X

Reviews of Torre di Babele, Rome, Italy

Total number of reviews: 68
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Torre di Babele, Rome, Italy
4.2/5.0 
(68 reviews)
City 4.7/5.0 
Organisation 4.4/5.0 
Facilities 3.8/5.0 
Social activities 4.0/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.2/5.0 
Value for money 3.8/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 3.6/5.0 
Shared Flat 4.1/5.0 
other 3.9/5.0 
Individual Reviews
22. Oct. 2016
1. (52 years)  - 
1. Individual 10 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment with Italians
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school has very nice and capable teachers.
30. Aug. 2016
2. (20 years)  - 
2. Intensive Standard - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment with Italians
other
20. Jun. 2016
3. (56 years)  -  Canada
3. Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment with Italians
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers, the building, the level, the students
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Participate in the organized activities
Other comments
Loved the experience, the city, I feel like I improved a lot even if my stay was short (too short)
1. Mar. 2016
4. (57 years)  - 
4. Intensive Plus (4 hours group + 1 hour mini group) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
additional activities, location of the school
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
additional activities (Plan 2013)
Other comments
Very nicely located district, good bus and metro connections
5. Jun. 2015
5. (26 years)  -  Brazil
5. Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher Diana and the friendship I made with many people.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Sort everything out through languagecourse.net agency, they helped me a lot.
Other comments
I applied and paid for an express course, that should be, by the elementary meaning of this word, a course that leads you to the same point of a regular course, but in a shorter period. However, without being informed, I was included in a regular classroom (as there wasn't a specific express classroom) and I was expected to leave the classroom daily before the end of the regular time, so my colleagues could continue having their "regular classes". Therefore, I had several problems with this course: (1) on my first day, I didn't have any kind of instructions other than the ones the teacher wrote on the board. Indeed, she wrote the schedule of the classes that didn't mention that a different schedule should be followed by the ones who had paid for the express course. Thus, I followed this schedule and, after my first week, I was called by the administration to be informed that I was wrong on staying at the classes until the end of the regular classes. Then, I would either have to pay for the regular course or start leaving the classes before my colleagues; (2) I had paid more than 500 Euros, what was not at all a cheap price for a 3 weeks course, and I couldn't afford for an additional and not predicted amount of money. However, leaving the classes before their ends meant that I would be completely lost as the teacher would continue giving new subjects to the regular students and then move on the day after from the point she had stopped. How could it be called an express course? But I didn't have choice and I made an agreement to follow these rules from that day on; (3) The day after, as my time was up, I was leaving the classroom as agreed, but the teacher asked me to stay. I tried to explain her that I should leave, but she insisted and told me that she would talk to the administration and assume the responsibility that day. However, the principal entered the room and told me to leave on that moment in front of everybody. I was so embarrassed that I left the room, didn't return and all my colleagues (that had paid more for the regular course) defended me against the school attitudes. To sum up, the school needs to improve a lot its course organization. I really didn't have a good experience, as I didn't receive the proper information and was not treated well. Besides, offering an express course like that sounds to me a trick, as no one could really improve a language losing some parts of the whole content. I wouldn't recommend the course, indeed I have already had opportunities of not doing that, advising some interested colleagues on looking for another one.
22. Dec. 2014
6. (52 years)  -  Netherlands
6. Intensive Standard - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Apartment with other students
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Large numbers of students
Other comments
It is a professionally run school in a nice building. My teacher (Barbara) was very good.
22. Sep. 2014
7. (42 years)  -  United States
7. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
A couple of the teachers were great. The last teacher tried, but she was a bit impatient with us. Not as nice or as fun as the first two.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If I had it to do over again I would get at least one private lesson a day. I think that would have helped.
Other comments
I really wish I had more homework to drill in complex topics.
16. Sep. 2014
8. (20 years)  - 
8. Intensive - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Apartment with other students
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The classes, though I would have liked to learn more grammar.
23. Jun. 2014
9. (48 years)  - 
9. Intensive Course \\\\ - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment with Italians
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Quality of the teachers, activities.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The school is small and simple. I think it's ideal for the short-term learners. I took a course for two weeks and I'm satisfied. In summer time, many students came June afterwards and I found the reception was a bit overcrowded. Due to the number of the students, they sometimes changed the class schedule. If you stay there for a short period, I recommend you to avoid the summer season to spend your time relaxing.
