X

Reviews of F+U Academy of Languages, Heidelberg, Germany

Total number of reviews: 154
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Based on 154 reviews of former students of F+U Academy of Languages
Overall Rating
F+U Academy of Languages, Heidelberg, Germany
4.0/5.0 
City 4.7/5.0 
Organisation 3.7/5.0 
Facilities 3.8/5.0 
Social activities 3.4/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.1/5.0 
Value for money 3.8/5.0 
Accommodation
Homestay 3.9/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.8/5.0 
other 3.7/5.0 

Individual Reviews

F+U Academy of Languages
6. Nov. 2017
1.  (47 years) - Croatia
101. Course:  Main Course  - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category II (Bosch, Emmertsgrund, Steinhof)
31. Oct. 2017
2.  (23 years) - Hungary
102. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia)
16. Oct. 2017
3. Maria (26 years) - 
103. Course:  Main Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia)
4. Oct. 2017
4.  (32 years) - United Kingdom
104. Course:  Main Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
11. Sep. 2017
5.  (28 years) - Germany
105. Course:  Junior Programme (12-15 years) - 7 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
30. Aug. 2017
6.  (15 years) - United States
106. Course:  Junior Programme (6-15 years) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category III (Schmitt, Albert-Fritz, Carl-Bosch, Römer (female only), Seewiesenweg, Turner, Wieblingen
29. Aug. 2017
7.  (19 years) - Russia
107. Course:  Main Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay B
21. Aug. 2017
8.  (9 years) - Italy
108. Course:  Junior Programme (6-15 years) - Day Camp - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category VI (März, F+U Campus)
21. Aug. 2017
9.  (51 years) - Italy
109. Course:  Mini Group Mornings - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
20. Aug. 2017
10.  (17 years) - Mexico
110. Course:  Main Course - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
18. Aug. 2017
11.  (16 years) - Spain
111. Course:  Main Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category III (Schmitt, Albert Fritz, Carl Bosch, Römer, Seewiesenweg, Turner, Wieblingen
24. Jul. 2017
12.  (17 years) - Mexico
112. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
24. Jul. 2017
13.  (16 years) - Turkey
113. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
24. Jul. 2017
14.  (12 years) - Greece
114. Course:  German Junior programme - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
14. May. 2017
15. Ruben Octavio (40 years) - 
115. Course:  Intensive Business (Part 1) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
24. Apr. 2017
16. Staffan (68 years) - Sweden
116. Course:  Main Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
18. Apr. 2017
17.  (23 years) - 
117. Course:  Main Course - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very well prepared and always available Teachers. Language course interesting and full of current references. Many chance to participate personally and practice the foreign language.
Other comments
The accommodation was not particularly clean when I arrived.
16. Mar. 2017
18.  (43 years) - 
118. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
There were fewer students luckily. My teacher was very good.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
As there were many Chinese students in a conversation course, I had to hear German with Chinese accent. I was not very satisfied with the circumstances for the conversation class.
6. Dec. 2016
19.  (23 years) - Belgium
119. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Facilities and access. Possibility of renting books.
Other comments
There should be a fast track learning class. I was in a class where other students were not so willing to learn as I and so the class was too easy and slow for me. And the next class higher was too difficult since I didn't know the basics...
26. Sep. 2016
20.  (20 years) - 
120. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category III (Albert Fritz, Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner, Wasserturm, Wieblingen)
12. Sep. 2016
21.  (29 years) - 
121. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The meetings, the city ... The German course!
17. Aug. 2016
22.  (16 years) - 
122. Course:  Main Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay B
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher and the computer room.
11. Aug. 2016
23. Lea (20 years) - Austria
123. Course:  German Main Course + English Module (20 + 15) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category IV (Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner)
25. Jul. 2016
24.  (34 years) - Hong Kong
124. Course:  Main Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I had classmates of different nationalities. It was fun to know how well people who speak different languages can also speak German. I also like the fact that students are put in classes according to our levels.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I did not have time to take part in social activities but guess that could be fun.
Other comments
I think both office & teaching staff of F+U is trustworthy and responsible. Trustworthiness was my core concern before my enrolment because I haven't even seen the centre after all! But now I think I can recommend it to my friends.
25. Jul. 2016
25.   - Hong Kong
125. Course:  Junior Programme (6-15 years) - 20 group lessons + 4 private lessons - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
we can play many games.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It is very fun.
Other comments
I think there should be clocks in every classroom.
