X

Reviews of F+U Academy of Languages, Heidelberg, Germany

Total number of reviews: 150
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Based on 150 reviews of former students of F+U Academy of Languages
Overall Rating
F+U Academy of Languages, Heidelberg, Germany
4.0/5.0 
City 4.7/5.0 
Organisation 3.7/5.0 
Facilities 3.8/5.0 
Social activities 3.3/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.1/5.0 
Value for money 3.8/5.0 
Accommodation
Homestay 3.9/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.7/5.0 
other 3.7/5.0 

Individual Reviews

F+U Academy of Languages
11. Sep. 2017
1.  (28 years) - Germany
1. Course:  Junior Programme (12-15 years) - 7 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
30. Aug. 2017
2.  (15 years) - United States
2. Course:  Junior Programme (6-15 years) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category III (Schmitt, Albert-Fritz, Carl-Bosch, Römer (female only), Seewiesenweg, Turner, Wieblingen
29. Aug. 2017
3.  (19 years) - Russia
3. Course:  Main Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay B
21. Aug. 2017
4.  (9 years) - Italy
4. Course:  Junior Programme (6-15 years) - Day Camp - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category VI (März, F+U Campus)
21. Aug. 2017
5.  (51 years) - Italy
5. Course:  Mini Group Mornings - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
20. Aug. 2017
6.  (17 years) - Mexico
6. Course:  Main Course - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
18. Aug. 2017
7.  (16 years) - Spain
7. Course:  Main Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category III (Schmitt, Albert Fritz, Carl Bosch, Römer, Seewiesenweg, Turner, Wieblingen
24. Jul. 2017
8.  (17 years) - Mexico
8. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
24. Jul. 2017
9.  (16 years) - Turkey
9. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
24. Jul. 2017
10.  (12 years) - Greece
10. Course:  German Junior programme - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
14. May. 2017
11. Ruben Octavio (40 years) - 
11. Course:  Intensive Business (Part 1) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
24. Apr. 2017
12. Staffan (68 years) - Sweden
12. Course:  Main Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
18. Apr. 2017
13.  (23 years) - 
13. Course:  Main Course - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very well prepared and always available Teachers. Language course interesting and full of current references. Many chance to participate personally and practice the foreign language.
Other comments
The accommodation was not particularly clean when I arrived.
16. Mar. 2017
14.  (43 years) - 
14. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
There were fewer students luckily. My teacher was very good.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
As there were many Chinese students in a conversation course, I had to hear German with Chinese accent. I was not very satisfied with the circumstances for the conversation class.
6. Dec. 2016
15.  (23 years) - Belgium
15. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Facilities and access. Possibility of renting books.
Other comments
There should be a fast track learning class. I was in a class where other students were not so willing to learn as I and so the class was too easy and slow for me. And the next class higher was too difficult since I didn't know the basics...
26. Sep. 2016
16.  (20 years) - 
16. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category III (Albert Fritz, Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner, Wasserturm, Wieblingen)
12. Sep. 2016
17.  (29 years) - 
17. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The meetings, the city ... The German course!
17. Aug. 2016
18.  (16 years) - 
18. Course:  Main Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay B
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher and the computer room.
11. Aug. 2016
19. Lea (20 years) - Austria
19. Course:  German Main Course + English Module (20 + 15) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category IV (Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner)
25. Jul. 2016
20.  (34 years) - Hong Kong
20. Course:  Main Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I had classmates of different nationalities. It was fun to know how well people who speak different languages can also speak German. I also like the fact that students are put in classes according to our levels.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I did not have time to take part in social activities but guess that could be fun.
Other comments
I think both office & teaching staff of F+U is trustworthy and responsible. Trustworthiness was my core concern before my enrolment because I haven't even seen the centre after all! But now I think I can recommend it to my friends.
25. Jul. 2016
21.   - Hong Kong
21. Course:  Junior Programme (6-15 years) - 20 group lessons + 4 private lessons - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
we can play many games.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It is very fun.
Other comments
I think there should be clocks in every classroom.
25. Jul. 2016
22. Gemma Maria Del Castell (45 years) - 
22. Course:  Mini Group Mornings - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
30. Jun. 2016
23. Victoria (22 years) - 
23. Course:  Main Course - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
27. Jun. 2016
24. Thomas (30 years) - 
24. Course:  English Intensive + TOEFL (30) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia)
10. May. 2016
25.  (34 years) - 
25. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 13 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category III (Albert Fritz, Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner, Wasserturm, Wieblingen)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The environment
18. Apr. 2016
26.  (32 years) - Belgium
26. Course:  Premium Course: Standard German/DSH/TestDaF - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category V (Apo, Haus am Ritter, Karlsplatz, März, Rohrbach 16, Sophie)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Not far. Center of town.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Bring a towel. Don't count on wifi. No activities.
Other comments
No activities and no interaction with students. We didn't even know each other's names.
14. Mar. 2016
27.  (20 years) - 
27. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers are friendly. You can learn with a fun.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I recommend you to express your opinions voluntarily.
4. Jan. 2016
28. Gondard (29 years) - 
28. Course:  German Main Course + English Module (20 + 15) - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
21. Dec. 2015
29. Dmitrii  - 
29. Course:  Main Course: DSH/TestDaF Preparation - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
9. Nov. 2015
30.  (31 years) - 
30. Course:  Main Course + Module Course (Woche 1) + Main Course (Woche 2) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category II (Albert Fritz, Emmertsgrund, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the management is very well organized, the people at the reception are friendly and always helpful and the teachers put in a lot of effort so you have fun while learning
