X

Reviews of El Aula Azul, San Sebastian, Spain

Total number of reviews: 38
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Based on 38 reviews of former students of El Aula Azul
Overall Rating
El Aula Azul, San Sebastian, Spain

Rating: 4.7/5.0

4.7/5.0 
City

Rating: 4.7/5.0

4.7/5.0 
Organisation

Rating: 4.7/5.0

4.7/5.0 
Facilities

Rating: 4.1/5.0

4.1/5.0 
Social activities

Rating: 4.2/5.0

4.2/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language

Rating: 4.6/5.0

4.6/5.0 
Value for money

Rating: 4.5/5.0

4.5/5.0 
Accommodation
Homestay

Rating: 3.7/5.0

3.7/5.0 
Shared Flat

Rating: 4.3/5.0

4.3/5.0 
other ---

Individual Reviews

El Aula Azul
3. Dec. 2019
1. Beata  (54 years) - Poland
101. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money
---
Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization
---
Facilities (library, classrooms)
---
Social activities
---
Quality of teaching / language progress
---
Accommodation
Shared Apartment Low Season

Rating: 5/5.0

3. Nov. 2019
2. Heike (55 years) - 
102. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities
---
Quality of teaching / language progress
---
30. Oct. 2019
3. Petra (60 years) - 
103. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 4/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 4/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

1. Oct. 2019
4. Gordana (49 years) - Croatia
104. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 3/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 3/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 4/5.0

School organization

Rating: 4/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 3/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 1/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Accommodation
Shared Apartment Low Season

Rating: 5/5.0

9. Sep. 2019
5. Anna (39 years) - Denmark
105. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 4/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 4/5.0

Accommodation
Shared Apartment High Season

Rating: 3/5.0

5. Sep. 2019
6. Femmy (37 years) - Netherlands
106. Course:  Spanish and Surf - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 4/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Accommodation
Shared Apartment High Season

Rating: 4/5.0

27. Aug. 2019
7. Fabia (31 years) - Germany
107. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 4/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 4/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 3/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 4/5.0

Accommodation
Shared Apartment High Season

Rating: 1/5.0

25. Jul. 2019
8. Paola (61 years) - Italy
108. Course:  Intensive Course [Spagnolo] - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 5/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

26. Jun. 2019
9.  (50 years) - Netherlands
109. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 4/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good teachers. Lots of interaction.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Join the intercambio!
Other comments
Friendly people and great location.
11. Jun. 2019
10. Margit (61 years) - United States
110. Course:  Spanish for seniors - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

11. Jun. 2019
11. Cilla (72 years) - Australia
111. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 4/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 4/5.0

Accommodation
Homestay Low season

Rating: 4/5.0

14. Jan. 2019
12.  (69 years) - 
112. Course:  One to Two programme [Espagnol] - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money
---
Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 5/5.0

Social activities
---
Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
A good atmosphere and a very good conviviality. Quality teaching given by a very attentive and available teacher.
Other comments
I highly recommend this school located in the city centre of San Sebastian to have a really good time there. It's a school at a human scale.
1. Dec. 2018
13.  (47 years) - 
113. Course:  Intensive Course [スペイン語] - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 5/5.0

Social activities
---
Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The overall feeling of home was good. The teachers were also polite.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
There are many people who do not know Japan well, so it may be better to think about sentences introducing Japan.
Other comments
Both teachers and staff were kind.
2. Nov. 2018
14.  (69 years) - 
114. Course:  Super-Intensive Course (20 group + 5 one-to-one) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Warm welcome. Teachers are devoted and adapt their courses so that the students can make the most of it. The whole AulaAzul team is very nice. The teachers are creative and very good pedagogue. I loved everything about this school. The students were nice and very motivated to learn, a good group. I improved my accent and my grammar. My sentences are more complete.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I highly recommend to the students to take part to the evening exchanges. I noticed that the ones who participate to these events used to slightly increase their speaking.
Other comments
The school is very well located in Concha Bay, only 5 minutes walk from the sea. It's fantastic!
30. Oct. 2018
15.  (57 years) - 
115. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 3/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

