X

Reviews of Accord French Language School, Paris, France

Total number of reviews: 150
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Based on 150 reviews of former students of Accord French Language School
Overall Rating
Accord French Language School, Paris, France
4.0/5.0 
City 4.8/5.0 
Organisation 4.0/5.0 
Facilities 3.6/5.0 
Social activities 3.0/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.1/5.0 
Value for money 3.6/5.0 
Accommodation
Homestay 3.9/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.8/5.0 
other 4.0/5.0 

Individual Reviews

Accord French Language School
7. Sep. 2017
1.  (33 years) - Thailand
1. Course:  Intensive Course C - 26h/week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
6. Sep. 2017
2.  (19 years) - Italy
2. Course:  Intensive Course C - 26h/week - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
22. Aug. 2017
3.  (23 years) - Japan
3. Course:  Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
15. Aug. 2017
4.   - United States
4. Course:  Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
11. Aug. 2017
5. Alexandru (8 years) - France
5. Course:  Summer Semi-Intensive Course for Kids and Teens (ages 6-12 & 13-17) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
9. Aug. 2017
6.  (76 years) - Netherlands
6. Course:  Oral Communication Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
8. Aug. 2017
7.  (20 years) - Brazil
7. Course:  Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
26. Jul. 2017
8. Ekaterina (21 years) - Russia
8. Course:  Intensive Course C - 26h/week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
19. Jul. 2017
9. Paige (22 years) - United Kingdom
9. Course:  Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
21. Jun. 2017
10. Amy (30 years) - France
10. Course:  Evening course - 10 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
12. Jun. 2017
11.  (69 years) - United States
11. Course:  Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Location is good. Staff seems friendly.
Other comments
This was my fifth year at Accord. I enjoyed the experience but feel the curriculum has not changed much. Also, the lack of electronic devices prevents a more sophisticated means of teaching.
2. Apr. 2017
12.  (58 years) - United States
12. Course:  Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Not all classes have air conditioning so it was difficult in summer.
Other comments
I liked the pedagogical system of professor Lawrence
7. Mar. 2017
13.  (22 years) - France
13. Course:  Intensive Course C - 26h/week - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Other than the fact that it is well located, I didn't like the school at all.
Other comments
This is my third experience learning French at a language school (the first was in Montreal and the second in Montpellier) and this is by far the worst. I never felt welcomed, even the first day. At the schools I'd been to before, all the teachers were very friendly and nice but not here. For me, I think that atmosphere is very important, especially when you are in a city where you know no one. The teachers I had here never bonded with the students, they just taught and didn't care about the students at all. Aside from this, I don't think there was a syllabus for the students to know what they would be learning each week and what they had missed so they can maybe study a bit more by themselves if they are put in a class that is more challenging. It felt like the teachers taught whatever they wanted. And since I had different teachers EACH week, I went to school each week and sat there feeling like I hadn't really learned anything. Lastly, the school provided no after school programs either. The ones I had been to before had activities each day - so I met a lot of people and made really good friends, but they had nothing here. Overall, I strongly advise not to choose this school, and I will never come back again.
1. Dec. 2016
14.  (47 years) - United States
14. Course:  Intensive Course B - 23h/ week - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Great location. quality of teaching.
28. Nov. 2016
15. Veronika (16 years) - 
15. Course:  Exam preparation for the DELF/DALF - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
19. Oct. 2016
16.  (24 years) - United Kingdom
16. Course:  Intensive Course B - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
High quality of teaching (Nicholas)
Other comments
One of the most valuable and fun experiences I've had.
17. Oct. 2016
17.  (64 years) - United Kingdom
17. Course:  Intensive Course B - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teaching in small groups allowed for great progress. All the teachers were fantastic.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Ask for details about the afternoon workshops before making a choice.
Other comments
It was an amazing week and I will definitely go again.
27. Sep. 2016
18.  (50 years) - 
18. Course:  Manager Program - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Alexandrine has arranged and realized the course in an excellent way. A huge compliment and thank you to Alexandrine.
16. Aug. 2016
19.  (18 years) - Italy
19. Course:  Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers, learning environment
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Be sure to be put in the right level

