X

Reviews of Lyon Bleu International, Lyon, France

Total number of reviews: 131
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Lyon Bleu International, Lyon, France
4.2/5.0 
(131 reviews)
City 4.6/5.0 
Organisation 4.4/5.0 
Facilities 4.0/5.0 
Social activities 3.9/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.6/5.0 
Value for money 4.2/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 4.0/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.8/5.0 
other 3.8/5.0 
Individual Reviews
26. Sep. 2016
1. (60 years)  -  United States
1. Semi-Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
20. Sep. 2016
2. Luis (66 years)  -  Australia
2. Semi-Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
29. Aug. 2016
3. (44 years)  - 
3. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
SMALL GROUPS, VARIETY IN CLASSES' SYLLABUS.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I PROPOSE TO HAVE A ROOM WITH VIDEO WHERE WE CAN WATCH FILMS WITH OTHER STUDENTS, INSTEAD OF BORROWING THEM TO WATCH THEM AT HOME WITH THE FAMILY.
23. Aug. 2016
4. (19 years)  - 
4. DELF / DALF Preparation (15 group + 5 individual) - 6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
18. Aug. 2016
5. (36 years)  -  Ireland
5. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I progressed. Never thought I could make such a big step forward.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Think what kind of host family you would like to have, what you would expect from them...
Other comments
Very good school, with loads of activities. I recommend it. I progressed a lot. They are responsive to your needs.
2. Aug. 2016
6. (37 years)  -  Czech Republic
6. Combined Intensive Course 1 (25 group + 5 individual) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The location.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you go for only one or two weeks, this is probably not the best place for you.
Other comments
I've taken a few short-term intensive courses in different countries and somehow, to my regret, this was the weakest one. The curriculum was far from applied or intensive and very unflexible, considering we were a group eager to talk and interact. My host family was never present to practice with so both of us students lodged there were fishing for other ways to practice. Very tiny rooms which, thanks to the heat wave, got stuffy. There was no fresh air on one side or direct cold blast from AC. Would not be able to recommend this course.
2. Aug. 2016
7. (20 years)  -  Spain
7. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Julie J!!!! Best teacher ever!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Bring something to eat if you are not used to the eating hours in Europe, is hard to concentrate in class when you are hungry.
Other comments
Great school, staff and facilities. Better than expected :)
9. May. 2016
8. (45 years)  - 
8. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Short Stay Residence
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher was very professional. The school was well organized.
Other comments
The average age is about 25 years.
18. Apr. 2016
9. (59 years)  -  Luxembourg
9. Combined Semi-Intensive Course 2 (15 Group + 10 individual) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The evening Chez Janine
2. Feb. 2016
10. (53 years)  -  Netherlands
10. Business Executive 2 - Intensive (15 group+20 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very strong and committed teachers, mixed students from many countries and different age groups
Other comments
professional institution, excellent teaching
21. Dec. 2015
11. (26 years)  - 
11. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher Audrey
26. Oct. 2015
12. Ina (18 years)  -  Netherlands
12. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
19. Oct. 2015
13. (24 years)  -  United Kingdom
13. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small classes, very professional!
15. Sep. 2015
14. (42 years)  -  Canada
14. Combined Intensive Course 2 (25 group + 10 individual) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teaching and the professionalism of the teachers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Perhaps to not stay with a host family that also works in the school. It is not a good one, then it becomes very sensitive to discuss with their colleagues in the school and ask to change families.
Other comments
A great place to make friends from all over the world.
4. Sep. 2015
15. (35 years)  - 
15. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Short Stay Residence
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I do not have a good opinion of the school. Poor organization of the courses, there was only one of the two teachers I had that was really prepared. Total inability of the school to meet the student's needs. Scarce social activities and of little interest.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Specify in their application if you wish to attend a course in the morning or in the afternoon !!!!