30. Oct. 2018
16.  (69 years) - 
116. Course:  Super-Intensive Course (20 group + 5 one-to-one) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
---
Value for money
---
Detailed review
City/place
---
School organization
---
Facilities (library, classrooms)
---
Social activities
---
Quality of teaching / language progress
---
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teaching team and the student coordination is great. Many teachers are very competent, dynamic and creative.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Encourage students to participate in extra-curricular activities by presenting class activities and explaining the usefulness of these ones.
Other comments
I think that teachers should be more attentive to older students who have a little more hearing problems; give them more written exercises and reading and especially talk to them slowly in front of them. It was my case. I would have benefited more from my program if the school had acted like this with me. Thank you for the next ones.
29. Oct. 2018
17.  (28 years) - 
117. Course:  Intensive Course [スペイン語] - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 5/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Accommodation
Shared Apartment Low Season

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and the people at the reception were very kind. You will receive a homely atmosphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I will practice the grammar that I did not understand. I think that the number of students in one class is Max 5 people and you can learn happily.
29. Oct. 2018
18.  (65 years) - 
118. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The situation and the kindness of the teachers, young and cool
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Visit of SS and its curiosities and its many tapas bars
Other comments
We will hopefully be back in 2019, but 2 weeks this time ...
29. Oct. 2018
19.  (60 years) - 
119. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 3/5.0

Social activities
---
Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The atmosphere is nice and cool! The young and dynamic teachers are very friendly
10. Sep. 2018
20.  (18 years) - 
120. Course:  Super-Intensive Course (20 group + 5 one-to-one) - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 4/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 4/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the very kind teachers and the participation oral time
24. Aug. 2018
21.  (57 years) - United Kingdom
121. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 3/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
So friendly, very encouraging, teachers very experienced in helping adults in learning Spanish. A nice mix of teaching styles.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Say yes if you are unsure! For example the language exchange (intercambio) was very good.
Other comments
I want to go back!
13. Aug. 2018
22.  (21 years) - United Kingdom
122. Course:  Intensive Course [Spanish] - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 4/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 3/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Accommodation
Shared Apartment High Season

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were brilliant and the small class sizes meant you had plenty of opportunities to speak and ask questions. The general atmosphere of the school was warm and friendly and it was very easy to get to know everyone and make some friends!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Pintxopote every Thursday evening is not to be missed! Do not worry about stationery because paper and folders will be provided. Make the most of the activities that are put on by the school because it's a great way to meet people. Join the WhatsApp group as well so you can make plans!
Other comments
Overall I had a great two weeks in San Sebastián thanks to the great staff at El Aula Azul who made everyone feel so welcome. The only very minor complaint I had is that some of the classes did not have air conditioning and could get quite hot on some days (although generally in San Sebastián that isn't a problem!). Overall though that didn't ruin my experience at all though and I'd highly recommend the school. Hopefully I'll be back next year!
13. Aug. 2018
23.  (24 years) - 
123. Course:  Intensive Course + Surf - 3 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 4/5.0

Accommodation
Shared Apartment High Season

Rating: 5/5.0

11. Aug. 2018
24. Paola (60 years) - 
124. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money
---
Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 5/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

6. Aug. 2018
25. Felix Maximilian (17 years) - 
125. Course:  Super-Intensive Course [Spanisch] - 3 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 4/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Accommodation
Shared Apartment High Season

Rating: 4/5.0

3. Aug. 2018
26.  (30 years) - Norway
126. Course:  Intensive Course [Spanish] - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 4/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 4/5.0

School organization

Rating: 4/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 4/5.0

Accommodation
Homestay High Season

Rating: 2/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked the learning groups, that the groups were not too big and the teachers were really good
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Join the pintxo pote
Other comments
I liked smaller groups better than bigger. Could talk a bit more in class.
11. Jun. 2018
27.  (26 years) - South Korea
127. Course:  Intensive Course - 20 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 4/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Accommodation
Homestay Low season

