X

Reviews of Venice Language School, Venice, Italy

Total No. of Reviews: 78
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Venice Language School, Venice, Italy
4.3/5.0 
(78 reviews)
City 4.8/5.0 
Organisation 4.4/5.0 
Facilities 3.8/5.0 
Social activities 4.1/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.2/5.0 
Value for money 4.1/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 4.1/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.9/5.0 
other 4.2/5.0 
Individual Reviews
15. May. 2016
1. (63 years)  -  Denmark
1. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The people at the school were friendly and efficient and professional - very good atmosphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Participate wholly and at the same time relax.
4. Apr. 2016
2. (66 years)  -  Canada
2. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly, welcoming staff. Fellow students.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Concerts by the Virtuosi di Venezia at Ateneo di San Basso.
18. Jun. 2015
3. (33 years)  -  Latvia
3. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very nice atmosphere, friendly but serious attitude from teachers. Definitely want to come back.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Bring your own grammar book and definitely - a dictionary (which was very useful).
Other comments
I would have loved a bit more structured approach to the grammar part. After first week I was confused and went to buy a grammar book to clear some things up. And the beginning seemed a bit slow - first three days we repeated pretty much the same stuff. And I don't mind a bit more homework. About social activities - I didn't participate cause our coursemates went to the first one and afterwards told that it was all in Italian so it held me back from future events cause there is no point for me if I don't understand anything. Maybe next year! :)
15. Jun. 2015
4. (61 years)  -  Canada
4. Intensive Low Budget - Evening course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers were excellent!
Other comments
Could use some air conditioning in classrooms.
26. May. 2015
5. (37 years)  -  Luxembourg
5. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good teachers, good organization
5. May. 2015
6. (35 years)  -  Latvia
6. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers - Roberta and Sylvia. Attitude toward students, Teaching methods, friendly atmosphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take part in after class activities
14. Apr. 2015
7. (33 years)  - 
7. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teachers, dynamism, diversity of exercises proposed. The school is very well located and offers plenty of activities outside the classroom.
Other comments
The team of teachers and the supervising team are available, welcoming, and put at ease all students. I also enjoyed being surrounded by people from the 4 corners of the world, it is extremely rewarding!
10. Nov. 2014
8. Fabian (26 years)  -  Switzerland
8. Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Other comments
the pace was too slow for me... overall I can understand, that it was not possible to go any faster
30. Sep. 2013
9. (47 years)  -  United Kingdom
9. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teaching was very good. Friendly atmosphere. Really made an effort with all students to encourage us.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make sure you get in the right class. I was put into beginners when I am A2 level. Lots of people on the first day so easy for mistakes to be made.
Other comments
Lovely location. Great cafes nearby. Teaching was excellent.
30. Sep. 2013
10. (37 years)  - 
10. Superintensive 1 (20 group + 5 individual) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
All the teachers are very friendly and help you if you have any further questions.
23. Sep. 2013
11. Lea (35 years)  -  Slovenia
11. Intensive Low Budget - Evening course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
19. May. 2012
12. (75 years)  - 
12. Intensive + 5 One-to-one - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The whole team amazed me, with their constructive, helpful, almost artistic ways !!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Participate in the very good excursions, also outside class hours.
Other comments
I will come back in April if I can find a fitting accommodation, in walking distance from the school.
5. Mar. 2012
13. (65 years)  -  Australia
13. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the enthusiasm and teaching of Silvia
22. Oct. 2011
14. Katarzyna (33 years)  -  Poland
14. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
8. Aug. 2011
15. (56 years)  -  Hungary
15. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked that we spoke only Italian outside of the classroom. I liked the teachers and the professional but relaxed work atmosphere.
19. Jul. 2011
16. (26 years)  -  Russian Federation
16. Low budget - Evening Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It was fantastic experience for me. I'm very-very thankful to the school staff, our teachers Andrea, Claudia and Simona!!! They are amazing! The best teachers I've ever met! It was an unforgettable period of my life.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Go out with the school staff every Friday evening after lessons. Speaking Italian in a bar on Campo Santa Margarita with the glass of spritz helps to improve your knowledge very fast. :-D
Other comments
Everything was great!
28. Jun. 2011
17. Nicola (42 years)  - 
17. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Other comments
There was no written placement test beforehand, just a very short conversation. So, the group (very big, up to 13 students) was not very homogeneous. Personally, I made no progress. I visited much better schools in Italy.
25. Apr. 2011
18. (58 years)  - 
18. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked the international environment. A nice groupe and friendly teachers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
In Venice everything is fine but you cannot see everything!
Other comments
I really enjoyed my week in Venice, I visited museums, churches. It was easy to go to the cinema and at concert every night
17. Nov. 2010
19. (64 years)  -  Australia
19. One-to-one - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I thought the pre-course organization was excellent and personalized. My teacher was thorough and personable.
Other comments
I had only 1-to-1 lessons, adapted from a model for a class I think. Maybe I could have homework which adressed the need for the repetition/practice I would have had in a class.
25. Oct. 2010
20. (61 years)  -  United States
20. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Being in Venice.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Roaming around the city through as many of the streets as possible; finding the non-tourist-oriented restaurants/bars.
Other comments
I had four different teachers, one very good, one good and two very disinterested in teaching (or at least that was what came across). If you do a homestay for more than 1 week make sure you find out what the homeowner defines as use of laundry facilities.
