X

Reviews of Atelier 9, Paris, France

Total number of reviews: 196
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Based on 196 reviews of former students of Atelier 9
Overall Rating
Atelier 9, Paris, France
4.4/5.0 
City 4.8/5.0 
Organisation 4.4/5.0 
Facilities 3.8/5.0 
Social activities 4.0/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.4/5.0 
Value for money 4.2/5.0 
Accommodation
Homestay 4.1/5.0 
Shared Flat 4.0/5.0 
other 4.2/5.0 

Individual Reviews

Atelier 9
6. Nov. 2017
1. Konrad (26 years) - Austria
101. Course:  Intensive French  - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
30. Oct. 2017
2.  (36 years) - France
102. Course:  Intensive French [French] - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
11. Oct. 2017
3.  (34 years) - United Kingdom
103. Course:  Intensive French  - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
25. Sep. 2017
4.  (61 years) - Germany
104. Course:  Intensive French  - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
13. Sep. 2017
5. Antonina (28 years) - Russia
105. Course:  Intensive French  - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
7. Sep. 2017
6.  (33 years) - Japan
106. Course:  Intensive French [Français] - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
4. Sep. 2017
7.   - Germany
107. Course:  Intensive French  - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
29. Aug. 2017
8.  (27 years) - United States
108. Course:  Intensive French  - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
29. Aug. 2017
9. Athina (40 years) - United States
109. Course:  Intensive French  - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
25. Aug. 2017
10.  (30 years) - Italy
110. Course:  Intensive French  - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
3. Aug. 2017
11.   - Sweden
111. Course:  Intensive French  - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
3. Aug. 2017
12.   - Sweden
112. Course:  Intensive French  - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
25. Jul. 2017
13.  (37 years) - Undefined
113. Course:  Intensive French  - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
19. Jun. 2017
14.  (39 years) - Japan
114. Course:  Intensive French  - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
13. Jun. 2017
15.  (24 years) - United Kingdom
115. Course:  Extensive Evening Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The staff is very professional and the quality of teaching high.
Other comments
I booked B1 class which was cancelled because of the sickness of teacher and therefore continued with B2 level which I felt was too advanced for me and then switched to A2 which felt not challenging enough. Therefore, I don't feel like I've progressed as much as I could have which is a shame, but besides that everything was very good!
7. Jun. 2017
16.  (28 years) - United Kingdom
116. Course:  Intensive French  - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Amazing teachers with small classes (1-10) for affordable rates.
Other comments
My favourite school in Paris.
6. Jun. 2017
17.  (64 years) - France
117. Course:  Semi-Intensive course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The class size was small (7-9). The teacher, Vanessa, was positive and knowledgeable.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take advantage of the workshops and develop relationships with other classmates.
Other comments
Lack of resources and no advice or resources provided to assist in learning the language after class.
27. May. 2017
18.  (30 years) - New Zealand
118. Course:  Intensive French  - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The classes were a nice size and my teacher was great!
24. Apr. 2017
19.  (25 years) - Dominican Republic
119. Course:  Intensive French  - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school is excellent! The classroom are for small groups. Every member can participate and the language immersion is fantastic.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Since the teacher won't explain anything in your native language, I recommend that you study the basics a little, like colors, salutations, and how to ask really basic questions. The teachers are really intuitive so they will help you with anything you will need and even do mimics to explain anything. In very specific occasion they will explain something in English or say a meaning.
Other comments
It's a wonderful school. I loved pedagogic style and rhythm of the class.
11. Apr. 2017
20.  (26 years) - France
120. Course:  Semi-Intensive course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher is really nice. And the time was good for me as well. Use a lot of different methods for learning. C'est bien!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you can attend the semi-intensive or intensive class, it will be better.
10. Apr. 2017
21.  (62 years) - Canada
121. Course:  Intensive French  - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers, especially Vanessa - very lively, expressive clear and organized. Also the class size, activities and ambiance.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You must speak French at all times in the class.
