the sight seeing and activities. Sao Paulo is a safe place, but the prices are high.
Other comments
All teachers are kind and friendly. However, they don't seem to respect the punctuality very much due to characteristics of a nation.
26. Aug. 2013
5. (20 years)  -  Italy
5. Group Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers, books
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The accommodation in rua luis coelho is really awful!
Other comments
Really friendly teachers and staff.
19. Aug. 2013
6. (39 years)  - 
6. Private Executive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teaching staff very friendly and open-minded.
31. Jul. 2013
7. (23 years)  - 
7. Group Super Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The atmosphere in school is great! I was feeling there really like at home. Teachers are perfect, with linguistic education, which lets you possibility to study portuguese language from inside. Moreover, they are always ready to be your friends, to advice stuffs about the language, city, trips around Brazil and just entertainment, which is really important for foreigners. I really enjoyed a lot staying there for a month. Would love to come back one day to continue studying with Fast Forward!
6. May. 2013
8. (45 years)  - 
8. Group Super Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small groups, great learning atmosphere, professional teachers, very good location. Muito obrigado ao todos!
19. Feb. 2013
9. Fabio (25 years)  - 
9. Group Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
29. Oct. 2012
10. Veronica Noemi (29 years)  - 
10. Group Super Intensive - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I heard rumours about the homestays, that they were awful in general. I heard rooms were full of mould on the walls and they were not nice at all. There is a hostel, escambo, that is close and very nice.
Other comments
Teachers were not keen on teaching.
21. Sep. 2012
11. (43 years)  -  Australia
11. Group Intensive - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The location.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Consider the Fast Forward Institute in Maceio too - classes are smaller, friendlier and have great teachers and excursions.
10. Sep. 2012
12. (29 years)  -  Austria
12. Group Super Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were great, very professional but at the same time fun!
Other comments
Great place, I highly recommend it!
4. Sep. 2012
13. (25 years)  -  Denmark
13. Group Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were nice and the school did well to identify my level from the start.
Other comments
Lack of organization while I was there. The 6-student limit was repeatedly broken, and I had to sit at the professors desk one day, because there were so many people.
21. Aug. 2012
14. (47 years)  - 
14. Group Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
reactivity, flexibility, availability, lessons are lively
Other comments
just a downside : my teacher, who was open-minded, pedagogue, polite and friendly, had a tendency to shorten the course length (often started 10 min late and finished at the normal time).
6. Aug. 2012
15. (27 years)  -  Switzerland
15. Group Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The friendly, welcoming atmosphere and the small classes (not more than 6 people)
24. Jul. 2012
16. (23 years)  - 
16. Group Intensive - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The professionalism of teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Visit the museums
16. Jul. 2012
17. Jihwa (29 years)  - 
17. Group Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
25. Jun. 2012
18. (30 years)  - 
18. Group Super Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendliness
3. Apr. 2012
19. Aurelio (48 years)  -  Mexico
19. Group Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
13. Dec. 2011
20. (23 years)  -  Russian Federation
20. Group Super Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I loved the teachers! Very professional and interesting lessons.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I would recommend to take laptop with you, because the Internet connection at the school is not so good sometimes
Other comments
I do recommend this school if you want to improve your Portguese, it really worths!
17. Oct. 2011
21. (38 years)  -  United States
21. Group Intensive - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The instructor, Natasha, had so much patience, yet was very challenging at the same time. Very knowledgeable and informative instructor. My learning experience was well worth the fee. I would do it again if I had the time.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Do take the time to explore Sao Paulo. It's an amazing city.
15. Dec. 2010
22.  - 
22. Group Super Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small learning groups, familiar atmosphere in the school, flexibility regarding the level of the course
7. Dec. 2010
23. Remi (33 years)  - 
23. Group Intensive - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
30. Nov. 2010
24. (23 years)  -  Russian Federation
24. Group Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are very good and friendly! The school is located in the center of the city.
22. Nov. 2010
25. (24 years)  - 
25. Group Intensive - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everything goes smooth, the familiar atmosphere
Other comments
I thought there would be activities offered in the afternoon?
