Reviews of Hellenic Language School Alexander the Great, Athens, Greece

Total No. of Reviews: 31
NOTE: All evaluations are authentic. Only former participants who have booked a course with us at the school can publish evaluations after the end of the course. Schools could therefore not manipulate evaluations and you can trust in all published evaluations.

Average Rating

Overall rating
Hellenic Language School Alexander the Great, Athens, Greece
4.3/5.0 
(31 reviews)
City 4.4/5.0 
Organisation 4.3/5.0 
Facilities 4.0/5.0 
Social activities 4.0/5.0 
Course Quality / Progress in language 4.5/5.0 
Value for money 3.9/5.0 
Accommodation
Host Family 4.0/5.0 
Shared flat (apartment) 4.0/5.0 
Other 4.3/5.0 
Individual Reviews
26. Nov. 2014
1. (53 years)  -  Netherlands
1. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
7. Oct. 2013
2. (55 years)  - 
2. Individual Program (20 Lektionen) - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I had a very committed teacher who has responded to my needs.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Clarification of the course hours before starting the trip!
Other comments
Every day, classes began at 3 o'clock in the afternoon. I would have liked to know that in advance because then I would have prepared myself and planned differently for the week. No activities have been offered to me in Athens. My teacher has given me advice what I could visit. Those were really good. I have not seen any other students at this school, which I thought was strange. I did not really get to know the school itself.
3. Sep. 2013
3. (51 years)  -  Cyprus
3. General Greek - Extended program - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Outstanding teachers (Vicky/Effi). Excellent service - Vicky did her utmost concerning hours, classes, levels... to the students' complete satisfaction.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Maria's lectures, the weekly dinners downtown (Plaka)
Other comments
Highly recommended! Nothing to complain about. Professional, friendly, always supportive staff. I'll be back.
2. May. 2011
4. (41 years)  -  Italy
4. General Greek - Extended program - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The competence of the teachers and the organization of the classes. They were also very kind in helping me with some extra needs.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
We did a very demanding program, no waste of time, maximum availability of the teacher.
Other comments
As a beginner I could only get a taste of the language, even after a four week course. But considering what we did in class, this is the best you can get from a language school
11. Oct. 2010
5. (40 years)  -  United States
5. Individual Program - 10 hours - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Relaxed atmosphere. Nice people.
24. Aug. 2010
6. (28 years)  -  Bulgaria
6. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The staff - they're just perfect, both theachers and administrative staff.
27. Jul. 2010
7. (36 years)  - 
7. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
all
27. Apr. 2010
8. (45 years)  -  United States
8. Individual Program - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were excellent!
29. Mar. 2010
9. (23 years)  -  United States
9. General Greek - Extended program - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
clear instructions
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
come prepared to learn
Other comments
it is a rich experience to have such a diverse international community there.
27. Jul. 2009
10. (50 years)  - 
10. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the quality of the teaching; the teachers were excellent, they also offered a lot of extra activities like visits to museums, lectures on Greek history, everyday life, invitations to tavernas every second week; excellent teaching material etc.
Other comments
All the members of the staff were very helpful, friendly and could be contacted any time. I think if you want to participate in the lectures you can really learn a lot. I can highly recommend this school and the teachers. You also had the possibility to write a test at the end according to the European language levels.
26. May. 2009
11. (28 years)  -  Germany
11. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
our teacher Paraskevi was great !
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
if you stay at the Best Western Museum Hotel, you get a discount through the school
11. May. 2009
12. (24 years)  -  United States
12. General Greek - Extended program - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and staff were very friendly, helpful, and great.
20. Nov. 2008
13. (26 years)  - 
13. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher's motivation
30. Jul. 2008
14. (34 years)  - 
14. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
good and familiar atmosphere
15. Oct. 2007
15. (46 years)  - 
15. One-to-One 15 hours - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The friendly athmosphere.
Other comments
Good school,competent teachers.
2. Oct. 2007
16. (25 years)  -  Germany
16. Half Compact Program - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very friendly and helpful staff
Other comments
the folder we received on the first day containing information and maps of Athens and Greece were very useful
20. Aug. 2007
17. (46 years)  - 
17. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very personal atmosphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take part in as many activities as possible.
3. Apr. 2007
18. Ton (62 years)  - 
18. General Greek - Compact Program - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Other comments
I have got a wrong time of the beginning of the course. I had red that it would start maerch 7th, but it begun the 5th
19. Mar. 2007
19. (32 years)  - 
19. General Greek - Extended program - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
little number of students in each class and the great possibility to discuss for as long time
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The school is a great school indeed, but in the same building there is another college for young greek studends witch is very very noisy.
31. Oct. 2006
20. (32 years)  - 
20. Standard Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
small classes
13. Oct. 2006
21. (33 years)  -  United Kingdom
21. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Effi! Good teacher.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Do more homework than given.
Other comments
We'll hopefully be studying with you again sometime in 2007
28. Jun. 2006
22. (48 years)  -  Denmark
22. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher (Rita) and the fact we were only 4 people in the class.
Other comments
I felt very much taken care of. I liked that you held a student birthday, and altogether the very personal atmosphere.
19. Dec. 2005
23.  - 
23. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
That we practised a lot of speaking and that the classmates were so nice
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
the greeks are very open, speak with them whenever you can
Other comments
great school, nice teachers, good coffee!
19. Dec. 2005
24.  - 
24. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of the lessons was very good, the organisation of the school also. The teachers were kind and helpful.
Other comments
There were not many social activities (only twice).
19. Dec. 2005
25.  - 
25. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very nice people, good teachers
24. Aug. 2005
26. (30 years)  -  Hungary
26. Super Intensive (+35h)

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
social activities
13. May. 2005
27. (32 years)  -  Austria
27. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teacher, organization
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
cooking class, dancing lessons
Other comments
the best school i´ve ever attended!
13. May. 2005
28. (32 years)  -  Austria
28. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teacher, organization
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
cooking class, dancing lessons
Other comments
the best school i´ve ever attended!
27. Oct. 2004
29. Anonymous  - 
29. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
1. Nov. 2003
30. (48 years)  -  Germany
30. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It was great!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
A little more exercises in pronunciation.
Other comments
I am very impressed and I don't want to go anywhere else, only to this great school.
23. Jun. 2003
31. H. (35 years)  -  Denmark, Living In Greece
31. One-to-One

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Fiza (39): LanguageCourse.Net provides great rates, is very... more
  • Katura (64): Excellent website. Allowed me to make an informed... more
  • Francesco (36): I had a doubt, a quick and precise reply helped me... more
*required