Reviews of Gadir - Escuela International de Español, Cadiz, Spain

Total No. of Reviews: 70
NOTE: All evaluations are authentic. Only former participants who have booked a course with us at the school can publish evaluations after the end of the course. Schools could therefore not manipulate evaluations and you can trust in all published evaluations.

Average Rating

Overall rating
Gadir - Escuela International de Español, Cadiz, Spain
4.3/5.0 
(70 reviews)
City 4.5/5.0 
Organisation 4.1/5.0 
Facilities 3.4/5.0 
Social activities 3.5/5.0 
Course Quality / Progress in language 4.4/5.0 
Value for money 4.1/5.0 
Accommodation
Host Family 3.9/5.0 
Shared flat (apartment) 4.0/5.0 
Other 3.8/5.0 
Individual Reviews
27. Aug. 2013
1. (30 years)  -  United Kingdom
1. Super Intensive Combi Course (25 group+5 individual) - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat High Season
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers
Other comments
Fantastic
4. Sep. 2012
2. (32 years)  - 
2. Intensive course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat High Season
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
small school, nice atmosphere
Other comments
the absence of a level test is a matter of lack of professionalism, because even if the level reported is incorrect, you often can not change the level as the classes are already formed. absence of air conditioning
23. Mar. 2012
3. (60 years)  - 
3. General course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat Low Season
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teaching methods, availability of teachers, small groups
16. Nov. 2011
4. Antti (63 years)  -  Finland
4. Intensive course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat Low Season
25. Sep. 2011
5. (48 years)  -  Russian Federation
5. General course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat Low Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Being near old town, all teachers were very good and lessons were interesting
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't forget to take dictionaries with you! And good shoes, because in Cadiz streets are paved with stones and tiles. Old town is great.
12. Sep. 2011
6. (23 years)  - 
6. Intensive course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat High Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small and homy, all students and teachers spent lot of time together --> big feeling of togetherness.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
yogurtería
Other comments
Ricardo and Arantxa are great teachers
15. Jun. 2011
7. (44 years)  - 
7. Super Intensive Combi Course (25 group+5 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat Low Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The competence, friendliness and patience of the teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Teaching is too intense, the breaks are too short or unfavourable. The classrooms are not so good (small, not properly isolated).
29. Apr. 2011
8. (68 years)  -  Switzerland
8. Spanish Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay Low Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly staff. Good organisation. Good teaching. Loved the little garden in front and the terrasse.
Other comments
To me, it seems very important that language teachers don't get carried away and talk too much. The students must do the talking ,especially in Conversation classes. Time is so short that all lessons should be well prepared so that students advance quickly.
5. Oct. 2010
9. (19 years)  - 
9. Intensive course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat Low Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers, program, activities, CADIZ!!!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Seville is worth a trip
31. May. 2010
10. (43 years)  -  Germany
10. General Spanish Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small class, interesting, varied
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
the cities around: Seville, Cordoba, Vejer, Jerez
20. Apr. 2010
11. (25 years)  - 
11. Super Intensive Combi Course (25 group+5 individual) - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat Low Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Nice and competent teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Sunset at the old beach
19. Apr. 2010
12. Morag (36 years)  -  United Kingdom
12. Easter Spanish Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat Low Season
20. Nov. 2009
13. (50 years)  - 
13. Spanish Course over 50 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat Low Season
2. Nov. 2009
14. (35 years)  - 
14. D.E.L.E. Preparatory course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat Low Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
small classes
Other comments
Explain better the procedure for the DELE exam registration
12. Oct. 2009
15. (41 years)  - 
15. Intensive course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat Low Season
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
small classes, small school, personal attention
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
no, just enjoy and ask for staying in the old part of Cadiz
Other comments
I would like to advise the school to organise a sort of meeting every monday when new people arrive. just to get more informed about everything.
5. Oct. 2009
16. (25 years)  - 
16. General course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat Low Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are perfect!!!They are like friends and if you want to, you can meet them in several bars in Cádiz and enjoy your time together with all the other pupils and the teachers!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Visit Morocco over the weekend! It's not that far and it's amazing to see!!!And ask for the bar "El Jopo" in Cádiz if you like Rock Music!!!
3. Oct. 2009
17. (23 years)  - 
17. General course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat Low Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were really kind and motivated. There weren't many people from my country,which was great for my Spanish
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Try to see every flamenco-show you can. Also the sunset from Castillo Santa Maria is great
Other comments
My roommates were a lot older (some more than 25 years), roommates at my age would have been nicer.
24. Aug. 2009
18. Roberta (24 years)  - 
18. General course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat High Season
8. Aug. 2009
19. (47 years)  -  United Kingdom
19. Intensive course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
staff
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
make sure you know exactly where the school is before your first day!
Other comments
it was more staightforward to go through LanguageCourse.net , and more easy
27. Jul. 2009
20. (28 years)  -  Ireland
20. Intensive course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat Low Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
excursions organised by Ricardo
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
if you can stay with a family because a lot of students end up communicating in English in the shared flats
Other comments
Very efficient, simple and straight forward booking service. Thanks
6. Jul. 2009
21. (68 years)  -  United Kingdom
