X

Reviews of Atelier 9, Paris, France - Page 2

Total number of reviews: 192
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Based on 192 reviews of former students of Atelier 9
Overall Rating
Atelier 9, Paris, France
4.4/5.0 
City 4.8/5.0 
Organisation 4.4/5.0 
Facilities 3.8/5.0 
Social activities 4.0/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.4/5.0 
Value for money 4.2/5.0 
Accommodation
Homestay 4.1/5.0 
Shared Flat 4.0/5.0 
other 4.2/5.0 

Individual Reviews

Atelier 9
16. Dec. 2011
51.  (21 years) - Spain
51. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It is a small school so you get personal treatment. It is not like the other language schools, that are overcrowded. they offer a lot of social activities and workshops at no extra cost. There is also a welcome meal. The accommodation (studio) is cosy and though it is small, it is well equipped. The schools is central. I would go back.
Other comments
The only negative thing I saw is the level test because I honestly believe I should have been place at a higher level.
5. Dec. 2011
52.  (28 years) - Canada
52. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly. Easy to meet people
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make sure you check how far away your accomodations are. My homestay was very far away and the métro was a horror.
Other comments
It was nice school to go to as a tourist in Paris but I wasnt impressed overall with what I learned.
28. Nov. 2011
53. Megumi (25 years) - Japan
53. Course:  Intensive Course - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
31. Oct. 2011
54.  (26 years) - France
54. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everything
27. Sep. 2011
55.  (32 years) - United Kingdom
55. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very accommodating - even for only one week attendance. Appropriate level - teacher tailored well to individuals with class. Great extra activities and all staff clearly care about the work!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Great teachers. Take advantage of the free additional activities.
22. Sep. 2011
56.  (21 years) - Russian Federation
56. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school is very nicely situated, very good teachers except one... The director of the school is very pleasant.
9. Sep. 2011
57. Gregory (28 years) - 
57. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
3. Sep. 2011
58.  (25 years) - Spain
58. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It is well situated. Teachers are nice and groups are not big (I just had one week in august: 11 people). They offer extra activities, such as touristic visits, French pronunciation, theatre in French,... You can drink free coffee and tea.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You are suposed to have 4 hours of lessons (9:00-13:00), but there is a half hour break, so you just have 3:30 hours of lessons. Some of the chairs are not very comfortable.
Other comments
I enjoyed the three-week course I followed.
16. Aug. 2011
59.  (21 years) - Netherlands
59. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Open atmosphere and good teachers, especially Vanessa, she's great!
9. Aug. 2011
60.  (52 years) - 
60. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Informality and the good chemistry of the group.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
That have been money well spent.
1. Aug. 2011
61.  (29 years) - United States
61. Course:  Intensive Course - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The professors at this school are absolutely outstanding.
24. Jul. 2011
62. Adele (27 years) - 
62. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
19. Jul. 2011
63.  (55 years) - United States
63. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The instruction went quickly and we were able to learn a lot in a short time.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Check out the velo (bicycle) rental early which will enable you to get around Paris conveniently.
27. Jun. 2011
64.  (38 years) - Australia
64. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Well organised and very friendly staff. The small class size was also fantastic as was the price.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Joining in the extra curricula activities is a great way to see the city for less money and hassle than organising yourself.
Other comments
Hadrien was a great teacher and I thought the course was really well laid out. I've already recommended the school to two other people.
31. May. 2011
65. Maria Carmen (37 years) - Spain
65. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
23. May. 2011
66.  (52 years) - Spain
66. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The familiar and friendly atmosphere (warm welcome and contact with other students)
Other comments
I would have liked to focus a bit more on French phonetics.
13. May. 2011
67.  (36 years) - United Kingdom
67. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
We had a fantastic time and I cannot recommend the school enough. Even though we were only able to stay a week, we both really felt that that our French improved enormously. The school was friendly and welcoming, the teacher was excellent and we got on well with the other students. We went to a free lesson on French music and a wine and cheese tasting (which we paid for) both organized by the school and both excellent. We learnt loads about wine tasting and about Jonny Hallyday.
