X

Reviews of Colegio de España, Salamanca, Spain - Page 2

Total number of reviews: 184
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Based on 184 reviews of former students of Colegio de España
Overall Rating
Colegio de España, Salamanca, Spain
4.4/5.0 
City 4.7/5.0 
Organisation 4.2/5.0 
Facilities 3.4/5.0 
Social activities 3.7/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.5/5.0 
Value for money 4.4/5.0 
Accommodation
Homestay 4.0/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.9/5.0 
other 4.0/5.0 

Individual Reviews

Colegio de España
19. Apr. 2010
51. Natalia (48 years) - Russian Federation
51. Course:  Easter Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
To improve your language skills, one needs to come for at least 3 weeks.
Other comments
The flat I lived in has a perfect location, very close to school BUT the schedule of a time when the heating system was ON was very strange, only 6-8 pm while the outside temperature in the morning was about 0 Degree... All the time I felt terribly cold.
22. Feb. 2010
52.  (16 years) - 
52. Course:  Standard - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers
Other comments
Very nice school and city, but perhaps better in summer because there are more people, I think...
1. Feb. 2010
53. Caroline (23 years) - 
53. Course:  Standard - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
23. Nov. 2009
54.  (28 years) - United Kingdom
54. Course:  Standard + Preparation for D.E.L.E. - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
good teachers
12. Oct. 2009
55.  (29 years) - 
55. Course:  Special Intensive - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The best period is october until may
9. Oct. 2009
56. Aad (60 years) - 
56. Course:  Standard - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
5. Oct. 2009
57.  (56 years) - 
57. Course:  Standard - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of courses and staff
29. Sep. 2009
58.  (39 years) - 
58. Course:  Special Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teachers were really good
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
don't miss the different sites to see
26. Sep. 2009
59. Nadine (25 years) - 
59. Course:  Standard - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
6. Aug. 2009
60. Christoph (22 years) - 
60. Course:  Standard - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
1. Aug. 2009
61.   - 
61. Course:  Conversation + Civilization - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The friendly atmosphere, excellent teaching, good relationship between students.
Other comments
I chose this school on recommendation of Ms. H. Hediger, my Spanish teacher in the popular University of Basel. I really missed one-day-long escursions during my stay. I'd love to to visit Castilla guided by Teresa!
15. Jul. 2009
62.  (38 years) - 
62. Course:  Standard - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
nice staff!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
great city - really worth the time to visit!
9. Jun. 2009
63.  (32 years) - Turkey
63. Course:  Spring Course - 9 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teachers and school building
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
As a students' city Salamanca has lots of good library, and if you get a card you can use the swimming pools
Other comments
If you are choosing shared flat as accommodation, be careful about double or single room. There is a difference. I recommend "SINGLE ROOM".
4. May. 2009
64.  (22 years) - 
64. Course:  Standard - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
friendly teachers and beautiful school.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
to take flamenco/sevillana lessons (a lot of discount prices for students), to visit Salamanca, Avila, Segovia, to see typical spanish events, a lot of things!
Other comments
Salamanca is a really nice city, with a lot of things to see and visit. For me, I prefer a school where everybody speaks with everybody.
10. Mar. 2009
65.  (18 years) - 
65. Course:  Special Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the people
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
talk with the people, they will always answer you, and thats the best way to meet great people!!
Other comments
salamanca by night, you must see it, no time for sleep.
14. Nov. 2008
66.  (33 years) - Spain
66. Course:  Standard - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teresa's civilizacion classes
15. Oct. 2008
67.  (34 years) - United Kingdom
67. Course:  Special Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The standard of teaching was excellent, the staff were very supportive. It was great to mix with students from many different countries and backgrounds.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Check before you book about the starting dates of the course. I didn't as it said that only complete beginners should start on certain dates and then I arrived on the last week of the course which made it difficult to join a group. I had to have individual lessons in the first week so that I could join a group the following week. Salamanca is a beautiful city and I loved all of it. I would definitely recommend taking a course here with the Colegio de Espana.
Other comments
There are too many great things to mention but go to Van Dyck area for tapas instead of the main tourist spots, get the views of the city from the cathedral and if you like things a bit grungy go for a drink to the Pan y Agua bar near the Plaza Mayor. I would also like to say that I was much older (34) than the average student, most of whom were 18/19 year old gap year students but they were all really friendly and fun and I think I have made some good friends so if you are a bit older don't let it put you off and just allow yourself to regress a little bit!
8. Oct. 2008
68.  (27 years) - Denmark
68. Course:  Standard - 15 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
friendliness of staff members
7. Aug. 2008
69.  (23 years) - United States
69. Course:  Theatre of the Golden Age + Contemporary Hispano-American Poetry - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The professors
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
check out events in the library at the "casa de las conchas"
Other comments
try the hot chocolate at Mandalas and the ice cream in the central plaza!!!!!
22. Jun. 2008
70.  (28 years) - 
70. Course:  One-to-One - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
my teacher, who was able to submit all knowledge to speak fluently and in a right way
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Salamanca is a very exciting city with many bars and restaurants but also many sights (cathedral, cloisters, university) don't miss to have some Tapas!
Other comments
Don't miss this beautiful city and the colegio. If you want to learn spanish here is the right place to do. All teachers are extremly friendly and will help you in anyway they can.
20. Jun. 2008
71. Chiu-yen (26 years) - Taiwan
71. Course:  Special Intensive - 28 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
11. May. 2008
72.  (18 years) - Switzerland
72. Course:  Standard - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
it was a small. the teachers were nice!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
speaking with everyone. and go out at night!
Other comments
it was fantastic!
5. Mar. 2008
73.  (23 years) - 
73. Course:  Standard - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared Apartment
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teachers