16. Nov. 2010
26. (18 years)  - 
26. Group Super Intensive - 8 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school turns quickly into a familiar place where you want to go every day. The textbook, especially designed for the school, allows effective classes and at the same time, creates a relaxed atmosphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You should consider if the afternoon lessons (super intensive course) are useful for you. If you are a beginner, I recommend you use the afternoon to learn vocabulary, because the afternoon lessons are only useful if you have grammatical knowledge. You should not miss the cultural program of Sao Paulo. I am here for two months now and the offer changes almost every week and the options to go out at night are countless. Therefore: Monday to Friday theoretical studies, Friday to Sunday practical studies :D
Other comments
Host families: the school has a long tradition of collaborating with host families (some families work with the school for 10 years!). So, I was surprised by the first family they chose for me, I was very disappointed. For an 18-year old on his first trip of this kind it was a big mistake from the school to place me in a family who had assigned a room secluded from the family (not to mention that the room is almost one hour away from the school). Also, the family constellation was not optimal. For an adult this privacy might be nice but for me, it was depressing. Now, I stay with a great family but it took the school 2 months to correct this mistake. Therefore, I recommend them, I will tell them directly as well, to take the students' need into account when choosing the host families.
13. Oct. 2010
27. (25 years)  - 
27. Group Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
8. Aug. 2010
28. (38 years)  - 
28. Group Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The third teacher was very good. We practiced listening, speaking, reading, presentations and grammar.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
School-sponsored activities in the afternoon, by the time the note is not held at all. When I went, so much.
Other comments
And friendly environment, recommended for those who want to learn Portuguese for a reasonable price. Sao Paulo is a very large cities, cars and more people, and not very quiet. If you do not like big cities, might want to try to consider how the school Maceio schools.
30. Nov. 2009
29. (42 years)  - 
29. Group Super Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school is not too big. The building is neat and conveniently located.
21. Aug. 2009
30. (20 years)  -  Japan
30. Group Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the course
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
to bring an umbrella
Other comments
thanks, I had a great time with you guys
9. Jul. 2009
31. (36 years)  -  Germany
31. Private Executive - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Camila (my teacher) - outstanding!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
around the corner (rua Pomplena) is a good gym ("academia")
27. May. 2009
32. (40 years)  -  United States
32. Group Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
quality of teaching
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Just soak up the atmosphere of Sao Paulo as much as you can
Other comments
Enjoyed the classes. challenging and fun. Good teaching staff.
19. Jan. 2009
33. Sergio (24 years)  - 
33. Group Super Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
23. Dec. 2008
34. (40 years)  - 
34. Group Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
meet brazilians and talk!
Other comments
great bunch of students, teachers are lovely.
17. Nov. 2008
35. (30 years)  -  Germany
35. Group Intensive - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the flexibility of the programms duration. The teachers were always willing to help.
13. Feb. 2008
36. (28 years)  - 
36. Private Super Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
ambience
30. Jan. 2008
37. (23 years)  -  Netherlands
37. Group Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the atmosphere, everybody is very friendly and laid back. Awesome!
15. Nov. 2007
38. Niklas (34 years)  - 
38. Group Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
2. Aug. 2007
39. Yoshihiro (40 years)  - 
39. Group Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
28. Mar. 2007
40. (30 years)  -  United States
40. Group Super INtensive (6 lessons per day) - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The Teachers were excellent
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The 4 hour a day course would have been better. 6 hours is a bit difficult and the other students would go out on trips in the afternoon that we were not really able to go on.
20. Jan. 2007
41. (27 years)  - 
41. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the course I had included us two students, which made the course very intensive. the teachers are very nice and helpful and good teachers. also it was great, that the school didn't allow the conversation of other languages.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
look at the city! do more than the course offers considering traveling around the country, going out, to exhibitions etc. the teachers are very helpful with information!
9. Aug. 2006
42. (26 years)  - 
42. Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teaching
24. Apr. 2006
43. (24 years)  -  Germany
43. Intensive - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
even after finishing my course i stayed in touch with a few people from the school
Other comments
i was sent to a wrong adresse in the beginning, luckily a friend went with me by car so we could go and search. As a first experience all by myself i would not have liked that in SP.

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Fiza (39): LanguageCourse.Net provides great rates, is very... more
  • Inesa (25): I think the service works really well. I have had... more
  • Anne (36): I found all the information I needed on your site... more
*required