X

Reviews of Die Akademie, Palma de Mallorca, Spain

Total number of reviews: 32
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
Die Akademie, Palma de Mallorca, Spain
4.0/5.0 
(32 reviews)
City 4.7/5.0 
Organisation 3.8/5.0 
Facilities 3.3/5.0 
Social activities 3.1/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 3.9/5.0 
Value for money 3.8/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 3.7/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.7/5.0 
other 3.7/5.0 
Individual Reviews
10. May. 2016
1. (35 years)  -  Denmark
1. Standard Spanish Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The location
Other comments
The first week was ok, though it would have been great to have more focus on speaking the language than doing text exercises. But the second week, there was no class for us, because we did not fit into either of the levels. Basic or high level. So I had to wait until Tuesday to have lessons. And the teacher was unprepared and showed no enthusiasm at all. Friday we ended up with another teacher. She was good, but it was a very confusing week, I feel my money was wasted :(
11. Nov. 2015
2. (55 years)  - 
2. Standard Spanish Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
- The class size - lesson structure
12. Oct. 2015
3. (31 years)  - 
3. Super Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The staff were always so friendly and helpful, there was always tea, coffee, fruit and pastries for the student, the home-made tapas at the end of the week were great!
5. Oct. 2015
4. Jean-pierre (73 years)  - 
4. 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
23. Sep. 2015
5. (47 years)  - 
5. Standard Spanish Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
There was always the possibility and flexibility to take individual classes due to a lack of students, although a course was booked.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
One should insist to know if a course will actually take place. Otherwise it can happen that you have to take individual classes. This has benefits in terms of the learning effect on the one hand, if on the other hand you don't want to come to school every day for an hour only, it costs more. Although this is clear from the start, it was not clear that there would be no course.
Other comments
Advertised accessibility does not exist. While this did not affect me, because I have no physical handicap, a wheelchair user had to be carried up and down the stairs on a daily basis.
8. Sep. 2015
6. (31 years)  - 
6. Standard Spanish Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Quality of teaching
17. Aug. 2015
7. (55 years)  - 
7. Individual Tuition - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
12. Aug. 2015
8. (65 years)  -  Denmark
8. Standard Spanish Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family 'Plus'
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I did not like the school. It was dirty, dull and the teacher was not prepared for the teaching. And the secretary was not helpful.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
German is the favorite language. Make sure that your hostfamily understand a little English.
Other comments
Die Akademie needs to be a lot more inviting and modernized in every possible way. I Got sick from the very bad conditions.
4. Jun. 2015
9. (37 years)  - 
9. Super Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the great location in the city center
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
definitely look for another school
Other comments
Classrooms in the basement, very dark, no placement test, therefore wrong group composition, time-wasting audiobooks with 10 min music droning, unpleasant automatically triggering room spray every 30 minutes. Teachers were unprepared and copy during the lessons. No homework, noticably little motivation
1. Jun. 2015
10. (52 years)  - 
10. Standard Spanish Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Location, charming building
Other comments
Classrooms in the basement are unacceptable (bad exposure to light, ventilation, cellar smell). Documents and media are outdated. Poor organization of teachers. They go unprepared to class, then have to copy in between ... Carmen once left us wait endlessly after the CD was finished.
7. May. 2015
11. (51 years)  - 
11. Standard Spanish Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Personal, nice communication with the teaching staff
20. Apr. 2015
12.  -  Denmark
12. Standard Spanish Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
It is very centrally located. Fine facilities with toilets and water and coffee
Other comments
I think the teachers should do a couple of lessons outside, because it is a long time to sit inside with no actual windows to see the sky.
24. Nov. 2014
13. (24 years)  -  Italy
13. Standard Spanish Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Private Flats
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
frendly atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
don't book accommodation with the school. it's too expensive.
Other comments
I had great time. thanks.
1. Oct. 2014
14. (52 years)  - 
14. Standard Spanish Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Location in the city, our teacher Carmen (very professional handling of difficult students !!!), fruit in the morning, efforts of the organizers and teachers.
Other comments
I'll be back in 2015 !!!!!
29. Sep. 2014
15. (57 years)  - 
15. Standard Spanish Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The very competent, friendly and flexible profesora (Carmen)! The rooms were extremely well presented! Thank you also for coffee, water and snacks!
