X

Reviews of France Langue Paris Victor Hugo, Paris, France

Total number of reviews: 69
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
France Langue Paris Victor Hugo, Paris, France
4.0/5.0 
(69 reviews)
City 4.8/5.0 
Organisation 4.0/5.0 
Facilities 3.8/5.0 
Social activities 3.5/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.0/5.0 
Value for money 3.7/5.0 
Accommodation
Homestay 4.1/5.0 
Shared Flat 4.1/5.0 
other 4.4/5.0 
Individual Reviews
14. Feb. 2017
1.(73 years) - United States
1.Standard Programme-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Their facilities, location and administrative staff are wonderful. My first teacher was great--Dennis. We had him for only 1 1/2 days, however. They're activities on paper seem wonderful (if one can actually take part in them). My second teacher, Caroline, scheduled for 3 days was another story. See below.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you go to activities, make sure you know the exact meeting point. Also, make sure you are put in a class that fits your needs and abilities.
Other comments
If I had Dennis as the teacher for the entire week, I would probably sign up again. The problem with Caroline is that she let one student monopolize the conversation for 2 hours of the class. I felt like that student was getting a private lesson and the rest of us were just subjected to listening to the student go on and on about topics that interested her. For me it felt like torture, so I did not attend my last day of class because I didn't want to be subjected to that again. Also, for activities the meeting point should be made absolutely clear. I went to an activity--no one showed up. Maybe I was not at the exact meeting point. I don't know.
19. Dec. 2016
2.(23 years) - United Kingdom
2.Intensive Programme-8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teaching staff
22. Jul. 2015
3.Aya(20 years) - 
3.Intensive Programme-3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Residence CISP Ravel or Kellermann
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Do not be shy to ask if you want to be transferred to a different group if you are not happy with the level of your current group.
6. Feb. 2015
4.(66 years) - France
4.Accelerated Programme-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Reception very helpful in tailoring program to my needs. Morning professor (same each day) was excellent as was the one who taught the "actualités" (current events). Others less so.
Other comments
Heating issues in classrooms (too hot). No one organizes the rooms - too many chairs and tables in some to even move about.
24. Aug. 2014
5.(36 years) - Germany
5.Intensive Programme-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good teachers, very welcoming staff
Other comments
It´s a good school, but the free time activities should be compatible with the classes
19. May. 2014
6.(41 years) - Japan
6.Foundation Programme-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teaching method
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
you should study in advance at home. speak out whenever you have a chance.
28. Jan. 2014
7.(28 years) - 
7.Foundation Programme-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Activity
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Go to all that the school offers
Other comments
The first week was a nightmare teacher, first week - waste of money, the remaining two weeks we had an excellent teacher!
4. Aug. 2013
8.(24 years) - 
8.Intensive 26 / Extra-Intensive Programme-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Cité Universitaire Internationale de Paris
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teaching
12. Feb. 2013
9.(30 years) - 
9.Intensive 30 / Accelerated Programme-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Plenty of activities, many services for free.
Other comments
Unfortunately, the phonetics laboratory was closed. The quality of the teachers was very different.
14. Dec. 2012
10.(64 years) - 
10.Intensive 30 / Accelerated Programme-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were professional, entertaining, enthusiastic.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The intensive course starts after lunch and continues into the early evening. It prevents attendance to many social events which are in the afternoon, at the same time as the teaching and in the evening, after several hours of teaching when you need food and a rest.
Other comments
The course was a serious challenge but an enjoyable experience. I learned quite a lot and was motivated to continue study when I got home.
23. Oct. 2012
11.(33 years) - 
11.Intensive Course 20-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
International Residence (CISP) or Kellermann
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the cleanliness of the premises, the teachers availability, and their ability to involve always all the students in the lesson.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
there are no lessons on Monday morning
Other comments
Positive Rating, very well organized excursions
15. Oct. 2012
12.(37 years) - 
12.Intensive course 30-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Highly qualified teachers
17. Sep. 2012
13.Jose María(39 years) - Spain
13.Intensive course 30-4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
13. Sep. 2012
14.Guzel(19 years) - 
14.Intensive Course 20-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
11. Sep. 2012
15.(41 years) - Portugal
