X

Reviews of CIEL, Brest, France

Total number of reviews: 16
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews of former students of CIEL
Overall Rating(
CIEL, Brest, France
4.2/5.0 
City 3.8/5.0 
Organisation 4.1/5.0 
Facilities 3.8/5.0 
Social activities 3.1/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.3/5.0 
Value for money 3.7/5.0 
Accommodation
Homestay 4.2/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.0/5.0 
other 4.0/5.0 

Individual Reviews

CIEL
15. Sep. 2007
1. Vicente (63 years) - 
101. Course:  Semi-Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
28. Jul. 2007
2.  (25 years) - 
102. Course:  Semi-Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
meeting people from all over the world
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
to go and see the countryside
Other comments
very well organised and friendly
22. Jul. 2007
3. Tasuku (24 years) - 
103. Course:  Semi-Intensive - 15 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
4. Jan. 2007
4. Rebekah (27 years) - United States
104. Course:  Standard (20 hours per week) - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
12. Aug. 2006
5.  (24 years) - Poland
105. Course:  Semi - intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
people from other countries and my - teacher, she was fantastic!!
Other comments
great school and location of the school, teacher were very good and open with everyone, very helpful - just come to CIEL!! (you won't regret this)
6. Jul. 2006
6.  (19 years) - Ireland
106. Course:  Semi - intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Setting
16. May. 2006
7.  (46 years) - 
107. Course:  Semi - intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
19. Dec. 2005
8.   - 
108. Course:  Intensive (25 h) + Semi - intensive (20 h) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
19. Dec. 2005
9. Adriano  - 
109. Course:  Semi - intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
16. May. 2005
10. Anonymous (13 years) - 
110. Course:  One-to-One

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
22. Mar. 2005
11.  (27 years) - 
111. Course:  General Course

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
nice teachers, nice location, though far from the city centre of Brest.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I stayed in the university halls - if you want to talk a lot, you better stay in host families! Brest is ugly, but the surrounding countryside is great. Go to St. Anne
Other comments
The library was actually quite good, I rated equipment average because the computers with internet access were never working and nobody cared! Leisure activities organized by the school were sadly non-existent (therefore bad rating!), We had a great teacher both in the course and the individual classes. In total, I liked the school. Although there were some drawbacks, teachers, classes and other people on the course were nice - and that´s what counts!
9. Jul. 2004
12.   - Grossbritannien

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the energy and enthusiasm of some of the teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Hire a car and see the countryside around. Organize your own social activities, we did and we had a great group of students hanging out together.
Other comments
Has real potential to be a good school, but let itself down in a big number of ways. First of all, the lack of social activities means little interaction between classes and little chance to practice the skills we learnt in class in a social environment. Fortunately we managed to do this for ourselves, but it would have been better if the school had done more. Second of all, some of the teachers were fantastic, but sadly not the majority. The few worked with enthusiasm and seemed to actually enjoy teaching the students. Third of all, I applied to follow a course that would lead me to the DELF examination, however this course was not offered and I ended up in general courses with students not wishing to pass this examination. There was not sufficient material in the general course to allow a comfortable attempt at the DELF examination. I am unaware at this point whether or not I have passed or failed, but I would certainly feel more confident if I had received more training in certain areas central to the DELF exam, in particular the letter writing.
23. Oct. 2003
13. Anonymous  - 
113. Course:  General Course

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
26. Jun. 2003
14.  (43 years) - Ukraine-habite En France
114. Course:  General Course

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
26. Jun. 2003
15. Anonymous (58 years) - England, Habite En France

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
12. May. 2003
16.  (21 years) - Deutschland
116. Course:  General Course

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress

In the press:
Press mentions
Press mentions
Trusted by:
trusted by
trusted by