Reviews of Scuola Tricolore, Genoa, Italy

Total No. of Reviews: 15
NOTE: All evaluations are authentic. Only former participants who have booked a course with us at the school can publish evaluations after the end of the course. Schools could therefore not manipulate evaluations and you can trust in all published evaluations.

Average Rating

Overall rating
Scuola Tricolore, Genoa, Italy
4.3/5.0 
(15 reviews)
City 4.4/5.0 
Organisation 4.3/5.0 
Facilities 3.9/5.0 
Social activities 3.7/5.0 
Course Quality / Progress in language 4.2/5.0 
Value for money 4.4/5.0 
Accommodation
Host Family 4.4/5.0 
Shared flat (apartment) 4.3/5.0 
Other 4.3/5.0 
Individual Reviews
18. Aug. 2014
1. (60 years)  -  United States
1. Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Independent Apartment with one bedroom
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Rosanna and Richard were very welcoming and accommodating. Christelle, the morning teacher, was exceptional. I had hoped for more conversation in the afternoons.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The city has so much to see and if you get the 40 euro museum pass you will get to many of them. The Palazzi Rolli tour that is arranged by the school gets you into many of the places that a tourist isn't permitted.
Other comments
The school has great accommodations that they arrange and if you have any problems they quickly fix them.
5. Aug. 2014
2. (55 years)  -  United Kingdom
2. Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay - Intermediate category
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very friendly. Very helpful owners, keen to make sure that all problems were resolved. Lots of activities organised but they were quite expensive.
Other comments
The teaching is traditional, with a lot of emphasis on grammar and written exercises. I would have liked a specific conversation session every day, rather than just having some conversation built into the general morning programme.
24. Jun. 2014
3. (27 years)  - 
3. Standard Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared apartment
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
great teachers, small classes, friendly atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Vico Restaurant in Porto Antico!
Other comments
I wish I would have stayed longer!
15. Dec. 2013
4. (57 years)  - 
4. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I was there for 2 weeks in November/December. Therefore, the classes were very small, 2 or 3 students. The level of the class was higher than mine, but they offered me a lot of help and options to learn. I had a great and ambitious teacher who invested time and energy to answer questions. I learned a lot and could have learned more if I had invested more time and energy but Genoa is a very interesting city! You can learn in 2 weeks as much as in 6 months in evening classes as home.
9. Dec. 2013
5. (68 years)  -  United Kingdom
5. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay - Intermediate category
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The standard of teaching was high, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The school is just outside the old city, and everything of interest is within walking distance.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I went on a sailing lesson which was very good.
Other comments
There was a mixture of long term students, who had made considerable progress, and some short term ones too. The students came from many different countries mainly in Europe.
4. Jun. 2013
6. (64 years)  -  United States
6. Italian + Conversation - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Independent Apartment with one bedroom
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The tour of the historic area of the city and the get-together at the outdoor restaurant/bar were enjoyable.
Other comments
Placement is by a written test; I think it would have been better if there had also been an oral & comprehension portion. The App. Luzzetti (monolocale) is not a one bedroom apartment but rather a one room apartment w/separate bathroom. The "bed" is a sofabed - no wifi so had to use the school's wifi.
8. Oct. 2012
7. (28 years)  - 
7. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared apartment
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small class.
4. Sep. 2012
8. (16 years)  - 
8. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the quality of teaching : i learnt more in 2 weeks than in 1 year at college. Meeting students from different nationalities
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The canoe excursion, the guided tour of the historical centre of Genoa, the cruise to "cinque terre", the start of yacht and ships at the harbour...
Other comments
good study atmosphere, little leaving present (CD with italian songs), close to historical centre
1. Jan. 2012
9. (61 years)  - 
9. Italian + Conversation - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay - Economic category
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I like the friendly atmosphere and the impressive building. I was impressed by the teacher, Christella, being very patient and helpfull with our questions and being fair to students.
Other comments
Would have been nicer if we had an opportunity to get together with other students other than those in your class.
3. Oct. 2011
10. (43 years)  - 
10. Standard Course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay - Intermediate category
19. Aug. 2011
11. (21 years)  -  Poland
11. Italian + Conversation - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Definitely the staff. People, who work in scuola Tricolore are magnificent. The atmospheare is great. I'm looking forward to going back to Genova.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You should not miss the aperitivo on Mondays. Go, meet people and talk in Italian! ;)
18. Aug. 2011
12. (18 years)  -  France
12. Standard Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay - Intermediate category
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the quality of teaching.
Other comments
the host family was too far.
25. Jul. 2011
13. Antje (39 years)  - 
13. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay - Economic category
23. May. 2011
14. Harriet (40 years)  - 
14. Standard Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared apartment
Additional information
Other comments
Small school, worked hard but there were only 3 levels, and I was between 2 levels. I was only allowed to change to a higher level, which fit me better, in the afternoon of the 3rd day (of total 5 days).
4. May. 2011
15. (46 years)  - 
15. Standard Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The very good teacher did very well-structured lessons which were understandable for everyone . In total, I liked the friendly people and the nice atmosphere at the school.
Other comments
Will be back!

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Harm Jaap (46): Normally I contact language schools directly, but... more
  • Francesco (36): I had a doubt, a quick and precise reply helped me... more
  • Anne (36): I found all the information I needed on your site... more
*required