Reviews of Lyon Bleu International, Lyon, France

Total No. of Reviews: 99
NOTE: All evaluations are authentic. Only former participants who have booked a course with us at the school can publish evaluations after the end of the course. Schools could therefore not manipulate evaluations and you can trust in all published evaluations.

Average Rating

Overall rating
Lyon Bleu International, Lyon, France
4.2/5.0 
(99 reviews)
City 4.6/5.0 
Organisation 4.4/5.0 
Facilities 3.9/5.0 
Social activities 3.8/5.0 
Course Quality / Progress in language 4.5/5.0 
Value for money 4.2/5.0 
Accommodation
Host Family 4.1/5.0 
Shared flat (apartment) 3.9/5.0 
Other 3.8/5.0 
Individual Reviews
13. Sep. 2014
1. Giulia (22 years)  - 
1. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
8. Sep. 2014
2. (34 years)  - 
2. Semi-Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers; neighborhood
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Marketing international
Other comments
Tip: I think that many students are interested in taking courses on the long run. In this case, most of them will go to university, which is a cheaper way to study. Indeed, for this school to reach a global market, it could be a good idea to cut its prices, improve its teaching methods and its e-marketing. It could be also great to develop partnerships with other universities. Within few months, it could have a far greater reputation.
5. Aug. 2014
3. (21 years)  - 
3. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
4. Aug. 2014
4. (19 years)  - 
4. DELF / DALF Preparation (15 group + 5 individual) - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
31. Jul. 2014
5. (21 years)  - 
5. DELF / DALF Preparation (15 group + 5 individual) - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Short Stay - Residence
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are friendly and professional, wide range of activities on offer.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Great school.
Other comments
Great school.
21. Jul. 2014
6. (49 years)  - 
6. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Short Stay - Residence
Other
21. Jul. 2014
7.  - 
7. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Short Stay - Residence
Other
16. Jul. 2014
8. (18 years)  - 
8. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
16. Jun. 2014
9. (42 years)  -  Japan
9. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
When I complained about the class management, facilitator responded immediately.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make sure teachers manage the class fairly. There were talkative Latinos who need to talk less and study grammar more, and quiet Asians who knew the grammar but needed to talk more. If you stay quiet, teachers may just focus on the talkative ones.
Other comments
I stayed with a French family, and unfortunately there were bed bugs! It was really bad and I had to go to the hospital after I left Lyon. I also have to fumigate all my luggage before going home. I reported to the school, so hopefully they will make sure this won't happen again...
16. Jun. 2014
10. Yutaro (25 years)  -  Japan
10. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
20. May. 2014
11. (77 years)  -  Australia
11. Semi-Intensive Course - Vocabulary option - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
innovative teaching
5. May. 2014
12. (29 years)  -  Spain
12. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teaching
Other comments
I asked for a family accommodation and it wasn't a family. It was a woman who rented rooms so I couldn't speak with anybody when I was at home and I did not have access to the tv or books, just my bedroom.
5. May. 2014
13. (30 years)  - 
13. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Short Stay - Residence
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teacher Eva is very good and nice. The school has also organized cultural activities in the evening. The structure had supplied all the modern resources for the lessons. The level of the students is very high.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The residence where I stayed was not bad, but the Arab area was not the best of the city, although it has never happened anything unpleasant.
Other comments
Congratulations to the organization, support, method of teaching and thanks for everything. My holiday was very nice and just in one week I started to speak French without fear.
10. Mar. 2014
14. (23 years)  - 
14. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Most of the school staff are good and nice. My teacher was excellent.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The system of school is difficult for making friends. The students are divided into two groups; the morning group and the afternoon one. Luckily I was in the morning class. If you're a late-nighter for drinking, I recommend to join the afternoon group. Then, you can sleep late into the morning. Otherwise, you would miss many classes.
Other comments
The school facilities are excellent in general though, the wifi is slow comparing to another school in Lyon. The host family I stayed for the first week was horrible. I had a impression that they didn't welcome the students, but want to receive only the money. I felt a miserable guest in the family. After talking with the school about this problem, they rearranged another host family immediately. I was very happy with staying at the second one.
2. Oct. 2013
15. (47 years)  - 
15. Semi-Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers. They worked hard with a group which was not a good group.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I do not understand how it is posible that you close one week during august
13. Aug. 2013
16. (49 years)  -  United Kingdom
16. French & Cuisine - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendliness and relaxed atmosphere
Other comments
The cookery course could have been better organised at the school, and more courses/cooking added.
1. Aug. 2013
17. (37 years)  - 
17. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the structure and the teachers' availability
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
it is an unforgettable experience
Other comments
none, everything positive
1. Jul. 2013
18. (20 years)  -  Spain
18. Semi-Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers are very professionnal.
27. May. 2013
19. (35 years)  -  Singapore
19. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
There are many classes, so students in the same class are at the same level. On the contrary, other schools with just 3 levels mix advance and beginner students.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Join the activities right from the first day. Don't wait.
Other comments
That everyone is encouraged to speak French and most people do that. Not the case everywhere.
18. Mar. 2013
20. Sabine (42 years)  - 
20. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
12. Feb. 2013
21. (45 years)  - 
21. Combined Semi-Intensive Course 2 (15 Group + 10 individual) - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were very knowledgeable. I benefited greatly.
24. Dec. 2012
22. (28 years)  -  Hong Kong
22. Combined Intensive Course 1 (25 group + 5 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
One on one class
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
just enjoy the city
Other comments