24. Sep. 2010
21. (46 years)  - 
21. Art course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good location, friendly staff, free Internet
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Tours/excursion (especially at night); a season ticket for public transport
10. Aug. 2010
22. Kathy (28 years)  - 
22. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
26. Jul. 2010
23. (23 years)  -  Russian Federation
23. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Departmental teaching, I've learned a lot. Very nice teachers, school.
Other comments
No air-conditioning. Not possible to study in 35 degree heat. The host family were two girls, who always invited their boyfriends at night. Very small room right under the roof, nearly 40 degrees at night too, very noisy street.
8. Jun. 2010
24. (50 years)  - 
24. Art course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small Groups
11. May. 2010
25. (29 years)  - 
25. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were very dynamic and helpfull.
5. Oct. 2009
26. (45 years)  - 
26. Intensive + 5 One-to-one - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
situated in a very nice quarter of Venice
Other comments
the evaluation (in which class one is placed)on the first day was strange. One got the impression that the classification depended mainly on in which level there were any free places left.
3. Aug. 2009
27. (46 years)  - 
27. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the mixture of young and older students
Other comments
too many teachers in two weeks (4 different ones in the second week)
11. Jul. 2009
28. Marianne (26 years)  - 
28. Low budget - Evening Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
24. Jun. 2009
29. (33 years)  -  Hungary
29. 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers are simply the best!!!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Never forget your map at home!
Other comments
The school, teachers, courses are fascinating! They taught me speaking and talking. I'm grateful to them for everything!
20. Apr. 2009
30. Karin (60 years)  - 
30. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Other comments
The test in the beginning of the course was not sufficent for knowing the abilities in the italian language.
14. Apr. 2009
31. (62 years)  - 
31. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
excellent teachers, friendly atmosphere, interesting activities in the afternoon
5. Dec. 2008
32. (56 years)  -  Italy
32. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The location, the teachers and the material. also learning with people from all over the world.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Study every night, it really does help.
Other comments
Having two teachers for the whole course would have been ideal.
17. Nov. 2008
33. (28 years)  - 
33. Low budget - Evening Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
nice teachers, current topics
16. Nov. 2008
34. (61 years)  - 
34. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
nice and friendly athmosphere, teachers very friendly and competent
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
beginners should get a real book, like espresso or linea diretta, it helps for basic knowledge.
Other comments
Activities concerning leisure time in the afternoons or evenings were very good. Your school is keeping the promises which other italian schools are offering but not keeping.
14. Nov. 2008
35. (24 years)  - 
35. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
students from all over the world make a very interesing class atmosphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
the sightseeing tours were always very interesting and helpful to get to know the city from a point of view that tourists don't.
Other comments
I was there for 4 weeks, so we repeated many topics many times, because there were new people arriving every week. That was a little bit tiring. But the teachers are very nice and the city is BEAUTIFUL!
23. Oct. 2008
36. (49 years)  - 
36. One-to-one course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teacher with professional skills.
Other comments
You will have a chance to enjoy a real life in Venezia.
31. Jul. 2008
37. Viviane (42 years)  - 
37. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
24. Jul. 2008
38. (56 years)  - 
38. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
well situated in a wonderful quarter of the city,; the atmoshere at the school is great, nice and good teachers
14. Jun. 2008
39.  -  Australia
39. One-to-one - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Assess your language level accurately before the course to maximise learning progress.
4. Jun. 2008
40.  -  Australia
40. One-to-one - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were excellent
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
They have free internet access
4. Jun. 2008
41. (33 years)  - 
41. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Flat
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers Arianna and Alberto were very good
21. May. 2008
42. (27 years)  - 
42. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very nice students
18. May. 2008
43. Yukiko (43 years)  - 
43. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
6. May. 2008
44. (42 years)  - 
44. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Residenza Junghans
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
walks in the afternoon
31. Mar. 2008
45. Wendy (53 years)  -  United Kingdom
45. Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
29. Mar. 2008
46. Jean (59 years)  -  United States
46. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Other comments
I enjoyed the school's city tours in the afternoon.
4. Jan. 2008
47. (40 years)  -  United States
47. Super intensive 1 (4 hours group, 1 hour one-to-one) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
location, and instructors
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
highly recommend staying with host family.
Other comments
Overall, I am very pleased with my experience at this school. They are very professional and in my experience the instructors are very good.
21. Dec. 2007
48. (31 years)  - 
48. Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
evening activities
21. Nov. 2007
49. (67 years)  -  Sweden
49. Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
good atmosphere, great teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
DonĀ“t miss a single lesson! And bring warm clothes, even in October!
Other comments
I am very pleased and will probably come back. I also left an evaluation at the school before leaving.
18. Oct. 2007
50. (47 years)  -  Australia
50. Super intensive 1 (4 hours group, 1 hour one-to-one) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
some of the teachers were very good

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Harm Jaap (46): Normally I contact language schools directly, but... more
  • Inesa (25): I think the service works really well. I have had... more
  • Piotr (35): Good service, helpful.... more
*required