15.Intensive course 30-8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Contact with other cultures.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The school does not privilege the needs of each student and places students in groups where there is space.
Other comments
There are schools with a better quality and a better price in France.
6. Sep. 2012
16.Valeriya(22 years) - Russian Federation
16.Intensive Course 20-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Cité Universitaire Internationale de Paris
29. Aug. 2012
17.(20 years) - 
17.Intensive course 30-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Maison des Lycéennes
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the selection of topics on which ​​the lesson would have been held, the seriousness of the teachers and the wide range of afternoon workshops
27. Aug. 2012
18.(24 years) - Spain
18.Intensive Course 20-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Maison des Lycéennes
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The social activities.
21. Aug. 2012
19.(22 years) - Spain
19.Intensive Course 20-3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers were really friendly and this helped me so much because I was alone in the city. They made classes wonderful and I enjoyed them.
5. Jul. 2012
20.(29 years) - Netherlands
20.Intensive Course 20-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
that the focus is on conversation
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
try and look for a rental appartment yourself it may be nicer and cheaper
16. Jan. 2012
21.(18 years) - Sweden
21.Intensive Course 20-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Musee d
Other comments
Great service, great professors, great classmates!
7. Dec. 2011
22. - Poland
22.Intensive Course 20-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
free labratory, excursion with teacher
Other comments
lessons should be more intensive(too much chating among teacher and students during lesson), better punctuality
5. Dec. 2011
23.(21 years) - Italy
23.Intensive Course 20-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teaching
Other comments
The only problem is that in a class there are levels too much differents
21. Nov. 2011
24.Caroline(42 years) - Iceland
24.Intensive course 30-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Other comments
i was not informed beforehand that there were no classes on november 1st, eventhough I had e-mailed the school in advance for an itenary. I also did not like the topics the teacher covered on Wed and Thur morning and I asked for a transfer of class for the last day on Friday. On wed we discussed "pain" la douleur. This was bad enough for 4 hours, but on Thursday it was the same thing. How boring!!! All other classes were fine and the teachers were nice and friendly.
9. Oct. 2011
25.(21 years) - 
25.Intensive Course 20-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It was in a very good area, easy to find. The staff were all very nice and helpful.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It is a general course and not exactly tailored to what you require.
Other comments
I thought the course would be a little more suited to my needs. At the beginning of the week, I filled in a questionnaire to state what I needed help with. These points were never covered.
29. Sep. 2011
26.Asami(26 years) - 
26.Intensive Course 20-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
26. Sep. 2011
27.Regina(40 years) - 
27.Intensive Course 20-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
29. Aug. 2011
28.(29 years) - 
28.Intensive Course 20-3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
When they finally found the right level for me - which was hard work and took a whole week - I was very happy with the teacher.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The book that costs 25 euros and it can be found used for much less.
Other comments
Having attended other language schools, I feel they lack options for organised activities based on culture, literature, art history, etc...
22. Aug. 2011
29.(24 years) - 
29.Intensive Course 20-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
GOOD: - facilities, location of school BAD: - lessons are very relaxed and slow, not recommendable for someone who wants to study more intense - school is highly booked during summer, therefore courses are often only available in the afternoon - host families vary a lot, some care very little about the students
17. Aug. 2011
30.Lucrezia(20 years) - 
30.Intensive Course 20-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
17. Aug. 2011
31.Alba(22 years) - Spain
31.Intensive Course 20-3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
10. Aug. 2011
32.Fern(28 years) - France
32.Intensive Course 20-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
3. Aug. 2011
33.Sofya(19 years) - Russian Federation
33.Intensive Course 20-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
2. Aug. 2011
34.(19 years) - Russian Federation
34.Intensive Course 20-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The tutors and their willingness, ability and readiness to work with foreign students.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Get an ISIC card
27. Jul. 2011
35.(39 years) - 
35.Intensive Course 20-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher Poline was young but very well-prepared for teaching.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
In two weeks of 20 lessons you can make little progress, the courses are not very intensive. They follow a text divided into sections and in a week we only covered a few pronouns, 2 verb forms and a little vocabulary... but after all, the time was very short!