25. Jul. 2016
26. Gemma Maria Del Castell (45 years) - 
126. Course:  Mini Group Mornings - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
30. Jun. 2016
27. Victoria (22 years) - 
127. Course:  Main Course - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
27. Jun. 2016
28. Thomas (30 years) - 
128. Course:  English Intensive + TOEFL (30) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia)
10. May. 2016
29.  (34 years) - 
129. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 13 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category III (Albert Fritz, Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner, Wasserturm, Wieblingen)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The environment
18. Apr. 2016
30.  (32 years) - Belgium
130. Course:  Premium Course: Standard German/DSH/TestDaF - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category V (Apo, Haus am Ritter, Karlsplatz, März, Rohrbach 16, Sophie)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Not far. Center of town.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Bring a towel. Don't count on wifi. No activities.
Other comments
No activities and no interaction with students. We didn't even know each other's names.
14. Mar. 2016
31.  (20 years) - 
131. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers are friendly. You can learn with a fun.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I recommend you to express your opinions voluntarily.
4. Jan. 2016
32. Gondard (29 years) - 
132. Course:  German Main Course + English Module (20 + 15) - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
21. Dec. 2015
33. Dmitrii  - 
133. Course:  Main Course: DSH/TestDaF Preparation - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
9. Nov. 2015
34.  (31 years) - 
134. Course:  Main Course + Module Course (Woche 1) + Main Course (Woche 2) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category II (Albert Fritz, Emmertsgrund, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the management is very well organized, the people at the reception are friendly and always helpful and the teachers put in a lot of effort so you have fun while learning
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
the internet in the hostel is very poor and thus it was difficult to do some homework
Other comments
In Heidelberg in the F + U Academy I had the most amazing time of my life and I want to repeat this experience next year again!
29. Sep. 2015
35. Zsolt (19 years) - Hungary
135. Course:  Main Course: DSH/TestDaF Preparation - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
17. Sep. 2015
36.  (28 years) - 
136. Course:  Main Course English - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The way of teaching, based on conversation
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You will enjoy it a lot
Other comments
Everything was very nice and educational
14. Sep. 2015
37.  (18 years) - 
137. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay B
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The livability of the classrooms, the availability of digital material, multi-ethnicity and the atmosphere that reigned in the classroom
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The first day is definitely badly organized. There is a lot of confusion in the corridors and it's hard to figure out where you should go, especially for people like me, who go to study alone, without a travel companion. I also had difficulty to find the school itself because there were few signs in the street. There are a lot of students in the secretariat. Also in the afternoon it is easy that the lesson gets moved to another classroom in different buildings. I had to fend and ask around, otherwise I would not have been able to understand where was the school
14. Sep. 2015
38.  (19 years) - 
138. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Students met
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The old city, the river, the Philosophers' Way
Other comments
Teachers are not very pedagogue, some mockery toward students, I felt ill at ease sometimes, the school organization should be revised, furthermore, I waste 4,30 hours of private lessons because no one told me how they worked, the books are expensive, also, as I don't speak German quite well, it could be better to explain the overall functioning of the school in our native language or in English the first day.
7. Sep. 2015
39. Angelika (24 years) - 
139. Course:  Main Course + Module Course grammar - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
31. Aug. 2015
40. Paolo (67 years) - Italy
140. Course:  Intensive Course for Seniors (50+) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category VI (März)
28. Aug. 2015
41. Nikita (18 years) - 
141. Course:  Main Course + Module Course + 5 private classes - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category IV (Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner, Wieblingen)
24. Aug. 2015
42.  (18 years) - 
142. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category VI (März)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the quality of teaching
10. Aug. 2015
43.  (53 years) - Sweden
143. Course:  Main Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers
Other comments
Make the classrooms nicer. Divide students according to their maternal language group. There is a lot of difference between learning German from Swedish or from Chinese. The material should focus more on the German society and Germany.
4. Aug. 2015
44. Naomi  (11 years) - Indonesia
144. Course:  Junior Programme (6-15 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Other comments
Poor organisation.
