X

Reviews of CIAL Centro de Linguas, Lisbon, Portugal - Page 2

Total number of reviews: 266
NOTE: All reviews are authentic. Only students who booked their course through us can publish evaluations here, and only after the end of their programme. These evaluations then are not manipulated in any way, neither by us nor by the school, and can be trusted as honest opinions about personal experiences with the school.

Average Rating

Overall Rating
CIAL Centro de Linguas, Lisbon, Portugal
4.2/5.0 
(266 reviews)
City 4.7/5.0 
Organisation 4.1/5.0 
Facilities 3.8/5.0 
Social activities 3.9/5.0 
Course quality / Progress in language 4.3/5.0 
Value for money 3.9/5.0 
Accommodation
Host family 4.0/5.0 
Shared Flat 3.9/5.0 
other 3.9/5.0 
Individual Reviews
27. Aug. 2013
51. (32 years)  - 
51. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
26. Jul. 2013
52. (22 years)  -  Belgium
52. Combined: Group (3hrs) + Individual (3hrs) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
My private classes with Janaina were really good and I learned a lot.
1. Jul. 2013
53. (60 years)  - 
53. Combined: Group (3hrs) + Individual (1hr) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers were very patient, explained tirelessly, repeated when requesting, worked professionally and with commitment!
14. Jun. 2013
54. (60 years)  -  Canada
54. Standard Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
staff friendly and helpful
Other comments
students should be given the EXACT address of where the classes are held-
10. Jun. 2013
55. Sandor (42 years)  -  Netherlands
55. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
3. Jun. 2013
56. (40 years)  -  Germany
56. Group + Workshop - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The teachers.
Other comments
A very good school.
9. May. 2013
57. (60 years)  - 
57. Standard Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The school can accept a student who takes a short course. In my case, I took one-week course. It was great that the host family was selected according to my request. I had a valuable experience.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
I recommend that you study a bit before a course starts, even if you're a beginner level. I was in a beginner class and used a textbook for the beginners though, other students from Italy and Columbia could make progress much faster. I didn't imagine such a circumstances. If you don't have the previous knowledge, it should be very difficult to keep up with the pace of a classroom.
Other comments
The school organized the activities every day. It's normal that they explain in Portuguese though, it'd have been better they gave us the directions in other languages as well.
8. Apr. 2013
58. Terry (25 years)  -  Luxembourg
58. Combined: Group (3hrs) + Individual (1hr) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
25. Dec. 2012
59. (26 years)  - 
59. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Quality of courses, teaching, listening
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Belem, Lisbon city and all its monuments
Other comments
very good school
11. Dec. 2012
60. (49 years)  -  Netherlands
60. Group + Workshop - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I think the teachers weer very good, we learned very much in just one week. The organisation of the school was also perfect, very personal
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It is nice to join the Social activities of the school in the afternoon.
Other comments
It is à very nice institute, with good teachers
3. Dec. 2012
61. (74 years)  - 
61. 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very experienced and lively-minded teacher, happy to adapt her 1:1 teaching to my priority needs.
6. Nov. 2012
62. (29 years)  -  Poland
62. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
A very multinational and friendly environment; teachers and reception always friendly and helpful
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Visit the city by yourself, you can easily move around with the metro, go see the museums. I would recommend to join the school activities
1. Oct. 2012
63. (27 years)  -  Netherlands
63. Standard Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Many different ages.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You have to sign up for the 4-week course to be able to take a proficiency test. I only took a 3-week course, and was not given an opportunity to test for proficiency. I found this frustrating and not well communicated.
Other comments
The course attendees are not set. Each week some students in your class will leave, and new ones will join. This affects the pace of the class. You either go very fast or slow depending on the entire mix. While I understand that this may be necessary if the school is not well-resourced, I find this absurd to do for students that are paying nearly 1000 euros. CIAL can easily solve this problem by having to "enrollment" dates, e.g. 1st and 15th of each month, rather than ongoing admissions. Many of the teachers at CIAL were equally frustrated by the poor management and found the administration of the school to have deteriorated in quality over recent years.
13. Aug. 2012
64. (66 years)  -  France