21. Spanish Course over 50 - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay Low Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Flexibility - I had to change host family and course level and it was dealt with smoothly
Other comments
I would have preferred to have been on a specific "over 50" course
6. Jul. 2009
22. (73 years)  -  United Kingdom
22. Spanish Course over 50 - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay Low Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendliness of everyone, and the classes of course!
Other comments
I was quite happy with the experience of using your service, especially when I had a query about not receiving information about the accommodation shortly before the course was due to start. Maaike responded very quickly to my email, and I am grateful that he sorted it out immediately.
5. Dec. 2007
23. (30 years)  -  Germany
23. Intensive/ Low season - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat Low Season
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small classes (due to season)
5. Aug. 2006
24. (37 years)  -  United States
24. Intensive/ High Season - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
having direct contact with people (the teachers) from Spain
21. Jun. 2006
25. (29 years)  -  United Kingdom
25. Intensive/ Low season - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers - they were patient but firm and my confidence really grew over the period of the course.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You will have homework most nights - so give yourself time to do it as well as going out on the town!
Other comments
I felt the school could be better organized. I was never told that there was a board listing social activities in the main building (I didn't do any social activities with the school, but I did meet up with a couple of my classmates in the evening), and it was never explained to me that students doing a less intensive course would just turn up later in the morning. All these students had already been at the school for some time, they mix everyone up instead of putting the new students on a separate course. Having said that, I definitely improved over the week and, after my dreadful first day, I did enjoy myself.
27. Feb. 2006
26.  -  Uk
26. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
small classes
Other comments
Good school, good teachers and small classes.
19. Dec. 2005
27.  - 
27. Intensive/ High Season - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I had the best teachers ever, but if you don't like yours, do try and change the course
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Playa Cortadura is the nicest beach with the most beautiful water
Other comments
Changing apartments is possible, just consider that you talk to the school a few days in advance, moving to another place is mostly only possible on a Monday!
19. Dec. 2005
28.  - 
28. Intensive/ High Season - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
friendly and young teachers
17. Dec. 2005
29.  - 
29. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Having Alberto, Nano, and Patricia as my professors most of the time.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Cadiz doesn't have the party-scene reputation some larger cities do, but you will meet people and have a fun time!
Other comments
I went to Cadiz from May to August of 2005. Cadiz was the place I had hoped for; a nice climate, beautiful and authentic, with warm people. I can't say enough good things about my experience there. I debated for a long time between many different places in Spain. Thankfully, I chose Cadiz. What a great combination of students, engaging and caring teachers. Alberto, Nano, y Patricia: I will never forget my time in Cadiz.
8. Sep. 2005
30. (23 years)  - 
30. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
They did not have a speciality
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Cadiz is a very nice town with very friendly people! But I would recommend to not stay much more than 4 weeks. There are other great cities in Andalusia!
Other comments
It is good for students when they are placed in the right course, but once you placed there is basically no chance to switch. The school and it´s staff is very unflexible.
8. Sep. 2005
31. (28 years)  -  Italy
31. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Two out of three teachers were very nice and very good.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Be punctual and don't eat your fingernails!
Other comments
The entrance test was not taken into any consideration whatsoever. Classes were mixed in level, from absolute beginners to intermediate, despite the entrance test. Grammar classes were sometimes too easy, but conversation was ok. In the end I got a diploma for an A level, although I was looking for an intermediate/advanced course. The diploma does not reflect my acutal language skills.
8. Sep. 2005
32. (32 years)  -  Italy
32. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers
Other comments
It's not clear to me, what the initial language test was good for. The classes seem to have been formed in disregard of the tests, since in our group there were students with levels from absolute beginners to lower intermediate. Furthermore, I received a certificate for level A1, which does not correspond to the level I reached by the end of the course.
25. Aug. 2005
33. (28 years)  -  Slovenia
33. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teachers
30. Jun. 2005
34. (24 years)  - 
34. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
great teachers
24. Jun. 2005
35. (21 years)  -  Germany
35. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers
20. Jun. 2005
36. (21 years)  -  Norway
36. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The atmosphere in class
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Travel around in the region!
16. Jun. 2005
37. (20 years)  -  Norway
37. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The atmosphere was great and the teachers fantastic
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Be very active in the beginning, to make sure that you are put in the right class from the beginning!
Other comments
Personally I had a great time, the teachers I got there were the best teachers I've ever had, you learn a lot, but you have fun at the same time, a great school! The shared flat I lived in was OK as well, it was big and a bit old, but that didn't matter much!
28. Apr. 2005
38. (25 years)  - 
38. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked the mixture of students from all over the world. It was very interesting, to get to know other cultures so intensive. And the teachers at the school were amazing. I would have never believed that you can learn so much in 8 weeks course duration.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Cadiz is a beautiful little city with some cultural features and a great nightlife in the old part of the town. And renting a car, you can reach so many famous places in Andalucia in a one-day-trip.
12. Nov. 2004
39. (25 years)  - 
39. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The conversation lessons and the little garden
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The camera oscura
Other comments
Teachers were very nice and lectures interesting. I think our teachers would deserve a permanent contract so that they wouldn't be unemployed as soon as student number drops during winter time.
7. Oct. 2004
40. (21 years)  -  Germany
40. Super Intensive (+35h)