4. Aug. 2015
45.  (11 years) - 
145. Course:  JuniorCourse (7-15 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The students and the teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Do not pay for lunch
Other comments
A good school
28. Jul. 2015
46.  (16 years) - 
146. Course:  Main Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
lessons
Other comments
I would have preferred more attention to underage students like me, who had no idea what to do because of little information and organization of the school
14. Jul. 2015
47. Howeon (23 years) - Korea, South
147. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
29. Jun. 2015
48. Arina (23 years) - 
148. Course:  Main Course + Module Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
18. May. 2015
49. Lisa (a.e.m.) (16 years) - 
149. Course:  Intensive Business (Part 1) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category V (Apo, Brox, Haus am Ritter, Karlsplatz, März, Rohrbach 16, Sophie)
6. Oct. 2014
50.  (27 years) - 
150. Course:  German Main Course + English Module - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category III (Albert Fritz, Bach, Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner, Wasserturm, Wieblingen)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The infrastructure is immense. The schools is well located and offers quality courses.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The town is very small and people there a friendly. I had a great experience here, so much that I decided to extend my stay to the months to come.
Other comments
Unfortunately F + U Heidelberg is such a big school so that it delivers an impersonal service and tends to be business oriented. There are about 100 teachers in this school, and classroom or teacher changes are common things.
9. Sep. 2014
51.  (12 years) - United Arab Emirates
151. Course:  Junior Programme (7-15 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The organization and social activities. that was what I liked most.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don´t miss the park and the mountain.
9. Sep. 2014
52.  (15 years) - United Arab Emirates
152. Course:  Junior Programme (7-15 years) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked the school and teachers. I did not like the fact that there were few students of my age.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The castle and park.
Other comments
I suggest that the teacher should have more discipline over the students. As we approached the end of the course, the class lost interest.
8. Sep. 2014
53.  (20 years) - 
153. Course:  Main Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school is close to a station and located in the center of a tourist area. You can visit some of the attractions on the way back from the school.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I recommend the homestay.
Other comments
Although I asked some questions to a Japanese school staff, he passed to another non-Japanese speaking staff who was in charge. I preferred to be answered in my language, as the school has the Japanese consultant.
3. Sep. 2014
54.   - 
154. Course:  Intensive course for seniors (50+) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category VI (März)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Educational Facilities
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Lack accommodation cleaning, change of course and teachers at last time
Other comments
Better transparency and clarity in the presentation of the courses and of the eventual accommodation, as well as improving the continuity of teaching
18. Oct. 2013
55.  (80 years) - 
155. Course:  Intensive 30 - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Due to a small class, we have many opportunities to speak during a lesson. Also it's easy to make friends. Private lessons are very concentrated and economical. The school organize the daily activities and one-day trip to the suburbs. Students from all over the world add to the diversity of the school.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The style of German lesson is very speedy. You need to practice one after another and are asked to speak or answer during a lesson。Therefore, I recommend you to prepare well before a course starts or join a beginner class. Also I can suggest to take the private lessons which can help you to cover your weak points.
7. Oct. 2013
56.  (59 years) - United States
156. Course:  Intensive 20 - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Our class was great---friendly, relaxed, but super interesting.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you can take a class with Verena, do!
Other comments
I can't comment on your accommodations---I found my own, and it was incredibly expensive. I didn't do any of the social activities, but they looked good.
22. Sep. 2013
57.  (18 years) - 
157. Course:  Intensive 30 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Great teachers, small groups, cheap
Other comments
I will come back there next year. The best language school.
16. Sep. 2013
58.  (31 years) - 
158. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teacher explained everything very well, it's something that I hadn't found in other schools
10. Sep. 2013
59. Cristian (23 years) - Spain
159. Course:  Intensive 20 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Get the Student Card and then the Mensa Card. (Mensa is the Student/University Restaurant with good food at good prices)
Other comments
As every school, it depends on which teacher you have, there are some who are very good and others... Try to stay minimum one month.
9. Sep. 2013
60.  (22 years) - Spain
160. Course:  Intensive 20 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The facilities were very good, and most of the staff was very friendly.
7. Sep. 2013
61.  (17 years) - 
161. Course:  Intensive 20 - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Women and beer nearby.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Women.
3. Sep. 2013
62. Mariacristina (45 years) - 
162. Course:  Combination course: German 20 + English 15 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category V (Apo, Brox, Haus am Ritter, Karlsplatz, März, Rohrbach 16, Sophie)
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
in-depth knowledge of the culture of the host country
1. Sep. 2013
63.  (21 years) - Italy
163. Course:  Intensive 30 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category III (Albert Fritz, Bach, Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner, Wasserturm, Wieblingen)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher, Nastja, was great. The environment is highly international. I recommend the Ausprache training / pronunciation. It's also free.
