Reviews of Scuola Leonardo da Vinci, Florence, Italy

Total No. of Reviews: 54
NOTE: All evaluations are authentic. Only former participants who have booked a course with us at the school can publish evaluations after the end of the course. Schools could therefore not manipulate evaluations and you can trust in all published evaluations.

Average Rating

Overall rating
Scuola Leonardo da Vinci, Florence, Italy
4.2/5.0 
(54 reviews)
City 4.8/5.0 
Organisation 4.3/5.0 
Facilities 3.3/5.0 
Social activities 3.9/5.0 
Course Quality / Progress in language 4.5/5.0 
Value for money 3.9/5.0 
Accommodation
Host Family 3.9/5.0 
Shared flat (apartment) 3.6/5.0 
Other 4.3/5.0 
Individual Reviews
13. Aug. 2014
1. (19 years)  -  Canada
1. Long Term Semester Course - 26 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Apartment
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I learned more in just 1 lesson than I thought I would. I made incredible progress very quickly.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I saved a lot of money by setting myself up in the lobby with my laptop to use the free Wifi.
10. Dec. 2013
2. (73 years)  - 
2. Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Apartment
Other
27. Aug. 2013
3. Hannah (38 years)  - 
3. Einzelunterricht und kulturelle Aktivitäten - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
18. Aug. 2013
4. (18 years)  - 
4. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Apartment
Other
1. Aug. 2013
5. (21 years)  - 
5. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Apartment
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Awesome teachers, good textbooks, convenient location of the school from the city center.
23. Jun. 2013
6. Christophor (67 years)  - 
6. Intensive Group Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
12. May. 2013
7. (39 years)  -  Switzerland
7. Standard - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The afternoon social activities.
25. Sep. 2012
8. (50 years)  - 
8. La Dolce Vita - 50+ Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
We only spoke in Italian. The teacher were really good. Sarah was the best. With her we always made conversation.
Other comments
I have booked the "Dolce Vira 50+" course in hope that there will only be student over 50. Unfortunately, this was only referred to the activities. The classes were mixed. Partly there were also 17 years-old teenagers. But in the end it did not hurt. You just assume differently in the beginning according to the name "50+". On the last two days I decided to to some individual lessons as well which would cost 30€ for 45 min. Therefore, I booked 3 x 45 minutes. And in the end it said on the billing that one lesson cost 40€. This made me the goodbye very easy.
24. Jul. 2012
9. Ekaterina (19 years)  -  Russian Federation
9. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Apartment
Other
Additional information
Other comments
I want to come back this year or next
3. Jul. 2012
10. (24 years)  -  Australia
10. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Apartment
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teachers
13. Mar. 2012
11. Ingeborg (67 years)  - 
11. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Apartment
Other
26. Dec. 2011
12. (23 years)  -  Russian Federation
12. Standard - 7 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teacher Monika)
27. Sep. 2011
13. Tino (21 years)  - 
13. Intensive Group Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
26. Sep. 2011
14. Anna (18 years)  - 
14. Intensive Group Course - 6 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
22. Sep. 2011
15. (55 years)  - 
15. Intensive Plus-10 - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers, I had Patrizio, Sara, and Simona. They made each pupil feel important and the lessons were fun as well as informative.
Other comments
The reception on arrival at the beginning of the course could have been more informative and welcoming. The library was pretty well non-existant. It would be a good idea if they could allow pupils to borrow dvds or books.
30. May. 2011
16. (61 years)  - 
16. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
les enseignants sont"professionnels" :ils parlent fort et articulent bien .
Other comments
les ordinateurs ne sont pas toujours accessibles (peu nombreux , difficultés à se connecter à cause de problèmes techniques
19. Feb. 2011
17. Jennifer (41 years)  -  United States
17. Standard - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you are an older student (over 25) I do not recommend sharing a flat. The apartments are noisy, dirty, and the single beds are uncomfortable. I recommend a bed and breakfast! The school claims they will change the sheets at the 2 week point. It does not happen.
Other comments
Overall it was a positive experience but the older student should realize that the great majority of students will be under 23 years of age. Many of the computers did not work and there is no WIFI available at the school.
19. Apr. 2010
18. (51 years)  - 
18. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the commitment of teachers and the many nationalities
Other comments
perhaps a little more leisure activities
4. Oct. 2009
19. (20 years)  - 
19. Intensive Group Course (2 weeks) + Intensive Group Course + 5 (2 weeks) - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were really amazing! No matter which teacher it was- you could learn a lot in a pleasant atmosphere! school felt like home as there was always someone around who cared for you. additionally it was really cool to be so close to the center of florence!! i´ll do it again :)
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
you shouldn´t miss a sunset at st. croce!! and at piazzale michelangelo. and the singer and guitarplayer ken mercer at night at piazza della sigoria- it makes you shiver, I promise!
Other comments
amo firenze!!!! and you´ll get to know a lot of nice and interesting people from all around the world !
26. Oct. 2008
20. (33 years)  -  Germany
20. Intensive Plus-5 - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
other students
22. Oct. 2008
21. (18 years)  -  Austria
21. Intensive Plus-5 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
That it was so central
Other comments
pay attention the the ice cream prices
16. Jul. 2008
22. (28 years)  - 
22. Standard - 12 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The persons I met.
Other comments
I didn't like that sometimes we had photo copies and not books.
21. May. 2008
23. (28 years)  -  United States
23. Standard - 32 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of professors and helpfulness of the staff.
18. Jan. 2008
24. (33 years)  - 
24. General Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers
Other comments
They should take more care of the accommodation they are offering
9. Aug. 2007
25. Daniel (37 years)  -  Germany
25. Intensive PLUS-10 Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
23. May. 2007
26.  -  United States
26. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The standard of teaching is outstanding
Other comments
I found the acoustics in the classrooms to be fairly poor. Frequently there was a lot of noise from outside, and the classrooms are sparsely decorated which means that the sound tends to reverberate around the room, making it difficult sometimes to follow what the teacher, is saying As an improvement, I would suggest something very simple to be given to students studying Italian for the first - a list of standard questions that one can ask, to get along initially. For example, "Come si dice...", "come si chiama...", "Ripete per favore". Some grammatical definitions would also be useful, eg sostantivo, nome, maschile, feminile, significa, etc. It was a day before I worked out that "significa" translates as "meaning", not "significance". A vital difference!
21. Aug. 2006
27. (25 years)  -  Poland
27. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very nice and friendly people, thanks! :)
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
a trip to Siena and San Gimigliano and in Florence. you simply can't miss the Uffizi Museum
Other comments
It is a very big school, but well organized, all the people I met there were very friendly. Unfortunately the grammar classes are boring, but the conversations are very interesting. And what is very good is that you can meet people there from all over the world and make fantastic new friendships.
24. Apr. 2006
28. Daniela (21 years)  - 
28. Standard - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
19. Dec. 2005
29.  - 
29. Intensive - 10 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The diverse environment.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
We should have done more reading ( books).
19. Dec. 2005
30.  - 
30. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the museum visits with the explications by Monica
Other comments
The classrooms are long and small
30. Jun. 2005
31. Anonymous (20 years)  - 
31. Super Intensive (+35h)

