Reviews of France Langue Paris Victor Hugo, Paris, France

Total No. of Reviews: 64
NOTE: All evaluations are authentic. Only former participants who have booked a course with us at the school can publish evaluations after the end of the course. Schools could therefore not manipulate evaluations and you can trust in all published evaluations.

Average Rating

Overall rating
France Langue Paris Victor Hugo, Paris, France
4.0/5.0 
(64 reviews)
City 4.8/5.0 
Organisation 4.0/5.0 
Facilities 3.7/5.0 
Social activities 3.6/5.0 
Course Quality / Progress in language 4.0/5.0 
Value for money 3.7/5.0 
Accommodation
Host Family 4.1/5.0 
Shared flat (apartment) 4.1/5.0 
Other 4.4/5.0 
Individual Reviews
19. May. 2014
1. (41 years)  -  Japan
1. Foundation Programme - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teaching method
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
you should study in advance at home. speak out whenever you have a chance.
28. Jan. 2014
2. (28 years)  - 
2. Foundation Programme - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Activity
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Go to all that the school offers
Other comments
The first week was a nightmare teacher, first week - waste of money, the remaining two weeks we had an excellent teacher!
4. Aug. 2013
3. (24 years)  - 
3. Intensive 26 / Extra-Intensive Programme - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Cité Universitaire Internationale de Paris
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teaching
12. Feb. 2013
4. (30 years)  - 
4. Intensive 30 / Accelerated Programme - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Plenty of activities, many services for free.
Other comments
Unfortunately, the phonetics laboratory was closed. The quality of the teachers was very different.
14. Dec. 2012
5. (64 years)  - 
5. Intensive 30 / Accelerated Programme - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were professional, entertaining, enthusiastic.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The intensive course starts after lunch and continues into the early evening. It prevents attendance to many social events which are in the afternoon, at the same time as the teaching and in the evening, after several hours of teaching when you need food and a rest.
Other comments
The course was a serious challenge but an enjoyable experience. I learned quite a lot and was motivated to continue study when I got home.
23. Oct. 2012
6. (33 years)  - 
6. Intensive Course 20 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
International Residence (CISP) or Kellermann
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the cleanliness of the premises, the teachers availability, and their ability to involve always all the students in the lesson.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
there are no lessons on Monday morning
Other comments
Positive Rating, very well organized excursions
15. Oct. 2012
7. (37 years)  - 
7. Intensive course 30 - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Highly qualified teachers
17. Sep. 2012
8. Jose María (39 years)  -  Spain
8. Intensive course 30 - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
13. Sep. 2012
9. Guzel (19 years)  - 
9. Intensive Course 20 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
11. Sep. 2012
10. (41 years)  -  Portugal
10. Intensive course 30 - 8 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Contact with other cultures.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The school does not privilege the needs of each student and places students in groups where there is space.
Other comments
There are schools with a better quality and a better price in France.
6. Sep. 2012
11. Valeriya (22 years)  -  Russian Federation
11. Intensive Course 20 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Cité Universitaire Internationale de Paris
Other
29. Aug. 2012
12. (20 years)  - 
12. Intensive course 30 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Maison des Lycéennes
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the selection of topics on which ​​the lesson would have been held, the seriousness of the teachers and the wide range of afternoon workshops
27. Aug. 2012
13. (24 years)  -  Spain
13. Intensive Course 20 - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Maison des Lycéennes
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The social activities.
21. Aug. 2012
14. (22 years)  -  Spain
14. Intensive Course 20 - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers were really friendly and this helped me so much because I was alone in the city. They made classes wonderful and I enjoyed them.
5. Jul. 2012
15. (29 years)  -  Netherlands
15. Intensive Course 20 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
that the focus is on conversation
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
try and look for a rental appartment yourself it may be nicer and cheaper
16. Jan. 2012
16. (18 years)  -  Sweden
16. Intensive Course 20 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Musee d
Other comments
Great service, great professors, great classmates!
