X

Reviews of Language in Totnes, Totnes, England UK

Total No. of Reviews: 12
NOTE: All evaluations are authentic. Only former participants who have booked a course with us at the school can publish evaluations after the end of the course. Schools could therefore not manipulate evaluations and you can trust in all published evaluations.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Language in Totnes, Totnes, England UK
4.2/5.0 
(12 reviews)
City 4.3/5.0 
Organisation 3.8/5.0 
Facilities 4.2/5.0 
Social activities 4.2/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.2/5.0 
Value for money 3.6/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 4.3/5.0 
Shared Flat 4.5/5.0 
other 4.5/5.0 
Individual Reviews
27. Jul. 2015
1. (13 years)  -  Denmark
1. Dynamic English and Multi-Activity Programme (11-17 years) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Lessons.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Devon cream tea.
Other comments
Sometimes we were not given enough, or even contradicting, information about when and where to be.
27. Jul. 2015
2. (11 years)  -  Denmark
2. Dynamic English and Multi-Activity Programme (11-17 years) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Activities.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Horse riding in Dartmoor.
Other comments
Information about the time schedule was sometimes poor and confusing.
16. Sep. 2014
3. (59 years)  -  Italy
3. General English and IELTS Exam Preparation Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Superior Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers and the position of the school
Other comments
very friendly people
20. Aug. 2014
4. (56 years)  - 
4. English for work - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Standard Homestay
Shared Flat
other
7. Aug. 2014
5. (55 years)  - 
5. Intensive Express + Devon Cultural Experience - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Standard Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers (Alex, Katherine, Will). They are excellent professionals. The free time organised by Will was very nice. The trips to Bath and Exeter during the weekend were good. The conversation classes (optional) are really useful.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It is very important to ask about all the activities the school has scheduled. They are very interesting and a good choice if you do not know about the area or if you are travelling alone and don't know what to do. Also, people who work there are lovely. It is also important not to pretend to have a different level of English (lower or higher) as otherwise you will not be able to take advantage of the time you spend. Lastly, from my experience, accommodation with a family is a great options. But I have heard other stories so it is important to discuss any possible issue with the school, whether it is a misunderstanding (normal in cases like this) or if the relationship with the family is not working.
Other comments
The excursions to cities such as Bath, which are a bit far away, are a bit poor because we use a lot of time to get there. I suggest they leave earlier (we leave at 09:00), at least a couple of hours earlier. Because there are many things to visit, and it is an opportunity that is difficult to repeat on our own, and the city is crowded by the time we get there. We spend a lot of time queuing and little time visiting the places. We also need to get back soon to be there on time. Books are borrowed from the school and many students did not have it because the previous students had lost them. We could work with photocopies or other material I can't think of to avoid this. I did not have a book and it is difficult to study as many explanations are in the book. I guess they can easily find a solution. But otherwise it is a good school, since it is very interactive and the atmosphere helps to learn. For that reason, I will go back, if I can afford it. Thanks everyone. Pili
4. Aug. 2014
6. (51 years)  -  Spain
6. Totnes Cultural Experience 1st week, Intensive express 2nd week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Standard Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I think they have a good system.
22. Aug. 2013
7. (14 years)  - 
7. Intensive Summer Course for Teenagers (12-16 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Junior Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers and activities
Other comments
very good
6. Aug. 2013
8. (54 years)  -  Spain
8. Totnes Cultural Experience - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The cultural experience, it was a really nice experience. The teachers are great professionals and constantly motivate us to speak in English. And with Therese Morgan, (homestay family), I'spent very pleasant days, as if I were at home.
Other comments
My experience in Totnes school has been very good. I hope to return next year to continue to improve my level of English. I'm going to recommend your school. The best thing about the school in Totnes is the quality of the teachers.
30. Jul. 2013
9. (50 years)  -  Spain
9. General English - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Standard Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I think the teachers are very professional and I liked the "cultural experience" course because it is more interactive.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make use of the time and speak English with the people, as much as possible.
15. Jul. 2013
10. (14 years)  - 
10. Intensive Summer Course for Teenagers (12-16 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Junior Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers, very nice.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Activities
Other comments
Everything was pretty good!
27. Aug. 2012
11. Fares (9 years)  -  Kuwait
11. Play with English (6-11) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
3. Aug. 2010
12. (20 years)  -  Netherlands
12. Intensive Adult English Classes - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Standard Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The place, very familiar (small school)
Other comments
I thought the other students would be older. I'm 20 and the most of where 17.

 

Response from school
Hello Tycho! Thank you very much for your feedback. We miss you here in Totnes and really hope to see you in 2011. We do have new courses available next year that may interest you, offering the opportunity to mix with older students within the class. We'd really like to have you with us again.I hope to see you soon.Take care, Natalie

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Fiza (39): LanguageCourse.Net provides great rates, is very... more
  • Anne (36): I found all the information I needed on your site... more
  • Sarah: LanguageCourse.Net is very cheap and the schools... more
*required