X

Reviews of Lyon Bleu International, Lyon, France - Page 2

Total No. of Reviews: 123
NOTE: All evaluations are authentic. Only former participants who have booked a course with us at the school can publish evaluations after the end of the course. Schools could therefore not manipulate evaluations and you can trust in all published evaluations.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Lyon Bleu International, Lyon, France
4.2/5.0 
(123 reviews)
City 4.7/5.0 
Organisation 4.4/5.0 
Facilities 3.9/5.0 
Social activities 3.9/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.6/5.0 
Value for money 4.2/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 4.0/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.8/5.0 
other 3.8/5.0 
Individual Reviews
20. Aug. 2012
51. (20 years)  -  Spain
51. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers.
16. Jul. 2012
52. (49 years)  -  United States
52. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Big Studio in Hotel Residence
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
That it was in Lyon.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I did not participate in the social activities. If it is your first time in Lyon, you may want to
Other comments
The one and only break comes after 2 hours and 15 min. That is a long time to go without a break. Because the way the classes are set up, everyone must take their break at the same time. So teachers cannot take advantage of natural breaks in the teaching process. Additionally, the material for beginners is photocopied handouts and often, the copies are of poor quality.
9. Jul. 2012
53. (24 years)  - 
53. Semi Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The advanced class was very good.
1. Apr. 2012
54. (27 years)  -  Canada
54. Semi Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I enjoyed the people that I have met through the school.
Other comments
I believe that going 3 hours through classes without a break is pushing the human mind too far, as proved through numerous studies by universities througout the world. After 45 minutes the mind and body needs a quick break. This is why universities, at least in North America, have instigated 5 - 10 minutes break per hour. Again, proven through McMaster University in Hamilton Canada many years ago. Students perform much better when given these quick breaks.
5. Mar. 2012
55. (40 years)  -  Netherlands
55. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
creative teachers, full of energy, personal approach
5. Mar. 2012
56. (55 years)  -  Italy
56. Complete beginner programme (10 group+15 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Big Studio in Hotel Residence
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Not anything in particular but I liked the professional approch the teachers have.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
No.
Other comments
I did not get what I hoped but that is not because of the schole but because of the old man there is trying to learn France.
20. Feb. 2012
57. Machiko (36 years)  - 
57. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
20. Feb. 2012
58. Kim (24 years)  -  Czech Republic
58. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
28. Nov. 2011
59. (27 years)  -  Spain
59. Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers
7. Nov. 2011
60. (39 years)  -  United Kingdom
60. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Their friendliness and the activities they organised outside the school. The clases were really good too!
9. Oct. 2011
61. (46 years)  - 
61. French & Cuisine - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teachers and good atmosphere.
31. Aug. 2011
62. Elia (27 years)  - 
62. Combined Intensive Course 1 (25 group + 5 individual) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
29. Aug. 2011
63. Mª ángeles (44 years)  -  Spain
63. Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Other comments
I think it's very important that the course information is in the source language. If it comes in the language you study, how are we supposed to understand? The school contacted me in French and English. Since I was going to study a basic level, should have worked a little more. Thank you.
9. Aug. 2011
64. (24 years)  -  Belgium
64. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The way of teaching was very good! I recommend this school to everyone!!
8. Aug. 2011
65. (22 years)  -  Belgium
65. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the friendly atmosphere, and social interaction with the other students
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Try speaking french all the time, even if it's easier to speak English, that's the only way to learn the language, and don't be afraid to make mistakes.
6. Jul. 2011
66. (23 years)  -  Sweden
66. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and the staff and the social activities.
Other comments
I really liked studying French at Lyon Bleu and I appreciated my teacher a lot.
13. Jun. 2011
67. Natalia (29 years)  -  Greece
67. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
7. Mar. 2011
68. (20 years)  -  Japan
68. Combined semi-intensive course 1 - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
7. Feb. 2011
69. (21 years)  -  Spain
69. Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everything!
22. Nov. 2010
70. (30 years)  - 
70. Semi Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The staff and the organization of the course
28. Sep. 2010
71. (32 years)  - 
71. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The friendly, welcoming atmosphere. All the staff are very approachable.
30. Aug. 2010
72. (25 years)  - 
72. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The organization
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Taking umbrella because it rains in Lyon.
23. Aug. 2010
73. (21 years)  - 
73. Semi Intensive Course - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very good teachers, well organised, good location and nice building.
Other comments
I had a fantastic 2 months in Lyon, I wouldn't change a thing!
11. Jul. 2010
74. (59 years)  -  Australia
74. French Senior 50+ / semi-intensif - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Close to shops and public transportation. Competent teachers and nice classmates.
Other comments
While I enjoyed the interaction with students and teachers, I found it VERY annoying that some students insisted on using their portable electronic dictionaries - I'm sure the teachers found it annoying also.
25. Jun. 2010
75. (36 years)  - 
75. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers are professional and try to provide you with the maximum of the notions and to optimize times. This is good expecially for those who attend the school for brief periods and need to progress quickly.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Lyon bleu is moving to a new location, about which I know nothing except that it will be better and more furnished than the current one. Organization is good and teaching effective. Moreover, there are many social activities that students can attend mostly for free, such as the tours around the city. You can also take part to chocolate tasting or to ceramic laboratories. You can find all the information you need about restaurants, clubs, theaters, concerts and special events on the school notice board. In other words, you have all you need!