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
the internet in the hostel is very poor and thus it was difficult to do some homework
Other comments
In Heidelberg in the F + U Academy I had the most amazing time of my life and I want to repeat this experience next year again!
29. Sep. 2015
31. Zsolt (19 years) - Hungary
31. Course:  Main Course: DSH/TestDaF Preparation - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
17. Sep. 2015
32.  (28 years) - 
32. Course:  Main Course English - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The way of teaching, based on conversation
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You will enjoy it a lot
Other comments
Everything was very nice and educational
14. Sep. 2015
33.  (18 years) - 
33. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay B
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The livability of the classrooms, the availability of digital material, multi-ethnicity and the atmosphere that reigned in the classroom
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The first day is definitely badly organized. There is a lot of confusion in the corridors and it's hard to figure out where you should go, especially for people like me, who go to study alone, without a travel companion. I also had difficulty to find the school itself because there were few signs in the street. There are a lot of students in the secretariat. Also in the afternoon it is easy that the lesson gets moved to another classroom in different buildings. I had to fend and ask around, otherwise I would not have been able to understand where was the school
14. Sep. 2015
34.  (19 years) - 
34. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Students met
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The old city, the river, the Philosophers' Way
Other comments
Teachers are not very pedagogue, some mockery toward students, I felt ill at ease sometimes, the school organization should be revised, furthermore, I waste 4,30 hours of private lessons because no one told me how they worked, the books are expensive, also, as I don't speak German quite well, it could be better to explain the overall functioning of the school in our native language or in English the first day.
7. Sep. 2015
35. Angelika (24 years) - 
35. Course:  Main Course + Module Course grammar - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
31. Aug. 2015
36. Paolo (67 years) - Italy
36. Course:  Intensive Course for Seniors (50+) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category VI (März)
28. Aug. 2015
37. Nikita (18 years) - 
37. Course:  Main Course + Module Course + 5 private classes - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category IV (Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner, Wieblingen)
24. Aug. 2015
38.  (18 years) - 
38. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category VI (März)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the quality of teaching
10. Aug. 2015
39.  (53 years) - Sweden
39. Course:  Main Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers
Other comments
Make the classrooms nicer. Divide students according to their maternal language group. There is a lot of difference between learning German from Swedish or from Chinese. The material should focus more on the German society and Germany.
4. Aug. 2015
40. Naomi  (11 years) - Indonesia
40. Course:  Junior Programme (6-15 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Other comments
Poor organisation.
4. Aug. 2015
41.  (11 years) - 
41. Course:  JuniorCourse (7-15 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The students and the teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Do not pay for lunch
Other comments
A good school
28. Jul. 2015
42.  (16 years) - 
42. Course:  Main Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
lessons
Other comments
I would have preferred more attention to underage students like me, who had no idea what to do because of little information and organization of the school
14. Jul. 2015
43. Howeon (23 years) - Korea, South
43. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
29. Jun. 2015
44. Arina (23 years) - 
44. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
18. May. 2015
45. Lisa (a.e.m.) (16 years) - 
45. Course:  Intensive Business (Part 1) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category V (Apo, Brox, Haus am Ritter, Karlsplatz, März, Rohrbach 16, Sophie)
6. Oct. 2014
46.  (27 years) - 
46. Course:  German Main Course + English Module - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category III (Albert Fritz, Bach, Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner, Wasserturm, Wieblingen)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The infrastructure is immense. The schools is well located and offers quality courses.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The town is very small and people there a friendly. I had a great experience here, so much that I decided to extend my stay to the months to come.
Other comments
Unfortunately F + U Heidelberg is such a big school so that it delivers an impersonal service and tends to be business oriented. There are about 100 teachers in this school, and classroom or teacher changes are common things.
9. Sep. 2014
47.  (12 years) - United Arab Emirates
47. Course:  Junior Programme (7-15 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The organization and social activities. that was what I liked most.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don´t miss the park and the mountain.
9. Sep. 2014
48.  (15 years) - United Arab Emirates
48. Course:  Junior Programme (7-15 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked the school and teachers. I did not like the fact that there were few students of my age.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The castle and park.
Other comments
I suggest that the teacher should have more discipline over the students. As we approached the end of the course, the class lost interest.
8. Sep. 2014
49.  (20 years) - 
49. Course:  Main Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school is close to a station and located in the center of a tourist area. You can visit some of the attractions on the way back from the school.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I recommend the homestay.
Other comments
Although I asked some questions to a Japanese school staff, he passed to another non-Japanese speaking staff who was in charge. I preferred to be answered in my language, as the school has the Japanese consultant.
3. Sep. 2014
50.   - 
50. Course:  Intensive course for seniors (50+) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category VI (März)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Educational Facilities
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Lack accommodation cleaning, change of course and teachers at last time
Other comments
Better transparency and clarity in the presentation of the courses and of the eventual accommodation, as well as improving the continuity of teaching

In the press:
Press mentions
Press mentions
Trusted by:
trusted by
trusted by
{$words.androidicon_alt}
+
{$words.appleicon_alt}
+
{$words.vtapptablet_alt}
+
{$words.vtappmob_alt}

Learn English with our free app

Vocabulary Trainer

+10.000.000 Downloads