X

Reviews of Language Centre, Seoul, South Korea

Total number of reviews: 12
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Language Centre, Seoul, South Korea
4.6/5.0 
(12 reviews)
City 5.0/5.0 
Organisation 4.6/5.0 
Facilities 4.6/5.0 
Social activities 4.2/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.7/5.0 
Value for money 4.2/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 4.0/5.0 
Shared Flat 4.0/5.0 
other 4.0/5.0 
Individual Reviews
28. Nov. 2016
1. (22 years)  -  United Kingdom
1. Intensive Korean (Full-Time) - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The interaction between teacher and students. The activities arranged by the school allow students to learn Korean culture and also make friends with Korean students.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't be afraid to initiate talking with new people, there's a good chance you'll find someone with the same interests as you.
18. Oct. 2016
2. (27 years)  - 
2. Intensive Korean (Part Time) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I loved the group size, which was reasonable. The teachers are really nice and they are also at your disposal to help solve some problems that you can meet at your arrival. But once in the classroom, not a word of English is spoken, everything is in Korean! If this can be confusing at first, it is actually a great way to learn and teachers still manage to make themselves understood one way or another. I did not stay very long bit this gave me the feeling of progressing rather quickly. This school is also a great way to meet other people travelling alone and doing things together that you wouldn't dare doing by yourself.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The school organises regular meetings with Korean students from the same school (they study English). The activity itself is not amazing but often ends up in a bar, restaurant or karaoke and this is where the real meeting takes place.
Other comments
I have not done a lot of activities but from those that I've made and returns that I've had from others, they are really not essential. Most are included in the price even when booking half-time courses (except entrance fees of a museum for example). Apart from this the school was really great and I'll come back there on my next visit.
3. Oct. 2016
3. Shamil (25 years)  - 
3. Intensive Korean (Part Time) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Ministudio
other
12. Sep. 2016
4. Adel (31 years)  -  Saudi Arabia
4. Intensive Korean (Full-Time) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
4. Jul. 2016
5. Edvard Sebastian Thømt (21 years)  - 
5. Intensive Korean (Full-Time) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Ministudio
other
23. Nov. 2015
6. (33 years)  -  Hong Kong
6. Intensive Korean (Part Time) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teacher and syllabus
Other comments
Students and teachers are super friendly. They are very helpful and really try to make you feel at home!
26. Aug. 2015
7. (18 years)  -  Denmark
7. Intensive Korean (Full-Time) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Guest House K
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Meet a lot of korean friends! And invite them to 노대방 (Karaoke)
Other comments
I loved it! <3
18. Aug. 2015
8. (18 years)  -  Denmark
8. Intensive Korean (Full-Time) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Guest House K
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers, the teaching and the student community.
3. Aug. 2015
9. (18 years)  - 
9. Intensive Korean (Part Time) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers! They became not just teachers for me but also good friends! Unfortunately I couldn't take part in all the activities because I have many friends in Seoul and I wanted to spend some time with them too :) I took part only in two activities: a cultural exchange with Korean students, we met up in a cafe on the ground floor where we drunk coffee and just talked about various things, of course in Korean :) You may want to speak English as almost all Koreans at the school could speak English. And some of the students spoke English with them, but if you speak English, there will be no progress in Korean. For example, I am very glad that I do not know English :) so I had no choice but to speak only Korean with them , they certainly do not know Russian :) the second activity, which I visited was watching the movie Raning man :) all the students from different levels and group got together and watched the movie on the big plasma :) The advantage: the movie was in Korean without subtitles :)
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
My advice: if you live 4 ~ 7 metro stops from school, on the first day of your course you should leave the house 1.5 ~ 2 hours in advance as Korean subway is very slow. as when'll go to the first day of the exam, take the exit for the .... Korean subway :) sooo slow especially in the morning. And do not believe the metro's timetable, in the morning it can be delays up to 5 ~ 30min ... I lived close to the station Hongik University Station and went to school at Cannes. The first day I was late 45 minutes for my level test.... and I was placed in a group with the lower level because I didn't have time to finish it. but then I didn't regret it because we studied a lot of grammar which I didn't know very well and the vocabulary which you can't normally find in the standard textbooks. You should also try to speak only Korean, the result will be much better. And it is better to take a course for no less than a month. I attended a course for 2 weeks, and I regretted than it wasn't a month.
25. May. 2015
10. (41 years)  -  United States
10. Intensive Korean (Full-Time) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Ministudio
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teaching; the flexible, conversation-based curriculum is very good.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make sure to attend the meet-ups and student nights.
4. May. 2015
11. (43 years)  - 
11. Intensive Korean (Full-Time) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The classes are very good. Collegial kind of employees.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The historic old town Bukchon should definitely be visited.
Other comments
In the men's toilet, there was no soap in the 2 weeks and no (paper) towels. But was present in the school kitchen. Tables in the classrooms rather flat (for large people).
9. Feb. 2015
12. (36 years)  -  United States
12. Intensive Korean (Full-Time) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and the staff are very supportive. I have learnt so much and drastically improved my Korean skills.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't even have a second thought. The school is just amazing.

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Katura (64): Excellent website. Allowed me to make an informed... more
  • Sarah: LanguageCourse.Net is very cheap and the schools... more
  • Inesa (25): I think the service works really well. I have had... more