7. Dec. 2011
17.  -  Poland
17. Intensive Course 20 - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
free labratory, excursion with teacher
Other comments
lessons should be more intensive(too much chating among teacher and students during lesson), better punctuality
5. Dec. 2011
18. (21 years)  -  Italy
18. Intensive Course 20 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teaching
Other comments
The only problem is that in a class there are levels too much differents
21. Nov. 2011
19. Caroline (42 years)  -  Iceland
19. Intensive course 30 - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Other comments
i was not informed beforehand that there were no classes on november 1st, eventhough I had e-mailed the school in advance for an itenary. I also did not like the topics the teacher covered on Wed and Thur morning and I asked for a transfer of class for the last day on Friday. On wed we discussed "pain" la douleur. This was bad enough for 4 hours, but on Thursday it was the same thing. How boring!!! All other classes were fine and the teachers were nice and friendly.
9. Oct. 2011
20. (21 years)  - 
20. Intensive Course 20 - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It was in a very good area, easy to find. The staff were all very nice and helpful.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It is a general course and not exactly tailored to what you require.
Other comments
I thought the course would be a little more suited to my needs. At the beginning of the week, I filled in a questionnaire to state what I needed help with. These points were never covered.
29. Sep. 2011
21. Asami (26 years)  - 
21. Intensive Course 20 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
26. Sep. 2011
22. Regina (40 years)  - 
22. Intensive Course 20 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
29. Aug. 2011
23. (29 years)  - 
23. Intensive Course 20 - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
When they finally found the right level for me - which was hard work and took a whole week - I was very happy with the teacher.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The book that costs 25 euros and it can be found used for much less.
Other comments
Having attended other language schools, I feel they lack options for organised activities based on culture, literature, art history, etc...
22. Aug. 2011
24. (24 years)  - 
24. Intensive Course 20 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
GOOD: - facilities, location of school BAD: - lessons are very relaxed and slow, not recommendable for someone who wants to study more intense - school is highly booked during summer, therefore courses are often only available in the afternoon - host families vary a lot, some care very little about the students
17. Aug. 2011
25. Lucrezia (20 years)  - 
25. Intensive Course 20 - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
17. Aug. 2011
26. Alba (22 years)  -  Spain
26. Intensive Course 20 - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
10. Aug. 2011
27. Fern (28 years)  -  France
27. Intensive Course 20 - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
3. Aug. 2011
28. Sofya (19 years)  -  Russian Federation
28. Intensive Course 20 - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
2. Aug. 2011
29. (19 years)  -  Russian Federation
29. Intensive Course 20 - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The tutors and their willingness, ability and readiness to work with foreign students.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Get an ISIC card
27. Jul. 2011
30. (39 years)  - 
30. Intensive Course 20 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher Poline was young but very well-prepared for teaching.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
In two weeks of 20 lessons you can make little progress, the courses are not very intensive. They follow a text divided into sections and in a week we only covered a few pronouns, 2 verb forms and a little vocabulary... but after all, the time was very short!
25. Jul. 2011
31. Karolina (26 years)  -  Switzerland
31. Intensive Course 30 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Other comments
The classes were too big. The level of the students is very different and it makes it difficult to make fast progress if there are too many students in each class.
18. Jul. 2011
32. (33 years)  -  United States
32. Intensive Course 20 - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family - Partial Half Board (5 dinners)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everything was wonderful. The instructor, the staff, the location of the school is beautiful.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
There is a delicious Patisserie near the school called Charles T????? Their mini sandwiches are delicious as are their pastries.
Other comments
My host was absolutely wonderful. Very welcoming, friendly and encouraging of conversation. The only problem was that it was a bit far from the school. It took about 45 minutes to arrive via the RER and Metro. Otherwise it was perfect. The class was also great. Our teacher Pauline taught us a lot of new phrases we could use in conversation. The only thing I would suggest is to have more time during the class devoted to students conversing with each other in oral exercises so we can practice more during the class. Also maybe more social activities for students to take part in. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience!
2. Jun. 2011
33. (25 years)  -  United States
33. Intensive Course 20 - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers were creative and professional. Even at the absolute beginner level, classes were conducted 99.5% in French. The location was also quite good, in a fairly upscale neighborhood, convenient to reach by public transportation, and within walking distance of the Arc de Triomphe.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I did not take part in any of the outings, but they had several available and I heard good things about them from fellow students. Staying in a host family was slightly expensive, but a good choice because I had the opportunity to practice what I was learning at home and to see that I really was progressing. Although Paris is wonderful, if I were to do it again I would try to stay in a much smaller city, where less English would be spoken. Even though I was in a French-speaking country, it was often difficult to practice French because so many people speak English.
