Reviews of CIAL Centro de Linguas, Lisbon, Portugal - Page 5

Total No. of Reviews: 233
NOTE: All evaluations are authentic. Only former participants who have booked a course with us at the school can publish evaluations after the end of the course. Schools could therefore not manipulate evaluations and you can trust in all published evaluations.

Average Rating

Overall rating
CIAL Centro de Linguas, Lisbon, Portugal
4.2/5.0 
(233 reviews)
City 4.7/5.0 
Organisation 4.1/5.0 
Facilities 3.8/5.0 
Social activities 3.8/5.0 
Course Quality / Progress in language 4.3/5.0 
Value for money 3.9/5.0 
Accommodation
Host Family 4.0/5.0 
Shared flat (apartment) 3.9/5.0 
Other 3.9/5.0 
Individual Reviews
26. Aug. 2004
201. Anonymous  - 
201. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
15. Jul. 2004
202. G.E. (38 years)  -  Deutschland
202. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Other comments
it has some computers which are connected to the internet
24. Jun. 2004
203. Harms, (29 years)  -  Germany
203. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
14. Jun. 2004
204. (32 years)  -  Germany
204. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very nice house and classrooms, cafe and water were for free
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
You should go to the trips in the afternoon !
Other comments
Very nice teacher who worked with pleasure, nice students from all countries and of every age, the lessons were in portuguese language, so that we learned very much
10. Jun. 2004
205.  -  EspaÑa
205. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
CIAL is like a home, comfortable and friendly
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Be next and spend all time with new students and visit all pretty places in Lisbon
13. May. 2004
206. (48 years)  - 
206. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
very good atmosphere
7. May. 2004
207. (24 years)  -  Gb
207. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
People
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't stay with a family, it's over priced and rarely benefits students
2. May. 2004
208. (21 years)  -  United States
208. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Very small, intimate and friendly. Housed in a very ornate 19th century building.
Other comments
Free unlimited internet is a huge plus.
30. Apr. 2004
209. Jayne (28 years)  -  Us
209. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
If you feel you are not in an adequate level, you must be persistent and self advocate in order to change, little student support in this matter.
Other comments
In general, Portugal has only recently begun developing its portuguese as a second language methodology. The texts are so-so... CIAL is, in my opinion, your best bet in language courses since its on the pioneering edge, atleast in Portugal. Brasil is another option, they have more experience, but obviously the language is different.
23. Mar. 2004
210. Martina (33 years)  - 
210. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
23. Mar. 2004
211. (57 years)  -  Usa
211. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Teachers and materials
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Lisbon is an enchanting city!
Other comments
One area school could improve is student support. I asked, in my application, for a non-smoking home. They initially placed me with a chain smoker. In their favor, they immediately found me another home, where the woman was wonderful, and we will probably always be friends.
23. Mar. 2004
212. (28 years)  - 
212. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Good teachers, very qualified and enjoyable lessons!
23. Mar. 2004
213.  -  Japan
213. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
There are different levels of textbooks and we are given one adequate for each of us. everyone was friendly
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Teachers are friendly and I enjoyed the classes.
23. Mar. 2004
214. Sandra  -  Germany
214. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
11. Mar. 2004
215. Anonymous (25 years)  -  Deutschland
215. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Other comments
I think it would be very important if I knew before, what my previous knowledge had to be like in order to be able to follow the course. I did a VHS course before I started the language course at this school and after the level test I have been placed in a course, which has started two weeks ago. My previous knowledge was not enough for this course, which led to the fact that I was not really motivated. The course has been so much fun. If I would have been in this course right from the start, it would have been certainly better.
11. Mar. 2004
216. Tina (27 years)  -  Denmark
216. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
4. Feb. 2004
217. Carsten (22 years)  - 
217. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
22. Jan. 2004
218. (41 years)  -  Germany
218. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
the teacher
Other comments
it was a very good experience and i did learn quite a bit! Thank you
27. Nov. 2003
219. Anonymous (44 years)  -  D
219. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
1. Oct. 2003
220. (22 years)  -  Deutschland
220. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Our teacher.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Say it directly if you don't like something.
1. Oct. 2003
221. (27 years)  -  Deutschland
221. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Shared flat (apartment)
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Family atmosphere.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Don't miss a visit to the castello, a trip to belem, to go out I recommend bairrio alto.
14. Aug. 2003
222. (36 years)  -  España
222. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Warm atmosphere, like at home.
13. Aug. 2003
223. Liset (21 years)  -  Holland
223. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
9. Aug. 2003
224. (18 years)  -  United Kingdom
224. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Friendly atmosphere. I enjoyed myself immensely.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
A trip to Sintra is well worth it.
Other comments
I really enjoyed myself, many thanks!
14. Jul. 2003
225. Anonymous (29 years)  - 
225. One-to-One

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
27. Jun. 2003
226. (28 years)  -  Schweiz
226. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
small classes (max. 6 students)
24. Apr. 2003
227. Anonymous (26 years)  - 
227. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
9. Apr. 2003
228. (23 years)  -  Austria
228. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
teacher was very good
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
participate in the acivities offered by the school
2. Apr. 2003
229. Holger (43 years)  -  Germany
229. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
26. Aug. 2002
230. Antonio (34 years)  -  Italy/germany
230. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Other
Additional information
Other comments
Very good and dynamic teachers. I definitely recommend the school in Lisbon. I made excellent progress! :-)
14. Aug. 2002
231. Ulrich (38 years)  -  D
231. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
12. Aug. 2002
232. Raffaele (29 years)  -  Italy
232. General

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
4. Dec. 2001
233. (33 years)  -  Germany
233. One-to-One

Overall rating
Value for money
Detailed review
City/place
School organization
Facilities (library, classrooms)
Social activities
Quality of teaching / language progress
Accommodation
Host Family
Additional information
Positive aspects of school
Excellent teachers, international students.
Insider tips about what future students should not miss
Ask directly at CIAL for the schedules of the classes.

I Liked
about LanguageCourse.net
  • Francesco (36): I had a doubt, a quick and precise reply helped me... more
  • Harm Jaap (46): Normally I contact language schools directly, but... more
  • Oscar (20): I chose them because they have really good... more
*required