 

Response from school
Merci Cecilia, thank you very much for your hyper positive feedback ! It is highly motivating for us, merci !
9. Aug. 2016
20. Dietlind (56 years) - 
20. Course:  Intensive Course E - 40h/week - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress

 

Response from school
Merci Dietlind, thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your program with us, it is very precious to us !
25. Jul. 2016
21.   - 
21. Course:  Paris Saint Nicolas Program (13 - 17 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Monitors and teachers
Other comments
Everything perfect and, in particular, the attention of the contact person, Ruben de Haro.
25. Jul. 2016
22.  (40 years) - United States Minor Outlying Islands
22. Course:  Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher was so good.
18. Jul. 2016
23. María Rocío (37 years) - 
23. Course:  Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The do not place student in their right level.
30. Jun. 2016
24.  (47 years) - United Kingdom
24. Course:  Intensive Course C - 26h/week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very good atmosphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Start speaking French from the beginning!
Other comments
The quality of teaching in the first week and second week varied greatly. The first week I had Maria, a very good teacher who was very well organised and prepared. Second week I had Thierry, an extremely lazy teacher who taught sitting down and was too lazy (disinterested) to even stand up to write on the board. I learnt less because of his teaching, all the students in my group were complaining about him. He gives your school a bad name. The rest of the school was well organised and efficient but this teacher needs guidance, advice and supervision. I used to train teachers in the UK, I know bad teaching when I see it.
19. Apr. 2016
25.  (59 years) - 
25. Course:  Evening Course - General French (4 Lektionen bzw. 3 Stunden pro Woche) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher was very nice and dedicated.
Other comments
There was no school-owned teaching material and we got homework sheets only after asking repeatedly. Otherwise, we worked with monitors and pictures, according to the occasion. I am used to structured learning, so this did not appeal to me. Considering the relatively high price of the courses, I would have expected additional services, as free Tandem meetings or well-priced city tours.
14. Mar. 2016
26.  (50 years) - 
26. Course:  Intensive Course C - 26 h/week (Sonderangebot) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Qualified teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The test or classes on "examination Friday" by Laurent
Other comments
Point of criticism: except for a small writing exercise, I missed having to write texts on my own. This continues to be a major weakness in almost every modern language class.
14. Mar. 2016
27.  (31 years) - Switzerland
27. Course:  Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay with Use of Kitchen
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Quality of teaching, placement of students
27. Aug. 2015
28.  (53 years) - United States
28. Course:  Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take afternoon workshops
18. Aug. 2015
29.  (17 years) - 
29. Course:  Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay with Use of Kitchen
30. Jun. 2015
30.  (67 years) - United States
30. Course:  50 + course + Intensive Course C - 26h/week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher, Nicholas, (first week only) was wonderful and hard working.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The Senior Program is really non-existent except as introduction to other senior "fools" who want to meet others. (it's appropriate that we were placed in classes according to our ability. That is a good thing. But would happen in any school.) Only one time out of the three afternoon tours/workshops was a teacher sent on the excursion. The four Seniors were on our own and either spoke French or English without professional guidance. It was enjoyable but not for the extra price paid to improve our French conversation.
Other comments
The school out-sources the search for apartments for family stay. I had to move from one apartment due to a fire in the complex that stopped the hot water flow. But there was not going to be a family to eat with or talk with and the apartment was messy and the toilet was down a steep spiral staircase. I moved to another apartment where I was expected to wash and dry my breakfast dishes before rushing to school. When I refused on the second morning the "hostess" told me I'd have to move out. I was shocked. Then the administrator at the school showed me the paper work that never arrived on my computer where dish washing is a possibility with some family stays. My "senior" friend who signed on for home stay was having a good experience with no required dish washing. So I had bad experiences twice with no chance of speaking French at home. Went to a small hotel near the school. Noise from the narrow street below was a problem. But not bad. Convenient walking to school. I changed to a more advanced class to challenge myself and could keep up….but the teacher was inconsistent and sometimes not up to par in teaching by refusing to write on the board important language corrections---he corrected us orally.. Not good enough!
8. Jun. 2015
31. Philipp (29 years) - 
