Reviews of Lyon Bleu International, Lyon, France

Total No. of Reviews: 97
NOTE: All evaluations are authentic. Only former participants who have booked a course with us at the school can publish evaluations after the end of the course. Schools could therefore not manipulate evaluations and you can trust in all published evaluations.

Average Rating

Overall rating
Lyon Bleu International, Lyon, France
4.2/5.0 
(97 reviews)
City 4.6/5.0 
Organisation 4.4/5.0 
Facilities 3.9/5.0 
Social activities 3.8/5.0 
Course Quality / Progress in language 4.5/5.0 
Value for money 4.2/5.0 
Accommodation
Host Family 4.1/5.0 
Shared flat (apartment) 3.8/5.0 
Other 3.8/5.0 
Individual Reviews
5. Aug. 2014
1. (21 years)  - 
1. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
4. Aug. 2014
2. (19 years)  - 
2. DELF / DALF Preparation (15 group + 5 individual) - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
31. Jul. 2014
3. (21 years)  - 
3. DELF / DALF Preparation (15 group + 5 individual) - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Short Stay - Residence
Other
21. Jul. 2014
4. (49 years)  - 
4. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Short Stay - Residence
Other
21. Jul. 2014
5.  - 
5. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Short Stay - Residence
Other
16. Jul. 2014
6. (18 years)  - 
6. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
16. Jun. 2014
7. (42 years)  -  Japan
7. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
16. Jun. 2014
8. Yutaro (25 years)  -  Japan
8. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
20. May. 2014
9. (77 years)  -  Australia
9. Semi-Intensive Course - Vocabulary option - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
innovative teaching
5. May. 2014
10. (29 years)  -  Spain
10. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teaching
Other comments
I asked for a family accommodation and it wasn't a family. It was a woman who rented rooms so I couldn't speak with anybody when I was at home and I did not have access to the tv or books, just my bedroom.
5. May. 2014
11. (30 years)  - 
11. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Short Stay - Residence
Other
10. Mar. 2014
12. (23 years)  - 
12. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Most of the school staff are good and nice. My teacher was excellent.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The system of school is difficult for making friends. The students are divided into two groups; the morning group and the afternoon one. Luckily I was in the morning class. If you're a late-nighter for drinking, I recommend to join the afternoon group. Then, you can sleep late into the morning. Otherwise, you would miss many classes.
Other comments
The school facilities are excellent in general though, the wifi is slow comparing to another school in Lyon. The host family I stayed for the first week was horrible. I had a impression that they didn't welcome the students, but want to receive only the money. I felt a miserable guest in the family. After talking with the school about this problem, they rearranged another host family immediately. I was very happy with staying at the second one.
2. Oct. 2013
13. (47 years)  - 
13. Semi-Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers. They worked hard with a group which was not a good group.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I do not understand how it is posible that you close one week during august
13. Aug. 2013
14. (49 years)  -  United Kingdom
14. French & Cuisine - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendliness and relaxed atmosphere
Other comments
The cookery course could have been better organised at the school, and more courses/cooking added.
1. Aug. 2013
15. (37 years)  - 
15. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the structure and the teachers' availability
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
it is an unforgettable experience
Other comments
none, everything positive
1. Jul. 2013
16. (20 years)  -  Spain
16. Semi-Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are very professionnal.
27. May. 2013
17. (35 years)  -  Singapore
17. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
There are many classes, so students in the same class are at the same level. On the contrary, other schools with just 3 levels mix advance and beginner students.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Join the activities right from the first day. Don't wait.
Other comments
That everyone is encouraged to speak French and most people do that. Not the case everywhere.
18. Mar. 2013
18. Sabine (42 years)  - 
18. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
12. Feb. 2013
19. (45 years)  - 
19. Combined Semi-Intensive Course 2 (15 Group + 10 individual) - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were very knowledgeable. I benefited greatly.
24. Dec. 2012
20. (28 years)  -  Hong Kong
20. Combined Intensive Course 1 (25 group + 5 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
One on one class
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
just enjoy the city
Other comments
1) I don't really like the group classes due to other students attitude (late for class and lying on the table during classes) 2) I didn't appreciate my stay with the family in Lyon: they were more interested in practising English with me, the heater didn't work in my room and there were several times I got very poor breakfast with only a few small slices of bread.
5. Dec. 2012
21. Maria Del Pilar (46 years)  - 
21. Semi-Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Big Studio in Hotel Residence
Other
9. Oct. 2012
22. (52 years)  - 
22. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very good teachers, interesting and stimulating method
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
the choice of films for the cinema workshop (the artist) was a bit disappointing
Other comments
I would have liked to continue the course
1. Oct. 2012
23. (61 years)  - 
23. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very friendly and helpful.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
A great atmosphere and dedicated staff.
Other comments
A very good learning experience.
27. Aug. 2012
24. (23 years)  -  Poland
24. Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher Nathalie, who was always prepared, smiley and helpful.
20. Aug. 2012
25. (20 years)  -  Spain
25. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers.
16. Jul. 2012
26. (49 years)  -  United States
26. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Big Studio in Hotel Residence
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
That it was in Lyon.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I did not participate in the social activities. If it is your first time in Lyon, you may want to
Other comments
The one and only break comes after 2 hours and 15 min. That is a long time to go without a break. Because the way the classes are set up, everyone must take their break at the same time. So teachers cannot take advantage of natural breaks in the teaching process. Additionally, the material for beginners is photocopied handouts and often, the copies are of poor quality.
