X

Reviews of Lexis - Centre of Greek Language & Culture, Chania (Crete), Greece

Total number of reviews: 21
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Based on 21 reviews of former students of Lexis - Centre of Greek Language & Culture
Overall Rating
Lexis - Centre of Greek Language & Culture, Chania (Crete), Greece
4.4/5.0 
City 4.9/5.0 
Organisation 4.4/5.0 
Facilities 3.9/5.0 
Social activities 4.2/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.5/5.0 
Value for money 4.2/5.0 
Accommodation
Homestay 3.8/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.8/5.0 
other 3.8/5.0 

Individual Reviews

Lexis - Centre of Greek Language & Culture
23. Aug. 2017
1.  (36 years) - France
101. Course:  Private Lessons 40 - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
12. Jun. 2017
2.  (66 years) - 
102. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
They may also be in an individual course
Other comments
Very friendly and helpful staff
4. Jun. 2017
3.  (71 years) - United States
103. Course:  Private Lessons 10 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Accessibility, flexibility, quality of teaching
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you stay up around the northwest end of the harbor, the back way is faster than going via the harbor walk. Use η οδος θεοτοψοπουλου.
Other comments
Very little bureaucratic BS. I walked in, told the person in the office my name, she called someone, that person showed up, and we started the lesson.
22. May. 2017
4.  (48 years) - United States
104. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The instructors are experienced and knowledgeable with teaching Greek as a foreign language. The school administration did a good job in assessing and matching skill level of students and the instructors utilized our varied strengths and weaknesses for the benefit of our collective learning. The book they use is excellent. I really appreciated the group activities.
14. Nov. 2016
5.  (67 years) - Australia
105. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The small size and the friendly atmosphere. The teaching and admin staff did everything they could to make you feel welcome.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Not really insider tips....but enjoy the food, take as many trips as you can (the buses are terrific) to the beach, to the mountains and engage with the locals they love helping you with your Greek.
Other comments
I really enjoyed the 4 weeks I spent at Lexis. Maria is an excellent teacher. She was encouraging and patient and worked hard to make sure you were in classes appropriate to your level. There were times, however when we could have covered less material and done more consolidation. Overall it was a great experience, I met some lovely people and would love to return.
13. Nov. 2016
6.  (55 years) - 
106. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
26. Sep. 2016
7. Sofia (19 years) - Italy
107. Course:  Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
20. Jun. 2016
8.  (54 years) - 
108. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Its small size and the family atmosphere due to its localization in an apartment.
Other comments
Excellent course, very satisfying and appropriate content with our needs (and abilities!). I really want to return the for another week next year.
3. May. 2016
9.  (61 years) - 
109. Course:  Private Lessons 10 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The competent teacher (Maria) and the location of the school
Other comments
The school is small and very personal, you cannot expect to have classes in a larger group of the same level; therefore, the opportunity to meet other students is limited - but you go there for the Greek language and people ;)
8. Sep. 2015
10.  (46 years) - 
110. Course:  Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Family atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The textbooks used
20. Jul. 2015
11.  (61 years) - Denmark
111. Course:  Private Lessons 10 - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The atmosphere and quality of the teaching.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I recommend it to students interested in learning Greek language and culture.
Other comments
This is my second year with 20 individual lessons and I will return next year for at least two weeks - probably 4 weeks.
29. Jul. 2014
12.  (60 years) - Denmark
112. Course:  Private Lessons 10 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked the atmosphere and the efficient teaching which helped me make considerable progress in my oral proficiency.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It is certain that if you want to learn Greek you have come to a good place.
Other comments
The only comment I would like to put forward is that I have decided to have this particular school as my base for further studies in the future.
19. May. 2014
13.  (36 years) - 
113. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Hotel (Low Season)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and the environment
19. May. 2014
14.  (67 years) - United States
114. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It was really challenging. I had to work hard but the results were commensurate.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Stay in the Old City. Make sure you are assigned to the right level of class.
Other comments
The teachers and staff will go out of their way to accommodate your needs. I made good friends among the other students. A first day get-together might make this easier for others.
27. Feb. 2014
15.  (54 years) - 
115. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everything
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The restaurant, επε κουζίνα, on the other side of the street from school, 50m away
Other comments
Courtesy and availability of staff
2. Dec. 2013
16.  (60 years) - Australia
116. Course:  Intensive Course - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Go hiking in the mountains of Crete
Other comments
Very few people and had to take small group at reduced hours. No other option.
8. Aug. 2013
17.  (36 years) - 
117. Course:  Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers
6. Jun. 2013
18.  (63 years) - 
118. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The very touristic environment of the old city. The staff's kindness.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you want a fun little holiday tasting a bit of Greek language to distract you, it is the dream location. If you really want to learn Greek, choose the Assimil method.
Other comments
The teaching, all in Greek from the beginning, focuses entirely on oral and neglects written comprehension and the precise meaning of words. The level of some teachers is very low in English which prevents a good communication with students not having reached a sufficient level in Greek.
30. Apr. 2013
19.  (55 years) - Netherlands
119. Course:  Private Lessons 10 - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The nice people that work there and my teacher, who helped me to learn.
25. Apr. 2013
20.  (57 years) - 
120. Course:  Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Professional competence of the teaching staff. The teachers are attentive and approach the students openly. Course is very intensive but worthwhile
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The good location invites you to enjoy a beautiful walk through the old streets and/or a creamy frappé in Splanzia :) Well-priced local taverns.
Other comments
Quiet and central location, 150 metres from the sea. Relaxed atmosphere. All in all, I had a great time and I'm the frontrunner in my beginner's course in Düsseldorf
20. Aug. 2012
21.  (21 years) - Netherlands
121. Course:  2 Week Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and activities. I also liked the accomodation.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
During the weekend you have to go to Samaria, it will take you one day and it is a beautiful experience.