18. Mar. 2014
10. (36 years)  - 
10. INTENSIVE COURSE \\\\\\\'ESPRESSO\\\\\\\' - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Apartment with other students
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The lessons, the hospitality, the accomodation.
1. Jan. 2014
11. (25 years)  - 
11. Intensive - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Apartment with other students
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The staff availability, both from teachers and administrative staff. The diversity of offered cultural activities (visits, seminars, cooking classes ...)
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Can not choose one, everything is beautiful in Rome.
Other comments
A very nice school, great staff, a small garden to relax .. Really great! Only downside: every second Monday, courses only start at 10 or 11 am, and those hours are not made up for.
13. Oct. 2013
12. (31 years)  - 
12. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment with Italians
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
be active from the first day
11. Oct. 2013
13. Friederike (51 years)  - 
13. Super Intensive A (4 h group + 1 h individual) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Tour Gastronomico
21. Aug. 2013
14. (61 years)  - 
14. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The location, the house, the lessons
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you're interested in planning a trip always ssk at the helpdesk first. They'll provide you loads of information, book your tickets and give you many tips ...
Other comments
I can recommend this school, great price-performance ratio.
17. Jun. 2013
15. Patricia (53 years)  - 
15. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat with Italians
other
15. Aug. 2012
16. (41 years)  -  Sweden
16. Super Intensive B (4 h group + 2 h individual) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Apartment with Italians
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and the atmosphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The social activities.
Other comments
A fantastic language school that I recommend.
8. Jun. 2012
17. Natalia (45 years)  -  Russian Federation
17. Intensive Group Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
3. Apr. 2012
18. (20 years)  -  Sweden
18. Intensive - 10 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers are all very serious and good. They make the lessons fun and interesting! It's good that you change teachers after 2 weeks for variation and also that the classes aren't with so many students!
Other comments
A very good school!
20. Sep. 2011
19. (22 years)  - 
19. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment with other students
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school was very friendly and well organised, I liked the extra activities which were offered.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Placement test is vital to assigning your level.
2. Aug. 2011
20. (58 years)  -  Spain
20. INTENSIVE COURSE 'ESPRESSO' - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Organization The first time: the teacher -not now-
4. Jul. 2011
21.  - 
21. Long Term Intensive Course - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Two teachers - Loredana and Nuccia
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Study with these two teachers
Other comments
Only these two teachers are very good. The others are average.
31. May. 2011
22. (25 years)  - 
22. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly, relaxed atmosphere, good organization, sufficient assistance with problems
Other comments
School: practice more listening and written language
21. Mar. 2011
23. (26 years)  - 
23. Intensive - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment with other students
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Location and friendliness of everyone who works at the school.
22. Nov. 2010
24. (64 years)  -  Canada
24. Intensive 2 weeks + Senoir 1 week - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I was very impressed with the teacher I had and the school staff whom I found to be pleasant, very helpful and sincere in making one feel comfortable and welcome. She was flexible yet focused and stayed on track with her lessons. The teachers are very qualified and experienced and always tried to help in any way they could to make certain one understood the lesson or problems that came up in class. I was most impressed with them. I also liked the fact that we had a lot of interaction with other international students in the class. The class atmosphere was relaxed and the teacher we had picked up on the mood and added her own light heartedness. It was enjoyable to be there. I hope to return to the school for future courses when I am a bit more advanced.
Other comments
The school is located near the university in Rome, in a beautiful residential area. The classrooms had enough room to hold 12 people or less. Not far from the school there were shops, coffee shops and a few restaurants that were close enough to walk to/visit during the 1/2 hour break and after classes. The school building was well maintained and had a garden in the back that was used by the students and staff. There was a coffee machine and a vending machine with sandwiches and snacks near the garden entrance.
7. Sep. 2010
25. (32 years)  - 
25. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and the organization of guided tours as an extracurricular activity.
