X

Reviews of Lexis - Centre of Greek Language & Culture, Chania (Crete), Greece

Total number of reviews: 14
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Lexis - Centre of Greek Language & Culture, Chania (Crete), Greece
4.4/5.0 
(14 reviews)
City 4.9/5.0 
Organisation 4.4/5.0 
Facilities 3.8/5.0 
Social activities 4.2/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.5/5.0 
Value for money 4.2/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 3.9/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.9/5.0 
other 3.9/5.0 
Individual Reviews
20. Jun. 2016
1. (54 years)  - 
1. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Its small size and the family atmosphere due to its localization in an apartment.
Other comments
Excellent course, very satisfying and appropriate content with our needs (and abilities!). I really want to return the for another week next year.
3. May. 2016
2. (61 years)  - 
2. Private Lessons 10 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The competent teacher (Maria) and the location of the school
Other comments
The school is small and very personal, you cannot expect to have classes in a larger group of the same level; therefore, the opportunity to meet other students is limited - but you go there for the Greek language and people ;)
8. Sep. 2015
3. (46 years)  - 
3. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Family atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The textbooks used
20. Jul. 2015
4. (61 years)  -  Denmark
4. Private Lessons 10 - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The atmosphere and quality of the teaching.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I recommend it to students interested in learning Greek language and culture.
Other comments
This is my second year with 20 individual lessons and I will return next year for at least two weeks - probably 4 weeks.
29. Jul. 2014
5. (60 years)  -  Denmark
5. Private Lessons 10 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked the atmosphere and the efficient teaching which helped me make considerable progress in my oral proficiency.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It is certain that if you want to learn Greek you have come to a good place.
Other comments
The only comment I would like to put forward is that I have decided to have this particular school as my base for further studies in the future.
19. May. 2014
6. (36 years)  - 
6. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
Hotel (Low Season)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and the environment
19. May. 2014
7. (67 years)  -  United States
7. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It was really challenging. I had to work hard but the results were commensurate.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Stay in the Old City. Make sure you are assigned to the right level of class.
Other comments
The teachers and staff will go out of their way to accommodate your needs. I made good friends among the other students. A first day get-together might make this easier for others.
27. Feb. 2014
8. (54 years)  - 
8. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everything
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The restaurant, επε κουζίνα, on the other side of the street from school, 50m away
Other comments
Courtesy and availability of staff
2. Dec. 2013
9. (60 years)  -  Australia
9. Intensive Course - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Go hiking in the mountains of Crete
Other comments
Very few people and had to take small group at reduced hours. No other option.
8. Aug. 2013
10. (36 years)  - 
10. Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers
6. Jun. 2013
11. (63 years)  - 
11. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The very touristic environment of the old city. The staff's kindness.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you want a fun little holiday tasting a bit of Greek language to distract you, it is the dream location. If you really want to learn Greek, choose the Assimil method.
Other comments
The teaching, all in Greek from the beginning, focuses entirely on oral and neglects written comprehension and the precise meaning of words. The level of some teachers is very low in English which prevents a good communication with students not having reached a sufficient level in Greek.
30. Apr. 2013
12. (55 years)  -  Netherlands
12. Private Lessons 10 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The nice people that work there and my teacher, who helped me to learn.
25. Apr. 2013
13. (57 years)  - 
13. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Professional competence of the teaching staff. The teachers are attentive and approach the students openly. Course is very intensive but worthwhile
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The good location invites you to enjoy a beautiful walk through the old streets and/or a creamy frappé in Splanzia :) Well-priced local taverns.
Other comments
Quiet and central location, 150 metres from the sea. Relaxed atmosphere. All in all, I had a great time and I'm the frontrunner in my beginner's course in Düsseldorf
20. Aug. 2012
14. (21 years)  -  Netherlands
14. 2 Week Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and activities. I also liked the accomodation.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
During the weekend you have to go to Samaria, it will take you one day and it is a beautiful experience.

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Abrahan (23): I liked the experience of Cursos-de-idiomas.com,... more
  • Piotr (35): Good service, helpful.... more
  • Francesco (36): I had a doubt, a quick and precise reply helped me... more