Other comments
The host family stay was also very good. The house was comfortable, our host was friendly and helpful and it was very good value for money. It wasn't quite what we expected as we thought we'd get to spend more time with the host when in fact we mostly ate our meals on our own. But for two evenings we joined our host and her friends for dinner parties and the food was fantastic and it was great to get a genuine opportunity to practice our French.
18. Apr. 2011
68.  (63 years) - United States
68. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Informality, friendly, accommodating, EXACTLY what I was looking for.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take advantage of the social events; connect with your fellow students to maximize the experience.
Other comments
Overall outstanding. I would recommend Atelier 9 to anyone!
11. Apr. 2011
69. Carola (21 years) - 
69. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
29. Mar. 2011
70.  (27 years) - 
70. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teaching, the organization.
14. Mar. 2011
71. Matvey (25 years) - Germany
71. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
7. Mar. 2011
72.  (35 years) - 
72. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Beautiful environment, students from all around the world.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
if you leave on Sunday you will have to pay 52 euro extra, like me ... :)
Other comments
good, the balance is positive, I plan to repeat the experience in 2012 for a month
26. Feb. 2011
73.  (23 years) - 
73. Course:  Intensive Course - 6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Cultural workshops and guided tours proposed by the school
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Parc des Buttes Chaumont
22. Feb. 2011
74.  (40 years) - 
74. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Informal and welcoming environment. Punctual and precise teachers, without wasting of time. Satisfying quality (and quantity) of supplementary activities, although it was low season. Excellent tour.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The environment is informal and welcoming, even if the welcome is not very warm. The spaces are a bit narrow (we are in Paris!). Classes begin and end on time. The location is in the heart of a beautiful neighborhood (the ninth) which is easy to reach and from where you can leave for exploring on foot. During lunch breaks do not miss the chance to be closed to the legendary Chartier!
Other comments
Overall I'm satisfied and I would come back. However to improve the students' experience I would focus on a higher contact between the school(teacher / secretary) and the students, and on a better offer and promotion of materials (handouts, library, dvd ...).
17. Jan. 2011
75. Anne (21 years) - 
75. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
28. Dec. 2010
76. Francesca Maria (23 years) - 
76. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
21. Dec. 2010
77.  (27 years) - Hungary
77. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
We were only 9 in the group. Nice teachers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I really liked the free guided tour the school organized. If you have the possibility, try that! It is not every week :-(
Other comments
There is no library in the school to read French books for students or videos in French... in the other school, where I was last year, there was a small library for students and it was very useful.
6. Dec. 2010
78.  (27 years) - 
78. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teaching method
Other comments
Small classes, fast learning progress, you can contribute your own ideas, ambitious teachers
19. Nov. 2010
79.  (35 years) - Australia
79. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly atmosphere, good mix of students of different ages and cultures, dvd library, class size of 9 people means there is lots of opportunity to speak. Good mix of grammar and practical French.
Other comments
The workshops in the afternoon are good, however they offer the same 3-4 workshops every month, which is a bit repetitive if you are studying for longer than 4 weeks. We had the same teacher everyday for 6 weeks, it would be beneficial to have a different teacher for part of the day or month. All the teachers are great, but different teachers help create a different class dynamic, learning experience and make it a lot more fun! I would also like to see more use of props, to add more variety to the day!
16. Nov. 2010
80.  (52 years) - Lithuania
80. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Excellent teachers, a very good teaching program. Everyone was involved. Even though I preferred walking to and from the courses, the school is close to the subway, also close to a supermarket - "Supermarche G20".
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
When selecting "staying with a host family", I checked the options "no children", "no pets" and "no smoking" and as the result I stayed with a very nice host with no pets and no children. One girl of our group, however, had to put up with an annoying child, probably because she didn't select "no children" option.
