X

Reviews of Lyon Bleu International, Lyon, France

Total number of reviews: 144
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Based on 144 reviews of former students of Lyon Bleu International
Overall Rating
Lyon Bleu International, Lyon, France
4.2/5.0 
City 4.7/5.0 
Organisation 4.4/5.0 
Facilities 4.0/5.0 
Social activities 3.9/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.5/5.0 
Value for money 4.2/5.0 
Accommodation
Homestay 4.0/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.9/5.0 
other 3.8/5.0 

Individual Reviews

Lyon Bleu International
6. Sep. 2017
1. Enrico (27 years) - Italy
101. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Short Stay Residence
23. Aug. 2017
2.  (31 years) - France
102. Course:  French & Cuisine first two weeks. Intensive French two weeks - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
18. Aug. 2017
3.  (19 years) - Russia
103. Course:  Intensive French Course - 12 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
2. Aug. 2017
4.  (20 years) - United States
104. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
2. Aug. 2017
5.  (65 years) - Ireland
105. Course:  Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
31. Jul. 2017
6.  (39 years) - Canada
106. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
24. Jul. 2017
7.  (31 years) - United Kingdom
107. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
21. Jul. 2017
8.  (49 years) - Australia
108. Course:  Combined Intensive Course 2 (25 group + 10 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
13. Mar. 2017
9. Sven (51 years) - 
109. Course:  Business Executive 2 - Standard (15 group+15 individual) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
27. Feb. 2017
10.  (41 years) - Australia
110. Course:  Semi-Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The atmosphere at the school including the teachers and staff. The other students.
5. Dec. 2016
11. Malgorzata Elżbieta (44 years) - 
111. Course:  Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It is better to go for a shorter stay, but on an individual program.
Other comments
large group, not necessarily on the same level, lessons generally ok, but little varied, like in typical school, too little conversation.
22. Nov. 2016
12. Mikhail (31 years) - Russian Federation
112. Course:  Semi-Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
7. Nov. 2016
13.  (27 years) - Poland
113. Course:  Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
There were some excellent teachers. The atmosphere was good.
26. Sep. 2016
14.  (60 years) - United States
114. Course:  Semi-Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Well-organized and comprehensive instruction
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I think it's important that students realize there is an 8-week teaching cylce, and that depending on when you enter, you will begin your insruction at that level.
Other comments
I began at Lyon Bleu in the 8th week of the teaching cycle, so I missed the first 7 weeks of instruction at that level. I asked for the teaching materials (handouts) from the previous 7 weeks but was not able to get them. It would have been very helpful for me.
20. Sep. 2016
15. Luis (66 years) - Australia
115. Course:  Semi-Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
29. Aug. 2016
16.  (44 years) - 
116. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
SMALL GROUPS, VARIETY IN CLASSES' SYLLABUS.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I PROPOSE TO HAVE A ROOM WITH VIDEO WHERE WE CAN WATCH FILMS WITH OTHER STUDENTS, INSTEAD OF BORROWING THEM TO WATCH THEM AT HOME WITH THE FAMILY.
23. Aug. 2016
17.  (19 years) - 
117. Course:  DELF / DALF Preparation (15 group + 5 individual) - 6 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
18. Aug. 2016
18.  (36 years) - Ireland
118. Course:  Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I progressed. Never thought I could make such a big step forward.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Think what kind of host family you would like to have, what you would expect from them...
Other comments
Very good school, with loads of activities. I recommend it. I progressed a lot. They are responsive to your needs.
2. Aug. 2016
19.  (37 years) - Czech Republic
119. Course:  Combined Intensive Course 1 (25 group + 5 individual) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The location.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you go for only one or two weeks, this is probably not the best place for you.
Other comments
I've taken a few short-term intensive courses in different countries and somehow, to my regret, this was the weakest one. The curriculum was far from applied or intensive and very unflexible, considering we were a group eager to talk and interact. My host family was never present to practice with so both of us students lodged there were fishing for other ways to practice. Very tiny rooms which, thanks to the heat wave, got stuffy. There was no fresh air on one side or direct cold blast from AC. Would not be able to recommend this course.
2. Aug. 2016
20.  (20 years) - Spain
120. Course:  Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Julie J!!!! Best teacher ever!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Bring something to eat if you are not used to the eating hours in Europe, is hard to concentrate in class when you are hungry.
