X

Reviews of Polish Language School, Sopot, Poland

Total number of reviews: 19
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews of former students of Polish Language School
Overall Rating
Polish Language School, Sopot, Poland

Rating: 4.5/5.0

4.5/5.0 
City

Rating: 4.6/5.0

4.6/5.0 
Organisation

Rating: 4.5/5.0

4.5/5.0 
Facilities

Rating: 3.9/5.0

3.9/5.0 
Social activities

Rating: 4.1/5.0

4.1/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language

Rating: 4.7/5.0

4.7/5.0 
Value for money

Rating: 4.6/5.0

4.6/5.0 
Accommodation
Homestay

Rating: 4.3/5.0

4.3/5.0 
Shared Flat

Rating: 0.0/5.0

0.0/5.0 
other ---

Individual Reviews

Polish Language School
16. Dec. 2019
1. Andrea (52 years) - 
101. Course:  10 SKYPE Lessons (1/week) - 10 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 5/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

1. Aug. 2019
2. Chiharu (49 years) - Japan
102. Course:  Intensive Plus Polish Course [Polish] - 3 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 5/5.0

Social activities
---
Quality of teaching / language progress
---
29. May. 2019
3. Regina (54 years) - Germany
103. Course:  Intensive Polish Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money
---
Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization
---
Facilities (library, classrooms)
---
Social activities
---
Quality of teaching / language progress
---
16. May. 2019
4.  (63 years) - 
104. Course:  Intensive Polish Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 4/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 4/5.0

School organization

Rating: 4/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 3/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 4/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Do not miss the visit of the beautiful city of Gdansk, easily accessible from Sopot (20 minutes by train, ticket at 1 euro, trains every 10 minutes on weekdays).
24. Apr. 2019
5.  (57 years) - Germany
105. Course:  Intensive Polish Course [Polnisch] - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money
---
Detailed review
City/place
---
School organization
---
Facilities (library, classrooms)
---
Social activities
---
Quality of teaching / language progress
---
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked the small class sizes and the familiar atmosphere.
Other comments
Very, very friendly people!
19. Nov. 2018
6.   - 
106. Course:  Intensive Plus Polish Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 4/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

29. Oct. 2018
7.  (22 years) - 
107. Course:  Intensive Polish Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 5/5.0

Social activities
---
Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Accommodation
Homestay

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I was there at the end of September, which is still considered high season, but the number of students in the group was quite small, 2-4 people.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you are a beginner, you need to book at least 3 weeks and study very hard. And at A1 level you'll get results within a week, but you will miss Poland, when you get back home.
Other comments
Nice and easy-going girls. The atmosphere is friendly and homely.
27. Aug. 2018
8.  (20 years) - 
108. Course:  Intensive Polish Course [Polacco] - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 5/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 3/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Accommodation
Homestay

