X

Reviews of International House - London Institute, Montevideo, Uruguay

Total number of reviews: 13
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
International House - London Institute, Montevideo, Uruguay
4.2/5.0 
(13 reviews)
City 4.5/5.0 
Organisation 3.8/5.0 
Facilities 3.5/5.0 
Social activities 4.2/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.2/5.0 
Value for money 4.2/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 3.8/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.7/5.0 
other 4.0/5.0 
Individual Reviews
17. Mar. 2015
1. (72 years)  -  Canada
1. Senior 50+ Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
A lot of individual attention to students' needs.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Summer vacation at the Montevideo school is Dec.15-Mar.15, so there are few students there in that period, and staff can give you a lot of individual attention.
Other comments
The textbook/audio program they are using was designed for Portuguese speakers learning Spanish, and is not appropriate for teaching Spanish to English speakers.
9. Dec. 2014
2. (63 years)  - 
2. One to One 20 - lundi au vendredi de 9h à 13h - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
few people, I enjoyed having two teachers alternating with each other
Other comments
good level of teachers, friendly and competent, one negative remark : it is a bit expensive to pay $65 for a copy of the spanish book!
4. Feb. 2012
3. (33 years)  - 
3. Super Intensive course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The motivated and personally very dedicated teachers, die individuality of the classes, the friendly and always helpful staff.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Tango course on Fridays, drink Mate, the theater Solis
Other comments
The equipment of the classrooms is very different to Western standards.
17. Jan. 2012
4. (29 years)  -  Brazil
4. Intensive Plus course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and the environment.
1. Feb. 2010
5. (31 years)  - 
5. Intensive Plus course - 6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers were very competent and smart
Other comments
It would be essential if the school checked the host family personally. I was in a vegetarian family! And in Uruguay! My host father had terminal cancer and is dying. You can imagine, what kind of dramatic scenes happened in the family and I was in the middle of it.
15. Dec. 2009
6. (38 years)  -  Sweden
6. Super Intensive course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The one day I got to have another teacher.
Other comments
I had only one , a 15 year old boy. Not very interesting. We used copied material. I think a school should respect copywright. I would have bought any book if I would have known the titles in advance.
27. Apr. 2009
7. Joan (18 years)  - 
7. Intensive course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
7. Apr. 2009
8. (34 years)  -  Sweden
8. Intensive course - 6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good teachers, school located in a good area.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Mercado del puerto, excellent food.
9. Mar. 2008
9. (68 years)  - 
9. Senior 50+ Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Competent staff / familiar atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Tango course
24. Oct. 2007
10. Klaus (57 years)  - 
10. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
20. Sep. 2007
11. (23 years)  -  Canada
11. Super Intensive Plus - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everybody wanted me to have the best experience possible
8. Sep. 2007
12. Wolfgang (49 years)  - 
12. Super Intensive Plus - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
26. Aug. 2007
13. José (34 years)  - 
13. Super Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Attila (41): I am very satisfied. I found more relevant... more
  • Piotr (35): Good service, helpful.... more
  • Harm Jaap (46): Normally I contact language schools directly, but... more