Reviews of CIAL Centro de Linguas, Lisbon, Portugal - Page 5

Total No. of Reviews: 226
NOTE: All evaluations are authentic. Only former participants who have booked a course with us at the school can publish evaluations after the end of the course. Schools could therefore not manipulate evaluations and you can trust in all published evaluations.

Average Rating

Overall rating
CIAL Centro de Linguas, Lisbon, Portugal
4.2/5.0 
(226 reviews)
City 4.7/5.0 
Organisation 4.1/5.0 
Facilities 3.7/5.0 
Social activities 3.8/5.0 
Course Quality / Progress in language 4.3/5.0 
Value for money 3.8/5.0 
Accommodation
Host Family 4.0/5.0 
Shared flat (apartment) 3.9/5.0 
Other 3.9/5.0 
Individual Reviews
2. May. 2004
201. (21 years)  -  United States
201. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very small, intimate and friendly. Housed in a very ornate 19th century building.
Other comments
Free unlimited internet is a huge plus.
30. Apr. 2004
202. Jayne (28 years)  -  Us
202. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you feel you are not in an adequate level, you must be persistent and self advocate in order to change, little student support in this matter.
Other comments
In general, Portugal has only recently begun developing its portuguese as a second language methodology. The texts are so-so... CIAL is, in my opinion, your best bet in language courses since its on the pioneering edge, atleast in Portugal. Brasil is another option, they have more experience, but obviously the language is different.
23. Mar. 2004
203. Martina (33 years)  - 
203. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
23. Mar. 2004
204. (57 years)  -  Usa
204. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers and materials
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Lisbon is an enchanting city!
Other comments
One area school could improve is student support. I asked, in my application, for a non-smoking home. They initially placed me with a chain smoker. In their favor, they immediately found me another home, where the woman was wonderful, and we will probably always be friends.
23. Mar. 2004
205. (28 years)  - 
205. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good teachers, very qualified and enjoyable lessons!
23. Mar. 2004
206.  -  Japan
206. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
There are different levels of textbooks and we are given one adequate for each of us. everyone was friendly
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Teachers are friendly and I enjoyed the classes.
23. Mar. 2004
207. Sandra  -  Germany
207. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
11. Mar. 2004
208. Anonymous (25 years)  -  Deutschland
208. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Other comments
I think it would be very important if I knew before, what my previous knowledge had to be like in order to be able to follow the course. I did a VHS course before I started the language course at this school and after the level test I have been placed in a course, which has started two weeks ago. My previous knowledge was not enough for this course, which led to the fact that I was not really motivated. The course has been so much fun. If I would have been in this course right from the start, it would have been certainly better.
11. Mar. 2004
209. Tina (27 years)  -  Denmark
209. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
4. Feb. 2004
210. Carsten (22 years)  - 
210. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
22. Jan. 2004
211. (41 years)  -  Germany
211. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teacher
Other comments
it was a very good experience and i did learn quite a bit! Thank you
27. Nov. 2003
212. Anonymous (44 years)  -  D
212. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
1. Oct. 2003
213. (22 years)  -  Deutschland
213. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Our teacher.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Say it directly if you don't like something.
1. Oct. 2003
214. (27 years)  -  Deutschland
214. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Family atmosphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't miss a visit to the castello, a trip to belem, to go out I recommend bairrio alto.
14. Aug. 2003
215. (36 years)  -  España
215. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Warm atmosphere, like at home.
13. Aug. 2003
216. Liset (21 years)  -  Holland
216. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
9. Aug. 2003
217. (18 years)  -  United Kingdom
217. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly atmosphere. I enjoyed myself immensely.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
A trip to Sintra is well worth it.
Other comments
I really enjoyed myself, many thanks!
14. Jul. 2003
218. Anonymous (29 years)  - 
218. One-to-One

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
27. Jun. 2003
219. (28 years)  -  Schweiz
219. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
small classes (max. 6 students)
24. Apr. 2003
220. Anonymous (26 years)  - 
220. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
9. Apr. 2003
221. (23 years)  -  Austria
221. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teacher was very good
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
participate in the acivities offered by the school
2. Apr. 2003
222. Holger (43 years)  -  Germany
222. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
26. Aug. 2002
223. Antonio (34 years)  -  Italy/germany
223. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Other comments
Very good and dynamic teachers. I definitely recommend the school in Lisbon. I made excellent progress! :-)
14. Aug. 2002
224. Ulrich (38 years)  -  D
224. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
12. Aug. 2002
225. Raffaele (29 years)  -  Italy
225. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
4. Dec. 2001
226. (33 years)  -  Germany
226. One-to-One

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Excellent teachers, international students.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Ask directly at CIAL for the schedules of the classes.

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Harm Jaap (46): Normally I contact language schools directly, but... more
  • Oscar (20): I chose them because they have really good... more
  • Piotr (35): Good service, helpful.... more
*required