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
That you could ask for things even outside of the lesson
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
already knowing a little bit of Polish
21. Aug. 2018
9.  (32 years) - United Kingdom
109. Course:  Intensive Polish Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 3/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I liked the friendly and professional staff and their willingness to be flexible in terms of which group you worked with. The teacher paced the lessons appropriately and most importantly, listened to feedback from individuals who were at different levels. I chose my own accommodation but saw where a friend on the course was staying and the place was beautiful (really spacious and the owner was lovely). Most of all, I liked that the school considered ways to ensure the groups could meet to talk and get to know each other. Realistically, these types of courses are completed by people who yes, want to learn the language, but also want to immerse themselves in the language while spending time with others doing the same - i.e. socialising is such a huge part of the course and although the school cannot guarantee you will meet people you can spend time with, they can certainly do a lot to facilitate this and I thought they did this really well by having two breaks during the day (one 30 minutes long so plenty of time to get to know each other and figure out who you get along with as well as to nip to the local shop to practise your Polish in the real world!) - I made a couple of great friends who I know I will keep in touch with and actually spent my time practising Polish and learning about the cultures of Czech Republic, Slovakia, Ukraine, Switzerland, Italy (and more about Germany too). We were all at different levels in our Polish studies and were able to practise some of what we had learned together. Again, this is not something you pay for as it cannot be included in the course but I do think it's worth mentioning because not all schools will consider how to ensure opportunities for 'mingling'. I was very happy with the course, I got exactly what I expect from courses like these and I will return as soon as time and money permit. Also: Sopot is stunning so the school could not be better located.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make sure you head to the pier and the surrounding area. Walk along the promenade for access to beautiful restaurants and views. This is also the easiest (and most pleasant) way to walk through Sopot to various destinations such as the train station or the school. Make sure to visit the nearby cities e.g. Gdańsk. When booking accommodation, and I cannot stress this enough, whether you book privately or through the school, ensure it is a non-negotiable that your room not face street 'aleja niepodległości'. This is the main street in Sopot and throughout summer it is the busiest and noisiest street in Sopot (it seemed!) - day and night. It is also heavily lit with huge street lights and for this reason, in case you cannot control where you sleep, you should demand your room have black-out curtains. I have it on good authority that you should also request your accommodation have sufficient bedrooms for all inhabitants (if booking through the school) i.e. you don't want your host sleeping in the living room!
Other comments
I loved my experience and definitely recommend the school (and will be returning) - I would offer only one or two suggestions for improvement which would be to update the technology used - I wouldn't expect full lessons to be added to PowerPoint (because I have to do this as a teacher myself and it is an enormous waste of time) but perhaps words you know for sure you will write on the board, could be on a slide to avoid wasting time writing them on the board by hand. I would also recommend more opportunities to practise what has been learned in an interactive manner so actually going outside (weather permitting) to practise directions or through the use of task-based conversations in class (prompt cards dictating how the conversation should flow and what details you should uncover). We all want to get to the point of being conversational because we can practise the grammar in our own time so a better balance of 'learn and practise' would be ideal.
1. May. 2018
10.  (30 years) - 
110. Course:  Intensive Polish Course [Polnisch] - 3 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 4/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Accommodation
Homestay

Rating: 4/5.0

30. Apr. 2018
11.  (49 years) - 
111. Course:  Intensive Polish Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 4/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 3/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 3/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 3/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 4/5.0

Accommodation
Homestay

Rating: 5/5.0

25. Feb. 2018
12.  (60 years) - 
112. Course:  Intensive Plus Polish Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 4/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 4/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 3/5.0

Social activities
---
Quality of teaching / language progress
---
Accommodation
Homestay

Rating: 4/5.0

13. Nov. 2017
13.  (52 years) - 
113. Course:  Intensive Plus Polish Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities
---
Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The seriousness of the Polish teacher. Progress in Polish
16. Apr. 2017
14. Reinhild (46 years) - 
114. Course:  Intensive Polish Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 4/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 3/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 5/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 4/5.0

13. Jul. 2016
15.  (45 years) - United Kingdom
115. Course:  Intensive Polish Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 4/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 4/5.0

School organization

Rating: 4/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 4/5.0

Accommodation
Homestay

Rating: 4/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Location and friendly staff
29. Feb. 2016
16.  (39 years) - Japan
116. Course:  Intensive Polish Course - 6 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 4/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 5/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 3/5.0

School organization

Rating: 4/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 3/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Accommodation
Homestay

Rating: 3/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good friendly teachers.
26. Oct. 2015
17.  (26 years) - 
117. Course:  Intensive Polsih Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 4/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 5/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 3/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 4/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are very nice and flexible timewise.
31. Aug. 2015
18.  (57 years) - 
118. Course:  Intensive Plus Polish Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating

Rating: 4/5.0

Value for money

Rating: 4/5.0

Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 4/5.0

School organization

Rating: 4/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities
---
Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Accommodation
Homestay

Rating: 4/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers, hospitality
10. Aug. 2015
19.  (53 years) - 
119. Course:  Intensive Plus Polish Course - 1 week

Overall Rating

Rating: 4/5.0

Value for money
---
Detailed review
City/place

Rating: 4/5.0

School organization

Rating: 5/5.0

Facilities (library, classrooms)

Rating: 4/5.0

Social activities

Rating: 4/5.0

Quality of teaching / language progress

Rating: 5/5.0

Accommodation
Homestay

Rating: 5/5.0

Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The flexibility in the course selection. Very good teaching style of Agata.

Save money! Exclusive promotions!
Sign up to benefit from the best language course deals.
Terms & ConditionsPrivacy & CookiesImprintReview and User Content Policies