Other comments
Cosy, small classes. Lots of conversational French. Interesting/engaging range of instructional activities.
20. Mar. 2017
22.  (67 years) - 
122. Course:  Intensive French  - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The open teaching, the versatile skills and knowledge of teachers, uncomplicated handling
Other comments
I would like to visit again French classes in Atelier 9.
13. Mar. 2017
23.  (25 years) - France
123. Course:  Semi-Intensive course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school is small and really nice.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It depends what teacher you get. My experience with Vanessa and Erika were fantastic and I think I learned a lot.
Other comments
When I returned to Paris to take another month at Atelier 9 in February, they had a new teacher for our class. The first week was not good. He was late the first day. He did not explain things well and seemed to have no prepared plan. As a class we complained to the school within the first week, but nothing happened. Everyone agreed that the first week had been a bit of a waste. I had already payed for 4 weeks though so I stuck it out. Our new teacher did improve some but was nowhere near as good as the other teachers I had had at Atelier 9. I just felt like the school should have prepared him more. The school is too expensive to have even one week where you feel you don't learn much.
27. Feb. 2017
24.  (26 years) - Australia
124. Course:  Intensive French  - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Erica was an amazing teacher.
22. Feb. 2017
25.  (36 years) - 
125. Course:  Intensive French  - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The casual atmosphere of the class. Homework given every day. As there were very few Japanese students, the teaching speed is much faster than in the French language schools in Japan. As I should understand everything in French, I notice that this stay is meaningful to me.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Due to the faster teaching speed and only-French teaching method (without explaining in English), it is difficult to understand the grammars in details. Even if you are a beginner, I recommend you to look through a basic grammar book in advance.
Other comments
Polite communication.
16. Jan. 2017
26.  (17 years) - Bolivia
126. Course:  Intensive French  - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The place makes me feel comfortable, and this makes it easier for me to speak French and meet other people.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Try to practice the language you are learning as much as you can, even if everyone in your class speaks English. You are in Paris, you should speak French. And don't miss any of the ateliers in the afternoon! They are amazing!
Other comments
Great service and organization. Good teachers and the guided visits with Antoine are over the top.
9. Jan. 2017
27. Maria (29 years) - 
127. Course:  Intensive French  - 7 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
22. Dec. 2016
28.  (69 years) - Norway
128. Course:  Intensive French  - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
A relatively compact place, easy access to external services (although somewhat difficult to find and select shops).
Other comments
I could have used more emphasis on oral communication, and the number of requested individual sessions was not reached (two of four lectures).
19. Dec. 2016
29.  (25 years) - Canada
129. Course:  Intensive French  - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I thought the teaching was great.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
None that come to mind.
19. Dec. 2016
30.  (19 years) - 
130. Course:  Intensive French  - 10 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The mixture of a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and very competent teachers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The guided tour through town by Antoine on a particular topic, which takes place once a month.
Other comments
I can only recommend Atelier 9!
18. Nov. 2016
31. Anastasia (25 years) - 
131. Course:  Intensive French  - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
14. Nov. 2016
32. Cherry (26 years) - Canada
132. Course:  Extensive Evening Course - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
7. Nov. 2016
33.  (24 years) - Croatia
133. Course:  Intensive French  - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked my professor (Lauren), she was really good as teacher and as a person, which made my class more interesting. And I like the tempo at which we learned new stuff because, in my opinion it was not too fast and not too slow.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't miss any classes, because it's important today what you have learned yesterday.
31. Oct. 2016
34.   - United States
134. Course:  Intensive French  - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Loved the course! So much fun and I learned a lot. Fatiha is very nice and helpful. The class size is small enough to let everyone practice a lot in class. It's my first experience with learning a language in it's own language from the beginning. I have to say it's more efficient.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't be afraid to go to the beginners class if you speak zero French, but I have to say English definitely helps, because as a beginner student, most of the students communicate and discuss questions in English after class.
Other comments
The young lady in accommodation is very nice and we became friends.