1) I don't really like the group classes due to other students attitude (late for class and lying on the table during classes) 2) I didn't appreciate my stay with the family in Lyon: they were more interested in practising English with me, the heater didn't work in my room and there were several times I got very poor breakfast with only a few small slices of bread.
5. Dec. 2012
23. Maria Del Pilar (46 years)  - 
23. Semi-Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Big Studio in Hotel Residence
Other
9. Oct. 2012
24. (52 years)  - 
24. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very good teachers, interesting and stimulating method
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
the choice of films for the cinema workshop (the artist) was a bit disappointing
Other comments
I would have liked to continue the course
1. Oct. 2012
25. (61 years)  - 
25. Intensive French Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very friendly and helpful.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
A great atmosphere and dedicated staff.
Other comments
A very good learning experience.
27. Aug. 2012
26. (23 years)  -  Poland
26. Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My teacher Nathalie, who was always prepared, smiley and helpful.
20. Aug. 2012
27. (20 years)  -  Spain
27. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers.
16. Jul. 2012
28. (49 years)  -  United States
28. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Big Studio in Hotel Residence
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
That it was in Lyon.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I did not participate in the social activities. If it is your first time in Lyon, you may want to
Other comments
The one and only break comes after 2 hours and 15 min. That is a long time to go without a break. Because the way the classes are set up, everyone must take their break at the same time. So teachers cannot take advantage of natural breaks in the teaching process. Additionally, the material for beginners is photocopied handouts and often, the copies are of poor quality.
9. Jul. 2012
29. (24 years)  - 
29. Semi Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The advanced class was very good.
1. Apr. 2012
30. (27 years)  -  Canada
30. Semi Intensive Course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I enjoyed the people that I have met through the school.
Other comments
I believe that going 3 hours through classes without a break is pushing the human mind too far, as proved through numerous studies by universities througout the world. After 45 minutes the mind and body needs a quick break. This is why universities, at least in North America, have instigated 5 - 10 minutes break per hour. Again, proven through McMaster University in Hamilton Canada many years ago. Students perform much better when given these quick breaks.
5. Mar. 2012
31. (40 years)  -  Netherlands
31. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
creative teachers, full of energy, personal approach
5. Mar. 2012
32. (55 years)  -  Italy
32. Complete beginner programme (10 group+15 individual) - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Big Studio in Hotel Residence
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Not anything in particular but I liked the professional approch the teachers have.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
No.
Other comments
I did not get what I hoped but that is not because of the schole but because of the old man there is trying to learn France.
20. Feb. 2012
33. Machiko (36 years)  - 
33. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
20. Feb. 2012
34. Kim (24 years)  -  Czech Republic
34. Intensive French Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
28. Nov. 2011
35. (27 years)  -  Spain
35. Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers
7. Nov. 2011
36. (39 years)  -  United Kingdom
36. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Their friendliness and the activities they organised outside the school. The clases were really good too!
9. Oct. 2011
37. (46 years)  - 
37. French & Cuisine - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The quality of teachers and good atmosphere.
31. Aug. 2011
38. Elia (27 years)  - 
38. Combined Intensive Course 1 (25 group + 5 individual) - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
29. Aug. 2011
39. Mª ángeles (44 years)  -  Spain
39. Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Other comments
I think it's very important that the course information is in the source language. If it comes in the language you study, how are we supposed to understand? The school contacted me in French and English. Since I was going to study a basic level, should have worked a little more. Thank you.
9. Aug. 2011
40. (24 years)  -  Belgium
40. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The way of teaching was very good! I recommend this school to everyone!!
8. Aug. 2011
41. (22 years)  -  Belgium
41. Intensive French Course - 4 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the friendly atmosphere, and social interaction with the other students
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Try speaking french all the time, even if it's easier to speak English, that's the only way to learn the language, and don't be afraid to make mistakes.
6. Jul. 2011
42. (23 years)  -  Sweden
42. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers and the staff and the social activities.
Other comments
I really liked studying French at Lyon Bleu and I appreciated my teacher a lot.
13. Jun. 2011
43. Natalia (29 years)  -  Greece
43. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
7. Mar. 2011
44. (20 years)  -  Japan
44. Combined semi-intensive course 1 - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
7. Feb. 2011
45. (21 years)  -  Spain
45. Semi Intensive Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared flat (apartment)
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Everything!
22. Nov. 2010
46. (30 years)  - 
46. Semi Intensive Course - 1 week

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The staff and the organization of the course
28. Sep. 2010
47. (32 years)  - 
47. Semi Intensive Course - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The friendly, welcoming atmosphere. All the staff are very approachable.
30. Aug. 2010
48. (25 years)  - 
48. Intensive French Course - 3 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The organization
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Taking umbrella because it rains in Lyon.
23. Aug. 2010
49. (21 years)  - 
49. Semi Intensive Course - 8 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very good teachers, well organised, good location and nice building.
Other comments
I had a fantastic 2 months in Lyon, I wouldn't change a thing!
11. Jul. 2010
50. (59 years)  -  Australia
50. French Senior 50+ / semi-intensif - 2 weeks

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Close to shops and public transportation. Competent teachers and nice classmates.
Other comments
While I enjoyed the interaction with students and teachers, I found it VERY annoying that some students insisted on using their portable electronic dictionaries - I'm sure the teachers found it annoying also.

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Harm Jaap (46): Normally I contact language schools directly, but... more
  • Attila (41): I am very satisfied. I found more relevant... more
  • Abrahan (23): I liked the experience of LanguageCourse.Net, they... more
*required