Other comments
It was a great experience, no doubt about it. I encountered some rigidity regarding the schedule for the lessons, which I didn't find in other language schools, like the one I attended in London. However, I guess it depends on the number of available classes and professors. I'm saying it because there were a couple of factors that made my days a little tiring: the home-school distance (2 buses which had to be taken at a certain time in order not to lose the connection) and the time of the lessons, which started at 8:45. if some young man or damsel wants to both go to the school and enjoy the night life they'd better ask for an accomodation close to the school or for a more convenient timing, 'cause once you have been assigned to a course you cannot change it. You can do it only for work reasons, or things like that. This is purely for informative purpose!
18. Jun. 2010
76. (21 years)  -  Netherlands
76. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The way of teaching.
17. May. 2010
77. (49 years)  - 
77. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teachers Eva y Muriel
Other comments
I liked the city, school and everything in general. I wish I had stayed for one more week
1. May. 2010
78. (29 years)  -  United Kingdom
78. Intensive French Course - 10 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small classes and good teachers.
27. Apr. 2010
79. Sylvia (51 years)  -  Finland
79. French Senior 50+ - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Other comments
2 hours 15 min lessons without a break in the afternoon is too much. The students had very few possibilities to speak french themselves. We just had to listen to the teacher. Large group(12 students)
12. Apr. 2010
80. (37 years)  - 
80. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Professor
29. Mar. 2010
81. (20 years)  - 
81. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Everyone got together during the cultural activities
16. Feb. 2010
82. Kristina (20 years)  -  Russian Federation
82. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
28. Dec. 2009
83. Martin (28 years)  -  Switzerland
83. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
30. Nov. 2009
84. (27 years)  - 
84. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Highly qualified and motivated teachers, good teaching concept, very international and well mixed classes
9. Nov. 2009
85. (23 years)  - 
85. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The classroom environment and teacher
6. Nov. 2009
86. (59 years)  -  Australia
86. French Senior 50+ - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
great teachers
Other comments
Seniors course - Some more afternoon activities to encourage communication in french would be good.
19. Oct. 2009
87. (67 years)  -  Australia
87. French Senior 50+ - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Enthusiastic teaching
Other comments
Although the teaching was excellent, I found the comprehension exercises too difficult for my standard. Other aspects (grammar, written work etc) were very good.
15. Oct. 2009
88. (61 years)  -  Australia
88. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the classes
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
start investigating Lyon immediately
Other comments
the kitchen in the apartment was very very tiny and not very well equipped. Fine if you wanted to heat up meals that were already prepared, but real 'cooking' was too difficult to do.
13. Oct. 2009
89. (31 years)  -  United Kingdom
89. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teacher
13. Oct. 2009
90. Jaime (19 years)  - 
90. Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
12. Oct. 2009
91. (25 years)  -  United Kingdom
91. Standard - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small classes, effective tutoring
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I stayed in CISL, which was good and cheap but miles away from the school. There was a transport strike at that time so I ended up taking the taxi a lot. If possible , stay in town!
1. Oct. 2009
92. (53 years)  - 
92. 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The dynamics of the class and the teacher.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
A valid credit card.
17. Sep. 2009
93. (48 years)  - 
93. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The relationship among staff and students make you feel comfortable.
Other comments
Thank you, you make me feel good since I contacted you in internet and during all the time I have been there.
27. Aug. 2009
94. (43 years)  -  United States
94. French & Cuisine - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The level of the instruction was perfect for our group.
Other comments
I was very pleased with the classes as well as the accommodations. I stayed in the student housing and was very happy with the room and the location in the city.
27. Aug. 2009
95. (21 years)  -  United Kingdom
95. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Level of teaching, approachable staff.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
There are early and late morning as well as afternoon studying sessions.
Other comments
Well done! Thanks for your effort, helped me a lot :)
16. Jun. 2009
96. (36 years)  -  United States
96. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Meeting and hanging out with the other students.
Other comments
I think this school is best for those who are a bit self motivated to learn beyond the class, or who have a higher command of the language as the class sizes are a little big, and the curriculum is not well established. Overall the experience with my host family and other students made it worth it.
18. Apr. 2009
97. (38 years)  - 
97. Semi Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked the way the teachers teached. They were very enthusiastic.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Speak French. Live in a family where it's easy to speak the language you're studying. Explore the city - Lyon has a lot to offer!
Other comments
I think you have a very good service. It saves a lot of time to get an overview of several language schools in a country together with objective evaluations.
15. Apr. 2009
98. (20 years)  - 
98. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
students from eyerywhere in the world
9. Apr. 2009
99. (22 years)  - 
99. Semi Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teacher (julie) and friendly staff, always willing to help.
Other comments
I chose the school because of the comments that other students had made! Good website, but why aren't there more schools to choose from?
4. Mar. 2009
100. (22 years)  -  Germany
100. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
good learning materials and understandable lessons

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Abrahan (23): I liked the experience of Cursos-de-idiomas.com,... more
  • Anne (36): I found all the information I needed on your site... more
  • Inesa (25): I think the service works really well. I have had... more
*required