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
23. Jun. 2005
32. (23 years)  - 
32. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were very patient and professional
Other comments
I had a great time. The classes in the morning might be a bit smaller. (12 people is quite a lot)
21. May. 2005
33. Geiselhart (64 years)  - 
33. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
29. Apr. 2005
34. (21 years)  - 
34. Super Intensive (+35h)

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
How the people work there
13. Mar. 2005
35. Maria (19 years)  - 
35. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
3. Mar. 2005
36. (20 years)  - 
36. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The visits to different churches and cities with Mrs. Monica
Other comments
The Scuola makes students feel comfortable in an important city and familiar with a new language
7. Jul. 2004
37. (21 years)  -  Schweiz

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teacher were very nice
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
trips to other cities (organized by school), sightseeing with school through the city
23. Mar. 2004
38. (29 years)  -  Deutschland
38. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were great!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Do not go to Florence in May, because the city will be crowded because of tourists.
23. Mar. 2004
39. Fatima (23 years)  -  Usa
39. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
15. Dec. 2003
40. (27 years)  -  Norway
40. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make friends.
Other comments
Go out and use the Italian words you have learnt immediately!!!
16. Oct. 2003
41. (28 years)  -  Germany
41. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The level is was put in was right to my knowledge. Good work!
Other comments
I enjoyed my trip to Florence and the learning result I achieved was worth the money I invested. I lived with a family that was very friendly welcoming.
5. Sep. 2003
42. (24 years)  -  Netherlands
42. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers, everybody was very helpful!
21. Aug. 2003
43. N (19 years)  -  Uk
43. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
16. Aug. 2003
44. Janneke (20 years)  -  Holland
44. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The trips to Pisa and Lucca.
13. Aug. 2003
45. (32 years)  -  Usa
45. One-to-One

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly & knowledgeable teachers and staff.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The view from the garden terrace at Boboli Gardens.
Other comments
Sylvia did a great job teaching me Italian in the short time I had to spend at Scuola Leonardo. She gave me a good start on the long journey of learning the language!
9. Jul. 2003
46. Susanna (43 years)  -  Schweiz
46. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Other comments
When I request to stay with a family I do not expect a 72 year old lady ... and another Swiss girl...
18. Jun. 2003
47.  -  Usa
47. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Ester is a fantastic teacher!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Piazza Michelangelo! Boboli gardens
Other comments
The school in Florence was by far the best out of all three. I also spent two weeks at the school in Siena which was good and then two weeks at the school in Rome. The school in Rome was terrible. Those working there were extremely apathetic towards my complaints that the school was an hour outside of the center by metro and bus, I had been placed with a family after I specifically requested twice to change the accomodation to an apartment, there was no choice about class scheduling and no prior notification that the courses were scheduled at different times due to lack of space, a couple of the teachers were not even native Italian speakers
23. Jan. 2003
48. (21 years)  -  Germany
48. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
That I not only learned much about Italy and it's language, but also about other countries and it's traditions and culture.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If it is possible, they should make a trip to San Marino and Siena. Sandra, the german receptionist of the school ;-) !!!!
Other comments
I am very happy, that I took the decision to come here and really realized it. The teachers are very good and because of very small classes, they can work with you and on individual problems of each student. I would advice to all foreigners, that they should join a course in winter - NOT IN THE MAIN SEASON - the classes are smaller and the city is not so crowded of tourists.
2. Jan. 2003
49. (29 years)  -  Australia
49. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
on the first level do not expect to come away expecting to speak great sentences.
Other comments
Some of the extra courses were not that great and for the money i would have expected better. We had great teachers, the only thing for the first two weeks the first teacher (whilst a great person)was not as good as the second for conversation as he was a relief teacher we were really behind the other class in terms of our conversation.
5. Aug. 2002
50. (28 years)  -  Germany
50. Super Intensive (+35h)

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very international, not just Germans!

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Jacqueline (24): I highly recommend booking with... more
  • Harm Jaap (46): Normally I contact language schools directly, but... more
  • Inesa (25): I think the service works really well. I have had... more
*required