64. Combined: Group (3hrs) + Individual (2hrs) - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
31. Jul. 2012
65. Pia (24 years)  -  Germany
65. Group + Workshop - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
5. Jun. 2012
66. (49 years)  - 
66. Standard Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Clean, friendly with good classrooms.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Walk around Lisbon and study before you go.
Other comments
The evaluation test to allocate students into classes is a good idea, but the reality is more luck of the draw as students are placed into classes depending on which level class has the space. My class had 5 students; all with very different abilities. Perhaps, after the test the staff could explain which class they thought the student should be in and show them the study book; the student could then judge if they thought this was right for them.
26. May. 2012
67. (25 years)  -  United States
67. Standard Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I loved that everyone there was studying because they truly had an invested interest in the language. My professor, Orlando, was really great, and I loved the quick pace at which he taught.
27. Mar. 2012
68. (50 years)  -  Canada
68. Group + Workshop - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very well organized
Other comments
I had my own apartment and did not participate in any social activities
10. Jan. 2012
69.  - 
69. 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Paperwork done efficiently. Friendly reception from teachers and staff. Clean atmosphere.
7. Nov. 2011
70. Mario (40 years)  - 
70. Group + Workshop - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
7. Nov. 2011
71. (57 years)  -  Ireland
71. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Continuity of learning, high standard of tuition, excellent material to study, very friendly and positive approach to studying
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It is important to bring a dictionary and buy a book which contains the verbs in Portuguese
Other comments
I always do all the homework
25. Sep. 2011
72. (48 years)  -  Timor-leste
72. Combined: Group (3hrs) + Individual (1hr) - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good teachers and pedagogy
Other comments
Accommodation - because there were 5-6 people staying at the apartments, I did not benefit from much interaction with the host family. Limitations on gas/electricity also created some inconveniences.
24. Sep. 2011
73. (33 years)  - 
73. Privat lessons - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
That my teacher always took some extra time after the individual lessons.
13. Sep. 2011
74. Robert (25 years)  - 
74. Standard Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
11. Aug. 2011
75. Mario (40 years)  - 
75. Standard Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
2. Aug. 2011
76. (24 years)  -  United States
76. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I loved the sense of community I felt within the student body and between the students and faculty. Not only was the facility accessible and comfortable, the classes were extremely helpful in my language development and created a fun environment to explore language and culture.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Pastéis de Belem!
2. Aug. 2011
77. (23 years)  -  Belgium
77. Portuguese 1.5h / Day + 5 Surf Lessons / Week - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good location and friendly teachers.
17. Jul. 2011
78. (37 years)  - 
78. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Shared Flat
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I really appreciated the help that the teachers gave me both on a personal and professional level.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Portuguese is a difficult language but it is very beautiful and interesting.
Other comments
I really enjoyed participating in the recreational and cultural activities.
4. Jul. 2011
79. (29 years)  -  Spain
79. Group + Workshop - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
There were many people from different countries and there were few people in each class, so you had to speak in Portuguese. That was good!
1. May. 2011
80. Terry (23 years)  -  Luxembourg
80. Private Lessons (8); - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
15. Apr. 2011
81. (41 years)  - 
81. Standard Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host family
4. Apr. 2011
82. (56 years)  -  Ireland
82. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
There is a high level of focus and consistency in placing you in a class at the appropriate level. I find all the teachers very friendly people and the course materials are excellent.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Please ensure to bring a dictionary and a book of verbs.
Other comments
Hopefully there will be a level 5 class available when I go back again.
31. Mar. 2011
83. (47 years)  - 
83. Standard Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
I had a very good teacher and the class had a comfortable size of 6-8 students.
10. Jan. 2011
84. (65 years)  - 
84. 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly, efficient staff.
4. Dec. 2010
