X

Reviews of Hellenic Language School Alexander the Great, Athens, Greece

Total number of reviews: 35
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Hellenic Language School Alexander the Great, Athens, Greece
4.4/5.0 
(35 reviews)
City 4.5/5.0 
Organisation 4.4/5.0 
Facilities 4.0/5.0 
Social activities 4.0/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.6/5.0 
Value for money 4.0/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 4.3/5.0 
Shared Flat 4.5/5.0 
other 4.4/5.0 
Individual Reviews
21. Nov. 2016
1. (57 years)  - 
1. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
21. Nov. 2016
2. (63 years)  -  Serbia
2. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very well organized, many interesting students in the small group and excellent teacher Ms.Rosalia!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Prepare well before coming and it will be much easier for you!
Other comments
Is there any better comment? I already sent my colleague to attend the same course in March 2017 and I myself will take private lessons end of January because I cannot fit into existing group. Great experience!
4. Jun. 2016
3. (72 years)  - 
3. Compact program - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
Parthenon Hotel
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
warm environment
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
the ramparts of the old city
25. Nov. 2015
4. (61 years)  - 
4. General Greek - Extended program - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
Hotel Category B2
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Textbooks and teaching quality
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Communicate more with native speakers.
Other comments
A decent school in all aspects. It would be good to have two activities per week. We had 2 in two weeks.
26. Nov. 2014
5. (53 years)  -  Netherlands
5. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Private lessons
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Try to take as many private lessons as possible
Other comments
Poor accommodation and money back system - could be more flexible
7. Oct. 2013
6. (55 years)  - 
6. Individual Program (20 Lektionen) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I had a very committed teacher who has responded to my needs.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Clarification of the course hours before starting the trip!
Other comments
Every day, classes began at 3 o'clock in the afternoon. I would have liked to know that in advance because then I would have prepared myself and planned differently for the week. No activities have been offered to me in Athens. My teacher has given me advice what I could visit. Those were really good. I have not seen any other students at this school, which I thought was strange. I did not really get to know the school itself.
3. Sep. 2013
7. (51 years)  -  Cyprus
7. General Greek - Extended program - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Outstanding teachers (Vicky/Effi). Excellent service - Vicky did her utmost concerning hours, classes, levels... to the students' complete satisfaction.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Maria's lectures, the weekly dinners downtown (Plaka)
Other comments
Highly recommended! Nothing to complain about. Professional, friendly, always supportive staff. I'll be back.
2. May. 2011
8. (41 years)  -  Italy
8. General Greek - Extended program - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The competence of the teachers and the organization of the classes. They were also very kind in helping me with some extra needs.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
We did a very demanding program, no waste of time, maximum availability of the teacher.
Other comments
As a beginner I could only get a taste of the language, even after a four week course. But considering what we did in class, this is the best you can get from a language school
11. Oct. 2010
9. (40 years)  -  United States
9. Individual Program - 10 hours - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Relaxed atmosphere. Nice people.
24. Aug. 2010
10. (28 years)  -  Bulgaria
10. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The staff - they're just perfect, both theachers and administrative staff.
27. Jul. 2010
11. (36 years)  - 
11. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
all
27. Apr. 2010
12. (45 years)  -  United States
12. Individual Program - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were excellent!
29. Mar. 2010
13. (23 years)  -  United States
13. General Greek - Extended program - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
clear instructions
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
come prepared to learn
Other comments
it is a rich experience to have such a diverse international community there.
27. Jul. 2009
14. (50 years)  - 
14. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the quality of the teaching; the teachers were excellent, they also offered a lot of extra activities like visits to museums, lectures on Greek history, everyday life, invitations to tavernas every second week; excellent teaching material etc.
Other comments
All the members of the staff were very helpful, friendly and could be contacted any time. I think if you want to participate in the lectures you can really learn a lot. I can highly recommend this school and the teachers. You also had the possibility to write a test at the end according to the European language levels.
26. May. 2009
15. (28 years)  -  Germany
15. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
our teacher Paraskevi was great !
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
if you stay at the Best Western Museum Hotel, you get a discount through the school
11. May. 2009
16. (24 years)  -  United States
16. General Greek - Extended program - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and staff were very friendly, helpful, and great.
20. Nov. 2008
17. (26 years)  - 
17. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher's motivation
30. Jul. 2008
18. (34 years)  - 
18. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
good and familiar atmosphere
15. Oct. 2007
19. (46 years)  - 
19. One-to-One 15 hours - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The friendly athmosphere.
Other comments
Good school,competent teachers.
2. Oct. 2007
20. (25 years)  -  Germany
20. Half Compact Program - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very friendly and helpful staff
Other comments
the folder we received on the first day containing information and maps of Athens and Greece were very useful
20. Aug. 2007
21. (46 years)  - 
21. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very personal atmosphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take part in as many activities as possible.
3. Apr. 2007
22. Ton (62 years)  - 
22. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Other comments
I have got a wrong time of the beginning of the course. I had red that it would start maerch 7th, but it begun the 5th
19. Mar. 2007
23. (32 years)  - 
23. General Greek - Extended program - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
little number of students in each class and the great possibility to discuss for as long time
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The school is a great school indeed, but in the same building there is another college for young greek studends witch is very very noisy.
31. Oct. 2006
24. (32 years)  - 
24. Standard Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
small classes
13. Oct. 2006
25. (33 years)  -  United Kingdom
25. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Effi! Good teacher.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Do more homework than given.
Other comments
We'll hopefully be studying with you again sometime in 2007
28. Jun. 2006
26. (48 years)  -  Denmark
26. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher (Rita) and the fact we were only 4 people in the class.
Other comments
I felt very much taken care of. I liked that you held a student birthday, and altogether the very personal atmosphere.
19. Dec. 2005
27.  - 
27. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
That we practised a lot of speaking and that the classmates were so nice
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
the greeks are very open, speak with them whenever you can
Other comments
great school, nice teachers, good coffee!
19. Dec. 2005
28.  - 
28. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of the lessons was very good, the organisation of the school also. The teachers were kind and helpful.
Other comments
There were not many social activities (only twice).
19. Dec. 2005
29.  - 
29. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very nice people, good teachers
24. Aug. 2005
30. (30 years)  -  Hungary
30. Super Intensive (+35h)

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
social activities
13. May. 2005
31. (32 years)  -  Austria
31. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teacher, organization
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
cooking class, dancing lessons
Other comments
the best school i´ve ever attended!
13. May. 2005
32. (32 years)  -  Austria
32. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teacher, organization
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
cooking class, dancing lessons
Other comments
the best school i´ve ever attended!
27. Oct. 2004
33. Anonymous  - 
33. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
1. Nov. 2003
34. (48 years)  -  Germany
34. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It was great!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
A little more exercises in pronunciation.
Other comments
I am very impressed and I don't want to go anywhere else, only to this great school.
23. Jun. 2003
35. H. (35 years)  -  Denmark, Living In Greece
35. One-to-One

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Sarah: LanguageCourse.Net is very cheap and the schools... more
  • Oscar (20): I chose them because they have really good... more
  • Attila (41): I am very satisfied. I found more relevant... more