3. Aug. 2010
26. Olga (20 years)  -  Russian Federation
26. Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
10. Nov. 2009
27. (51 years)  -  Poland
27. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teacher Stefania & mama Ilma
Other comments
It was a nice time :)
18. Apr. 2009
28.  - 
28. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teacher
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
you will enjoy it
13. Feb. 2009
29. (27 years)  - 
29. Long Term Standard course 12 weeks - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment with other students
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are really friendly
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't stay at home!!
Other comments
The school is close to the most beautiful park or the city, Villa Torlonia.
14. Dec. 2008
30. Léa (17 years)  - 
30. Intensive Plus (4 hours group + 1 hour mini group) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
27. Oct. 2008
31. (30 years)  -  Japan
31. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
classmates
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
nothing
26. Aug. 2008
32. (24 years)  - 
32. Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school has created an informal and relaxed atmosphere which made it easier to study a new language.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you want to go to the beach: don`t go to Ostia, but choose another beach like Ladispoli
7. Jan. 2008
33. (32 years)  - 
33. Long Term Standard course 12 weeks - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Apartment with other students
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers and administration are very good
5. Dec. 2007
34. (45 years)  - 
34. Intensive - 6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Pesonality of two (out of four) teachers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Evening guided tours of the scool to history attractions in old Rom
Other comments
For me as an german speaking man in 6 weeks it wasn't possible to find an italian person for "tandem"
1. Aug. 2007
35. (45 years)  - 
35. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher was able to speak German.
27. Jul. 2007
36. Rachel (36 years)  - 
36. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Other comments
too many students in the group - 13. it offers less possibilities to speak.
26. Jul. 2007
37. (32 years)  - 
37. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the atmosphere
Other comments
that was great except for the visits. It was the same for all week.
23. Jul. 2007
38. Marianne (52 years)  - 
38. Super Intensive A (4 h group + 1 h individual) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Guided city tours by Stefania
12. Jul. 2007
39. (45 years)  - 
39. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Well organized
16. May. 2007
40. (43 years)  - 
40. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
walk in the Roman forum with stefania
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
the city of Rome
Other comments
I went a week
28. Mar. 2007
41. (25 years)  - 
41. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are very good. Thanks to them you learn very quick. In 1 month you can speak an all right Italian. I have never studied italian before.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't miss Alessandro at pizzeria and Napoli 3 hours by train
Other comments
This school is very good to learn italian quickly. It looks a bit expensive but the results are there. As I said, I have never learn Italian before. (Maybe because I'm french, it's helping a bit)
28. Dec. 2006
42. (42 years)  - 
42. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
students from all over the world, teachers...
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
activities organizated by the school
2. Nov. 2006
43. (30 years)  - 
43. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
they have a free japanese lesson by an italian teacher who speaks japanese fluently.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
this school is good for short term staying.
Other comments
if you study hard, this is not the best school.. I can not say teachers heven't been wonderful, but if you are expecting an extention of vacation, this is the right place to go.
4. Oct. 2006
44. (23 years)  - 
44. Intensive - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The grammatical theory was taught in a way it was not boring. Also, we had a lot of conversations in the class to improve our conversation skills.
Other comments
The school offers a lot of outside activities. Every night and every weekend it offers guided tours in Rome (not too expensive and sometimes free)
9. Aug. 2006
45. (25 years)  - 
45. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
friendship between international students
Other comments
Perfect!
26. Jul. 2006
46. (31 years)  -  Slovenia
46. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
try to establish contacts with Romans
Other comments
All the personnel is very helpful and friendly. During classes you got a lot of opportunities to speak italian.
28. Jun. 2006
47. Kirsten (39 years)  - 
47. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
5. May. 2006
48. (51 years)  - 
48. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The people (other students, the staff and the teachers) and the location
Other comments
The teaching lessons are hard to please but it's great fun.
5. May. 2006
49.  -  Australia
49. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
N / A
Other comments
Some of the teachers where a bit impatient if you didn't get something as quick as expected right away.
24. Apr. 2006
50. (33 years)  -  Germany
50. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the other students
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
guided tours in Italian
Other comments
Male teachers are worse than female teachers.

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Piotr (35): Good service, helpful.... more
  • Anne (36): I found all the information I needed on your site... more
  • Abrahan (23): I liked the experience of Cursos-de-idiomas.com,... more