Other comments
Great school, staff and facilities. Better than expected :)
9. May. 2016
21.  (45 years) - 
121. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Short Stay Residence
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher was very professional. The school was well organized.
Other comments
The average age is about 25 years.
18. Apr. 2016
22.  (59 years) - Luxembourg
122. Course:  Combined Semi-Intensive Course 2 (15 Group + 10 individual) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The evening Chez Janine
2. Feb. 2016
23.  (53 years) - Netherlands
123. Course:  Business Executive 2 - Intensive (15 group+20 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very strong and committed teachers, mixed students from many countries and different age groups
Other comments
professional institution, excellent teaching
21. Dec. 2015
24.  (26 years) - 
124. Course:  Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher Audrey
26. Oct. 2015
25. Ina (18 years) - Netherlands
125. Course:  Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
19. Oct. 2015
26.  (24 years) - United Kingdom
126. Course:  Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small classes, very professional!
15. Sep. 2015
27.  (42 years) - Canada
127. Course:  Combined Intensive Course 2 (25 group + 10 individual) - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teaching and the professionalism of the teachers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Perhaps to not stay with a host family that also works in the school. It is not a good one, then it becomes very sensitive to discuss with their colleagues in the school and ask to change families.
Other comments
A great place to make friends from all over the world.
4. Sep. 2015
28.  (35 years) - 
128. Course:  Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Short Stay Residence
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I do not have a good opinion of the school. Poor organization of the courses, there was only one of the two teachers I had that was really prepared. Total inability of the school to meet the student's needs. Scarce social activities and of little interest.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Specify in their application if you wish to attend a course in the morning or in the afternoon !!!!
Other comments
I will definitely stay in Lyon but not in this school and would not recommend it
31. Aug. 2015
29.  (44 years) - Spain
129. Course:  Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Location and Manon, my professor
7. Aug. 2015
30.  (22 years) - 
130. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
23. Jun. 2015
31.  (31 years) - United Kingdom
131. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Amazing team which helped with every bit of the learning experience and tailored the program to the student needs. Also teachers and staff got really involved in social activities and ensured that students had a great time and the perfect atmosphere to learn the language
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Join the social activities that the school organizes: great opportunity to get to know the city and then practice your French with other students.
17. Jun. 2015
32.  (58 years) - United States
132. Course:  Combined Semi-Intensive Course 1 (15 group + 5 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
small classes; Elsa was an excellent teacher
Other comments
The internet speed is really bad for both students, and for teachers trying to use the internet during class.
25. May. 2015
33.  (33 years) - Ireland
133. Course:  Intensive French Course - 7 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly students good teaching.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Be aware, when you pay for a full week and the school is closed for a national holiday, you will lose a day's class with no refund or credit. While in another school I've been to if you lose a day due to holiday they give extra hours during the week. In Lyon in April/May I paid for 7 wks but due to national holidays I received 6 wks and 1 day.
Other comments
I was there in April/May and the building and classrooms where excessively hot which for me was annoying when studying.
5. May. 2015
34.  (34 years) - 
134. Course:  Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
30. Mar. 2015
35.  (58 years) - Australia
135. Course:  Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Short Stay Residence
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the passionate and professional teachers.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Study after each lesson and try to only talk French even with fellow students who speak your language.
Other comments
A really good school for education and learning French. I was lucky that I booked Lyon Bleu as it has been a wonderful experience for me.
19. Mar. 2015
36.  (46 years) - Finland
136. Course:  Combined Intensive Course 2 (25 group + 10 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The atmosphere
Other comments
Very good school with very nice and good teachers
29. Dec. 2014
37. Anastasia (23 years) - 
137. Course:  Semi-Intensive Course - 10 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
17. Dec. 2014
38.  (65 years) - Finland
138. Course:  Combined Intensive Course 1 (25 group + 5 individual) - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teaching
18. Nov. 2014
39.  (18 years) - 
139. Course:  Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everything
Other comments
It's a very good school!
3. Nov. 2014
40.  (61 years) - Finland
140. Course:  Combined Intensive Course 1 (25 group + 5 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teaching was well organised.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The private lessons gave a good opportunity to speak the language.
27. Oct. 2014
41. Anastasiia (22 years) - 
141. Course:  Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
19. Oct. 2014
42.  (66 years) - Canada
142. Course:  French & Cuisine - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Short Stay Residence
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked the small classes and the organization of the materials presented.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Stay close to the school.