31. Course:  Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
30. Apr. 2015
32.  (56 years) - United States
32. Course:  Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The informal format
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't go in summer. No air conditioning, and cannot open windows
Other comments
The professors, M.Rodrique, M.Thiery and Frederique are fantastic.
27. Apr. 2015
33. Clemency  (16 years) - United Kingdom
33. Course:  Intensive PLUS Option (26 Group + 5 Individual) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
6. Apr. 2015
34.  (25 years) - Germany
34. Course:  Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Afternoon classes
Other comments
Avoid the period before a DELF test since the classes are really overbooked.
9. Mar. 2015
35.  (63 years) - United Kingdom
35. Course:  Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Quality of teaching, interesting classes, small class size .
Other comments
Everyone was really helpful, office staff etc. Lovely part of the city and very easy to reach by metro. Absolutely loved the course. The lessons were challenging in a good way: I made progress.
10. Feb. 2015
36.  (28 years) - United States
36. Course:  Intensive Course C - 26h/week - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Nicholas, my first teacher
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Highly recommend a mix of afternoon classes
23. Oct. 2014
37. Aleix (22 years) - 
37. Course:  Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
8. Oct. 2014
38.  (55 years) - United States
38. Course:  Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good teachers, friendly
Other comments
No air conditioning, and cannot open large windows because of the street noise. Avoid in summer.
19. Aug. 2014
39.  (36 years) - 
39. Course:  Intensive Course E - 40h/week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
15. Jul. 2014
40.  (51 years) - United States
40. Course:  Family Programme in Paris (Parent&Child: 6-17) Semi intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were helpful.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The evaluation process for language level was not very effective (especially for lower level students) and the first morning of classes wasted a significant amount of time (1.5 hours out of 3 in total) getting students placed.
Other comments
The St. Nicholas campus is convenient for families who are in Paris and want to enroll children under age 16.
5. Apr. 2014
41.  (29 years) - Singapore
41. Course:  Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Language Teacher: Valerie
Other comments
Slightly too expensive...
11. Mar. 2014
42. Oliver (30 years) - France
42. Course:  Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
30. Dec. 2013
43.  (29 years) - 
43. Course:  Intensive Course D - 29h/ week + Private classes - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
CISP residences
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
A large number of teachers, which changed every week.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Great school and the teaching staff. Communicate as much as possible in French, do not be shy.
Other comments
I loved it!
22. Oct. 2013
44. Marco (34 years) - 
44. Course:  Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
CISP residences
27. Sep. 2013
45. Daniel (34 years) - Germany
45. Course:  Intensive Course A - 20 h/ week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
3. Sep. 2013
46.  (21 years) - Slovenia
46. Course:  Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Maison des Mines Student Residence (summer only)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teacher Thierry, he was one of the best language professors I ever had.
Other comments
Great location, comprehensive courses and good teachers.
3. Sep. 2013
47.  (28 years) - Australia
47. Course:  Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week - 7 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay with Use of Kitchen
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are very helpful and welcoming. Central location easy to get to by public transport.
Other comments
Some classes had too many students. Smaller classes so some of the less confident students can feel comfortable in particpating in activities and learn more
30. Aug. 2013
48.  (35 years) - 
48. Course:  Intensive Course B - 23 h/week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Overall, the facilities.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
No outdoords activities.
17. Aug. 2013
49.  (63 years) - Brazil
49. Course:  Intensive Course B - 23 h/ week - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The possibility of speaking everyday in the class with the teacher and students.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
To make the most of every class. Pay attention to the teacher information.
Other comments
I had a great time, I enjoyed very much the teacher, the lessons, I learned a lot during the course.
16. Aug. 2013
50.  (30 years) - Australia
50. Course:  Intensive Course C - 26h/week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Variety of materials
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Do your homework and stop speaking English!

In the press:
Press mentions
Press mentions
Trusted by:
trusted by
trusted by
{$words.androidicon_alt}
+
{$words.appleicon_alt}
+
{$words.vtapptablet_alt}
+
{$words.vtappmob_alt}

Learn English with our free app

Vocabulary Trainer

+10.000.000 Downloads