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
great Patio especially in the summer, great teachers, awesome school
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
join the trips the school organizes
Other comments
a great place to go on holidays and at the same time get to learn a foreign language and a culture. Make sure to plan trips for the weekends. Don't miss: Sevilla, Granada, Gibraltar, Tarifa!!
30. Sep. 2004
41. (20 years)  - 
41. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
small groups of pupils, interesting teachers (more friends than teachers, but nevertheless they taught a lot!!!!!!)
2. Aug. 2004
42. Regula (27 years)  -  Schweiz
42. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
9. Jul. 2004
43. Anonymous (19 years)  -  Netherlands
43. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
12. Jun. 2004
44. Michael (25 years)  - 
44. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
19. Feb. 2004
45. Robert (56 years)  -  Netherlands
45. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
13. Feb. 2004
46. (24 years)  -  Germany
46. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
i felt very comfortable
Other comments
the school lessons and the teacher were very good, i would like to make another course once again and I'd always recommend it to a friend
9. Jan. 2004
47. (30 years)  -  Norway
47. Super Intensive (+35h)

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small groups
1. Jan. 2004
48. (24 years)  -  Usa
48. Super Intensive (+35h)

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers were wonderful
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
try and live in the old town
13. Oct. 2003
49. Anonymous (26 years)  -  Alemania
49. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
9. Sep. 2003
50. Daniel (29 years)  -  Schweiz
50. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Other

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Harm Jaap (46): Normally I contact language schools directly, but... more
  • Sarah: LanguageCourse.Net is very cheap and the schools... more
  • Ignacio (24): Staff is very attentive and kind. I had some... more
*required