X

Reviews of International House, Lisbon, Portugal

Total number of reviews: 40
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
International House, Lisbon, Portugal
4.3/5.0 
(40 reviews)
City 4.7/5.0 
Organisation 4.1/5.0 
Facilities 3.7/5.0 
Social activities 3.5/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.6/5.0 
Value for money 4.1/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 3.9/5.0 
Shared Flat 4.0/5.0 
other 4.0/5.0 
Individual Reviews
9. May. 2016
1.  - 
1. Super Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The classes were very intense. Qualified teachers
2. Nov. 2015
2. (47 years)  - 
2. Super Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Well structured classes with dedicated teachers. They responded to my requests and and adjusted workload and content very well to my personal needs(private lessons).
Other comments
Good and professional organization as well as teaching.
23. May. 2014
3. (42 years)  - 
3. Super Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
22. Jan. 2014
4. (43 years)  -  Portugal
4. Intensive Course - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I really loved the personality of my teacher. Her dedication to giving classes, her knowledge of her country's history and her sense of humor made my classes very interesting. This school is to be recommended!
16. Oct. 2013
5. (63 years)  -  Denmark
5. Super Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
Hotel 3 Stars
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers
16. Oct. 2013
6. (62 years)  -  Denmark
6. Super Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good teachers
7. Oct. 2013
7. (27 years)  -  Netherlands
7. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Great teachers who adjust the lessons to your needs.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The park next door with the modern art museum is great. And take the bus (161 from praca de espanha) to costa da caparice. Nice beach!
Other comments
Almost no other foreign students studying Portugese (September). It's not easy to meet people at the school. So I recommend staying in a hostel instead of a family ( if you're young and don't want to be on your own every night). We got 2 hours instead of 3 hours class because there where only 3 people. WIFI was not working in the school on your phone. No software or anything: no need to bring your laptop.
20. Mar. 2013
8. Carla (17 years)  - 
8. Part-time Set Programs - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
5. Dec. 2011
9. (55 years)  - 
9. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
They all make an effort to offer the best to the students. Because of my language level, there were only 2 other students in my group and we did the complete number of lessons. We learnt a lot. They always tried to adapt to our needs if there were changes, such as the starting time.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Please reserve a lot of time for the city and use the new skills. Portuguese people are very forthcoming even if you only know some words. So, don't be shy!
Other comments
The school is just perfect, very close to the subway station. And the teachers (Monica and Antonio) and the dispatcher (Ana) are priceless!
21. Sep. 2011
10. (16 years)  -  Portugal
10. Super Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Boarding House - Pensão
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
my huge progress!
30. Aug. 2010
11. Andrew (43 years)  - 
11. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
29. Jul. 2010
12. (64 years)  -  Norway
12. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Boarding House - Pensão
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
There was a friendly atmosphere at the school.
Other comments
I did not use the facilities such as computer, library and cultural excursions.
26. Jul. 2010
13. (31 years)  -  Poland
13. Intensive Group Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Nice atmosphere & the quality of teaching.
19. Jul. 2010
14. (21 years)  - 
14. Super Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hotel 3 Stars
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The organisation, extremely efficient.
9. Feb. 2010
15. Bruce (55 years)  -  United States
15. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
23. Nov. 2009
16. Freek (50 years)  -  Netherlands
16. Super Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
3. Oct. 2009
17. (55 years)  - 
17. 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
good teachers, personal/tailored approach
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
take a guided walk with the school guide in Gracia and Alfama, great afternoon!
29. Jul. 2009
18. Claudia (16 years)  -  Belgium
18. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay - Lisbon
7. May. 2009
19. (39 years)  -  United States
19. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers were flexible and accommodated my needs since I was the only person in the class
14. Nov. 2008
20. (23 years)  - 
20. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay - Lisbon
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Organization
31. Mar. 2008
21. Joseph (54 years)  -  Ireland
21. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay - Lisbon
19. Oct. 2007
22. Arnaud (32 years)  - 
22. Special Super Intensive Group Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
12. Sep. 2007
23. Sophie Estelle (21 years)  -  Germany
23. Small Group Intensive course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
15. Aug. 2007
24. (22 years)  -  United Kingdom
24. Intensive course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Paula is an excellent teacher, and Anna does everything possible to make sure students are happy.
Other comments
Excellent experience, I'm glad I chose International House.
12. Aug. 2007
25. (55 years)  - 
25. Special Super Intensive Group Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
good to overlook, kindness of people
30. Mar. 2007
26. (37 years)  - 
26. Standard - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the people
26. Oct. 2006
27. (24 years)  - 
27. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The familiar atmosphere in the school.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Costa da Caparica e Belém
10. Aug. 2006
28. (53 years)  -  England
28. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
friendly, excellent teaching
Other comments
The course was tailored exactly to my own needs.
19. Dec. 2005
29.  -  Uk
29. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Social environment
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Visit Sintra
Other comments
Great and friendly school staff
19. Dec. 2005
30.  - 
30. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers
Other comments
International House Lisbon doesn't have many pupils from abroad who want to learn Portuguese. I think the average is 6 pupils from abroad per month. If you want to get to know new people in the school this fact is extremely disappointing, because you easily end up completely on your own and you feel isolated.
1. Oct. 2003
31. (25 years)  -  Deutschland
31. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher.
Other comments
It was the best time of my life. I can only say that I was very happy in Lisbon and I enjoyed my time very much. It was an experience that everybody must try.
26. Sep. 2003
32. Martin (24 years)  - 
32. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
other
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The visits.
12. Sep. 2003
33. (19 years)  -  Germany
33. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were very nice and friendly, and all of them did a very good job at teaching me my first words of Portuguese.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you go to Lisbon, go to a disco called 'Kapital', and see if anybody is there. It is said to be a really good place, but everytime we were there, it was empty. I would love to know what it's like with lots of people partying...!
Other comments
Even if you do not know any Portuguese at all, you can definitly go to this school. When I got there, I didn't know a word, but after 4 weeks I had really learned a lot.
27. Aug. 2003
34. Alberto (27 years)  -  Italy
34. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
24. Jul. 2003
35. Marie  -  Germany/uk
35. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
6. Jun. 2003
36. (34 years)  -  Germany
36. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the school's atmosphere is very friendly and familiar. the classes have been fun and very diversified. i would definitely recommend the school.
7. May. 2003
37. Mirja (23 years)  -  Deutschland
37. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
12. Apr. 2003
38. Helm, (21 years)  -  Deutschland
38. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
4. Apr. 2003
39. (30 years)  -  Deutschland
39. One-to-One

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly atmosphere
Other comments
I think Group lessons are better than singles, and max 4 hours a day
18. Sep. 2001
40. Johanna (22 years)  -  Deutschland
40. General

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Katura (64): Excellent website. Allowed me to make an informed... more
  • Piotr (35): Good service, helpful.... more
  • Francesco (36): I had a doubt, a quick and precise reply helped me... more