11. Oct. 2016
35.  (38 years) - Japan
135. Course:  Intensive course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good atmosphere in the class and easy to learn with many kinds of exercises and activities.
2. Oct. 2016
36.  (64 years) - 
136. Course:  Intensive French  - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teacher (enthusiastic), students (serious , eager to study and motivated), activities organised by the school
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The quality of facilities in the school is not high enough comparing with other language schools. However, the quality of the course is satisfactory.
Other comments
As I requested a last-minute booking on Friday of the previous week, I couldn't take a level check test. Therefore, I was assigned to a class of higher level than my actual level. I had very tough time during the course.
27. Sep. 2016
37.  (18 years) - 
137. Course:  Intensive French  - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Lorraine is an incredibly good teacher! In addition, the atmosphere at the school/in the class is very pleasant.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Everything is organised in a way, so that everybody has access to all the options (excursions, good teaching, etc.). Take advantage of all the offers.
Other comments
I rarely visited such a pleasant and good school.
7. Sep. 2016
38.  (53 years) - 
138. Course:  Intensive French  - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
5. Sep. 2016
39.  (25 years) - France
139. Course:  Extensive Evening Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teacher is awesome
15. Aug. 2016
40.  (16 years) - United States
140. Course:  Intensive French  - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Hadrian, the teacher, is really really good
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The most important part about learning a language is understanding enough to teach yourself, and being able to think in that language
Other comments
It takes about 3 to 4 weeks to think in that language without too many problems.
13. Aug. 2016
41.  (71 years) - United States
141. Course:  Intensive course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small school, friendly environment. Great teacher.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take advantage of the extra-curricular activities offered by the school.
Other comments
Hadrian is the most patient and kind teacher. A great asset to your school.
30. Jul. 2016
42.  (69 years) - United States
142. Course:  Intensive French  - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My instructor, Morgane.
Other comments
Everyone is very pleasant and helpful...
30. Jul. 2016
43.  (25 years) - Saint Kitts And Nevis
143. Course:  Intensive French  - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked that it was small, at first. But, then the class got quite a bit larger. In some ways I wish that it had been a bit more structured, although I did like that we focused a lot on speaking.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Try to see what size class you'll be in. I think the smaller the better.
Other comments
The staff and teachers were all really lovely and helpful. I really liked my teacher, Fatia.
6. Jul. 2016
44.  (60 years) - United States
144. Course:  Intensive French  - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers are fantastic, very smart, dedicated and hard-working. Location in the heart of Paris is perfect. Homey atmosphere of school--everybody felt welcome.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I think there should be have been more opportunities for working on pronunciation. French is hard to pronounce and inevitably foreigners have an accent, but everybody wanted to improve. Vanessa (not my teacher) gave an excellent "extra" class and I think this kind of work should be integrated for half an hour at the beginning of each class. Also, recommendations of CDs for the same should be provided at the beginning of each week. OR, CDs should be provided for work at school or at home.
Other comments
I found it a very welcoming place for students of all backgrounds. I think teachers should insist on student speaking French. I think our teacher gained confidence about that issue, but students should sign an affidavit saying they will not resort to English. They do in Canada and it made me very cross that certain students resorted to English constantly in the class. I came to learn French!! Loved it!!!! If I could have stayed longer, I would have done so. I think linking lessons to real-life opportunities would have been optimal, although I recognize this is hard to do.
23. May. 2016
45.  (33 years) - 
145. Course:  Intensive French  - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
22. Mar. 2016
46. Emil (31 years) - Switzerland
146. Course:  Semi Intensive French  - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
22. Mar. 2016
47.  (72 years) - United States
147. Course:  Intensive French  - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The casual atmosphere, kitchen facilities available for student use, free coffee and tea during breaks. The cameraderie among the students. The high quality of teaching.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Buy the weekly or monthly Navigo pass for ease of travel with metro, buses & RER train. It can even be used for travel to and from airports.
Other comments
You learn a lot in a short time. They need to fix the floor in the front of their largest classroom. I kept twisting my ankle slightly when I walked to and from my seat.