85. (46 years)  -  United States
85. Standard Course - 4 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
really helpful and friendly staff, great range of students, and interesting cultural program
29. Nov. 2010
86. (56 years)  -  Ireland
86. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good communication with teachers
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Bring a dictionary and buy the grammar books on sale in the school.
1. Nov. 2010
87. (59 years)  - 
87. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
- Quality of education - Meeting other international students.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
It would be better to stay 2 weeks instead of 1 week.
1. Nov. 2010
88. (56 years)  -  Ireland
88. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teaching standards are high, teachers are helpful and can access solutions very quickly.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You need a good dictionary and a specialized book on verbs, don't miss any classes and make sure you do the homework.
Other comments
I will come again.
24. Oct. 2010
89. Christian (27 years)  - 
89. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Dinner with live Fado music, very authentic and impressive
18. Oct. 2010
90. (40 years)  - 
90. Group + Workshop - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The friendliness of the teachers, the breaks on the terrace, vending machines with coffee and snack options
Other comments
Thanks a lot! - I really had fun!
21. Sep. 2010
91. Sophie (23 years)  - 
91. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
21. Sep. 2010
92. Cian (24 years)  -  Germany
92. Group + Workshop - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
20. Sep. 2010
93. (32 years)  - 
93. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Availability and efficiency of teachers and staff in general.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Although it's inevitable, there are some participants in the same course who have a different learning speed and a different level of preparation.
Other comments
Definitely an experience to be repeated. The afternoon activities and services like the library and videos should be explained and promoted more comprehensively.
16. Sep. 2010
94. (23 years)  -  Italy
94. Standard Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Small groups. Personal approach.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The school also offers a special promotion for surf classes.
8. Sep. 2010
95. (27 years)  - 
95. Summer Group Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The afternoon activities
Other comments
My structure (Cial 41) was not very well equipped ...
1. Sep. 2010
96. (29 years)  -  Germany
96. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly atmosphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
The bus to Costa da Caparica (nice beach, awful buildings) leaves from the "Praça de Espanha". Otherwise by ferry from Cais do Sodre to Cacilhas and then by bus.
Other comments
Nice teachers. Some of the excursions were really nice (with funny Miguel).
24. Aug. 2010
97. (51 years)  - 
97. Standard Course - 2 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
The pleasant climate in the school, the very polite and extremely competent teachers, the very dedicated people in the Secretariat, the great coffee from the vending machines, recreational activities, ie: just EVERYTHING! There were two great weeks you shouldn´t miss! A big thank you to each individual and the organization!
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
There is so much offered, just watch and participate, it's worth determined.
Other comments
I would recommend CIAL anyone who would like to learn our language, I have been most successful with CIAL.
19. Aug. 2010
98. (39 years)  - 
98. Standard Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Paulo was an excellent teacher, they gave me a book and a cd.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Make sure you are put into the correct class.
Other comments
I was not assessed and put into a complete beginners' class. I am a language teacher of French and Spanish and already had a good understanding of the basics of Portuguese - indeed i could communicate basically in Portuguese!!! I asked to be moved and was half way through the second day!!!
4. Aug. 2010
99. José ángel (33 years)  - 
99. Standard Course - 1 week

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
19. Jul. 2010
100. Marcus (20 years)  - 
100. Standard Course - 3 weeks

Overall Rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Homestay
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Try and go on the cultural visits the school offers because they are free whereas to go alone you have to pay at least 5 euro. Also in Lisbon buy a month metro pass even if you are only staying for 2 weeks because its only 28 euro and you will no doubt pay more if you travel about lisbon buying individual tickets!

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Piotr (35): Good service, helpful.... more
  • Francesco (36): I had a doubt, a quick and precise reply helped me... more
  • Inesa (25): I think the service works really well. I have had... more