X

Reviews of Lyon Bleu International, Lyon, France - Page 2

Total number of reviews: 128
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Lyon Bleu International, Lyon, France
4.2/5.0 
(128 reviews)
City 4.6/5.0 
Organisation 4.4/5.0 
Facilities 3.9/5.0 
Social activities 3.9/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.6/5.0 
Value for money 4.2/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 4.0/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.8/5.0 
other 3.8/5.0 
Individual Reviews
24. Dec. 2012
51. (28 years)  -  Hong Kong
51. Combined Intensive Course 1 (25 group + 5 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
One on one class
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
just enjoy the city
Other comments
1) I don't really like the group classes due to other students attitude (late for class and lying on the table during classes) 2) I didn't appreciate my stay with the family in Lyon: they were more interested in practising English with me, the heater didn't work in my room and there were several times I got very poor breakfast with only a few small slices of bread.
5. Dec. 2012
52. Maria Del Pilar (46 years)  - 
52. Semi-Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Big Studio in Hotel Residence
other
9. Oct. 2012
53. (52 years)  - 
53. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very good teachers, interesting and stimulating method
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
the choice of films for the cinema workshop (the artist) was a bit disappointing
Other comments
I would have liked to continue the course
1. Oct. 2012
54. (61 years)  - 
54. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very friendly and helpful.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
A great atmosphere and dedicated staff.
Other comments
A very good learning experience.
27. Aug. 2012
55. (23 years)  -  Poland
55. Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher Nathalie, who was always prepared, smiley and helpful.
20. Aug. 2012
56. (20 years)  -  Spain
56. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers.
16. Jul. 2012
57. (49 years)  -  United States
57. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Big Studio in Hotel Residence
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
That it was in Lyon.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I did not participate in the social activities. If it is your first time in Lyon, you may want to
Other comments
The one and only break comes after 2 hours and 15 min. That is a long time to go without a break. Because the way the classes are set up, everyone must take their break at the same time. So teachers cannot take advantage of natural breaks in the teaching process. Additionally, the material for beginners is photocopied handouts and often, the copies are of poor quality.
9. Jul. 2012
58. (24 years)  - 
58. Semi Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The advanced class was very good.
1. Apr. 2012
59. (27 years)  -  Canada
59. Semi Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I enjoyed the people that I have met through the school.
Other comments
I believe that going 3 hours through classes without a break is pushing the human mind too far, as proved through numerous studies by universities througout the world. After 45 minutes the mind and body needs a quick break. This is why universities, at least in North America, have instigated 5 - 10 minutes break per hour. Again, proven through McMaster University in Hamilton Canada many years ago. Students perform much better when given these quick breaks.
5. Mar. 2012
60. (40 years)  -  Netherlands
60. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
creative teachers, full of energy, personal approach
5. Mar. 2012
61. (55 years)  -  Italy
61. Complete beginner programme (10 group+15 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Big Studio in Hotel Residence
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Not anything in particular but I liked the professional approch the teachers have.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
No.
Other comments
I did not get what I hoped but that is not because of the schole but because of the old man there is trying to learn France.
20. Feb. 2012
62. Machiko (36 years)  - 
62. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
20. Feb. 2012
63. Kim (24 years)  -  Czech Republic
63. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
28. Nov. 2011
64. (27 years)  -  Spain
64. Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers
7. Nov. 2011
65. (39 years)  -  United Kingdom
65. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Their friendliness and the activities they organised outside the school. The clases were really good too!
9. Oct. 2011
66. (46 years)  - 
66. French & Cuisine - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teachers and good atmosphere.
31. Aug. 2011
67. Elia (27 years)  - 
67. Combined Intensive Course 1 (25 group + 5 individual) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
29. Aug. 2011
68. Mª ángeles (44 years)  -  Spain
68. Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Other comments
I think it's very important that the course information is in the source language. If it comes in the language you study, how are we supposed to understand? The school contacted me in French and English. Since I was going to study a basic level, should have worked a little more. Thank you.
9. Aug. 2011
69. (24 years)  -  Belgium
69. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The way of teaching was very good! I recommend this school to everyone!!
8. Aug. 2011
70. (22 years)  -  Belgium
70. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the friendly atmosphere, and social interaction with the other students
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Try speaking french all the time, even if it's easier to speak English, that's the only way to learn the language, and don't be afraid to make mistakes.
6. Jul. 2011
71. (23 years)  -  Sweden
71. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and the staff and the social activities.
Other comments
I really liked studying French at Lyon Bleu and I appreciated my teacher a lot.
13. Jun. 2011
72. Natalia (29 years)  -  Greece
72. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
7. Mar. 2011
73. (20 years)  -  Japan
73. Combined semi-intensive course 1 - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
7. Feb. 2011
74. (21 years)  -  Spain
74. Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everything!
22. Nov. 2010
75. (30 years)  - 
75. Semi Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The staff and the organization of the course
28. Sep. 2010
76. (32 years)  - 
76. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The friendly, welcoming atmosphere. All the staff are very approachable.
30. Aug. 2010
77. (25 years)  - 
77. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The organization
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Taking umbrella because it rains in Lyon.