26. Jan. 2016
48.  (42 years) - Australia
148. Course:  Semi Intensive French 10 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Great location, friendly, good facilities.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The tour to the Ile-de-la-Cité is amazing!
Other comments
Excellent. Stephanie was really great!
26. Mar. 2012
49.  (27 years) - 
149. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The relaxed atmosphere and the teachers' availability.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Paris is really cold in winter!
Other comments
Excellent value for money!
20. Mar. 2012
50.  (22 years) - Japan
150. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teaching. My teacher was easy to understand.
Other comments
A classroom atmosphere was so nice.
1. Mar. 2012
51.  (27 years) - Italy
151. Course:  Evening Extensive Course - 6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Nice environment, good lessons
20. Feb. 2012
52.  (33 years) - 
152. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The familiar atmosphere, everyone's kindness, excellent competence of our teacher.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
In this school you may find excellent teachers but also you will feel completely comfortable.
Other comments
Excellent workshops after morning lessons. Excellent relation with teachers. I will recommend it for sure.
26. Dec. 2011
53.  (53 years) - Japan
153. Course:  Intensive Course - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small classes, individual attention, quality of students, teachers, and ateliers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't miss the ateliers and the walking tours!
Other comments
It has a very congenial atmosphere and attracting mature students who are often professionals serious about their language studies.
26. Dec. 2011
54.  (32 years) - 
154. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teaching was fantastic, engaging and practical. The school and the staff were helpful and the atmosphere was relaxed.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Do the activities, especially the Paris tour.
Other comments
It was a wonderful place to become reacquainted with the language after decades of not studying!
16. Dec. 2011
55.  (21 years) - Spain
155. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It is a small school so you get personal treatment. It is not like the other language schools, that are overcrowded. they offer a lot of social activities and workshops at no extra cost. There is also a welcome meal. The accommodation (studio) is cosy and though it is small, it is well equipped. The schools is central. I would go back.
Other comments
The only negative thing I saw is the level test because I honestly believe I should have been place at a higher level.
5. Dec. 2011
56.  (28 years) - Canada
156. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly. Easy to meet people
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make sure you check how far away your accomodations are. My homestay was very far away and the métro was a horror.
Other comments
It was nice school to go to as a tourist in Paris but I wasnt impressed overall with what I learned.
28. Nov. 2011
57. Megumi (25 years) - Japan
157. Course:  Intensive Course - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
31. Oct. 2011
58.  (26 years) - France
158. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everything
27. Sep. 2011
59.  (32 years) - United Kingdom
159. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very accommodating - even for only one week attendance. Appropriate level - teacher tailored well to individuals with class. Great extra activities and all staff clearly care about the work!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Great teachers. Take advantage of the free additional activities.
22. Sep. 2011
60.  (21 years) - Russian Federation
160. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school is very nicely situated, very good teachers except one... The director of the school is very pleasant.
9. Sep. 2011
61. Gregory (28 years) - 
161. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
3. Sep. 2011
62.  (25 years) - Spain
162. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It is well situated. Teachers are nice and groups are not big (I just had one week in august: 11 people). They offer extra activities, such as touristic visits, French pronunciation, theatre in French,... You can drink free coffee and tea.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You are suposed to have 4 hours of lessons (9:00-13:00), but there is a half hour break, so you just have 3:30 hours of lessons. Some of the chairs are not very comfortable.
Other comments
I enjoyed the three-week course I followed.
16. Aug. 2011
63.  (21 years) - Netherlands
163. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Open atmosphere and good teachers, especially Vanessa, she's great!
9. Aug. 2011
64.  (52 years) - 
164. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Informality and the good chemistry of the group.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
That have been money well spent.
1. Aug. 2011
65.  (29 years) - United States
165. Course:  Intensive Course - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The professors at this school are absolutely outstanding.