Other comments
The enrolment test is very bad, everyone I know changed their level (including me) because the one the school chose was too easy or too difficult. Be sure they give you a receipt for everything - I didn't get one for the house fund and I lost 100 euro because they refused to give it back to me. Make sure you change your course on Monday or Tuesday otherwise they will not change it until next Monday. Book your certificate on Monday otherwise on Saturday you will have to pay 5 euros to get it. Basically the school is cheap, but it tries to suck away as much money as it can. I am very upset about it - I will definitely not come back. The secretaries are just unbearable. Barbara and Nastja are great teachers. Betti (or something like that) is great for the grammar course but she is not good for the conversation one.
26. Aug. 2013
64. Daniela (41 years) - 
164. Course:  Intensive 20 - 13 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
19. Aug. 2013
65.  (23 years) - Norway
165. Course:  Intensive 30 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Some teachers are very good.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Eat quite cheap at the Mensa. Heidelberg is cool.
Other comments
Teachers are mostly good, but the administration is not good.
11. Jul. 2013
66.  (35 years) - 
166. Course:  Combination course: German 20 + English 15 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers are very competent
Other comments
Very good school
1. Jul. 2013
67.  (23 years) - 
167. Course:  Intensive 20 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school is very nice, and the thing I liked most was the willingness and patience in healing any doubts that you might have.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you are looking for an experience of study trip, this is exactly what you're looking for!
6. May. 2013
68.  (37 years) - Spain
168. Course:  Intensive 20 - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category III (Albert Fritz, Bach, Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner, Wasserturm, Wieblingen)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers' kindness and attention.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
More suitable for the long stay student. Nice rooms in new residences avaliable.
Other comments
Huge academy, classrooms spread in several locations all over Heidelberg. Many students, reception most of the time overcrowded.
4. Mar. 2013
69.  (27 years) - Australia
169. Course:  Intensive 30 - 24 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were really good.
2. Jan. 2013
70.  (20 years) - 
170. Course:  Intensive 30 - 7 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The classes were very interactive and lively.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The Castle 'Heidelberg.
13. Dec. 2012
71.  (21 years) - United States
171. Course:  TELC/Zertifikat Deutsch preparation course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Private apartment 'März' or 'Sophie', Category V
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I really liked the diversity of students in the classroom. It was really neat to learn about different countries from around the world.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The orientation tour really helped. It sounds cheesy, but it was really helpful in understanding some of the neat sites around the Old Town.
30. Nov. 2012
72.  (37 years) - Russian Federation
172. Course:  Combination course: German 20 + English 15 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay B
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The atmosphere at home
Other comments
Organize a group for an evening meeting to have speaking practice.
29. Oct. 2012
73.  (53 years) - United States
173. Course:  Intensive 30 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers,price of course and the fact the school offered more than one language .
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Live with a German family to improve language skills quickly and take private lessons. Rates seem to be fair.
Other comments
Great location,easy to find. The whole City was clean and safe. Everything was easy to find. Good atmosphere at the school.
8. Oct. 2012
74.  (23 years) - 
174. Course:  Intensive 30 - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The central position and the composition of the class.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Heidelberg is expensive and very touristic. The weather is really unpredictable. I suggest buying a second-hand bicycle for periods of stay of two months or more (Altavelo Bergheimer Strasse No. 110). It costs such as a subscription, and if the weather is friendly, you'll have much more fun, having the chance to know the city and also travel by trains with the bike.
Other comments
The morning teachers were not very attentive or interested in the lesson. Too much relevance to the textbook.
8. Oct. 2012
75.  (23 years) - 
175. Course:  Intensive 30 - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the central position of the main office.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
choose, when it's possible, an intensive course.
17. Sep. 2012
76.  (27 years) - Romania
176. Course:  Intensive 20 - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and the atmosphere during the classes.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Check out the activities sheet and participate (do not miss the grammar class and the culture class).
Other comments
In my opinion, the placement test should be taken only upon arrival, not via the Internet or before arriving in Germany, as levels vary (spoken interaction is especially important). This way, students would not waste time switching courses, changing books, etc.
3. Sep. 2012
77.  (21 years) - Spain
177. Course:  Intensive 30 - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The best thing about the school is the location, in the city center. Also, it has many foreign students.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The residence "Schmitt" is very good. Well worth studying in that school.
Other comments
The school is very well organized.
29. Aug. 2012
78.  (21 years) - Spain
178. Course:  Intensive 20 - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school was very well organised, with very helpful staff.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Grab a dictionary from the Galeria next to the school.. very useful :)
Other comments
I thought the school was very good, very well organised, excellent staff, and a very nice atmosphere. The teaching was brilliant, and the lessons were very well done.