Other comments
I wish that there were more opportunities in class to practice pronunciation. After 3 weeks, I can understand quite a bit of French, but my speaking abilities are comparatively very low.
30. May. 2011
34. Davide (23 years)  -  Italy
34. Intensive course 30 - 8 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
16. Feb. 2011
35. Olusomi (24 years)  -  United Kingdom
35. Intensive Course 20 - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
13. Dec. 2010
36. (34 years)  - 
36. Intensive Course 20 - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The helpfulness of the staff, the teacher was helpful also and engaged the whole class, the topics were very interactive and the class friendly and open. The location was perfect.
6. Dec. 2010
37. (21 years)  - 
37. Intensive Course 20 - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Chatting with the other kids of the class, with whom I had a wonderful and interesting cultural exchange, as each of them was of a nationality different from mine.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I believe that future participants should be aware that such a trip must have absolutely the minimum duration of a month. Having done unfortunately only a week I realized that it is too little.
18. Oct. 2010
38. (37 years)  -  France
38. Intensive Course 20 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Professor was great.
27. Sep. 2010
39. Nancy (35 years)  -  United States
39. Intensive Course 20 - 16 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
12. Sep. 2010
40. Laura (19 years)  - 
40. Intensive Course 20 - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
7. Sep. 2010
41. (23 years)  -  Italy
41. Intensive Course 20 - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Internationalism
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
There is a phonetic lab, it's free and it's not available for a short period in August!
1. Sep. 2010
42. Licia (18 years)  - 
42. Intensive Course 20 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family - Partial Half Board (5 dinners)
1. Sep. 2010
43. Alba (16 years)  - 
43. Intensive Course 20 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family - Partial Half Board (5 dinners)
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Basic knowledge of the language
24. Aug. 2010
44. (60 years)  -  United States
44. Intensive Course 20 - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Right off the Metro. My instructor was exceptional, and I look forward to returning to her class in the future. I wouldn't go anywhere else.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Social Activities
Other comments
Truly immersion at its best.
23. Aug. 2010
45. (22 years)  -  France
45. Intensive Course 20 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Classmates and teaching.
12. Aug. 2010
46. Ana Isabel (42 years)  - 
46. Intensive Course 20 - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
2. Aug. 2010
47. (52 years)  -  Canada
47. Intensive Course 20 - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The office staff was very helpful and should be commended for their interest in the students and the program.rnMy teacher worked hard at delivering a strong program with the varied levels of ability of the students that she had to instruct. I did like the weekend excursion to the Loire Valley and I think that Claire, who organized it, did a fabulous job and Vincent was also very friendly and helpful during the weekend excursion. Thank you to both of you.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Be careful when selecting host families.rnI heard a lot of negative reports with the quality of food and lodgings that are provided to the students. I think that the host families take advantage of young students who will not complain like older students would. Too bad because this is often the students first experience away from home and parents want it to be pleasant and successful for their children. If it is not a pleasant experience, then people will not recommend to others or want to repeat their studies. Plus, you should receive good value for the money that you are paying.
Other comments
My classroom was next to the street and noisy and it was very very hot. We had to keep the windows closed so that we could hear each other and the teacher speak. It was an unpleasant learning environment being so hot. The ceiling fans did not help enough and I would often leave the class with a headache. A more appropriate building with air conditioning would be most considerate since these courses are not free. I would not attend in the summer again because of the heat and I would not choose this school at SFax because of the noise level
20. Jul. 2010
48. (22 years)  - 
48. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
12. Jul. 2010
49. (26 years)  - 
49. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
organization,kindness and personal competence.
26. Apr. 2010
50. Davide (29 years)  - 
50. Intensive Course 20 - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Sarah: LanguageCourse.Net is very cheap and the schools... more
  • Katura (64): Excellent website. Allowed me to make an informed... more
  • Anne (36): I found all the information I needed on your site... more
*required