24. Jul. 2011
66. Adele (27 years) - 
166. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
19. Jul. 2011
67.  (55 years) - United States
167. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The instruction went quickly and we were able to learn a lot in a short time.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Check out the velo (bicycle) rental early which will enable you to get around Paris conveniently.
27. Jun. 2011
68.  (38 years) - Australia
168. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Well organised and very friendly staff. The small class size was also fantastic as was the price.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Joining in the extra curricula activities is a great way to see the city for less money and hassle than organising yourself.
Other comments
Hadrien was a great teacher and I thought the course was really well laid out. I've already recommended the school to two other people.
31. May. 2011
69. Maria Carmen (37 years) - Spain
169. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
23. May. 2011
70.  (52 years) - Spain
170. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The familiar and friendly atmosphere (warm welcome and contact with other students)
Other comments
I would have liked to focus a bit more on French phonetics.
13. May. 2011
71.  (36 years) - United Kingdom
171. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
We had a fantastic time and I cannot recommend the school enough. Even though we were only able to stay a week, we both really felt that that our French improved enormously. The school was friendly and welcoming, the teacher was excellent and we got on well with the other students. We went to a free lesson on French music and a wine and cheese tasting (which we paid for) both organized by the school and both excellent. We learnt loads about wine tasting and about Jonny Hallyday.
Other comments
The host family stay was also very good. The house was comfortable, our host was friendly and helpful and it was very good value for money. It wasn't quite what we expected as we thought we'd get to spend more time with the host when in fact we mostly ate our meals on our own. But for two evenings we joined our host and her friends for dinner parties and the food was fantastic and it was great to get a genuine opportunity to practice our French.
18. Apr. 2011
72.  (63 years) - United States
172. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Informality, friendly, accommodating, EXACTLY what I was looking for.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take advantage of the social events; connect with your fellow students to maximize the experience.
Other comments
Overall outstanding. I would recommend Atelier 9 to anyone!
11. Apr. 2011
73. Carola (21 years) - 
173. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
29. Mar. 2011
74.  (27 years) - 
174. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teaching, the organization.
14. Mar. 2011
75. Matvey (25 years) - Germany
175. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
7. Mar. 2011
76.  (35 years) - 
176. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Beautiful environment, students from all around the world.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
if you leave on Sunday you will have to pay 52 euro extra, like me ... :)
Other comments
good, the balance is positive, I plan to repeat the experience in 2012 for a month
26. Feb. 2011
77.  (23 years) - 
177. Course:  Intensive Course - 6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Cultural workshops and guided tours proposed by the school
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Parc des Buttes Chaumont
22. Feb. 2011
78.  (40 years) - 
178. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Informal and welcoming environment. Punctual and precise teachers, without wasting of time. Satisfying quality (and quantity) of supplementary activities, although it was low season. Excellent tour.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The environment is informal and welcoming, even if the welcome is not very warm. The spaces are a bit narrow (we are in Paris!). Classes begin and end on time. The location is in the heart of a beautiful neighborhood (the ninth) which is easy to reach and from where you can leave for exploring on foot. During lunch breaks do not miss the chance to be closed to the legendary Chartier!
Other comments
Overall I'm satisfied and I would come back. However to improve the students' experience I would focus on a higher contact between the school(teacher / secretary) and the students, and on a better offer and promotion of materials (handouts, library, dvd ...).
17. Jan. 2011
79. Anne (21 years) - 
179. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
28. Dec. 2010
80. Francesca Maria (23 years) - 
180. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
21. Dec. 2010
81.  (27 years) - Hungary
181. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
We were only 9 in the group. Nice teachers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I really liked the free guided tour the school organized. If you have the possibility, try that! It is not every week :-(
Other comments
There is no library in the school to read French books for students or videos in French... in the other school, where I was last year, there was a small library for students and it was very useful.
6. Dec. 2010
82.  (27 years) - 
182. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teaching method
Other comments
Small classes, fast learning progress, you can contribute your own ideas, ambitious teachers
19. Nov. 2010
83.  (35 years) - Australia
183. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly atmosphere, good mix of students of different ages and cultures, dvd library, class size of 9 people means there is lots of opportunity to speak. Good mix of grammar and practical French.