29. Aug. 2012
79.   - 
179. Course:  Intensive 30 - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teaching method
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
nothing in particular
27. Aug. 2012
80. Ana Priscila (33 years) - 
180. Course:  Intensive 30 - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category III (Albert Fritz, Bach, Carl-Bosch, Römer, Schmitt, Turner, Wasserturm, Wieblingen)
23. Aug. 2012
81. Andrea (19 years) - 
181. Course:  Intensive 30 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
22. Aug. 2012
82. Benedetta (14 years) - 
182. Course:  Junior German Course (7-15 years) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
22. Aug. 2012
83.  (9 years) - 
183. Course:  Junior German Course (7-15 years) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The very experienced teachers.
22. Aug. 2012
84.  (12 years) - 
184. Course:  Junior German Course (7-15 years) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Available and well trained teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The afternoon activities are all fee required, while on the brochure it seemed for free.
Other comments
The school didn't expect that there were students with a B1-B2 level in German, so they were put together by age and for knowledge level..Then the best ones were moved in the adults class but the topics were not appropriate to their age because they were working topics.
24. Jul. 2012
85.  (19 years) - Norway
185. Course:  Intensive 30 - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared apartment 'Bergheim' category IV
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The atmosphere and the theachers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you can afford it, choose an accommodation in a higher category.
Other comments
I definitely recommend this school.
9. Jul. 2012
86. Beatrice (18 years) - 
186. Course:  Intensive 30 - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Private apartment 'März' or 'Sophie', Category V
24. Mar. 2012
87.  (36 years) - 
187. Course:  Intensive 20 - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The structure, the multimedia rooms
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
A card for the university cafeteria.
Other comments
They should not place new students when the course is already advanced.
19. Mar. 2012
88.  (27 years) - 
188. Course:  Intensive 20 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
As there is a Japanese staff at school, you can ask her when you have any difficulties.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It is a bit difficult to find an entrance. I recommend you to arrive the school earlier.
Other comments
As the school misunderstood my arrival flight, I contacted them several times by email. Just in case, I wrote to limousine service company to confirm my schedule and found out that the information hadn't been updated. I was worried that I could be picked up and sent me to the accommodation correctly.
20. Dec. 2011
89.  (29 years) - 
189. Course:  Intensive 30 - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the organizational system and schedules
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
there's not so much conversation during the lessons
19. Dec. 2011
90. Rosario (30 years) - 
190. Course:  Intensive 30 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
booking at least one month course
Other comments
Great location, practically in the center.
12. Dec. 2011
91. Anaïs (24 years) - 
191. Course:  Intensive 20 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The visit of the castle
6. Oct. 2011
92.  (39 years) - 
192. Course:  Intensive 20 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay B
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Centrally located.
16. Sep. 2011
93.  (20 years) - 
193. Course:  Intensive 30 - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay A
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Meet students from all backgrounds ... It was very rewarding!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
My only advice is to participate in the activities proposed to explore the city and get to know the people of the school!
Other comments
Trip that I keep in my best memories ...
8. Sep. 2011
94. Maria Luisa (27 years) - Spain
194. Course:  Intensive 20 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
5. Sep. 2011
95.  (23 years) - Spain
195. Course:  Evening German course plus module 30 - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The students and my teacher, who was really good.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Go to the school's activities, its a good place to get to know new people from different levels.
Other comments
There is absolutely nothing close to SRH residence. The rooms are very good, but to get anywhere you have to take public transport.
30. Aug. 2011
96. María (20 years) - Spain
196. Course:  Intensive 30 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Choose März hall of residence. It's near the school, near Hauptstrasse and everything is new.
24. Aug. 2011
97.  (22 years) - 
197. Course:  Intensive 20 - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Private apartment 'März' or 'Sophie', Category V
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Community and teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Get a card for the Mensa!
16. Aug. 2011
98. Beatriz (24 years) - Spain
198. Course:  Intensive 20 - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat
16. Aug. 2011
99.  (48 years) - Spain
199. Course:  Intensive 20 - 5 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Private apartment 'März' or 'Sophie', Category V
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Flexibility in organizing groups and the possibility of changing from one group to another.
15. Aug. 2011
100.  (23 years) - Spain
200. Course:  Intensive 20 - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hall of Residence Category I (Concordia, Bosch, Steinhof)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher.

In the press:
Press mentions
Press mentions
Trusted by:
trusted by
trusted by