Other comments
More info about "Francais et cuisine" would have been good. Not much actual cooking but okay with me.
14. Oct. 2014
43.  (26 years) - Hong Kong
143. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teachers are very friendly and approachable.
Other comments
It would be better if the school organised more social activities like hiking, parties, etc.
28. Sep. 2014
44.  (35 years) - United Kingdom
144. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The staff and students
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Participate in as many social activities as possible.
22. Sep. 2014
45. Gavin (20 years) - Ireland
145. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
13. Sep. 2014
46. Giulia (22 years) - 
146. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
8. Sep. 2014
47.  (34 years) - 
147. Course:  Semi-Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers; neighborhood
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Marketing international
Other comments
Tip: I think that many students are interested in taking courses on the long run. In this case, most of them will go to university, which is a cheaper way to study. Indeed, for this school to reach a global market, it could be a good idea to cut its prices, improve its teaching methods and its e-marketing. It could be also great to develop partnerships with other universities. Within few months, it could have a far greater reputation.
5. Aug. 2014
48.  (21 years) - 
148. Course:  Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher Clélia and the library
4. Aug. 2014
49.  (19 years) - 
149. Course:  DELF / DALF Preparation (15 group + 5 individual) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers, the program, my group
31. Jul. 2014
50.  (21 years) - 
150. Course:  DELF / DALF Preparation (15 group + 5 individual) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Short Stay Residence
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are friendly and professional, wide range of activities on offer.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Great school.
Other comments
Great school.
21. Jul. 2014
51.  (49 years) - 
151. Course:  Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Short Stay Residence
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very motivating teachers and the cultural activities in the afternoons.
21. Jul. 2014
52.   - 
152. Course:  Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Short Stay Residence
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked the teacher, she did really well in class. Lessons were very good and entertaining. The truth is time flied and it was not hard at all.
Other comments
None, my experience at the school was positive. Shame I was there only for a week but I hcould not stay longer. I wish I could have stayed two weeks.
16. Jul. 2014
53.  (18 years) - 
153. Course:  Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teaching methodology, good atmosphere, interaction with young people from around the world.
Other comments
I express my deep gratitude to the host family Anna and Giovanni for welcoming reception.
16. Jun. 2014
54.  (42 years) - Japan
154. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
When I complained about the class management, facilitator responded immediately.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make sure teachers manage the class fairly. There were talkative Latinos who need to talk less and study grammar more, and quiet Asians who knew the grammar but needed to talk more. If you stay quiet, teachers may just focus on the talkative ones.
Other comments
I stayed with a French family, and unfortunately there were bed bugs! It was really bad and I had to go to the hospital after I left Lyon. I also have to fumigate all my luggage before going home. I reported to the school, so hopefully they will make sure this won't happen again...
16. Jun. 2014
55. Yutaro (25 years) - Japan
155. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
20. May. 2014
56.  (77 years) - Australia
156. Course:  Semi-Intensive Course - Vocabulary option - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
innovative teaching
5. May. 2014
57.  (29 years) - Spain
157. Course:  Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teaching
Other comments
I asked for a family accommodation and it wasn't a family. It was a woman who rented rooms so I couldn't speak with anybody when I was at home and I did not have access to the tv or books, just my bedroom.
5. May. 2014
58.  (30 years) - 
158. Course:  Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Short Stay Residence
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher Eva is very good and nice. The school has also organized cultural activities in the evening. The structure had supplied all the modern resources for the lessons. The level of the students is very high.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The residence where I stayed was not bad, but the Arab area was not the best of the city, although it has never happened anything unpleasant.
Other comments
Congratulations to the organization, support, method of teaching and thanks for everything. My holiday was very nice and just in one week I started to speak French without fear.
10. Mar. 2014
59.  (23 years) - 
159. Course:  Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Most of the school staff are good and nice. My teacher was excellent.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The system of school is difficult for making friends. The students are divided into two groups; the morning group and the afternoon one. Luckily I was in the morning class. If you're a late-nighter for drinking, I recommend to join the afternoon group. Then, you can sleep late into the morning. Otherwise, you would miss many classes.
Other comments
The school facilities are excellent in general though, the wifi is slow comparing to another school in Lyon. The host family I stayed for the first week was horrible. I had a impression that they didn't welcome the students, but want to receive only the money. I felt a miserable guest in the family. After talking with the school about this problem, they rearranged another host family immediately. I was very happy with staying at the second one.