9. Nov. 2010
81.  (47 years) - 
81. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Nice and competent teachers, atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Unfortunately, I could not participate in the social activities because I was in Paris for two weeks right during the change of rotation. All activities took place before or after.
26. Oct. 2010
82.  (32 years) - 
82. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
5. Oct. 2010
83.  (21 years) - 
83. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Nice people and good teaching.
28. Sep. 2010
84.  (20 years) - 
84. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly relaxed atmosphere. Flexible fun classes. A really international group of students. Vanessa was a fantastic teacher. A lot of emphasis on speaking spontaneously.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Stay for a month so you can have a go at all the free activities, which really help practice your French. Meetup website is a really good way to meet people to practice your French with. Free English tea and coffee! Free use of their computer with internet or their wifi.
Other comments
Some people in my class had tried other language schools in Paris first and then moved to Atelier 9 because it was so much better.
21. Sep. 2010
85.  (32 years) - Greece
85. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very creative teachers.
20. Sep. 2010
86. Mónika (37 years) - Hungary
86. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
8. Sep. 2010
87.  (38 years) - Switzerland
87. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The professional teachers and warm atmosphere in general. Nice classrooms!
8. Sep. 2010
88.  (19 years) - 
88. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The environment
7. Sep. 2010
89. Mei Ki (33 years) - France
89. Course:  Evening Extensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
6. Sep. 2010
90.  (30 years) - Canada
90. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher Celine was excellent! She explains things very well and is also very patient with us. Also, free coffee and tea is great.
Other comments
Wish I had a chance to do some of the cultural activities, but will have to save that for next time.
1. Sep. 2010
91.  (23 years) - 
91. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Focus on speaking. Great friendly teachers, and lots of other interesting students to talk to.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Go to the guided tours in the countryside outside of Paris!
1. Sep. 2010
92. Ambra (32 years) - 
92. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
28. Aug. 2010
93.  (44 years) - 
93. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Quality teaching,relaxed atmostphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I've heard that the accommodations provided by the school are not so good.
23. Aug. 2010
94.  (22 years) - Australia
94. Course:  Intensive Course - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small and intimate environment. Stephanie organised everything quite well.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make sure you borrow the DVDs which are free.
Other comments
The school enrolled 10 students in a few classes when their stated maximum was 9.
12. Aug. 2010
95.  (22 years) - 
95. Course:  Summer Course - morning - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The availability of teachers, the location of the school, the opportunity to meet other students.
12. Aug. 2010
96.  (54 years) - 
96. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher, Celina, was lovely and very competent. Stephanie, the director was also very approachable, friendly and helpful. The atmosphere at the school is very amicable. Most of all, I liked it that the emphasis was on speaking French!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you would like to be more confident in speaking French - this is the place. Also, the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly - more like a free school or Steiner school.
Other comments
I loved every day of my course: small classes, lovely environment, excellent teaching, friendly teachers.
3. Aug. 2010
97.  (51 years) - 
97. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The atmostphere, the teachers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The groups are small in number
28. Jun. 2010
98.  (42 years) - United States
98. Course:  Evening Extensive Course - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The relaxed atmosphere combined with an intense learning program.
21. Jun. 2010
99.  (20 years) - Sweden
99. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were great and very patient.I really like their way of teaching. I had Vanessa and Lucie- Great teachers! Small classes is a big +.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The parisian parks, lovely!
7. Jun. 2010
100.  (33 years) - Canada
100. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school was very welcoming to students.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Participate in the free workshops!!

In the press:
Press mentions
Press mentions
Trusted by:
trusted by
trusted by
{$words.androidicon_alt}
+
{$words.appleicon_alt}
+
{$words.vtapptablet_alt}
+
{$words.vtappmob_alt}

Learn English with our free app

Vocabulary Trainer

+10.000.000 Downloads