25. Jul. 2011
36.Karolina(26 years) - Switzerland
36.Intensive Course 30-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Other comments
The classes were too big. The level of the students is very different and it makes it difficult to make fast progress if there are too many students in each class.
18. Jul. 2011
37.(33 years) - United States
37.Intensive Course 20-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay - Partial Half Board (5 dinners)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everything was wonderful. The instructor, the staff, the location of the school is beautiful.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
There is a delicious Patisserie near the school called Charles T????? Their mini sandwiches are delicious as are their pastries.
Other comments
My host was absolutely wonderful. Very welcoming, friendly and encouraging of conversation. The only problem was that it was a bit far from the school. It took about 45 minutes to arrive via the RER and Metro. Otherwise it was perfect. The class was also great. Our teacher Pauline taught us a lot of new phrases we could use in conversation. The only thing I would suggest is to have more time during the class devoted to students conversing with each other in oral exercises so we can practice more during the class. Also maybe more social activities for students to take part in. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience!
2. Jun. 2011
38.(25 years) - United States
38.Intensive Course 20-3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers were creative and professional. Even at the absolute beginner level, classes were conducted 99.5% in French. The location was also quite good, in a fairly upscale neighborhood, convenient to reach by public transportation, and within walking distance of the Arc de Triomphe.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I did not take part in any of the outings, but they had several available and I heard good things about them from fellow students. Staying in a host family was slightly expensive, but a good choice because I had the opportunity to practice what I was learning at home and to see that I really was progressing. Although Paris is wonderful, if I were to do it again I would try to stay in a much smaller city, where less English would be spoken. Even though I was in a French-speaking country, it was often difficult to practice French because so many people speak English.
Other comments
I wish that there were more opportunities in class to practice pronunciation. After 3 weeks, I can understand quite a bit of French, but my speaking abilities are comparatively very low.
30. May. 2011
39.Davide(23 years) - Italy
39.Intensive course 30-8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
16. Feb. 2011
40.Olusomi(24 years) - United Kingdom
40.Intensive Course 20-3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
13. Dec. 2010
41.(34 years) - 
41.Intensive Course 20-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The helpfulness of the staff, the teacher was helpful also and engaged the whole class, the topics were very interactive and the class friendly and open. The location was perfect.
6. Dec. 2010
42.(21 years) - 
42.Intensive Course 20-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Chatting with the other kids of the class, with whom I had a wonderful and interesting cultural exchange, as each of them was of a nationality different from mine.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I believe that future participants should be aware that such a trip must have absolutely the minimum duration of a month. Having done unfortunately only a week I realized that it is too little.
18. Oct. 2010
43.(37 years) - France
43.Intensive Course 20-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Professor was great.
27. Sep. 2010
44.Nancy(35 years) - United States
44.Intensive Course 20-16 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
12. Sep. 2010
45.Laura(19 years) - 
45.Intensive Course 20-3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
7. Sep. 2010
46.(23 years) - Italy
46.Intensive Course 20-3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Internationalism
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
There is a phonetic lab, it's free and it's not available for a short period in August!
1. Sep. 2010
47.Licia(18 years) - 
47.Intensive Course 20-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay - Partial Half Board (5 dinners)
1. Sep. 2010
48.Alba(16 years) - 
48.Intensive Course 20-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay - Partial Half Board (5 dinners)
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Basic knowledge of the language
24. Aug. 2010
49.(60 years) - United States
49.Intensive Course 20-1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Right off the Metro. My instructor was exceptional, and I look forward to returning to her class in the future. I wouldn't go anywhere else.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Social Activities
Other comments
Truly immersion at its best.
23. Aug. 2010
50.(22 years) - France
50.Intensive Course 20-2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Classmates and teaching.

In the press:
Press mentions
Press mentions
Trusted by:
Companies who trust in LanguageCourse.net
Companies who trust in LanguageCourse.net
Android icon
+
Apple icon
+
VT app shown on tablet
+
VT app shown on mobile

Learn English with our free app

Vocabulary Trainer

+10.000.000 Downloads