2. Oct. 2013
60.  (47 years) - 
160. Course:  Semi-Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers. They worked hard with a group which was not a good group.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I do not understand how it is posible that you close one week during august
13. Aug. 2013
61.  (49 years) - United Kingdom
161. Course:  French & Cuisine - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendliness and relaxed atmosphere
Other comments
The cookery course could have been better organised at the school, and more courses/cooking added.
1. Aug. 2013
62.  (37 years) - 
162. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the structure and the teachers' availability
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
it is an unforgettable experience
Other comments
none, everything positive
1. Jul. 2013
63.  (20 years) - Spain
163. Course:  Semi-Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are very professionnal.
27. May. 2013
64.  (35 years) - Singapore
164. Course:  Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
There are many classes, so students in the same class are at the same level. On the contrary, other schools with just 3 levels mix advance and beginner students.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Join the activities right from the first day. Don't wait.
Other comments
That everyone is encouraged to speak French and most people do that. Not the case everywhere.
18. Mar. 2013
65. Sabine (42 years) - 
165. Course:  Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
12. Feb. 2013
66.  (45 years) - 
166. Course:  Combined Semi-Intensive Course 2 (15 Group + 10 individual) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were very knowledgeable. I benefited greatly.
24. Dec. 2012
67.  (28 years) - Hong Kong
167. Course:  Combined Intensive Course 1 (25 group + 5 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
One on one class
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
just enjoy the city
Other comments
1) I don't really like the group classes due to other students attitude (late for class and lying on the table during classes) 2) I didn't appreciate my stay with the family in Lyon: they were more interested in practising English with me, the heater didn't work in my room and there were several times I got very poor breakfast with only a few small slices of bread.
5. Dec. 2012
68. Maria Del Pilar (46 years) - 
168. Course:  Semi-Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Big Studio in Hotel Residence
9. Oct. 2012
69.  (52 years) - 
169. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very good teachers, interesting and stimulating method
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
the choice of films for the cinema workshop (the artist) was a bit disappointing
Other comments
I would have liked to continue the course
1. Oct. 2012
70.  (61 years) - 
170. Course:  Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very friendly and helpful.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
A great atmosphere and dedicated staff.
Other comments
A very good learning experience.
27. Aug. 2012
71.  (23 years) - Poland
171. Course:  Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher Nathalie, who was always prepared, smiley and helpful.
20. Aug. 2012
72.  (20 years) - Spain
172. Course:  Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers.
16. Jul. 2012
73.  (49 years) - United States
173. Course:  Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Big Studio in Hotel Residence
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
That it was in Lyon.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I did not participate in the social activities. If it is your first time in Lyon, you may want to
Other comments
The one and only break comes after 2 hours and 15 min. That is a long time to go without a break. Because the way the classes are set up, everyone must take their break at the same time. So teachers cannot take advantage of natural breaks in the teaching process. Additionally, the material for beginners is photocopied handouts and often, the copies are of poor quality.
9. Jul. 2012
74.  (24 years) - 
174. Course:  Semi Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The advanced class was very good.
1. Apr. 2012
75.  (27 years) - Canada
175. Course:  Semi Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I enjoyed the people that I have met through the school.
Other comments
I believe that going 3 hours through classes without a break is pushing the human mind too far, as proved through numerous studies by universities througout the world. After 45 minutes the mind and body needs a quick break. This is why universities, at least in North America, have instigated 5 - 10 minutes break per hour. Again, proven through McMaster University in Hamilton Canada many years ago. Students perform much better when given these quick breaks.
5. Mar. 2012
76.  (40 years) - Netherlands
176. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
creative teachers, full of energy, personal approach
5. Mar. 2012
77.  (55 years) - Italy
177. Course:  Complete beginner programme (10 group+15 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Big Studio in Hotel Residence
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Not anything in particular but I liked the professional approch the teachers have.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
No.
Other comments
I did not get what I hoped but that is not because of the schole but because of the old man there is trying to learn France.
20. Feb. 2012
78. Machiko (36 years) - 
178. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
20. Feb. 2012
79. Kim (24 years) - Czech Republic
179. Course:  Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
28. Nov. 2011
80.  (27 years) - Spain
180. Course:  Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers
7. Nov. 2011
81.  (39 years) - United Kingdom
181. Course:  Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Their friendliness and the activities they organised outside the school. The clases were really good too!