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were super friendly and their teaching skills were very high.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Try to ask as much as possible.
21. May. 2018
28. Alexander (16 years) - 
128. Course:  Super-Intensive Course [Spaans] - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 4/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 1/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 4/5.0

23. Apr. 2018
29.  (60 years) - United Kingdom
129. Course:  Intensive Course [Spanish] - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 4/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 4/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 5/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 4/5.0

Accommodation
Homestay Low season

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Enthusiasm; professional teachers who knew their subject who on the whole are good at teaching Spanish as a foreign language
Other comments
There was an error. The school's website said I’d be sent a test before the course started. When I hadn’t received one, I emailed the intermediary at your organisation who replied I would be tested on arrival. I wasn’t. I was given a feedback form by the school on the Tuesday morning and I stated that perhaps, I was in too high a class. Anyway there were only 3 in the class and I felt that one of our 2 teachers needed to make more allowance for me. One of the 2 directors asked to discuss what I’d written on the feedback form. She said she had seen my test result and I was in the correct class but would talk to the teacher. On Wednesday morning, the director was very apologetic. They had not sent me a test. I have accepted compensation from the school which I feel is just but also generous. The full cost of the course is being reimbursed - paying for an extra 1 hour private lesson whilst I was there and there will be 4 Skype lessons. However, I haven’t had any further contact regarding these. I will contact them.
21. Sep. 2017
30.  (64 years) - Australia
130. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 5/5.0

Social activities
---
Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
So friendly with some of the best teachers I've ever had.
16. Sep. 2017
31.  (39 years) - United Kingdom
131. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 5/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Accommodation
Shared Apartment High Season

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Light, bright place and efficient atmosphere. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Fabulous teachers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I loved my excursion with IGO Paseos and would recommend it to all visitors as it was such a great opportunity to get out into the hills!!
Other comments
Such a wonderful class of beautiful people. I was very lucky.
14. Sep. 2017
32. Rob (44 years) - Spain
132. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 4/5.0

School organization

Rating: 4/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 3/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 4/5.0

4. Sep. 2017
33.  (39 years) - Italy
133. Course:  Super-Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 4/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 3/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 4/5.0

School organization

Rating: 4/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 4/5.0

Accommodation
Homestay High Season

Rating: 2/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school is very familiar. The class room was no more than 4 students. Also the teachers are very helpful and engaged.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
We had a whatsapp group to meet us and speak outside of the school in Spanish. We had a very funny group
Other comments
In my opinion, I really liked the school because of the atmosphere of familiarity.
29. Aug. 2017
34.  (23 years) - Russia
134. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 5/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Accommodation
Shared Apartment High Season

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly people, interesting classes, people speaking with you Spanish all the time!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Take part in all the activities!
29. Aug. 2017
35. Lucas (16 years) - Belgium
135. Course:  Super-Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 4/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 5/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

15. Aug. 2017
36.  (29 years) - Germany
136. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 4/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 3/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 3/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 2/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The friendly staff
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Zuriola Beach and local wine Txakoli
11. Jul. 2017
37.  (61 years) - United Kingdom
137. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 5/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Accommodation
Homestay Low season

Rating: 4/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
nice relaxed atmosphere very nice teachers who love their jobs a nice friendly place
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Definitely go to the language exchange evening as you will make friends. Try the hop on hop off bus which will help you to orientate.
10. Apr. 2017
38.  (60 years) - Spain
138. Course:  Super-Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)
---
Social activities
---
Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very cheery. Helpful. Excellent teaching methods.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It's in a perfect location! Go for a swim after class.

Save money! Exclusive promotions!
Sign up to benefit from the best language course deals.
Terms & ConditionsPrivacy & CookiesImprintReview and User Content Policies