9. Jul. 2012
27. (24 years)  - 
27. Semi Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The advanced class was very good.
1. Apr. 2012
28. (27 years)  -  Canada
28. Semi Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I enjoyed the people that I have met through the school.
Other comments
I believe that going 3 hours through classes without a break is pushing the human mind too far, as proved through numerous studies by universities througout the world. After 45 minutes the mind and body needs a quick break. This is why universities, at least in North America, have instigated 5 - 10 minutes break per hour. Again, proven through McMaster University in Hamilton Canada many years ago. Students perform much better when given these quick breaks.
5. Mar. 2012
29. (40 years)  -  Netherlands
29. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
creative teachers, full of energy, personal approach
5. Mar. 2012
30. (55 years)  -  Italy
30. Complete beginner programme (10 group+15 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Big Studio in Hotel Residence
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Not anything in particular but I liked the professional approch the teachers have.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
No.
Other comments
I did not get what I hoped but that is not because of the schole but because of the old man there is trying to learn France.
20. Feb. 2012
31. Machiko (36 years)  - 
31. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
20. Feb. 2012
32. Kim (24 years)  -  Czech Republic
32. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
28. Nov. 2011
33. (27 years)  -  Spain
33. Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers
7. Nov. 2011
34. (39 years)  -  United Kingdom
34. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Their friendliness and the activities they organised outside the school. The clases were really good too!
9. Oct. 2011
35. (46 years)  - 
35. French & Cuisine - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teachers and good atmosphere.
31. Aug. 2011
36. Elia (27 years)  - 
36. Combined Intensive Course 1 (25 group + 5 individual) - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
29. Aug. 2011
37. Mª ángeles (44 years)  -  Spain
37. Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Other comments
I think it's very important that the course information is in the source language. If it comes in the language you study, how are we supposed to understand? The school contacted me in French and English. Since I was going to study a basic level, should have worked a little more. Thank you.
9. Aug. 2011
38. (24 years)  -  Belgium
38. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The way of teaching was very good! I recommend this school to everyone!!
8. Aug. 2011
39. (22 years)  -  Belgium
39. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the friendly atmosphere, and social interaction with the other students
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Try speaking french all the time, even if it's easier to speak English, that's the only way to learn the language, and don't be afraid to make mistakes.
6. Jul. 2011
40. (23 years)  -  Sweden
40. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and the staff and the social activities.
Other comments
I really liked studying French at Lyon Bleu and I appreciated my teacher a lot.
13. Jun. 2011
41. Natalia (29 years)  -  Greece
41. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
7. Mar. 2011
42. (20 years)  -  Japan
42. Combined semi-intensive course 1 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
7. Feb. 2011
43. (21 years)  -  Spain
43. Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everything!
22. Nov. 2010
44. (30 years)  - 
44. Semi Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The staff and the organization of the course
28. Sep. 2010
45. (32 years)  - 
45. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The friendly, welcoming atmosphere. All the staff are very approachable.
30. Aug. 2010
46. (25 years)  - 
46. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The organization
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Taking umbrella because it rains in Lyon.
23. Aug. 2010
47. (21 years)  - 
47. Semi Intensive Course - 8 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very good teachers, well organised, good location and nice building.
Other comments
I had a fantastic 2 months in Lyon, I wouldn't change a thing!
11. Jul. 2010
48. (59 years)  -  Australia
48. French Senior 50+ / semi-intensif - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Close to shops and public transportation. Competent teachers and nice classmates.
Other comments
While I enjoyed the interaction with students and teachers, I found it VERY annoying that some students insisted on using their portable electronic dictionaries - I'm sure the teachers found it annoying also.
25. Jun. 2010
49. (36 years)  - 
49. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers are professional and try to provide you with the maximum of the notions and to optimize times. This is good expecially for those who attend the school for brief periods and need to progress quickly.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Lyon bleu is moving to a new location, about which I know nothing except that it will be better and more furnished than the current one. Organization is good and teaching effective. Moreover, there are many social activities that students can attend mostly for free, such as the tours around the city. You can also take part to chocolate tasting or to ceramic laboratories. You can find all the information you need about restaurants, clubs, theaters, concerts and special events on the school notice board. In other words, you have all you need!
Other comments
It was a great experience, no doubt about it. I encountered some rigidity regarding the schedule for the lessons, which I didn't find in other language schools, like the one I attended in London. However, I guess it depends on the number of available classes and professors. I'm saying it because there were a couple of factors that made my days a little tiring: the home-school distance (2 buses which had to be taken at a certain time in order not to lose the connection) and the time of the lessons, which started at 8:45. if some young man or damsel wants to both go to the school and enjoy the night life they'd better ask for an accomodation close to the school or for a more convenient timing, 'cause once you have been assigned to a course you cannot change it. You can do it only for work reasons, or things like that. This is purely for informative purpose!
18. Jun. 2010
50. (21 years)  -  Netherlands
50. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The way of teaching.

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Piotr (35): Good service, helpful.... more
  • Harm Jaap (46): Normally I contact language schools directly, but... more
  • Francesco (36): I had a doubt, a quick and precise reply helped me... more
*required