Other comments
I will definitely stay in Lyon but not in this school and would not recommend it
31. Aug. 2015
16. (44 years)  -  Spain
16. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Location and Manon, my professor
7. Aug. 2015
17. (22 years)  - 
17. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
23. Jun. 2015
18. (31 years)  -  United Kingdom
18. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Amazing team which helped with every bit of the learning experience and tailored the program to the student needs. Also teachers and staff got really involved in social activities and ensured that students had a great time and the perfect atmosphere to learn the language
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Join the social activities that the school organizes: great opportunity to get to know the city and then practice your French with other students.
17. Jun. 2015
19. (58 years)  -  United States
19. Combined Semi-Intensive Course 1 (15 group + 5 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
small classes; Elsa was an excellent teacher
Other comments
The internet speed is really bad for both students, and for teachers trying to use the internet during class.
25. May. 2015
20. (33 years)  -  Ireland
20. Intensive French Course - 7 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly students good teaching.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Be aware, when you pay for a full week and the school is closed for a national holiday, you will lose a day's class with no refund or credit. While in another school I've been to if you lose a day due to holiday they give extra hours during the week. In Lyon in April/May I paid for 7 wks but due to national holidays I received 6 wks and 1 day.
Other comments
I was there in April/May and the building and classrooms where excessively hot which for me was annoying when studying.
5. May. 2015
21. (34 years)  - 
21. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
30. Mar. 2015
22. (58 years)  -  Australia
22. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Short Stay Residence
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the passionate and professional teachers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Study after each lesson and try to only talk French even with fellow students who speak your language.
Other comments
A really good school for education and learning French. I was lucky that I booked Lyon Bleu as it has been a wonderful experience for me.
19. Mar. 2015
23. (46 years)  -  Finland
23. Combined Intensive Course 2 (25 group + 10 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The atmosphere
Other comments
Very good school with very nice and good teachers
29. Dec. 2014
24. Anastasia (23 years)  - 
24. Semi-Intensive Course - 10 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
17. Dec. 2014
25. (65 years)  -  Finland
25. Combined Intensive Course 1 (25 group + 5 individual) - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teaching
18. Nov. 2014
26. (18 years)  - 
26. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everything
Other comments
It's a very good school!
3. Nov. 2014
27. (61 years)  -  Finland
27. Combined Intensive Course 1 (25 group + 5 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teaching was well organised.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The private lessons gave a good opportunity to speak the language.
27. Oct. 2014
28. Anastasiia (22 years)  - 
28. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
19. Oct. 2014
29. (66 years)  -  Canada
29. French & Cuisine - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Short Stay Residence
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked the small classes and the organization of the materials presented.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Stay close to the school.
Other comments
More info about "Francais et cuisine" would have been good. Not much actual cooking but okay with me.
14. Oct. 2014
30. (26 years)  -  Hong Kong
30. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers are very friendly and approachable.
Other comments
It would be better if the school organised more social activities like hiking, parties, etc.
28. Sep. 2014
31. (35 years)  -  United Kingdom
31. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The staff and students
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Participate in as many social activities as possible.
22. Sep. 2014
32. Gavin (20 years)  -  Ireland
32. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
13. Sep. 2014
33. Giulia (22 years)  - 
33. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
8. Sep. 2014
34. (34 years)  - 
34. Semi-Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers; neighborhood
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Marketing international
Other comments
Tip: I think that many students are interested in taking courses on the long run. In this case, most of them will go to university, which is a cheaper way to study. Indeed, for this school to reach a global market, it could be a good idea to cut its prices, improve its teaching methods and its e-marketing. It could be also great to develop partnerships with other universities. Within few months, it could have a far greater reputation.
5. Aug. 2014
35. (21 years)  - 
35. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher Clélia and the library
4. Aug. 2014
36. (19 years)  - 
36. DELF / DALF Preparation (15 group + 5 individual) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers, the program, my group
31. Jul. 2014
37. (21 years)  - 
37. DELF / DALF Preparation (15 group + 5 individual) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Short Stay Residence
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are friendly and professional, wide range of activities on offer.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Great school.