7. Nov. 2007
74.  (36 years) - Bahamas
74. Course:  Special Intensive - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The experience of learning a new language and the opportunities of meeting people from different countries.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take the initiative to learn everything. Learning Spanish at the Colegio is so much fun.
Other comments
I liked everything about the Colegio and the profesors were the best. I really miss everything about the Colegio. Chona, Carmen and Chuz were my full time instructors and they were so helpful in explaining so that you would understand the language. THEY ARE THE BEST.
21. Oct. 2007
75.  (56 years) - 
75. Course:  Special Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The old building, the friendliness of the teachers, small groups and students from around the world.
4. Oct. 2007
76.  (37 years) - United Kingdom
76. Course:  Standard - 10 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
good teaching
19. Sep. 2007
77. Meike (21 years) - 
77. Course:  Two Weeks Super-Intensive - 6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
13. Jun. 2007
78.  (24 years) - United States
78. Course:  Standard - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher, Covadonga, was very good and explained things well. We always had homework but not too much and the class was very organized
Other comments
I had a great time and enjoyed staying with my host family and studying at the school. Salamanca is a great and beautiful city that has lots to do at night and during the day
10. May. 2007
79.  (37 years) - Switzerland
79. Course:  Standard - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Carmen, my teacher
13. Feb. 2007
80.   - 
80. Course:  Standard - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I had very small classes.
Other comments
salamanca is such a lovely city. the teachers there are very friendly.
7. Dec. 2006
81. Saana (19 years) - Finland
81. Course:  Special Intensive - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
2. Dec. 2006
82.  (55 years) - 
82. Course:  Special Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Great teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I thought that the course 'Civilización, spanish art and culture the most interesting.
Other comments
A good course and great teachers. A downpoint was that there were no hand-outs of the course material. The course material existed of a working manual and a small book only, which only covered a small part of the course. I asked the teachers which book I could use for self- tuition and she was so kind to bring me a book, but I would have been better if there were hand- outs given in class. In the end, it was a great teacher and her classes were very good.
2. Nov. 2006
83. Christopher (28 years) - United States
83. Course:  One-to-One - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
2. Nov. 2006
84.  (26 years) - United Kingdom
84. Course:  Standard - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
That was a really good school with excellent teachers. I definetely recommend it!!!!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Salamanca is a great city to stay. Good value for the money and an amazing social life.
30. Oct. 2006
85. Lawrence (21 years) - Netherlands
85. Course:  Standard - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
14. Sep. 2006
86.  (35 years) - Germany
86. Course:  Standard - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the family atmosphere, the old building
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
the hidden park behind the cathedral is a nice place to stay and a nice point to see the surrondings
Other comments
at the time I've been there, there were mostly people at the beginning of their 20's in my course, wanting to party all the time. It was a little difficult, if you have different intentions. Also: I very much suggest to start at the recommended dates. I did not and it turned out that there was only one other who came later in the whole school, so all the social stuff at the beginning had already happened and it was not so easy to get in contact with others.
11. Aug. 2006
87. Philipp H. (20 years) - 
87. Course:  Special Intensive - 11 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
8. Jun. 2006
88.   - 
88. Course:  Standard - 6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers where very nice! and the classes were good!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Think for your own room, so that you can feel home.
7. Jun. 2006
89.  (23 years) - 
89. Course:  Special Intensive - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
atmosphere
26. May. 2006
90.  (48 years) - 
90. Course:  Standard - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
a small group (6 persons)
Other comments
a little old fashioned school, no language studios for example
17. May. 2006
91. Steffen (27 years) - Germany
91. Course:  Two Weeks Super-Intensive - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
3. May. 2006
92. Nikolas (21 years) - 
92. Course:  Special Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
30. Apr. 2006
93.  (23 years) - 
93. Course:  Special Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers were very good
Other comments
the school is very good, really, but there is one family called ana blanco who reallly ruins this. but i talked already with the school about that
29. Apr. 2006
94.  (24 years) - 
94. Course:  Two Weeks Super-Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
quality of the seminars and the teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
field trips and the free time activities
24. Apr. 2006
95.  (45 years) - 
95. Course:  Standard - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
nice people
Other comments
good quality courses
27. Feb. 2006
96.   - 
96. Course:  Standard - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The situation, the songs we sang in class, a shared apartment.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Ng the vocabulary.
23. Jan. 2006
97.   - 
97. Course:  Standard - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teacher
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
the weekend-trips
19. Dec. 2005
98.   - 
98. Course:  Two Weeks Super-Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the location and the teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
it is the oldest college in spain, they do a good job
Other comments
the team is very frendly, the teachers are prepared, the location is great, in the summer there are a lot of foreign people visiting
19. Dec. 2005
99.   - Uk
99. Course:  One-to-One - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers
Other comments
Because I had very limited time I opted for a one week, individual intensive course with homestay. This was very hard work, but I was happy with the progress I made after such a short time. I had two excellent teachers who also worked hard and helped me progress as quickly as I was able to, while having fun along the way !
19. Dec. 2005
100.   - 
100. Course:  Special Intensive - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good atmosphere in the classroom. It was always fun to attend the classes.
Other comments
Good trips to other cities. Especially Segovia was very beautiful and very interesting.

In the press:
Press mentions
Press mentions
Trusted by:
trusted by
trusted by
{$words.androidicon_alt}
+
{$words.appleicon_alt}
+
{$words.vtapptablet_alt}
+
{$words.vtappmob_alt}

Learn English with our free app

Vocabulary Trainer

+10.000.000 Downloads