9. Oct. 2011
82.  (46 years) - 
182. Course:  French & Cuisine - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teachers and good atmosphere.
31. Aug. 2011
83. Elia (27 years) - 
183. Course:  Combined Intensive Course 1 (25 group + 5 individual) - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
29. Aug. 2011
84. Mª ángeles  (44 years) - Spain
184. Course:  Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Other comments
I think it's very important that the course information is in the source language. If it comes in the language you study, how are we supposed to understand? The school contacted me in French and English. Since I was going to study a basic level, should have worked a little more. Thank you.
9. Aug. 2011
85.  (24 years) - Belgium
185. Course:  Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The way of teaching was very good! I recommend this school to everyone!!
8. Aug. 2011
86.  (22 years) - Belgium
186. Course:  Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the friendly atmosphere, and social interaction with the other students
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Try speaking french all the time, even if it's easier to speak English, that's the only way to learn the language, and don't be afraid to make mistakes.
6. Jul. 2011
87.  (23 years) - Sweden
187. Course:  Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and the staff and the social activities.
Other comments
I really liked studying French at Lyon Bleu and I appreciated my teacher a lot.
13. Jun. 2011
88. Natalia (29 years) - Greece
188. Course:  Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
7. Mar. 2011
89.  (20 years) - Japan
189. Course:  Combined semi-intensive course 1 - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
7. Feb. 2011
90.  (21 years) - Spain
190. Course:  Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everything!
22. Nov. 2010
91.  (30 years) - 
191. Course:  Semi Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The staff and the organization of the course
28. Sep. 2010
92.  (32 years) - 
192. Course:  Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The friendly, welcoming atmosphere. All the staff are very approachable.
30. Aug. 2010
93.  (25 years) - 
193. Course:  Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The organization
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Taking umbrella because it rains in Lyon.
23. Aug. 2010
94.  (21 years) - 
194. Course:  Semi Intensive Course - 8 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very good teachers, well organised, good location and nice building.
Other comments
I had a fantastic 2 months in Lyon, I wouldn't change a thing!
11. Jul. 2010
95.  (59 years) - Australia
195. Course:  French Senior 50+ / semi-intensif - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Close to shops and public transportation. Competent teachers and nice classmates.
Other comments
While I enjoyed the interaction with students and teachers, I found it VERY annoying that some students insisted on using their portable electronic dictionaries - I'm sure the teachers found it annoying also.
25. Jun. 2010
96.  (36 years) - 
196. Course:  Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers are professional and try to provide you with the maximum of the notions and to optimize times. This is good expecially for those who attend the school for brief periods and need to progress quickly.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Lyon bleu is moving to a new location, about which I know nothing except that it will be better and more furnished than the current one. Organization is good and teaching effective. Moreover, there are many social activities that students can attend mostly for free, such as the tours around the city. You can also take part to chocolate tasting or to ceramic laboratories. You can find all the information you need about restaurants, clubs, theaters, concerts and special events on the school notice board. In other words, you have all you need!
Other comments
It was a great experience, no doubt about it. I encountered some rigidity regarding the schedule for the lessons, which I didn't find in other language schools, like the one I attended in London. However, I guess it depends on the number of available classes and professors. I'm saying it because there were a couple of factors that made my days a little tiring: the home-school distance (2 buses which had to be taken at a certain time in order not to lose the connection) and the time of the lessons, which started at 8:45. if some young man or damsel wants to both go to the school and enjoy the night life they'd better ask for an accomodation close to the school or for a more convenient timing, 'cause once you have been assigned to a course you cannot change it. You can do it only for work reasons, or things like that. This is purely for informative purpose!
18. Jun. 2010
97.  (21 years) - Netherlands
197. Course:  Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The way of teaching.
17. May. 2010
98.  (49 years) - 
198. Course:  Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teachers Eva y Muriel
Other comments
I liked the city, school and everything in general. I wish I had stayed for one more week
1. May. 2010
99.  (29 years) - United Kingdom
199. Course:  Intensive French Course - 10 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small classes and good teachers.
27. Apr. 2010
100. Sylvia (51 years) - Finland
200. Course:  French Senior 50+ - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Other comments
2 hours 15 min lessons without a break in the afternoon is too much. The students had very few possibilities to speak french themselves. We just had to listen to the teacher. Large group(12 students)