Other comments
Great school.
21. Jul. 2014
38. (49 years)  - 
38. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Short Stay Residence
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very motivating teachers and the cultural activities in the afternoons.
21. Jul. 2014
39.  - 
39. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Short Stay Residence
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked the teacher, she did really well in class. Lessons were very good and entertaining. The truth is time flied and it was not hard at all.
Other comments
None, my experience at the school was positive. Shame I was there only for a week but I hcould not stay longer. I wish I could have stayed two weeks.
16. Jul. 2014
40. (18 years)  - 
40. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teaching methodology, good atmosphere, interaction with young people from around the world.
Other comments
I express my deep gratitude to the host family Anna and Giovanni for welcoming reception.
16. Jun. 2014
41. (42 years)  -  Japan
41. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
When I complained about the class management, facilitator responded immediately.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make sure teachers manage the class fairly. There were talkative Latinos who need to talk less and study grammar more, and quiet Asians who knew the grammar but needed to talk more. If you stay quiet, teachers may just focus on the talkative ones.
Other comments
I stayed with a French family, and unfortunately there were bed bugs! It was really bad and I had to go to the hospital after I left Lyon. I also have to fumigate all my luggage before going home. I reported to the school, so hopefully they will make sure this won't happen again...
16. Jun. 2014
42. Yutaro (25 years)  -  Japan
42. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
20. May. 2014
43. (77 years)  -  Australia
43. Semi-Intensive Course - Vocabulary option - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
innovative teaching
5. May. 2014
44. (29 years)  -  Spain
44. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teaching
Other comments
I asked for a family accommodation and it wasn't a family. It was a woman who rented rooms so I couldn't speak with anybody when I was at home and I did not have access to the tv or books, just my bedroom.
5. May. 2014
45. (30 years)  - 
45. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Short Stay Residence
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher Eva is very good and nice. The school has also organized cultural activities in the evening. The structure had supplied all the modern resources for the lessons. The level of the students is very high.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The residence where I stayed was not bad, but the Arab area was not the best of the city, although it has never happened anything unpleasant.
Other comments
Congratulations to the organization, support, method of teaching and thanks for everything. My holiday was very nice and just in one week I started to speak French without fear.
10. Mar. 2014
46. (23 years)  - 
46. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Most of the school staff are good and nice. My teacher was excellent.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The system of school is difficult for making friends. The students are divided into two groups; the morning group and the afternoon one. Luckily I was in the morning class. If you're a late-nighter for drinking, I recommend to join the afternoon group. Then, you can sleep late into the morning. Otherwise, you would miss many classes.
Other comments
The school facilities are excellent in general though, the wifi is slow comparing to another school in Lyon. The host family I stayed for the first week was horrible. I had a impression that they didn't welcome the students, but want to receive only the money. I felt a miserable guest in the family. After talking with the school about this problem, they rearranged another host family immediately. I was very happy with staying at the second one.
2. Oct. 2013
47. (47 years)  - 
47. Semi-Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers. They worked hard with a group which was not a good group.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I do not understand how it is posible that you close one week during august
13. Aug. 2013
48. (49 years)  -  United Kingdom
48. French & Cuisine - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendliness and relaxed atmosphere
Other comments
The cookery course could have been better organised at the school, and more courses/cooking added.
1. Aug. 2013
49. (37 years)  - 
49. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the structure and the teachers' availability
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
it is an unforgettable experience
Other comments
none, everything positive
1. Jul. 2013
50. (20 years)  -  Spain
50. Semi-Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are very professionnal.

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Abrahan (23): I liked the experience of Cursos-de-idiomas.com,... more
  • Katura (64): Excellent website. Allowed me to make an informed... more
  • Anne (36): I found all the information I needed on your site... more