23. Aug. 2010
78. (21 years)  - 
78. Semi Intensive Course - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very good teachers, well organised, good location and nice building.
Other comments
I had a fantastic 2 months in Lyon, I wouldn't change a thing!
11. Jul. 2010
79. (59 years)  -  Australia
79. French Senior 50+ / semi-intensif - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Close to shops and public transportation. Competent teachers and nice classmates.
Other comments
While I enjoyed the interaction with students and teachers, I found it VERY annoying that some students insisted on using their portable electronic dictionaries - I'm sure the teachers found it annoying also.
25. Jun. 2010
80. (36 years)  - 
80. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers are professional and try to provide you with the maximum of the notions and to optimize times. This is good expecially for those who attend the school for brief periods and need to progress quickly.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Lyon bleu is moving to a new location, about which I know nothing except that it will be better and more furnished than the current one. Organization is good and teaching effective. Moreover, there are many social activities that students can attend mostly for free, such as the tours around the city. You can also take part to chocolate tasting or to ceramic laboratories. You can find all the information you need about restaurants, clubs, theaters, concerts and special events on the school notice board. In other words, you have all you need!
Other comments
It was a great experience, no doubt about it. I encountered some rigidity regarding the schedule for the lessons, which I didn't find in other language schools, like the one I attended in London. However, I guess it depends on the number of available classes and professors. I'm saying it because there were a couple of factors that made my days a little tiring: the home-school distance (2 buses which had to be taken at a certain time in order not to lose the connection) and the time of the lessons, which started at 8:45. if some young man or damsel wants to both go to the school and enjoy the night life they'd better ask for an accomodation close to the school or for a more convenient timing, 'cause once you have been assigned to a course you cannot change it. You can do it only for work reasons, or things like that. This is purely for informative purpose!
18. Jun. 2010
81. (21 years)  -  Netherlands
81. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The way of teaching.
17. May. 2010
82. (49 years)  - 
82. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teachers Eva y Muriel
Other comments
I liked the city, school and everything in general. I wish I had stayed for one more week
1. May. 2010
83. (29 years)  -  United Kingdom
83. Intensive French Course - 10 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small classes and good teachers.
27. Apr. 2010
84. Sylvia (51 years)  -  Finland
84. French Senior 50+ - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Other comments
2 hours 15 min lessons without a break in the afternoon is too much. The students had very few possibilities to speak french themselves. We just had to listen to the teacher. Large group(12 students)
12. Apr. 2010
85. (37 years)  - 
85. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Professor
29. Mar. 2010
86. (20 years)  - 
86. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Everyone got together during the cultural activities
16. Feb. 2010
87. Kristina (20 years)  -  Russian Federation
87. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
28. Dec. 2009
88. Martin (28 years)  -  Switzerland
88. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
30. Nov. 2009
89. (27 years)  - 
89. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Highly qualified and motivated teachers, good teaching concept, very international and well mixed classes
9. Nov. 2009
90. (23 years)  - 
90. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The classroom environment and teacher
6. Nov. 2009
91. (59 years)  -  Australia
91. French Senior 50+ - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
great teachers
Other comments
Seniors course - Some more afternoon activities to encourage communication in french would be good.
19. Oct. 2009
92. (67 years)  -  Australia
92. French Senior 50+ - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Enthusiastic teaching
Other comments
Although the teaching was excellent, I found the comprehension exercises too difficult for my standard. Other aspects (grammar, written work etc) were very good.
15. Oct. 2009
93. (61 years)  -  Australia
93. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the classes
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
start investigating Lyon immediately
Other comments
the kitchen in the apartment was very very tiny and not very well equipped. Fine if you wanted to heat up meals that were already prepared, but real 'cooking' was too difficult to do.
13. Oct. 2009
94. (31 years)  -  United Kingdom
94. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teacher
13. Oct. 2009
95. Jaime (19 years)  - 
95. Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
12. Oct. 2009
96. (25 years)  -  United Kingdom
96. Standard - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small classes, effective tutoring
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I stayed in CISL, which was good and cheap but miles away from the school. There was a transport strike at that time so I ended up taking the taxi a lot. If possible , stay in town!
1. Oct. 2009
97. (53 years)  - 
97. 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The dynamics of the class and the teacher.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
A valid credit card.
17. Sep. 2009
98. (48 years)  - 
98. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The relationship among staff and students make you feel comfortable.
Other comments
Thank you, you make me feel good since I contacted you in internet and during all the time I have been there.
27. Aug. 2009
99. (43 years)  -  United States
99. French & Cuisine - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The level of the instruction was perfect for our group.
Other comments
I was very pleased with the classes as well as the accommodations. I stayed in the student housing and was very happy with the room and the location in the city.
27. Aug. 2009
100. (21 years)  -  United Kingdom
100. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Level of teaching, approachable staff.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
There are early and late morning as well as afternoon studying sessions.
Other comments
Well done! Thanks for your effort, helped me a lot :)

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Inesa (25): I think the service works really well. I have had... more
  • Francesco (36): I had a doubt, a quick and precise reply helped me... more
  • Jacqueline (24): I highly recommend booking with... more