Other comments
The workshops in the afternoon are good, however they offer the same 3-4 workshops every month, which is a bit repetitive if you are studying for longer than 4 weeks. We had the same teacher everyday for 6 weeks, it would be beneficial to have a different teacher for part of the day or month. All the teachers are great, but different teachers help create a different class dynamic, learning experience and make it a lot more fun! I would also like to see more use of props, to add more variety to the day!
16. Nov. 2010
84.  (52 years) - Lithuania
184. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Excellent teachers, a very good teaching program. Everyone was involved. Even though I preferred walking to and from the courses, the school is close to the subway, also close to a supermarket - "Supermarche G20".
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
When selecting "staying with a host family", I checked the options "no children", "no pets" and "no smoking" and as the result I stayed with a very nice host with no pets and no children. One girl of our group, however, had to put up with an annoying child, probably because she didn't select "no children" option.
9. Nov. 2010
85.  (47 years) - 
185. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Nice and competent teachers, atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Unfortunately, I could not participate in the social activities because I was in Paris for two weeks right during the change of rotation. All activities took place before or after.
26. Oct. 2010
86.  (32 years) - 
186. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
5. Oct. 2010
87.  (21 years) - 
187. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Nice people and good teaching.
28. Sep. 2010
88.  (20 years) - 
188. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly relaxed atmosphere. Flexible fun classes. A really international group of students. Vanessa was a fantastic teacher. A lot of emphasis on speaking spontaneously.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Stay for a month so you can have a go at all the free activities, which really help practice your French. Meetup website is a really good way to meet people to practice your French with. Free English tea and coffee! Free use of their computer with internet or their wifi.
Other comments
Some people in my class had tried other language schools in Paris first and then moved to Atelier 9 because it was so much better.
21. Sep. 2010
89.  (32 years) - Greece
189. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very creative teachers.
20. Sep. 2010
90. Mónika (37 years) - Hungary
190. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
8. Sep. 2010
91.  (38 years) - Switzerland
191. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The professional teachers and warm atmosphere in general. Nice classrooms!
8. Sep. 2010
92.  (19 years) - 
192. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The environment
7. Sep. 2010
93. Mei Ki (33 years) - France
193. Course:  Evening Extensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
6. Sep. 2010
94.  (30 years) - Canada
194. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher Celine was excellent! She explains things very well and is also very patient with us. Also, free coffee and tea is great.
Other comments
Wish I had a chance to do some of the cultural activities, but will have to save that for next time.
1. Sep. 2010
95.  (23 years) - 
195. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Focus on speaking. Great friendly teachers, and lots of other interesting students to talk to.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Go to the guided tours in the countryside outside of Paris!
1. Sep. 2010
96. Ambra (32 years) - 
196. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
28. Aug. 2010
97.  (44 years) - 
197. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Quality teaching,relaxed atmostphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I've heard that the accommodations provided by the school are not so good.
23. Aug. 2010
98.  (22 years) - Australia
198. Course:  Intensive Course - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small and intimate environment. Stephanie organised everything quite well.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make sure you borrow the DVDs which are free.
Other comments
The school enrolled 10 students in a few classes when their stated maximum was 9.
12. Aug. 2010
99.  (22 years) - 
199. Course:  Summer Course - morning - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The availability of teachers, the location of the school, the opportunity to meet other students.
12. Aug. 2010
100.  (54 years) - 
200. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher, Celina, was lovely and very competent. Stephanie, the director was also very approachable, friendly and helpful. The atmosphere at the school is very amicable. Most of all, I liked it that the emphasis was on speaking French!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you would like to be more confident in speaking French - this is the place. Also, the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly - more like a free school or Steiner school.
Other comments
I loved every day of my course: small classes, lovely environment, excellent teaching, friendly teachers.

In the press:
Press mentions
Press mentions
Trusted by:
trusted by
trusted by