Other comments
I will recommend The Academy definitely to interested friends!
3. Sep. 2014
16. (43 years)  - 
16. Standard Spanish Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Location, People
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Guided visit at Almudaina
25. Aug. 2014
17. (60 years)  - 
17. Standard Spanish Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very nice female employees and teachers
17. Jun. 2014
18. Frank (47 years)  - 
18. Super Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Other comments
Unfortunately, I assumed when someone is German and ants to learn Spanish a German-speaking teacher would be available. Unfortunately, there were only English-speaking teachers in the two weeks I have been there. Luckily, I know a little English! But I did not understand everything as good as if I would have had a German-speaking teacher. Too bad! :-( But otherwise nice and easy teachers!
4. Oct. 2013
19. Miel (25 years)  - 
19. Standard Spanish Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
6. Aug. 2013
20.  - 
20. Standard Spanish Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family 'Plus'
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
good atmosphere
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It would be better to have the common activity at the beginning of the course and not at the very end.
21. May. 2013
21. Marcus (41 years)  - 
21. Super Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
6. May. 2013
22. (50 years)  - 
22. Super Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very relaxed and varying atmosphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I would recommend to perform a test in the beginning of the course. According to their level, the participants will be arranged into groups.
Other comments
I highly recommended it
2. Oct. 2012
23. (65 years)  - 
23. Standard Spanish Course 20 hs. - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
School Apartment
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
THE TEACHING AND THE KINDNESS OF EMPLOYEES
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
THERE ARE NO SECONDARY CULTURAL ACTIVITIES IN THE AFTERNOON
Other comments
THE FREE CULTURAL ACTIVITIES
4. Sep. 2012
24. (19 years)  - 
24. Super Intensive - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Amazing teachers and great classmates
27. Aug. 2012
25. (20 years)  -  Russian Federation
25. Standard Spanish Course 20 hs. - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
School Apartment
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers.
Other comments
Thank you)))
23. Jul. 2012
26. (40 years)  - 
26. Standard Spanish Course 20 hs. - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
School Apartment
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Peaceful and homely atmosphere
Other comments
Great central location, clean rooms and comfortable. Great welcome. Learning modules a little bit dated and sometimes boring. Excellent teachers availability and school staff
3. Jul. 2012
27. (56 years)  - 
27. Standard Spanish Course 20 hs. - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family 'Plus'
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small group. Friendly atmosphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It's a small school, but very comfortable.
Other comments
I couldn't receive the prompt replies from the school. I felt slightly concerned.
9. Apr. 2012
28. (30 years)  - 
28. Super Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teaching and small class sizes
Other comments
A little disorganised.
5. Apr. 2012
29. (54 years)  - 
29. Super Intensive - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
School Apartment
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
School is located in the centre and is personal, the school apartments are very good for a short term course
25. Jul. 2011
30. (15 years)  - 
30. Standard Spanish Course 20 hs. - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The fact that the teachers were very good teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Hanging out with the class
29. Nov. 2010
31. (66 years)  - 
31. Standard Spanish Course 20 hs. - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good atmosphere, central location
Other comments
It gets chilly in the rooms in November
12. Aug. 2010
32. Emily Marie (16 years)  -  Norway
32. Standard Spanish Course 20 hs. - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
As a beginner with no experience with Spanish whatsoever, two straight weeks of the intensive course is more than enough, if not too much. You don't have time to practice what you just learned, which makes it hard to keep track with everything you are meant to learn. But still, this is a good kick-start as long as you keep it up by practising and try to speak as much Spanish as you can, whenever you get a chance!
Other comments
Teachers: My first week, I had a great teacher who was patient and tried her best to make me understand everything. My second week was not as great. My new teacher was not as patient and he made me feel lost. It felt as if he had given me up. I am sure he is a good teacher, but i have to say, his sympathy and connection with other people are not. He should work on his social skills.

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Inesa (25): I think the service works really well. I have had... more
  • Katura (64): Excellent website. Allowed me to make an informed... more
  • Abrahan (23): I liked the experience of Cursos-de-idiomas.com,... more